Training Pre season training

Still haven't watched the replay. Don't think I ever will. Can't even get the balls up to see whether Schneider should have got a holding free in the last qtr in front of goal. I was sure on the day it was an obvious free.
Obvious and then of course we had Hawkins poster........

Never have, never will. If it either comes on, I immediately switch channels.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Same. Some dick thought it would be a good idea to buy me the Blu-ray of the drawn GF, it is still wrapped in the plastic it came in.....

Over the years, I reckon I have re-watched the 2009 gf once or twice, and the 2010 draw several times. All of these have been due to replays being broadcasted on various channels.

Regardless, every time I watch either game, there is this stupid part of my brain which hopes Scarlett doesn't toe poke the ball to Ablett and we hold on, and the ball will sit up for Milne - for those wondering, it never happens...

As mentioned by others, it just shows how close we were away from at least one flag. As a 27-year-old, I am one of the few supporters who haven't experience copious amounts of depression from the club over a long period of time. The Richo years were my 9/11.

Retrospectively, I realise how lucky I was growing up watching us from 2005 to 2011. I remember going to school at 12 years old and being a Saints supporter wasn't considered a joke.

Fast forward 15 years and I didn't understand how good I had it growing up - despite not winning a flag.

Excuse my ramblings. I am sitting at my boring office job counting down the days before I go on holidays and do several variations of f*ck all.
If the Many Worlds theory is true, somewhere there are duplicates of us all who have witnessed back to back flags.

Still haven't watched the replay. Don't think I ever will. Can't even get the balls up to see whether Schneider should have got a holding free in the last qtr in front of goal. I was sure on the day it was an obvious free.
He definitely should have. It was clear as. Also the Tiprat running into open goal and kicking the ground instead of the ball. Oh dear it really doesn’t get any better with age.

We shall all be at peace when late in the 2026 GF, trailing by five points with Nick Daicos running towards the fifty, there's a masterful rundown tackle from Hugo f#cking Garcia. Advantage called as the ball spills free to the running man Wilson who motors into the clear and spots up the Pou who swings around on to the left from sixty and puts it to the top of the square where the big pack flies and in from the side and over the top soars Mason Wood who somehow manages to get the handball to Snags on the line who rams it home low into the Collingwood cheer squad. 😎

giphy (16).gif

Banger9798:
If the Many Worlds theory is true, somewhere, there are duplicates of us all who have witnessed back-to-back flags.

I have witnessed several saints' premierships in alternate universes. If you want the details of how to access these worlds, I would gladly share.
Feel free to contact me at the Arkham Asylum, Gotham City.

It's one of my enduring memories of that day. I was sitting high up in the Ponsford Stand, and Mini got the ball running at the goal, and I actually looked down at my record to see his name in preparation to write the goal next to his name, looked up and he had missed. He barely kicked a behind that year.

Have not watched the replay...but my memory of that was that Mini rather than just slot the goal look back over his shoulder...and then f****** missed.

never rewatched 97
was at 09...behind the hawkins poster never watched it, just highlights once
was at 10 have watched the draw
was at reply, left not long after the half...game was gone was very very 'upset', never watched it, dont even know who won the norm

Yeah the Bulldogs were always near the top for points scored while they were in contention. Ross was in the box when Sydney went back to back grand finals with Roos and hasn’t been able to get that out of his mind since. You’d rather be better defensively of course but we desperately need someone from the old Richmond system in charge of ball movement because you can’t win unless you score as well these days.

Ugh...

Not to pick on you but I can't stand the talk that we aren't capable of scoring.

We ave 2.7 less I50s than Carlton BUT they kicked 2.6 goals more per game.

The difference in scoring isn't our ability to move the ball, it's what happens when/if our forwards get their hands on it.

If the 09/10 Saints execute, or the Freo team kick straight, Lyon would be talked up as one of he GOATs.

He is giving this team every possible chance to win games of footy, with far less talent than most of the teams in the comp.

