Training Pre season training

A mate of mine who is a mad Carlton fan said he was surprised they let him go and said he had all the tools and attributes, and at times was brilliant in games. The only knock was that he’d go missing, so for him consistency was the issue.

Carroll for me could be our Jack Crisp

Discarded from another club at a young age - in the case of Crisp he was the steak knives in the Beams deal to Brions - who then goes on to have a super impact and play a key role at his new club

He looks like he has something so hopefully we can develop him further ... note that Crisp was 21 when he was moved out ... same age as Carroll

We’re not allowed to post full articles so maybe a bunch of us who have access to it post 1 paragraph each!
Absolute garbage article anyway, just says we’re going to go ballistic and we’ve let everyone know, player mangers etc.

Then goes on to list a rag tag bunch of free agents many of whom we couldn’t possible have any real interest in for a variety of reasons. So we’re cashed up with millions in cap space and here’s the list.

UDL
Worpel
TDK
Maynard
Richards
Allen from WC
Farrell
Fiorini
Sheed
Silvagni

Seriously the worst thing we could do would be to waste cash on a player we don’t need or some on the 😳 names on that list. LDU is obviously the one after that it’s got to be a priority to lock away NAS and co, we’d burn the place down if we paid big coin for some of those names.

Who said journalism is dead, I’m so glad I logged into the herald sun to read that.

Yeah totally, I probably didn’t word it perfectly, I think he’ll still be solid, but that post was largely in response to one or more suggestions that Darcy might go up another level or two, which I think is highly unlikely.

We had even higher hopes for another guy with great endurance in Windy, in his second season, and it didn’t happen.

This year we would have had similar hopes that the super-fit Pou would go up a level off the back of another preseason, and he pretty much stunk it up until finally dropped, before an awesome late burst.

Lots of us would have hoped that Owens would go up another level this year off a 3rd preseason and it didn’t happen.

Cooper Sharman was picked up mid year and had a super-promising end to that season and we hoped he’d be better the next year for an AFL preseason and it didn’t happen.

Etc etc.

Of course it can happen, but improvement is very rarely linear for young guys, even if they’re super-fit.

As such, I will just see it as a big bonus if Wilson is better next year. Not as an expectation of any kind.

And this has nothing to do with him personally. It’s purely on the balance of probabilities.

Our big improvement will come from less injuries. Last year we really struggled to get every one fit and firing.

Is anybody able to post the John Ralph super footy article about Saints set to go ballistic next year with up to 10 payers in their sights . Cheers
Luke Davies-Uniacke
James Worpel
Tom De Koning
Brayden Maynard 🤢
Ed Richards
Oscar Allen
Kane Farrell
Brayden Fiorini
Dom Sheed
Jack Silvagni

It’s a bullshit list made to fill column inches.

I reckon second year blues are more a by-product of opposition teams actually putting time into a player who had a good 1st season, not to mention having access to film of their game and running patterns. Darcy is going to have some attention this year and the hardest part for young players is working through that extra attention/ gameplan to stop his influence, that they aren't used to.

No doubt his aerobic capacity will help in this regard, but that is exactly what teams will know about and try to combat.

Definitely a bit of that. I remember hearing lots of players saying their training steps up in the second year and they find themselves getting mentally and physically burnt out. He should be right physically.

Luke Davies-Uniacke
James Worpel
Tom De Koning
Brayden Maynard 🤢
Ed Richards
Oscar Allen
Kane Farrell
Brayden Fiorini
Dom Sheed
Jack Silvagni

It’s a bullshit list made to fill column inches.
It's a list designed to fuel the media backlash when we don't land any of them .... because you know ..... "we aren't trying hard enough to be a destination club" ...... nothing to do with the players being happy to stay put where they are

By way of protecting my track reputation, I was there around an hour and there we as no sign of him. The other new boys were present at the mini marquees on the boundary with Mr Muscles (presume fitness guy) and a coach explaining things. I must have left by the time he came out. The earlier pic showing Viking is not Linton Street.

Probably inside engrossed in the Trevor Barker images - “hi mum, yeah they seem to love me. They put my photos up everywhere. Even named a ground after me”.

I think Jake has done a pretty good comparison of the lists here. Pretty stark between 21 and now.

Speaks alot of truths about age/game profile and culture/standards that the kids get to develop as an example to the kids that are coming in, who'll be the ones they play most of their careers with. Can't replace that player familiarity.

I think what we’re hoping for/banking on re Macrae is a “new club bounce”.

It’s very common for guys who have stagnated or regressed at their previous club to come to their new club with a renewed energy and focus, and if we can get that from Macrae, that will help enormously.

What I’m thinking we’re likely to get from him is a new club bounce year this year, we’re he’s close to what we were getting from Crouch, followed by a serviceable season the following year, and hopefully we’ve had others go past him by year 3, like what happened to him at WB.

While we’ll hopefully get the new club bounce from Carroll, coupled with the natural improvement from someone that sort of age.
Just on that final as well. He got 7 touches and 4 tackles in just over a quarter of footy. He came on against a rampant Hawthorn being played out of position. He's not the best choice as a sub, and almost noone would be able to impact a game like that as a sub. I would honestly be very surprised if he wasn't top 5 in our best and fairest this year.

Agreed mate. Bloke is still a flat out gun and will show it next year. Yeah yeah age/discarded and so on but he’s a pure footballer, can’t wait to watch him in our colours

Incredibly unlucky the past 2 seasons, ‘23 all our talls went down & this year all our mids..
Probably why we picked so many extra backs this year….🤣

He's very motivated to prove Bevo wrong and that he's still a quality inside mid. We will be all the better for it.

And he will benefit from our running/fitness program.

Never say never of course and not saying he'll reach the level of this superstar but Darcy Wilson is the best chance of not having 2nd year blues since the legend Harves.

I just looked back through the AFL tracker for this seasons games and Darcy's running stats would have had the football world in complete meltdown if he played for "insert overrated big Melbourne club name here". And oh he wins the ball at either end.

There was no one close that had 12 (plus) 15km games whilst having the most sprints at close to or above 30 each time. Hilly only beat him close to the end of the season when he had his "first winter" blues. He bounced back in the last few rounds to be metronomic again.

He may well get injured but just like Harves did once he started getting 30 disposals a game because of a workrate better than anyone else I'm convinced it would only be injury that will get Darcy. There is no "putting effort into him". Opposition coaches won't have the players to go with him and if they do they'll want their own player to do their own thing.

We have a beauty on our hands. Reckon I'm a fan? 😁

Training Pre season training