Training Pre Season '24

Like, actually not even close šŸ¤£
In 2014 Prestia would have been No2 midfielder behind Abblet, He got to be No1 kick chaser in a hopeless side because they didn't have anyone else who was anywhere near good enough. I doubt his disposal count has been anywhere near that level since he joined the tigers.
Dow has always had to play a secondary role to our other mids. If he gets a chance this year I think you will find his stats will improve.

Not even close. Take a look at them at the same age -

View attachment 1895301
In fairness prestia wasnt trying to break into a triple premiership midfield, instead was playing his trade with a bunch of shit fighters . Dow would have played 2-3 x as many games if he were at GC in that sorry era

In fairness prestia wasnt trying to break into a triple premiership midfield, instead was playing his trade with a bunch of s**t fighters . Dow would have played 2-3 x as many games if he were at GC in that sorry era
Mate prestias AFL numbers 4 years into his career would comfortably be better than Dows VFL stats last season.

Dow has got over 25 disposals 8 times in the vfl in his career, averages just 21 disposals, is a poor kick and rarely dominates games like he should be by now.

He's not even close to Prestias talent.

Mate prestias AFL numbers 4 years into his career would comfortably be better than Dows VFL stats last season.

Dow has got over 25 disposals 8 times in the vfl in his career, averages just 21 disposals, is a poor kick and rarely dominates games like he should be by now.

He's not even close to Prestias talent.
MY point is that most of our juniors incl Dow have been way under exposed due to the success weā€™ve had , hopefully thatā€™s the first thing that changes under new stewardship

I liked Corey Ellis and Conor Menendue and both played good games in our 2017 premiership year.

But at the end of the day the weren't going to make it.

Dow looking ok, but so is McAuliffe and for some reason I have a feeling McAuliffe is a serious player..

But it's always the hope that kills you

I have a feeling McAuliffe is a serious player..

The thing about serious players is that for the most part they look like they have the attributes even as youngsters.

McAuliffe does show some very good attributes.

I think he might be a smokie for the season opener if he stays fit and shows some good form in pre season games.

I like Dow, looks to have added a bit of upper body strength, a bit more size at the contest will help him. Has great evasiveness and movement, and feel like he has great hands at ground level and quick hands.

Only worry I have on him is his spread and running ability and his kicking. Some players can make it work without those traits like Tom Mitchell, but the majority of the time those things can really limit you as a player.

He's definitely the better brother
Not too sure about that

Dont want to be debbie downer into this Dow love fest going on here and hope the kid has a fantastic career
but i have not seen anything thats made me think wow

His brother has played 75 games and was a top 3 selection

I'm excited. We've had the same coach for 14 years and outside of a brief period between 2017-2020, it wasn't always great footy.

This is a fresh start, can't wait to see us and how the players play and respond under Yze.

To me after 2021 season where we bombed, I kind of thought Hardwick has gotten everything he could out of us and so the last couple years have felt a bit stale for me.
Agree. Seems impossible to me that we go worse than last year. And with competition as strong as itā€™s been, I expect us to improve.

Not too sure about that

Dont want to be debbie downer into this Dow love fest going on here and hope the kid has a fantastic career
but i have not seen anything thats made me think wow

His brother has played 75 games and was a top 3 selection
afd860d7d3f66f0ee8f8c7fe1d428166-1866403746.gif

I like Dow, looks to have added a bit of upper body strength, a bit more size at the contest will help him. Has great evasiveness and movement, and feel like he has great hands at ground level and quick hands.

Only worry I have on him is his spread and running ability and his kicking. Some players can make it work without those traits like Tom Mitchell, but the majority of the time those things can really limit you as a player.
Agree in general however not so important for an inside mid. His distribution by hand is good and should go up a notch when he finds his feet at this level. The Mitchell comparison is fair, but Dow is more elusive so in theory should have a bit more time with the ball. If he can just kick to safety, a bit like Graham, then that would be fine.

I liked Corey Ellis and Conor Menendue and both played good games in our 2017 premiership year.

But at the end of the day the weren't going to make it.

Dow looking ok, but so is McAuliffe and for some reason I have a feeling McAuliffe is a serious player..

KM is definitely a serious player.
Has the X factor.
LOOK OUT !!!

Reminds me so much of Shedda. Needs a bit more time to prove himself because unlike Shedda, he has been developing and struggling to get senior experience after his senior teammates won 3 flags

Reminds me so much of Shedda. Needs a bit more time to prove himself because unlike Shedda, he has been developing after his senior teammates won 3 flags
I reckon Edwards was a lot more crafty around goals and by foot, but yes in terms of agility, hands, movement in traffic very similar.

Edwards had some of the quickest hands I've seen in our side, infact probably the quickest during that era.

I reckon Edwards was a lot more crafty around goals and by foot, but yes in terms of agility, hands, movement in traffic very similar.

Edwards had some of the quickest hands I've seen in our side, infact probably the quickest during that era.
Yeah decent call
In terms of inside work they are extremely similar but Sheds had a few more tricks and could be played more outside and as a small forward if needed

Training Pre Season '24