If our forwards can execute then there's no reason we can't compete with teams for a spot in that 5-8 region.

If the Many Worlds theory is true, somewhere there are duplicates of us all who have witnessed back to back flags.

We actually won 97 but the board and Alves still fell out and we hit rock bottom.

We then loaded up and won 04, 05, 09 & 2010.

The players still bitched about the coffee in Seaford though...

never rewatched 97
was at 09...behind the hawkins poster never watched it, just highlights once
was at 10 have watched the draw
was at reply, left not long after the half...game was gone was very very 'upset', never watched it, dont even know who won the norm
I was with my mum for the grand final loss. That was it for me.

PreSeason Summation 17/12/24 New
OK, a very long read with the annual pre Christmas preseasons for each player. Hopefully this stops the grand final masochism.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1.Jack Higgins – Not much different to last year, playing forward, running improved very lively at training becoming one of the senior players of the group.,

2.Marcus Windhager – looks cut, running hard keeping up in the hard running drills just behind Wilson. Looks set for a big year, so far playing out of the midfield in whatever match sim they have been playing. Had a niggle early on but is back in the main group looking good.

3.Zak Jones – One of the standouts at training. Has been quick enthusiastic, hard at it every session. Accuracy (under no pressure like everyone else) has been excellent. Keep him fit and he is likely to be used as an outside mid. Needs to make every post a winner on a one year deal.

4.Lance Collard-. Seems to be pretty happy and settled. Hasn’t set the world on fire in sims but is enthusiastic and competing well. Club gave him a three year deal for a reason.

5.Tobie Travaglia – to me has been more impressive than Wilson last season. Dynamic of half back, clean disposal, has good game sense and can run all day. Out of the five draftees. This kid is the no.1 bet for a seniors call up sooner rather than later.

6.Jack Macrae – a big inside mid, just what we need. Well balanced, great disposal, footy IQ, just what you expect from a multiple AA player. A very good recruit.

7.Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera – taller, more filled out, working off a half back flank (think he may take Sinc’s position as he rolls through the midfield more.) A beautiful user of the ball, getting better all the time Need a signature sooner rather than later..

8.Brad Hill – Evergreen is Brad Hill. Very happy, hard running guy at training. Always having a laugh, getting around the younger indigenous guys, maintains his standards at training.

9.Jack Steele – looks cut and fit. Has been a bit unsighted not because his standards have dropped but the midfield around him has improved. Will relish the likes of a fit Macrae, Dow, Clark, Windhager etc giving him a chopout.

10.Mitch Owens no management of Chito this preseason, continues to develop in a meaningful way. Forget him as a mid, he will be a damaging medium forward.

11.Hunter Clark – Hard running, looking fit, playing inside last training session at semi contact match sim. Hopefully he stays injury free, contract up this season. Disposal has been a bit iffy in the drills. Saw how he can really contribute with an injury free run. Got 11 in a row at the end of the season and looked better every game.

12.Max King – managed. Coming along well. Running hard, seems to have filled out a bit more. If fit will be in the team round 1

13.Ryan Byrnes – another to impress. Works very hard at training, has looked very sharp, now has lots of competition. Like Jones can’t just dial it in with the likes of Wilson, Pou, Dow, Travalgia, Hall etc now at the club.

14.Liam Stocker –managing a groin.One year contract so needs to get fit and really push for that small back role. Some competition for his position.

15.Paddy Dow –. Excellent through the mids. Seems very balanced and his seniors experience really shows with his positioning. Will be challenged for his position by Carroll, Hall, Jones, Clark, Garcia, Windy etc. Needs to show why he was a pick 3 selection at the draft

16.Dan Butler – has been lively and fully fit this preseason. Being used as a HFF in the drills where RL wants width. He is positioning himself on the wing. Will be interesting where he lines up

17.Isaac Keeler. Nice size, bigger around the arse and shoulders, glides about the field, highly skilled, nice disposal. He is an out an out forward/ relief ruckman in my opinion. Has been one of the younger ones to have developed over the offseason.

