Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

Royal Hall of Industries aka New Swans HQ

Have been having fun scrolling through The Plans and its looks fantastic!

Two indigenous Foundations: The GO Foundation and the The Contarf Foundation will also have offices there

Royal Hall of Industries aka New Swans HQ

Have been having fun scrolling through The Plans and its looks fantastic!

Two indigenous Foundations: The GO Foundation and the The Contarf Foundation will also have offices there

Just had a PTSD flasback to my technical drawing classes.

Heya. I need some advice from some people that know the Sydney area and figure that here might be a good place to ask… I recently moved to Sydney from Adelaide for work, and after asking around settled on Surry hills to live.. which has been great .. especially since I could walk to work.. but I finished work there and my new workplace will be near chullora and I don’t fancy driving that far after work so I am looking to move, but I don’t know the areas west at all (and cause of lockdown can’t travel to check them out).

Any recommendations of places to live around there? I am familiar with marrickville and I like that (but not heaps of options)

What are Burwood, Leichhardt and so on like? Any other suburbs even closer than them to chullora that are nice?

I appreciate any help! Cheers..

Heya. I need some advice from some people that know the Sydney area and figure that here might be a good place to ask… I recently moved to Sydney from Adelaide for work, and after asking around settled on Surry hills to live.. which has been great .. especially since I could walk to work.. but I finished work there and my new workplace will be near chullora and I don’t fancy driving that far after work so I am looking to move, but I don’t know the areas west at all (and cause of lockdown can’t travel to check them out).

Any recommendations of places to live around there? I am familiar with marrickville and I like that (but not heaps of options)

What are Burwood, Leichhardt and so on like? Any other suburbs even closer than them to chullora that are nice?

Leichhardt is nice. If you enjoy Surrey Hills Leichhardt will feel right at home. Burwood is a pretty busy place, might be worth checking out Homebush.

In the same area you should checkout Ashfield. Similar vibe to Surrey Hills/Marrickville, a little closer to Chullora and should be a few options

Take a look at Enfield. Next suburb East if you're working at the paper. Very residential. All the suburbs around Chullora and Chullora itself are very residential. Not a lot of lively. Pretty leafy. Chullora is pretty long and thin so depends a lot on where you're working. The southern end is pretty multicultural which can be good or not. Still very suburban though.
Lidcombe might be worth a look.
I lived in Burwood and Strathfield for 30 years. Loved it. Great place to raise kids.

I’m probably looking for somewhere that’s got a bit of liveliness about it, good pubs good restaurants good places to go for a walk etc if they helps. I’ll only be living there for 6-12 months and would be looking at furnished apartments.
Leichhardt
Best vibe
Apartments - furnished might be tricky
Straight up the highway against the traffic if working office hours.
Good luck!

Rhodes is an option, but depends really on how far you're willing to drive.

I'd avoid Leichardt/balmain/rozelle only because you'll be stuck in traffic for 37 hours a day.
Leichhardt not as bad if you're going against the traffic. Agree 100% about Rozelle/Balmain. The village vibe might be nice if you're working from home.....

I grew up in and around Concord West but the place was different back then I am guessing, so after you grab your first Swans jumper, maybe head into Breakfast Point for a look you will stumble on some furnished apartments there however pretty quiet I would reckon. You got me thinking about a few old venues I once frequented ...the Crossways was a fun pub if you liked blewing with the Enfield Feds boys..!! The Boulevard on Coronation Parade was a rough and ready joint as well, after a night at the Royal Sheaf with the desperates there. I think they turned that place into a hardware store for a while.. ..I am going back a while though...ahh good times!!

Rhodes is an option, but depends really on how far you're willing to drive.

I'd avoid Leichardt/balmain/rozelle only because you'll be stuck in traffic for 37 hours a day.
Working from 6am - 4:30 and maybe 5:30/6:30 some days so easy traffic in morning and bad in the afternoons

I spent a few weeks having to do the Surry hills to chullora drive and back a few months back and it was around 20ish in the morning and somewhere over an hour in the afternoon (from memory) hate spending an hr in a car when your working 10-12hr days hence the move. But really looking for a good and fun area as the missus and I are here alone (family all back in Sa) so might as well enjoy where we are living if we have to be so far away from family (and working 50+hrweeks)

If we weren’t locked down I would go for a drive around the neighbourhoods to check them out.

