Training Pre season training

It helps when all 60 kids taken every year are a ripper

On Pixel 7 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
images

Huge steal if we’re patient enough!

I did a bit of homework because bored and compared the last 3 “best ruck in drafts”-

2022 Harry Barnett pick 23
SANFL 18s- 18.1 disposals, 24 hitouts
Nationals- 11.7 disposals, 14.7 hit outs

2023 Will Green pick 16
CTL u18s- 11.3 disposals, 22.8 hitouts
Nationals- 12 disposals, 24.3 hitouts

2024 Alex Dodson pick 53
SANFL u18s- 20.8 disposals, 24.8 hitouts
Nationals- 17.3 disposals, 19.7 hitouts

In my opinion I think clubs are tending not to select ruckman very high knowing they will take 4 or 5 years to develop, with such a shortage on list spots, preferring to target trading for them at 25 or 26 years old. That and with new ruck rules the athletic leaping ruckman are going by the wayside in favour of the Xerri/Meek types.

Dodson was a huge steal after being rated 15-25, Schoenmaker was a huge steal after being rated around pick 20, and Keeler was a huge steal after being rated by many as around pick 15-25. Also with high upside draftees like Tauru. Nailing these picks could definitely supercharge our rebuild! I’m feeling optimistic for the clubs direction!
Yes .... you have to wonder why he slid to 53

Your opinion could be on point however even Geelong who were closely linked to him pre-draft passed and took Molier the Sturt U18 2nd stringer ... who was behind Dodson as primary ruck choice

Too smart for their own good?

I think it’s worth trying Zak Jones as a stagger. He’s got anger, great tackling, speed, fitness, and can win a little ball. He’s be more effective stopping someone and getting under their skin. Takes his average skills out of the spotlight. Give Windy a chance to be a more balanced mid.
Jones being a ball winner for us now does not help our long term needs. Even if he was great at it, which he hasn’t consistently provided to be.

Your opinion could be on point however even Geelong who were closely linked to him pre-draft passed and took Molier the Sturt U18 2nd stringer ... who was behind Dodson as primary ruck choice

I assume they’ll just rely on getting Dodson to “cotton on” to “the coastal life” as and when required…

IMG_2271.gif

We could have gotten one of the all-time great steals in Dodson.

Would he have been the best performed in the ruck in the U18’s since Jackson?

And I think he was still playing basketball for Australia this year!
What was the name of the ruck that went one pick before him? I want to compare them for the rest of their lives.

I think it’s worth trying Zak Jones as a stagger. He’s got anger, great tackling, speed, fitness, and can win a little ball. He’s be more effective stopping someone and getting under their skin. Takes his average skills out of the spotlight. Give Windy a chance to be a more balanced mid.
Jones being a ball winner for us now does not help our long term needs. Even if he was great at it, which he hasn’t consistently provided to be.

On iPhone using ][emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]]BigFooty.com mobile app

Not sure what a "stagger" does.. The guy who staggers on to the field after a big night out, and still tears it up?

I know the bulldogs and hawks have some stagers, like Weightman and Ginnivan. Dont think Jones can play that role.

Not sure what a "stagger" does.. The guy who staggers on to the field after a big night out, and still tears it up?

I know the bulldogs and hawks have some stagers, like Weightman and Ginnivan. Dont think Jones can play that role.
If the boss does go with a tagger Windhager is #1 preferred option then Stocker..

There was some chatter that one of Dodson's pre-draft club interviews or some incident spooked some recruiters; who knows how accurate that is - if I had to hazard a guess, I'd say it was made up.

He got invites to American universities for basketball if i recall correctly.

Escape risk.

Forwards are fine,
Looked a lot better in the 2nd half of year when the mids started to get the ball in quicker.
I actually think the scope for forward line improvement is massive. King is argurably the most naturally talented kid from his draft it’s just not clicked for him. I’m cautious cause we’ve heard every year it’s going to be “the” year for him and it never is but fingers crossed.

Higgins and butler look to both be fit. Henry as well. Structurally we seem pretty set with King, Sharman and Owens as the tall(ish) and then our smalls/high hfs.

The backline might regress although I still think it’ll be minor. Gamestyle and structure will handle a lot of battles loss.

Midfield improves with personel and development.

Our forward line could be anything, if it clicks it’s an absolute high caliber weapon.

I actually think the scope for forward line improvement is massive. King is argurably the most naturally talented kid from his draft it’s just not clicked for him. I’m cautious cause we’ve heard every year it’s going to be “the” year for him and it never is but fingers crossed.

Higgins and butler look to both be fit. Henry as well. Structurally we seem pretty set with King, Sharman and Owens as the tall(ish) and then our smalls/high hfs.

I wouldnt discount Keeler playing as the 2nd tall option. By the looks of the way he is training 2025 will be his break out year (fingers crossed).

