Training Pre season training

Would be great if the kids can push them out but I reckon Webster and Jones will get a crack first up. They’ve got the runs on the board, they’re still looking good and we’ve got a tough few weeks. The others will have to spend their time at Sandy beating down the doors. Great to see it.

I was also at training yesterday - was very chilled because I knew others would write far better training reports than I could so I just sat back and watched, particularly looking for the new draftees. Anyway I did notice Webster who just keeps on doing his thing.

TT and Dodson just stick out like sore thumbs - in a good way and I’m not sure I actually spotted the others, maybe the 18 going on 25 year old Barrett.

King is looking fantastic - hopefully this is his year.

As others have commented, very vocal, happy and encouraging out there.
Too bad, would have said hello, if I had of known. I would say look for the old bloke with a grey beard, but that is about 25 of us at training. :D :D

From Saintsational...

KING SHOWING SOME GOOD SIGNS by Josh Barnes

"St Kilda spearhead Max King pushed through his biggest session of pre-season so far, as his potential key forward running mate Rowan Marshall showed impressive signs in attack.

The Saints finished their pre-Christmas training with a gruelling 150-minute session on Wednesday, taking in full-ground match simulation before a brutal running session to close.

Marshall played exclusively forward during two different matchplay stints, one full ground and another in just the attacking two-thirds.

Summer signing Harry Boyd took ruck duties while Marshall played forward, with the SANFL star rucking for a team wearing red that appeared to be virtually a full strength ‘A’ side.

Marshall clunked two big grabs near the goalsquare and dished out a direct goal assist in the shorter match play session, rotating with King, who also took two big marks.

With Boyd brought in as a mature ruck option, the Saints are testing out playing Marshall and King together forward more in 2025, after Marshall drifted forward to kick eight goals in his last five games of 2024.

King has been limited in pre-season while managing a knee issue and broke off to run laps after 90 minutes.

But the spearhead looked fit and was dangerous when playing up front. Marshall’s contact has been limited after off-
season wrist surgery and he wore a flouro hat to indicate limited contact.

Marcus Windhager (hamstring) and Liam Stocker (groin) stepped out of training to run with King, while Liam Henry (knee) watched on and hopes to rejoin full training in February.

Third-year Saint Mattaes Phillipou started in the first centre bounce for the red side, with Hunter Clark playing inside-midfield minutes.

Recruit Jack Macrae was a notable midfielder in the yellow bib on the ‘B’ team.

Both Jack Sinclair and Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera played as high half-backs during the full ground play, as did draftee Tobie Travaglia for the ‘B’ team.

Mitch Owens played forward and combined well with Cooper Sharman as marking targets, while Jack Higgins snuck in for multiple goals.

Second-year defender Arie Schoenmaker played in the ‘B’ defence but racked up the footy.

Second-year midfielder Darcy Wilson easily led the exhausting running session, ahead of Travaglia and Windhager."

He mentioned the following as "players who impressed":

Arie Schoenmaker - The long-kicking left-footer has to be on the Supercoach watch list. He collected loose possessions at will during match play. The Saints will want to get gametime into him next year.

Angus Hastie - Wore a non-contact fluoro cap but took in the entire session and impressed with his willingness to take on the game from half-back. Expect him to win more gametime next year after five appearances in his debut season.

Hunter Clark - Injury-free this pre-season, Clark played in the guts during match sim and combined well with skipper Jack Steele, He will be praying for a fully fit season.

Liam O'Connell - Keep an eye on the uncapped Irishman. He was played as a key back in one drill then showed promising signs as a rebounder in full ground play. His kicking will still take work but he has promise.
"

Boyd hasn’t actually officially signed with the club yet. Unless they’ve done it without an announcement.

It's just talk. The crown belongs to Jimmy until one of the kids can step up, which hasn't happened yet.
Windhager played alot in the back-pocket in 2023 & did well. Don't mind him playing there with the depth we have in the midfield. He's accountable 1 on 1, so can nullify the small forward.

McLennan looks way to slow to take over Websters role imo. I've always thought that this position should be filled by windy, no nonsense, aggressive and hard running. If the midfield doesn't work out for him, that's where he should play. Could also see travaglia come in and play as a lockdown small defender in his first year.

Windhager played alot in the back-pocket in 2023 & did well. Don't mind him playing there with the depth we have in the midfield. He's accountable 1 on 1, so can nullify the small forward.
He played as a rebounding half back, not as a lock down. Major difference

And it looks like we are preparing him for more midfield this season

I’d rather have faith that he can be a more consistent version of his Collingwood game than to have faith in him replacing Webster

He might not be the most gifted player on the list, but his immense work ethic leads me to believe he can still become a very good player for us in a position of need alongside Pou

And how was Webster the first few years at the club? Stocker and Sinclair likewise. You blokes have very short memories and are quick to write kids off if they arent super stars in their first couple of years. McLennan might not play 200 games or displace anyone in the side, but he is a young kid who will keep improving over time. He has one elite skill in contested marking, none of our current small defenders possess that, he is worth persisting with.

