Review R21: Port v Hawthorn Review

If we can get a strong marking goal kicking forward,Clean up the poor skill level of most of the team and get a softer draw we can be right back in the top 4 surely?
Softer draw?
We got 8 points against the premiers and zero against the bottom two.
We need a harder draw.

We don't deal well with expectations...we are Pittard.

Hawthorn supporters are the biggest campaigners on BF, how did I not see this sooner?
I have hated them since the prelim last year, their fans are almost as bad as Crows fans.
I've often contemplated moving to Melbourne for a few years and would adopt a team for my time there. Hawthorn are one I would not even consider, bunch of nobs.

I have hated them since the prelim last year, their fans are almost as bad as Crows fans.
I've often contemplated moving to Melbourne for a few years and would adopt a team for my time there. Hawthorn are one I would not even consider, bunch of nobs.
Adopt a team if you move to Melbourne? it's PAFC or death from my point of view

super proud of the lads, made me very proud last night and played some great footy.

such a disappointing season but we seem to have unearthed a couple of good players in Ah Chee and Gray - it was looking like it was going to be not only a disappointing season but also a season with no growth in player development. Excited!

Sam Gray has completely and utterly proved me wrong, well done mate.

hows Impey? He is like a rough diamond, polish up some of the rough edges and he could be awesome for the club.

Adopt a team if you move to Melbourne? it's PAFC or death from my point of view
We play 2 games a year there. I can't sit at home every Saturday :).

I love live footy, I'm terrible at watching on TV.

Nah I'm with Chiwigi on that one, I like footy, so if Port isn't playing I'll always pick a team to barrack for even if they lose.

The pleasure of neutral games in Melbourne is that they're neutral, though...
It'll still be neutral but I'll get a season ticket for one team or other. Actually it won't be neutral, I pick a side every game I watch. If it was going to be neutral the Hawks would be a good choice.

It'll be the Melbourne or whoever else is shit at the time. I loves me an underdog.

It'll still be neutral but I'll get a season ticket for one team or other. Actually it won't be neutral, I pick a side every game I watch. If it was going to be neutral the Hawks would be a good choice.

It'll be the Melbourne or whoever else is shit at the time. I loves me an underdog.

I'd probably get on the doggies if I was in your situation.

Nah, too many Etihad games

I've been going to Melbourne games when I've been in Melb (back and forth a bit this year), its a good pick. Their fans are utterly demoralised so they're quite easy to get on with, pretty much all home games are at the MCG, you get your pick of the best seats in the house every week (except QB weekend), and no queues for food and drink.

Nah, too many Etihad games

I've been going to Melbourne games when I've been in Melb (back and forth a bit this year), its a good pick. Their fans are utterly demoralised so they're quite easy to get on with, pretty much all home games are at the MCG, you get your pick of the best seats in the house every week (except QB weekend), and no queues for food and drink.

It's not an issue that you're always watching Melbourne?

I'd probably end up going for the team whose old zone I lived in.
So dogs are likely.

It's not an issue that you're always watching Melbourne?
At the start of the year, I thought I'd pair my top 4 contender (Port Adelaide) with a shit truck side like Melbourne, to give me good perspective on the top and bottom of the league. Kind of backfired a bit, but I reckon I've been at a disproportionate number of wins for both teams compared to people who go to all home games, so can't complain.

Jesse Hogan is a gun, so that part is good. Otherwise yeah kinda shit, but at least its not Carlton.

I'd probably end up going for the team whose old zone I lived in.
We are sharing a brain on this one, I checked at the start of the year and I'm in Melbourne VFL zone.

Thanks for the links :)

Now, for my review:

Best game we've played all year. Arguably the best game we've played in the H&A rounds under Ken. Led from start to finish, and for the most part, didn't lose control at any point. When they got momentum, we were able to get a timely goal here and there to halt the situation. That hasn't happened this year, and it's lead to big run ons, and by the time we get the momentum back, we lose out by a kick or two and lament "what if?" for the next week..