18. Jack Carroll– good pickup, nice size, seems to read the play well, hard to get a guage on him as our mids are so even with the likes of Dow, Jones, Hall, Garcia and him all looking of a similar calibre. Lyon wanted players with good disposal that can run, well Carroll is an archetypal Lyon recruit. Outside my pay grade to rank all these mids and who will get the nod for the seniors.

19.Rowan Marshall – absolute class. Should have been AA ruckman. Really is a cut above all our other rucks. Rolled an ankle last session before Christmas. Didn’t look too bad. Having some good duels with Heath and Boyd

20.Dougal Howard – Doug being Doug. Hasn’t pulled any arms out of sockets so that’s a bonus. OCC at year end

21.Zaine Cordy – his tank is still terrible, still being played down back. OOC at year end

22.Darcy Wilson – elite runner, again last session, running at the front of the fastest group hardly blowing. We all saw his season. Biggest tank literally in the League. In a rookie year got 9 of the best 25 game distances in history. Could have kicked 5 against the Blues. Amazingling for a first year player got better as the season riolled on. Absolute rolled gold beauty.

23.Liam Henry – in rehab with the knee. Has only just started running, Extremely unlike for R1

24.Angus Hastie – seems taller and starting to fill out, but is very clean with the ball in hand, and positions nicely in match sim type drills. Another of the RL types, balanced, good disposal, runs all day.

25.Mattaes Phillipou –Has played near 40 senior games now. His core looks stronger and he is only just behind the truly elite runners. My BOG for preseason. Came back after working on his game in the VFL and had glimpses of Bont/Cripps about his game. Has a Roo like look about him re core strength. Elite trainer, very vocal. Set for a big season.

26.Alix Tauru – managed. We get our lollies later this year .

27.Arie Schoenmaker – playing of a Half back in drills and sims, go to for first disposal from kickouts. Being used to open the corridor As we know a supersonic boot, big arse and tree trunk legs, running much better this preseason.

28.James Barrat – looks 25, already has an AFL footballers body, seems to be the usual. Rinse, repeat here, nice mover, good disposal, can take a nice mark. Needs to read the play a little better. Not sure if he replaces Battle first up, a little bit of development, but can see hugh potential in James.

29.Jimmy Webster – nothing much to report. Doing his job and will probably start in the 22. Working a lot with the younger players, at 32 he needs to do all the work he can. We are still a bit skinny down back with a bit of development of the younger talls so will continue in his position.

30.Alex Dodson - great pickup, tall gangly kid who will take time to mature, but the kid can football, and shoots a mean hoop from outside the paint apparently.

32.Mason Wood – managed. Running strongly. Putting in his usual preseason. The wing is still his.

33.Patrick Said – smaller than the other mid recruits and needs a fair bit of development. Everyone, repeat after me, can run all day and has good game sense and disposal.

34.Hugo Garcia – last year thought he was a bit small. We were all impressed by his trips up to the seniors. Has grown taller and is starting to bulk up. Very intense at training. Been a bit crook coming up to Christmas but will be back hitting the track in the New Year.

35.Jack Sinclair – what do we expect from Sinc’s except the best. Look to see him running through the mids with Travaglia getting a gig.

38.Hugh Boxshall – good size, no Essendon type manlet draftees in our mids (well maybe Said and Hall) we gave up plenty for a kid in the 40’s but will be a strong inside mid who can get his own ball. Bright future for Hugh.

40. Max Hall – now fully fit, has impressed others at training, however I haven’t seen it as much. Not a knock, but my mug punter eye can't differentiate between his output and Dow, or Carroll, or Hastie or Boxshall. Either we have a high skilled team of recruits and draftees or they are all equally as poor. I don’t think they are poor.