Got a few recommendations that we might like the dulwich hill and summer hill areas?

Btw i appreciate the replies.
Both have a decent village going. Not as good as Leichhardt IMO but a little closer to work. Not sure about units but RE.com will give you an idea.
Kids have friends who live in both (in their 30's) and like so probs OK.

Got a few recommendations that we might like the dulwich hill and summer hill areas?

Just had a look at the LGA map. Inner West covers most of what it sounds like you would like from a village point of view:
Annandale
Leichhardt
Summer Hill
Dulwich Hill
Marrickville
Daughter lived in Annandale and Marrickville and loved both. A bit further to drive but good food, pubs etc.
Furnished unit availability might be the biggest factor.

Working from 6am - 4:30 and maybe 5:30/6:30 some days so easy traffic in morning and bad in the afternoons

I spent a few weeks having to do the Surry hills to chullora drive and back a few months back and it was around 20ish in the morning and somewhere over an hour in the afternoon (from memory) hate spending an hr in a car when your working 10-12hr days hence the move. But really looking for a good and fun area as the missus and I are here alone (family all back in Sa) so might as well enjoy where we are living if we have to be so far away from family (and working 50+hrweeks)

If we weren’t locked down I would go for a drive around the neighbourhoods to check them out.

Probably too far, but considered Milsons point?

Kirribili is pretty good for bars, and you can always go to the Greenwood Hotel if you want to get a divorce.

Walking across the bridge to the rocks was always heaps of fun, and the drive through the city is not so bad.

You also get a great view of the fireworks on NYE.

Probably too far, but considered Milsons point?

Kirribili is pretty good for bars, and you can always go to the Greenwood Hotel if you want to get a divorce.

Walking across the bridge to the rocks was always heaps of fun, and the drive through the city is not so bad.

You also get a great view of the fireworks on NYE.
I live at Surry hills (moved here recently) and want to move closer to chullora to cut down driving time after a 10hr day, not increase it lol. But thanks anyway.

Concord or Strathfield. Great areas and handy to everything with good public transport.

I’m probably looking for somewhere that’s got a bit of liveliness about it, good pubs good restaurants good places to go for a walk etc if they helps. I’ll only be living there for 6-12 months and would be looking at furnished apartments.
Marrickville and Newtown have are good assortment of Pubs and restaurants. Also close to Sydney Park and Bi-centennial Park.

Summer Hill & Dulwich Hill aren't bad at all. Summer Hill very much a village vibe and great restaurants. Both close to Train station & light rail and will get you into city within 30 mins

Oops, seen you've gone with Surry.

Summer Hill & Dulwich Hill aren't bad at all. Summer Hill very much a village vibe and great restaurants. Both close to Train station & light rail and will get you into city within 30 mins

Oops, seen you've gone with Surry.
As an aside, the Inner west is getting more and more pubs playing swans games over NRL!

Cheers. Missus and I have made the decision to stay in Surry and put up with the drive out west and revisit in early jan rather than deal with it now. Found out my drive west is one suburb closer than what I thought it would be as well which is good.

If you do still end up looking, I'd recommend spending some time in each of these suburbs. The closer you get to Chullora the less like Surry Hills it will be.
Newtown
Marrickville
Summer Hill *any further south-west than here and there's practically 0 night life.

Strathfield, Burwood, Homebush are all pretty good residential type places, with all the main amenities, shopping centres, public transport etc., but lack a good pub culture / night life.

Balmain / Leichardt would be good, but traffic would probably still be a factor.

The real test philthy05 will be when lockdown ends and Sydney traffic picks up again. When that happens all bets are off mate!!
Haha the fact Sydney’s traffic must have been a dream during the recent lockdown did cross my mind when reading this!

Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)