Structurally we were rock solid. Ken last night mentioned how it's the implementation of the system, rather than the players that will get the job done. Sure, it's great to have elite players like Wingard, Gray etc, but you need to have a system which is tailored to maximising their strengths, and nullifying their weaknesses. When on song, Port Adelaide footy is the best in the league, I don't doubt that one bit. Last night's game was what I expected us to "look" like all season. We can play that kamikaze footy, that was the 2014 Port Adelaide trademark. What we saw last night was being able to play a more medium kick to kick style where our back half really pushes up and squeezes the field. Having Krakouer and Pittard in the side (two great kicks imo) helps set this in motion. Quite often this year we weren't running, and after the break, Ken pretty much said "play on at every opportunity." What that has led to was a lot of running around without purpose. It is those times that we need to slow the game down a little bit, play some keepings off, still squeeze the field into our attacking half and then use our contested ball winners to clear out and get the ball to our goal kickers. Last night was the perfect execution of the gameplan. I can only imagine how vindicated Ken would be feeling, especially after the debacle of a fortnight ago. Work rate was up ten-fold. It was rare that the Hawks would get an extra man on the overlap as I constantly saw against the Dogs. Happened a few times, but it was more as a result of a slingshot turnover. That can easily be corrected, I'm not worried about it. We kept the best attacking team of the modern era to 86 points on the fastest deck in footy.

As for the midfield setup, we look so much better with an extra big body in the middle. Very impressed to win the contested ball so decisively last night, not to mention the centre clearances too. I'm not convinced either way that a 3rd tall (i.e. Butcher) made any difference to our structure this week. If you did a heat map and charted the scenarios in where Butcher was for the entire game, a lot of his touches weren't due to being a tall forward. Don't think he straightened us up either. Found that a lot of his touches were as a link man through the wings when we switched the play.

As for the players:

Boak - Thought he was average yet pops up with 30 touches. Would have been a better night if he kicked at least 1 goal which was more than attainable.

Mitchell - came on as sub and did relatively nothing. Had a nice handball and block for R Gray to set up Schulz's goal in the last quarter. Was surprised that Ken pulled the trigger on the sub so late.

Neade - The champion data people had him 2nd best for Port last night. I personally don't agree with that. That being said, when he's on, everyone else seems to be as well. He's a good barometer of where the club is at in terms of work rate and defensive pressure. Last night, he was great in those two areas. Nice to get 2 goals as well. Needs to hit the scoreboard to have an impact, because he only gets 2-3 chances every game.

Ryder - He's an athletic Brendon Lade. His tap work is a thing of beauty. So decisive. So much vision. Hangs in the air and actually looks for a target, unlike Matthew "I'll just hit it to the ground if I get my hands on it no matter what" Lobbe. His tap work with Robbie Gray is reminiscent of Lade to S Burgoyne. I think he can work as a solid forward line option. I'm not convinced though that it's in the team's best interest for him to be there 75% of every game. He's a good 3rd tall forward option, but he's an elite ruck man. Unless Lobbe suddenly improves a long way, Ryder has to be our #1 ruck going into 2016. Was dominant last night. One of our best players for sure.

Broadbent - Part of a solid back 7. Didn't make any major errors that I can remember off the top of my head. Would like to see him back himself in with his kicking. Occasionally he loses confidence and just kicks it long and aimlessly.

Monfries - Great first half, quiet in the second. 3 goals and a lot of lip, I'll take that from Gus every gameday. Stupid of him to ask for the ball over the top from Arch in the final quarter. Was impressed with his work rate. Not sure why he was spotted often in the opposition's forward 50 though, especially considering his lack of defensive nous.

Ebert - Not impressed with his second half of the year at all. Lots of mistakes. Coughs up the ball more than any other player on our list. His work rate is ridiculously good, but his disposal is piss poor. So often we have a run down the wing going, the ball comes to Ebert, and he turns it over. I personally would have dropped him a few weeks ago. Needs to find confidence again in the SANFL. Dropping Monfries, Jonas and Broadbent has worked. Don't see why the same can't apply to Ebert.

Hartlett - His second half of the year has been the most consistent of any of our mids imo. He's added quite a few strings to his bow. Winning a lot more contested ball by using his big body, and his defensive work rate has skyrocketed. He's usually in our top 2 or 3 tacklers per game. Can drop to half back and set up the play by using his huge kick to get over the zone, or he can go forward when on the ball and bob up with a goal. I know people on here want him to get 25+ a game. I don't ever seeing him getting there. If his 20 touches are accompanied by tremendous defensive pressure and high disposal efficiency, I'll take it.

R Gray - Had he kicked those 2 first quarter goals it would have been the perfect quarter for the modern player. He was EVERYWHERE. Has really created a strong connection with Ryder both in the centre square and around the ground. A brilliant player, no other way to describe it.

Butcher - Crashed a few packs. Had a typical Butcher-esque set shot for goal. Got subbed. Didn't think he offered much at all today. Was better last week when his defensive pressure was higher and he was crashing more packs. I just don't get the fascination with him. It's fine to say "he needs confidence, just play him the rest of the year." That sounds all well and good, but you can't just give games to people who don't deserve them. Based on form, Butcher does not deserve to play next week against the Suns.