Yeah this was an interesting call, love to know the Cats' line of thinking that led them to make this decision. Must've surprised a few. Well of course only time will tell how their careers pan out but as Saintos noted I'm also curious to watch the next few years of these guys. No pressure on the kid 🙄🤨 but Dodson really seems to have the potential to become the best ruck in the league in five years time. 🥴💩

I'm sure for some players who enjoy the lifestyle on the surf coast the Cattery is a great place to be.

For many others it's the arse end of no where.

Who knows what Dodson said that turned them colder than Bells on a mid-July morning?
Heard he said, 'you have had Stanley as your no.1ruck for 10 years, you obviously don't rate ruckmen'.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

The backline might regress although I still think it’ll be minor. Gamestyle and structure will handle a lot of battles loss.

Our forward line could be anything, if it clicks it’s an absolute high caliber weapon.

King was at just the right age to start dominating but injury ruined another season. Most key forwards come good around 24/25. For me injury will be his biggest enemy. So far he's been good but has never been resilient. Without Butler fit add Memberey missing games too we were really up against it.

Yeh the complete lack of continuity (both personel and sturcture) ruined our forward, it was evident at the game i went to as well, we had no 1st. 2nd, 3rd options moving into open space, it was like watching u/12s with everyone just calling for the ball on their head (i was at the North game and ONLY Jack Hayes led at the footy and he got it).

Its a long way til round 1 and even longer to the finals race but our forward line genuinely looks like a weapon if we can get some fitness, continuity and chemistry .

Yeh the complete lack of continuity (both personel and sturcture) ruined our forward, it was evident at the game i went to as well, we had no 1st. 2nd, 3rd options moving into open space, it was like watching u/12s with everyone just calling for the ball on their head (i was at the North game and ONLY Jack Hayes led at the footy and he got it).

Its a long way til round 1 and even longer to the finals race but our forward line genuinely looks like a weapon if we can get some fitness, continuity and chemistry .

Snags got the long suspension too. Add a decimated midfield and we probably overachieved with what we had at our disposal.

Others will improve as well and it will come down to how much each does but we should be in the conversation of clubs that could surge.

Snags got the long suspension too. Add a decimated midfield and we probably overachieved with what we had at our disposal.

Others will improve as well and it will come down to how much each does but we should be in the conversation of clubs that could surge.
Its a funny phenomenon for oppo club supporters to ONLY see the scope for regression with the Battle loss but completely overlook that weve added a good inside mid (last time we had one we made finals) and we had a ****ed forward line that should, just by nature of not all being unavailable, be better PLUS a year of development and gametime (and pre season) into our batch of really good kids.

Every other club seems to have scope for improvement, even ****ing Essendon whos only real change is Stringer out Kako in.

In the past these claims have always been based on hope - hope that with a full season he can kick more goals or whatever

This pre-season it looks like he's genuinely gotten bigger and stronger and there's been a change of mindset by coaches to not just get him to recover from his injury, but transform his body in the process

He also has support now with Sharman and hopefully Caminiti or Keeler. Also one of the best i50 kicks in the comp in Macrae (when at his best)

Know a young guy who was drafted a couple of years ago that had a long chat to Shifter - said he was a quite unusual old bloke!
I know it’s not meant in any way, but his use of “boy” always makes me shudder. Just use player, even kid, Shifter!

Anyway, he loves his draftees and nice to see some positivity in this world! Even if it is all 600 that put their name up!

Yeah this was an interesting call, love to know the Cats' line of thinking that led them to make this decision. Must've surprised a few. Well of course only time will tell how their careers pan out but as Saintos noted I'm also curious to watch the next few years of these guys. No pressure on the kid 🙄🤨 but Dodson really seems to have the potential to become the best ruck in the league in five years time. 🥴💩
Gawn, Barker and Darcy Wilson’s blonde twin is quite a draft haul.

Its a funny phenomenon for oppo club supporters to ONLY see the scope for regression with the Battle loss but completely overlook that weve added a good inside mid (last time we had one we made finals) and we had a ****ed forward line that should, just by nature of not all being unavailable, be better PLUS a year of development and gametime (and pre season) into our batch of really good kids.

Every other club seems to have scope for improvement, even ****ing Essendon whos only real change is Stringer out Kako in.

I'm the same. My mates that follow other clubs talk up their chances and I think they're all morons. Most of us know our own lists intimately but not much about others unless they are a hype side like the Hawks.

Essendon, GC, Freo, Adelaide etc all have a good chance at surging but so do we. Melbourne and Collingwood could both jump again and North have a decent list now. We are firmly I that pool for a top 8 push. Injury, fixture and form will make the task harder or easier. I think late 2024 form showed we have Lyon's game plan worked out but personnel staying fit and in form will make the biggest difference for us.

Training Pre season training