Banter Preseason general discussion - The Reigning Premiers Edition

Quite a large number of the new AFLW draftees are making big impacts on games already. Kinda speaks to the growth below, the rising standard of the comp, and that the expansion of the comp is probably on the right track.

Haven't watched too many games in full but I'm noticing a lot more cleaner chains of possession this year, particularly handballs out of congestion.

The skills in AFLW are much better this year and I'm sure will continue to get better each week/season as things progress. That's obvious.

I like watching the GOOD female players in particular go about it. There are some jets out there, you just have to watch.

Check out Ash Brazil's game the other day. Went into god mode. Emma Karney, Ellie Blackburn and Chelsea Randall are guns.

Only thing I don't like about AFLW is the AFL going over the top with it and pissing people off by forcing it down everyone's throat.

If they could just lay off a bit and let the competition grow at it's natural speed, there wouldn't be so much backlash.

That and how the players and umpires seem to be immune to criticism. Player makes a complete howler, and the commentary will remain dead silent. They don't point out any poor skills or laughably bad umpiring decisions which just waters the whole thing down. If it was the mens they would be banging on about it and have 3 replays in 30 seconds highlighting the poor effort.

The ladies aren't kids, they go in hard and don't need to be patted on the back and mollycoddled by the media.

Biggie what do you reckon campaigner?

The skills in AFLW are much better this year and I'm sure will continue to get better each week/season as things progress. That's obvious.

I like watching the GOOD female players in particular go about it. There are some jets out there, you just have to watch.

Check out Ash Brazil's game the other day. Went into god mode. Emma Karney, Ellie Blackburn and Chelsea Randall are guns.

Only thing I don't like about AFLW is the AFL going over the top with it and pissing people off by forcing it down everyone's throat.

If they could just lay off a bit and let the competition grow at it's natural speed, there wouldn't be so much backlash.

That and how the players and umpires seem to be immune to criticism. Player makes a complete howler, and the commentary will remain dead silent. They don't point out any poor skills or laughably bad umpiring decisions which just waters the whole thing down. If it was the mens they would be banging on about it and have 3 replays in 30 seconds highlighting the poor effort.

The ladies aren't kids, they go in hard and don't need to be patted on the back and mollycoddled by the media.

I agree with you DS, the commentators shit me when they bang on about a girl who never drops a mark after she’s just dropped a mark. Just be honest and stop trying to make the comp something it’s not. I actually find Leigh Montagna pretty good coz he doesn’t go over the top and tends to call it as he sees it.

I can’t say too much coz I don’t wanna give away too much information but I can say that of the girls I worked with last year that were taken by the Dockers, only one is playing so far. We are hoping another will debut sometime during the season.
Fair enough man :)

Its a bloody exciting time for womens footy.

Junior girls preseason kicks off in 2 weeks....cant wait to see what our numbers are like.

tenor.gif

Mate of mine who’s worked very closely with the State U18’s reckons Foley is an absolute ripper. He’s a mad Dockers supporter & is gutted they didn’t pick him up. He also told me before he debuted that Barrass will be better than Glass so he has some good form.

Hmmmm. We need to play him against Freo asap so he gets knocked around and that puppy love can GTFOOH.

Once you start bonding with da boyz he'll come around.

Are you seeing the interest it has generated at junior level by any chance?

I don't have young kids, and I know you do so I'll defer to your judgement there and it's fantastic that these girls have a pathway in front of them to aspire to.

I've some friends who play ammos and have had this discussion with them, more groundwork at that level needed to be done and is having to play catch up is basically what I've been told.

However the AFL has deep pockets and will throw cash at it until its functional, I just think it could have been done much better.

It's almost like they should have had a 5 years development period getting everyone up to a good standard before throwing it on TV.

No.

While it’ll certainly have to grow on me and I have not watched a full game live at all I’m content to admit, they needed to go hard or go home wrt AFLW.

If you’re planning to inspire teenaged girls to take their footy seriously, you have to give them something significant to aspire to.

If the AFL is going to spend the money, they best spend it right to make it work in the long term. They’ve considered human psychology in the promotion of AFLW and for all the shit they cop, I respect them in this regard.

I’m not so sure about AFLX. That’s a Mickey Mouse endeavour IMO.

No.

While it’ll certainly have to grow on me and I have not watched a full game live at all I’m content to admit, they needed to go hard or go home wrt AFLW.

If you’re planning to inspire teenaged girls to take their footy seriously, you have to give them something significant to aspire to.

If the AFL is going to spend the money, they best spend it right to make it work in the long term. They’ve considered human psychology in the promotion of AFLW and for all the shit they cop, I respect them in this regard.

I’m not so sure about AFLX. That’s a Mickey Mouse endeavour IMO.

Read my other posts.

I actually find Leigh Montagna pretty good coz he doesn’t go over the top and tends to call it as he sees it.

Deadset jealous of Montagna getting that job. What a gig, probably set for the next 15 years watching games of footy. That's the life. He does AFL as well.

How he landed a job like that with his chequered past is beyond me though. Thought the AFL would screech foul.

Even now I'm contemplating going to my safe space.

Deadset jealous of Montagna getting that job. What a gig, probably set for the next 15 years watching games of footy. That's the life. He does AFL as well.

How he landed a job like that with his chequered past is beyond me though. Thought the AFL would screech foul.

Even now I'm contemplating going to my safe space.
As long as he doesn’t let Stephen Milne take his place without telling anyone he should be fine

Mutimer looks in good shape. I am still hopeful he might work out, particularly given he should get opportunity to play in some preferred positions in the stand alone side.

If he is still lining up back pocket I fear his papers have been stamped.

Banter Preseason general discussion - The Reigning Premiers Edition