41r.Angus McLennan – (can’t see it with this kid. Average size, average skills, average decision making, average runner). In brackets is what I wrote about him last year. Happy to say that he has improved in leaps and bounds. Looks like a footballer, running has improved, his game sense is very good and he competes well. Happy to be wrong on this bloke.

42. Max Heath – developing better, running better, more involved in match sim, taking some good marks and being link up. Rucking slowing improving. Still only 22, but now has Boyd, Keeler and eventually Dodson to compete with. Needs to step up this year.

43r.Cooper Sharman – very impressive this preseason with everything he does. Bigger tank, very nice positioning up forward outworking his opponent in match sim.

44.Callum Wilkie – Wilks does what Wilks does. Always a polished performer.

45b.Liam O'Connell – nice size, Works hard. In the same mould as Hastie, Garcia, Hall, etc.

46b. Eammonn Armstrong – is bald and 18, apart from that who knows.

47.rAnthony Caminiti – Managed, has a couple of issues. Seems to have a bit more definition. Don’t know where he plays but suggestion is back. Makes sense as the likes of Barret, McLennon, O’Connell etc develops.

50. Harry Boyd – built like a brick outhouse. Took a huge contested mark in front of me, rucks well, knows his game and limitations. Has impressed while at pre Christmas training. I think it is a very good safety measure.

We shall all be at peace when late in the 2026 GF, trailing by five points with Nick Daicos running towards the fifty, there's a masterful rundown tackle from Hugo f#cking Garcia. Advantage called as the ball spills free to the running man Wilson who motors into the clear and spots up the Pou who swings around on to the left from sixty and puts it to the top of the square where the big pack flies and in from the side and over the top soars Mason Wood who somehow manages to get the handball to Snags on the line who rams it home low into the Collingwood cheer squad.

View attachment 2189230

Can that be his name now going forward please? I love it; Hugo f#cking Garcia

Banger9798:
If the Many Worlds theory is true, somewhere, there are duplicates of us all who have witnessed back-to-back flags.

I have witnessed several saints' premierships in alternate universes. If you want the details of how to access these worlds, I would gladly share.
Feel free to contact me at the Arkham Asylum, Gotham City.
Postcode?

OK, a very long read with the annual pre Christmas preseasons for each player. Hopefully this stops the grand final masochism.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1.Jack Higgins – Not much different to last year, playing forward, running improved very lively at training becoming one of the senior players of the group.,

2.Marcus Windhager – looks cut, running hard keeping up in the hard running drills just behind Wilson. Looks set for a big year, so far playing out of the midfield in whatever match sim they have been playing. Had a niggle early on but is back in the main group looking good.

3.Zak Jones – One of the standouts at training. Has been quick enthusiastic, hard at it every session. Accuracy (under no pressure like everyone else) has been excellent. Keep him fit and he is likely to be used as an outside mid. Needs to make every post a winner on a one year deal.

4.Lance Collard-. Seems to be pretty happy and settled. Hasn’t set the world on fire in sims but is enthusiastic and competing well. Club gave him a three year deal for a reason.

5.Tobie Travaglia – to me has been more impressive than Wilson last season. Dynamic of half back, clean disposal, has good game sense and can run all day. Out of the five draftees. This kid is the no.1 bet for a seniors call up sooner rather than later.

6.Jack Macrae – a big inside mid, just what we need. Well balanced, great disposal, footy IQ, just what you expect from a multiple AA player. A very good recruit.

7.Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera – taller, more filled out, working off a half back flank (think he may take Sinc’s position as he rolls through the midfield more.) A beautiful user of the ball, getting better all the time Need a signature sooner rather than later..

8.Brad Hill – Evergreen is Brad Hill. Very happy, hard running guy at training. Always having a laugh, getting around the younger indigenous guys, maintains his standards at training.

9.Jack Steele – looks cut and fit. Has been a bit unsighted not because his standards have dropped but the midfield around him has improved. Will relish the likes of a fit Macrae, Dow, Clark, Windhager etc giving him a chopout.

