Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

Rewatching the prelim. Such an exciting and high quality game but there's a definite "moments before disaster" feel to it. When the final siren went, I half expected Morgan Freeman to appear in the commentary, saying, "...but it would not be a happy ending for the team in the red & the white."

But holy s**t does it make you realise we actually wouldn't have even been in the grand final if it weren't for Gulden and Rowbottom. Much of the conversation was around Papley's controversial mark and goal, and Mills' dying stages spoil. I'm not sure either of those things matter, or happen at all, if the two kids aren't literally carrying us to the finish line to stop the Collingwood onslaught.

Oh and this moment had me in ******* tears!!

View attachment 1577178
I'd argue we don't win if Mills' NRL background doesn't come into play when he scores the game winning try against the goal post

I guess my point is that Mills' last-ditch effort only made the difference because the efforts of Gulden & Rowbottom throughout the quarter made sure we were in front. Not even kidding, I think we're probably a goal or two behind by the time Mills touches that ball in the dying seconds if Gulden and Rowbottom weren't out there. Funnily enough it was almost like they swapped bodies - Gulden was too tough and too physical for the Pies, Rowbottom too slick and too classy for the Pies. It was like they were the only two Swans players who were Collingwood-proof.

I mean, Mills only touched it twice for the whole quarter, so grateful for his heroics in the final seconds, but I'm thinking it probably isn't required if he and the rest of the others did more. Not knocking him or the rest, I think the team had seriously just ran out of steam and fought their fight, and it showed the following week.

Peeped on Instagram that the younger brother of Paddy & Tom McCartin appears to be spending a lot of time in Sydney, particularly with Brett Kirk's son Indhi and Horse's son Tom. I reckon this is a really great thing for the club, as it suggests we're fostering the environment of a family club, which I realise is a term that gets bandied about too easily, but in our case I think it is true. For all the talk about how we should draft siblings of Swans players to prevent a go-home factor, I don't think that's as decisive in making players want to stay as much as simply creating a culture where they feel they don't have to leave to still be with family.

We now have the sons of our coaches and staff becoming friends with the brothers of our players.
We have as well as the two McCartin brothers, their youngest brother frequently in Sydney.
We have a few Warner brothers, giving their family ample reason to frequent Sydney.
We have three Guldens (mother and sons) at the club in some form or another.
We have Hayward's brother entering into business with three Swans players based in Sydney.
We have Stephens' dad being as active a Swans fan on Twitter as anyone in our supporter base.
We have Papley's childhood mate from back home playing footy in Sydney for our reserves.
We had Kennedy's young kid frequenting training and seemingly on first-name basis with some of our boys.
We have Parker's wife who I've heard is something of a mentor and supporter to the players' girlfriends when they join the club.
We've also met with and shown a willingness to entertain the prospect of McDonald and Florent's younger brothers coming on board.
And we have photographic and anecdotal evidence of the efforts the club makes to include the families in the transition process post-draft.

Individually these small acts and gestures might not seem like much, but when combined they paint the picture of a club that wants every person involved with it to succeed, from the executive level right down to girlfriends and extended families. And I know for a fact that such a support network does not exist at all other clubs, so it's just another reason to think of ourselves as very blessed to follow this club, and I think all involved deserve credit for it.

Peeped on Instagram that the younger brother of Paddy & Tom McCartin appears to be spending a lot of time in Sydney, particularly with Brett Kirk's son Indhi and Horse's son Tom. I reckon this is a really great thing for the club, as it suggests we're fostering the environment of a family club, which I realise is a term that gets bandied about too easily, but in our case I think it is true. For all the talk about how we should draft siblings of Swans players to prevent a go-home factor, I don't think that's as decisive in making players want to stay as much as simply creating a culture where they feel they don't have to leave to still be with family.

We now have the sons of our coaches and staff becoming friends with the brothers of our players.
We have as well as the two McCartin brothers, their youngest brother frequently in Sydney.
We have a few Warner brothers, giving their family ample reason to frequent Sydney.
We have Hayward's brother entering into business with three Swans players based in Sydney.
We have Stephens' dad being as active a Swans fan on Twitter as anyone in our supporter base.
We have Papley's childhood mate from back home playing footy in Sydney for our reserves.
We had Kennedy's young kid frequenting training and seemingly on first-name basis with some of our boys.
We have Parker's wife who I've heard is something of a mentor and supporter to the players' girlfriends when they join the club.
We've also met with and shown a willingness to entertain the prospect of McDonald and Florent's younger brothers coming on board.
And we have photographic and anecdotal evidence of the efforts the club makes to include the families in the transition process post-draft.