O'Shea - His best game of the year imo. I think he's quite a "dumb" footballer but last night he seemed to play within himself. Will always be a depth player to me. Not reliable enough and makes so many horrendous mistakes over the course of a season that he'll never be asked to play 22 games (plus finals) unless we are struggling with injuries. Would definitely look at trading him out this off-season if we can jag a decent pick (around that 20-25 range). Could package that pick and Moore for a top 15 pick, which would be a win for us imo.

White - Used his speed, backed himself, took the game on and was a good link for us between the mids and the forwards. Always gives 100% effort and his work rate both ways is bloody good. When he's up, we are a lot tougher to beat.

Wingard - Where do I begin? 4 goals, 20 touches, sticking it to Hodge, silencing the Cyril brigade. He is truly a special player. We see this type of game from Chad every week such that it's become the norm. 3 Votes C Wingard for me. A lock for the All-Australian team, most likely our B&F, over 50 goals and 20 touches a game, and he's only 22. Every club wishes he played for their team. This kid really could be anything, such is his talent.

Impey - I thought his first quarter was good, but I didn't really notice him for most of the game. When I did see him, he was doing good things. Was getting into the right spaces. Defensive work rate was good. Lots to like about this young lad.

Schulz - The last 6 weeks or so he's been moving like an old man. Clearly past his peak. Would love him to stay, flog Butcher off and still grab Dixon but I know it's not attainable. Got 3 goals, but last year he would've got at least 5. Just looks fatigued. Don't see him at the club next year, which will be a shame, but the right decision (provided we land a forward like Dixon) imo.

Pittard - Back to his best. Shut Puopolo down and added so much off half back. Cops way too much flak on here. When we play that slower tempo, he's a key cog in setting up the play. Broke the lines a few times last night which was great to see. Keep it up, Jasper.

Hombsch - Where was Roughead on Friday night? In Jack's back pocket! Shut him down, back to his best. Has had a few down weeks but was brilliant on Friday night. When he takes the game on he's at his best. I thought his confidence was really up and his play reflected it.

Westhoff - Arguably his best game of the season. Was everywhere. I can see people arguing that Butcher in the side allowed Westhoff to roam more and I can see where that line of thinking goes. Regardless, he did his job. Hawthorn had no answer to his big frame in the middle. Was surprised they didn't throw Roughead in there more to bash and crash in the middle when we were on top and Westhoff was in the ruck.

Ah Chee - In a season that has offered so much yet delivered so little, he's been a shining light. For someone who I was skeptical as to why he was given a lifeline last year, I'm happy to be completely shut up this year about this man. I remember seeing him in round 3 when he made his debut, and walked away thinking that he's got "it." Now, I don't know what "it" is at times, but he's got it! That X-factor, big bodied inside mid whose game is built on winning the contested ball. Furthermore, he can win it, but then he can also use his big frame to break tackles and glide through the middle of the ground. His handballs are already legendary and are a real weapon in a modern game where coaches are constantly trying to find ways to break through the tight rolling congested zones. Was disappointed that he handballed over to Monfries but he made up for it with that goal a few minutes later. It shows he doesn't let his mistakes get to him even in the bigger moments of footy. He's definitely above both Moore and Young in the pecking order, and imo is a lock for a spot in our best team at full strength next year. Needs to build a bigger engine but that will come with another pre-season. This kid could be anything, he's a special talent.

Jonas - If he played like that earlier in the season, he would never have been dropped and we'd probably have a few more wins. At least he's found form again. Now he needs to build on it. A key player for us because he can line up on both small, tall and medium sized forwards. Allows Ken to get fancy with matchups when Jonas is playing well.

S Gray - A midfielder finally playing as a midfielder and playing his best footy, what a concept! A real accumulator of the footy. Not fumbling as much anymore. Looks more composed when in possession. Was great to see him get a goal in the last quarter. Just keep working hard Sam, you definitely have a career at this level.

Krakouer - So much class. Shut Eddie down in the Showdown, and shut Rioli down this week. His disposal is elite. I'd argue he's the best kick in our side. Weights the ball perfectly seemingly every damn time! This upcoming pre-season is going to be crucial for him to build up his engine so he can play every game next year.

Last night on the train home, Hawks bloke was bagging us about our club colours... :eek: da fcuk! As a football club, Hawthorn have no right whatsoever to comment on another clubs, organizations or any existing things colours.

P.S our colours are awesome!
Poop and Wee Wee huh pfft lol gimme a break

Review R21: Port v Hawthorn Review