10.Mitch Owens no management of Chito this preseason, continues to develop in a meaningful way. Forget him as a mid, he will be a damaging medium forward.

11.Hunter Clark – Hard running, looking fit, playing inside last training session at semi contact match sim. Hopefully he stays injury free, contract up this season. Disposal has been a bit iffy in the drills. Saw how he can really contribute with an injury free run. Got 11 in a row at the end of the season and looked better every game.

12.Max King – managed. Coming along well. Running hard, seems to have filled out a bit more. If fit will be in the team round 1

13.Ryan Byrnes – another to impress. Works very hard at training, has looked very sharp, now has lots of competition. Like Jones can’t just dial it in with the likes of Wilson, Pou, Dow, Travalgia, Hall etc now at the club.

14.Liam Stocker –managing a groin.One year contract so needs to get fit and really push for that small back role. Some competition for his position.

15.Paddy Dow –. Excellent through the mids. Seems very balanced and his seniors experience really shows with his positioning. Will be challenged for his position by Carroll, Hall, Jones, Clark, Garcia, Windy etc. Needs to show why he was a pick 3 selection at the draft

16.Dan Butler – has been lively and fully fit this preseason. Being used as a HFF in the drills where RL wants width. He is positioning himself on the wing. Will be interesting where he lines up

17.Isaac Keeler. Nice size, bigger around the arse and shoulders, glides about the field, highly skilled, nice disposal. He is an out an out forward/ relief ruckman in my opinion. Has been one of the younger ones to have developed over the offseason.

18. Jack Carroll– good pickup, nice size, seems to read the play well, hard to get a guage on him as our mids are so even with the likes of Dow, Jones, Hall, Garcia and him all looking of a similar calibre. Lyon wanted players with good disposal that can run, well Carroll is an archetypal Lyon recruit. Outside my pay grade to rank all these mids and who will get the nod for the seniors.

19.Rowan Marshall – absolute class. Should have been AA ruckman. Really is a cut above all our other rucks. Rolled an ankle last session before Christmas. Didn’t look too bad. Having some good duels with Heath and Boyd

20.Dougal Howard – Doug being Doug. Hasn’t pulled any arms out of sockets so that’s a bonus. OCC at year end

21.Zaine Cordy – his tank is still terrible, still being played down back. OOC at year end

22.Darcy Wilson – elite runner, again last session, running at the front of the fastest group hardly blowing. We all saw his season. Biggest tank literally in the League. In a rookie year got 9 of the best 25 game distances in history. Could have kicked 5 against the Blues. Amazingling for a first year player got better as the season riolled on. Absolute rolled gold beauty.

23.Liam Henry – in rehab with the knee. Has only just started running, Extremely unlike for R1

24.Angus Hastie – seems taller and starting to fill out, but is very clean with the ball in hand, and positions nicely in match sim type drills. Another of the RL types, balanced, good disposal, runs all day.

25.Mattaes Phillipou –Has played near 40 senior games now. His core looks stronger and he is only just behind the truly elite runners. My BOG for preseason. Came back after working on his game in the VFL and had glimpses of Bont/Cripps about his game. Has a Roo like look about him re core strength. Elite trainer, very vocal. Set for a big season.

27.Arie Schoenmaker – playing of a Half back in drills and sims, go to for first disposal from kickouts. Being used to open the corridor As we know a supersonic boot, big arse and tree trunk legs, running much better this preseason.

28.James Barrat – looks 25, already has an AFL footballers body, seems to be the usual. Rinse, repeat here, nice mover, good disposal, can take a nice mark. Needs to read the play a little better. Not sure if he replaces Battle first up, a little bit of development, but can see hugh potential in James.

29.Jimmy Webster – nothing much to report. Doing his job and will probably start in the 22. Working a lot with the younger players, at 32 he needs to do all the work he can. We are still a bit skinny down back with a bit of development of the younger talls so will continue in his position.