Individually these small acts and gestures might not seem like much, but when combined they paint the picture of a club that wants every person involved with it to succeed, from the executive level right down to girlfriends and extended families. And I know for a fact that such a support network does not exist at all other clubs, so it's just another reason to think of ourselves as very blessed to follow this club, and I think all involved deserve credit for it.
And how many CEOs run water for the AFLW team? And have Brett Kirk running ground balls for them. There's a lot to like.

Yep. Sounds like a cult for sure.

The Indigenous Academy is consistent with your points. It is as much about encouraging connections inc with community and helping kids with an interest in for example, sports science, management as it is about identifying elite footy talent.

I should add thousands of kids have had contact with and been involved with our Academy. Only a couple of handfuls have made ours or other AFL lists. The purpose of the Academy is not to give those few kids a golden ticket but to promote each kids love of the game and skills for life.

Hopefully the other three Northern Academies operate in a similar fashion.

There are grounds for cynicism about how the Vic Academies work. They are driven to use drafting criteria to talent spot and bank elite players for recruitment, eg Tarryn Thomas, Ugle-Hagan.

Tasmania was once well placed to develop young players. This is no longer the case. The AFL and Norf and Hawf have been a disastrous influence on TAS footy particularly around junior footy. The first step for the new TAS team should be investment in their own Academy with the Melbourne teams being told to nick off.

Florents younger brother isn't up to AFL standards

I said that we'd entertained the prospect of them (McDonald and Florent's brothers) coming on board to play for us. Met with both and in the case of Jai Florent, he trained with us.
Thank you for clarifying that , Jai's a great kid and player , but not up to standard sadly

Former Swans strength and conditioning coach joins WCE, with an endorsement from Sam Naismith;

Naismith credits him with getting Buddy back on-field after his disastrous 2020 and Sam reckons he was " huge for my preparation and getting my body right,”
Of course Buddy only played 10 games in 2019 before his 2020 season wipe out.
Kilgallon had 6 years at the Swans returning to Ireland in June 2021.

Damien Raper (Head of Physio & Medical Services) and Rob Inness (High Performance boss) joined after the 2020 season.
And since then soft tissue injuries have dropped and players have been required to build up and prove their fitness prior to getting back into the team (a certain GF player excepted).
The turnover of staff certainly seems to have been beneficial.

To quote Dane Rampe from May 2021;
“I can’t speak highly enough of them (Inness/Raper). They’ve come in and just immediately bought in and displayed a professionalism we’ve been really impressed by.”
The benefits stretch back to before Christmas, when the Swans had almost the entirety of their list on deck for pre-season training – the first time Rampe can remember that happening in his near decade at the club.

Former Swans strength and conditioning coach joins WCE, with an endorsement from Sam Naismith;

Naismith credits him with getting Buddy back on-field after his disastrous 2020 and Sam reckons he was " huge for my preparation and getting my body right,”
Of course Buddy only played 10 games in 2019 before his 2020 season wipe out.
Kilgallon had 6 years at the Swans returning to Ireland in June 2021.

Damien Raper (Head of Physio & Medical Services) and Rob Inness (High Performance boss) joined after the 2020 season.
And since then soft tissue injuries have dropped and players have been required to build up and prove their fitness prior to getting back into the team (a certain GF player excepted).
The turnover of staff certainly seems to have been beneficial.

To quote Dane Rampe from May 2021;
“I can’t speak highly enough of them (Inness/Raper). They’ve come in and just immediately bought in and displayed a professionalism we’ve been really impressed by.”
The benefits stretch back to before Christmas, when the Swans had almost the entirety of their list on deck for pre-season training – the first time Rampe can remember that happening in his near decade at the club.
Cant open the article.. Im not sure what you (and the article) are saying?
Has Raper gone to West Coast?
or has Kilgallon??

Cant open the article.. Im not sure what you (and the article) are saying?
Has Raper gone to West Coast?
or has Kilgallon??
Kilgallon has joined WCE after leaving us in 2021.

The article is saying what a great pick up he is, seemingly based on Naismith's endorsement.

I was suggesting that perhaps Kilgallon who was let go by us mid-2021 may not be quite the guru Sam is suggesting.
Under Kilgallon's watch Franklin played 10 games in 2019 and none in 2020.
Since Raper/Inness have come onboard Buddy has played 18 in 2021 and 23 in 2022.

Also Naismith credits Kilgallon with "getting his body right".
Can't help but feel that Sam's definition of 'getting his body right' might be at odds with other people's characterization.

Basically I was talking up Inness/Raper.

How I am feeling about what teams I want to watch going into next season

I never want to watch Richmond or the Giants ever again

my-image.png

Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)