Have a look at the years of development the recent sucessful clubs have put into some of their group before they became premiership players. There are no quick fixes in football, just hard work and development
Calm the farm there SteeleSaints. Who's writing him off? Who are "you blokes"?

He was shown up numerous times when the ball hit the ground last year. The rest of his game is coming along nicely. Smart forwards will make mince meat of him at ground level if he doesn't improve in that area. I love the other parts of his game.

Just like Ari. Needs to improve in specific areas.

Writing him off. Lol.

Too bad, would have said hello, if I had of known. I would say look for the old bloke with a grey beard, but that is about 25 of us at training. :D :D
I did spend a few minutes wondering who was there but, sorry to say, the “boys” were a little more interesting to watch. 🤣
Haven’t managed to get to a training session for probably 2 years so I took the opportunity to head down and get my voucher stuff from the shop on training day.

I took my coffee and snuck into the area where Nicky Winmar was. Unfortunately I never saw him play live.

Saw a lot of Brains Trust caps so I’m assuming that was some of you.

For the most part, I’m happy to be anonymous. 😆

McLennan looks way to slow to take over Websters role imo. I've always thought that this position should be filled by windy, no nonsense, aggressive and hard running. If the midfield doesn't work out for him, that's where he should play. Could also see travaglia come in and play as a lockdown small defender in his first year.
As with Batt's departure you don't look to replace individuals with a 1 for 1 proposition.
Defence in particular and team sport in general is about the whole and deficiencies are covered to achieve an overall outcome.

Praise the Lord we are Christmas Premiers once again! 🤣

Seriously though, great info in here, appreciated as always & very exciting times/signs!

If Keeler or Boyd came on as support ruck I think that would help us a lot. Marshall resting forward is a big tick for mine. His forward craft is terrific. Just need to ensure we’re not too too heavy or slow up there. I thought the point made about Butler playing higher was interesting.

Touch wood, but the most exciting thing presently is the sheer lack of injuries. Such a crucial component to the whole picture, may it long continue please God. I hope they take all the time they need with Henry, and, we have Caminiti covered you’d think if he’s not right. Outside of those two and maybe TauRoo we’d be fairly available for round 1 at this stage by the sounds. If this bill of health stays intact, we’re a huge shout for Finals in 2025.

Sorry did I say Finals? I meant FLAG!

This year we started the season against the cats ( and we brought it to them ) with 4 new players.
Henry, Wilson, Bonner , and Collard ( Sub).

Lineup was :
Stocker , Cordy , Wilkie ( Howard injured during Community game , Webster suspended , Paton-Pec ).
Battle , Bonner , Wanganeen-Milera ( Sinclair-calf , Clark-face ).
Wood, Ross, Hill
Wilson, Henry , Owens. ( Butler-ankle, Wilson had put in an outstanding pre-season, and with other outs, deserved selection).
Higgins , King, Membrey.

Marshall, Steele, Phillipou

Windhager , Byrnes ,Crouch , Sharman. ( Dow-knee, Hayes-knee ,

I think Sharman was a late out and Collard was sub.

To me that was a pretty straightforward selection, with best substitutes for those injured.
Even with a few second string players we did well against the Cats.

Its harder to come up with an "obvious" best 22 next year.

Maybe :
FB: Webster, Howard, Wilkie.
HB: Sinclair, XXXX , Wanganeen-Milera
C: Wood, Phillipou, Hill
HF: Henry, Butler, Sharman
FF: Higgins, King, Owens.

F Marshall, Macrae, Steele

B: Windhager, Jones , Byrnes, Garcia, Wilson , Clark , Dow
What's great is i really don't care who misses out on those bench spots.

XXXX -- golden question, Shoey? Barrat?, Keeler? Hammer?, or do they go conservative and use Cordy at FB, Howard at CHB?

I did spend a few minutes wondering who was there but, sorry to say, the “boys” were a little more interesting to watch. 🤣
Haven’t managed to get to a training session for probably 2 years so I took the opportunity to head down and get my voucher stuff from the shop on training day.

I took my coffee and snuck into the area where Nicky Winmar was. Unfortunately I never saw him play live.

Saw a lot of Brains Trust caps so I’m assuming that was some of you.

For the most part, I’m happy to be anonymous. 😆
Nah, I'm not one of those losers ;) . Actually more's to the point, they wouldn't have me, you know the old Grouch Marx line, ' I wouldn't want to be in a club that had me as a member' :D:D:D

Training Pre season training