Training Preseason Training Thread - 2024/25

Was there any (correct) suggestion that the song should be entirely new, not just reverted back to some version of the old one which sucks anyway?

Personally I prefer the inflatable race to a banner and don't really care about our social media game, but at least they're trying to listen I guess.
I'd be happy to have the inflatable eagle but get rid of the stupid fireworks and choking smoke.

I am another one who prefers the inflatable eagle's head.

Same. Going back to banner is just doing what everyone else is doing.

For me, personally was a wait in anticipation each game on whether someone will poke their eye on the slightly overextended eagle beak, as they were running out.

Now I have a void.

Harley Reid. Pound for pound the best second year player in the AFL. Absolutely eating up the competition.

Calm down kents. He's been bulking and will cut over preseason. The kid has already shown he has it. He will be fitter come round 1 than he was last season.

I'll send the laundry service for the soiled sheets.

He has been bulking alright.

It’s not about whether ha has it. He will carve out a career. Yes he will be fitter. It’s whether we will see the absolute maximum from him and elevate himself as high as he can.

Thought that myself previously

But I think Pyke said when we changed to the banner for this season we actually couldn’t have both due to logistics/health and safety. Something like that

Seemed a bit absurd but a lot of H&S stuff is

Yeah don’t know if I think he’s telling the truth. Just can’t be ****ed if you ask me.

Definitely more anticipation of them running out from the eagle.

Probably should have been changed to the eagles rear end considering the last few years.

Is anyone heading down to training today?

Look seeing as I haven' been posting as much I thought I'd make up for it by heading down to the eagles open training today. Interesting session. Here' a few notes

• Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2018. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2018.
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.

Look seeing as I haven' been posting as much I thought I'd make up for it by heading down to the eagles open training today. Interesting session. Here' a few notes

• Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2018. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
Go Away Reaction GIF

The big blow-up blue chook?...okay if you're winning lots, bit pretentious and cringey if you lose a lot...the banner is very old school, sometimes you gotta move on...is it getting too American hype? Do we go all the way and bring on the skimpy dancing pop-pom girls?

1732073439459.jpeg

Arrived a bit late, left early

• Jamieson and Hutchinson looked to be walking the steps of the old grandstand so both again did little

• Hough, Chesser and Hewett on light duties and weren’t really involved in the session

• Long basically ran the boundary whilst I was there and was work with a trainer when I left
• Didn’t see Dewar at all
• Brockman trained and looked fine although he wasn’t participating in the straight line run throughs the players were doing when I got there
• Harley had the special fluoro non-contact hat on but otherwise showed no ill effects
• Jack Williams is looking like a bit of a monster - has definitely put on some size
• Owies trained again but no Baker
• Ryan made his first appearance of the preseason
• Duggan, Cripps, Hunt, Edwards and BWill the other senior players there voluntarily. Waterman also there but was away from the main group working with a trainer

Light session mainly working on skills.

Did a ball movement drill designed to move the ball as fast as possible by foot through a congested zone defence. McQualter sounded a bit frustrated with how it was going a couple of times

Harry Taylor continues to be out there looking every bit an assistant coach

There’s definitely work being done to the main oval but it looks more like substantial maintenance than replacing the turf. Not a lawn expert but to me it appears they’re dethatching the existing grass - some big piles of excess grass at one end

Arrived a bit late, left early

• Jamieson and Hutchinson looked to be walking the steps of the old grandstand so both again did little

• Hough, Chesser and Hewett on light duties and weren’t really involved in the session

• Long basically ran the boundary whilst I was there and was work with a trainer when I left
• Didn’t see Dewar at all
• Brockman trained and looked fine although he wasn’t participating in the straight line run throughs the players were doing when I got there
• Harley had the special fluoro non-contact hat on but otherwise showed no ill effects
Jack Williams is looking like a bit of a monster - has definitely put on some size
• Owies trained again but no Baker
• Ryan made his first appearance of the preseason
• Duggan, Cripps, Hunt, Edwards and BWill the other senior players there voluntarily. Waterman also there but was away from the main group working with a trainer

Light session mainly working on skills.

Did a ball movement drill designed to move the ball as fast as possible by foot through a congested zone defence. McQualter sounded a bit frustrated with how it was going a couple of times

Harry Taylor continues to be out there looking every bit an assistant coach

There’s definitely work being done to the main oval but it looks more like substantial maintenance than replacing the turf. Not a lawn expert but to me it appears they’re dethatching the existing grass - some big piles of excess grass at one end

See this and Ried int he wings has me baffled we are thinking about drafting a FF with our first.

How about we give this overused, unfunny joke a rest?
Its right up there with posting Gee on anything to do with Venables and putting in Jack Watts as a poll option as embarrassing crap just clogging up threads.

Our backline is shaping up to look a lot different next season.

Baker, Ginbey, Maric and I feel like I'm missing one more, all to find a spot in the back half with only TB leaving.

Few established players might be getting a little nervous.

Baker, Ginbey, Maric and I feel like I'm missing one more, all to find a spot in the back half with only TB leaving.

Hough to move into the midfield?

Duggan confirmed he's training with the mids, though he's done that the last few years.

Its right up there with posting Gee on anything to do with Venables and putting in Jack Watts as a poll option as embarrassing crap just clogging up threads.

As a veteran of this board I think it is important for us to embrace and protect our cultures and traditions, and I won't let the woke mob talk me out of it

Take this how you will.
Karl Langdon mentioned on radio week or so back that he'd been talking to Mark Stone, (new Perth Demons coach).
Stone had done an analysis of injuries across the WAFL past x number of years and Lathlain was clearly No 1.
The insinuation was that the surface is an issue.
Unsure if this has any relevance to the dethatching.
Mark Stone is very thorough.

I’m quite partial to it tbh. Also that first line of yours always makes me vom

Training Preseason Training Thread - 2024/25