30.Alex Dodson - great pickup, tall gangly kid who will take time to mature, but the kid can football, and shoots a mean hoop from outside the paint apparently.

32.Mason Wood – managed. Running strongly. Putting in his usual preseason. The wing is still his.

33.Patrick Said – smaller than the other mid recruits and needs a fair bit of development. Everyone, repeat after me, can run all day and has good game sense and disposal.

34.Hugo Garcia – last year thought he was a bit small. We were all impressed by his trips up to the seniors. Has grown taller and is starting to bulk up. Very intense at training. Been a bit crook coming up to Christmas but will be back hitting the track in the New Year.

35.Jack Sinclair – what do we expect from Sinc’s except the best. Look to see him running through the mids with Travaglia getting a gig.

38.Hugh Boxshall – good size, no Essendon type manlet draftees in our mids (well maybe Said and Hall) we gave up plenty for a kid in the 40’s but will be a strong inside mid who can get his own ball. Bright future for Hugh.

40. Max Hall – now fully fit, has impressed others at training, however I haven’t seen it as much. Not a knock, but my mug punter eye can't differentiate between his output and Dow, or Carroll, or Hastie or Boxshall. Either we have a high skilled team of recruits and draftees or they are all equally as poor. I don’t think they are poor.

41r.Angus McLennan – (can’t see it with this kid. Average size, average skills, average decision making, average runner). In brackets is what I wrote about him last year. Happy to say that he has improved in leaps and bounds. Looks like a footballer, running has improved, his game sense is very good and he competes well. Happy to be wrong on this bloke.

42. Max Heath – developing better, running better, more involved in match sim, taking some good marks and being link up. Rucking slowing improving. Still only 22, but now has Boyd, Keeler and eventually Dodson to compete with. Needs to step up this year.

43r.Cooper Sharman – very impressive this preseason with everything he does. Bigger tank, very nice positioning up forward outworking his opponent in match sim.

45b.Liam O'Connell – nice size, Works hard. In the same mould as Hastie, Garcia, Hall, etc.

47.rAnthony Caminiti – Managed, has a couple of issues. Seems to have a bit more definition. Don’t know where he plays but suggestion is back. Makes sense as the likes of Barret, McLennon, O’Connell etc develops.

50. Harry Boyd – built like a brick outhouse. Took a huge contested mark in front of me, rucks well, knows his game and limitations. Has impressed while at pre Christmas training. I think it is a very good safety measure.
King of everything. Great effort and appreciate the time with this you champion. Can we now get back to Raph Clarke in minute 1, 2009?

Hastie is a really interesting one. I feel like he was drafted / seen as an attractive proposition for his elite speed / dancing steps and his intercepting. I’ve seen less of those, but when I’ve been down there this year he has been impressive almost purely on very high game sense. Reads the play, makes sound decisions, nice and neat. Will be interesting to see where his career takes him. I’m referring to intercepts more in the marking sense, but fair that he actually does well with this in general play.

You’re not wrong on the mix of even mids and HFF/mid types. We really need a couple to jump out of their skins or else the ‘nice depth’ but lack of stars continues. Hugo Fn G has to be one with his attributes and intensity. Who’s next?

Great summation but you have same ability as shifter Sheehan to make every player sound like a gun!

I was going to give you a Like after the second sentence, but thank you for this comprehensive write-up - it was a lovely palette cleanser after the awful masochistic nostalgia of this last few hours.

Amazing we’re at the depressive St Kilda fan time of the year

I can’t watch 2009 without feeling sick in the guts. 2010 isnt easy but 2009 is getting your pants pulled down on coronation day
Hard to believe it’s 15 years ago.

In that time there have been so many snake oil salesman that have sold us down the river and effed us for years.

From “I promise you Jeansy “ on his deathbed to the midget, to Significantly Unpleasing and Trout, to the short sightedness of the Lethdog’s era and perhaps sub par standards under Ratten. Some with more blame than others.

Harrowing stuff

Training Pre season training