Discussion Random Discussion

Anyway, amazing feeling to be reopening again. Well done to everyone for getting through one of the worst things to hit us since probably WWII and come out the other side. You Big Footy campaigners and the mighty saints playing like gods made it all a lot more tolerable. You all kept me sane with your banter and your company. Thanks. Well done folks. Go you mighty Vics.

img{

I don't make excuses, I just don't need to have a head roll during pandemic. He's done a good job IMO. He hasn't to you that's fine.

Why replace him when it's just a head role when it would have made no difference to the outcome? Seems like petty vengeance for an uncontrollable pandemic. It's like throwing goats in a volcano to stave off eruptions.

I still reckon my analogy of a ship's captain that lead us into a storm but at least had the balls to hold the wheel and stay up on deck and take the hits from the waves a the bolts of lightening. Scomo was smart in a marketing sense because he completely stepped back and let health officials take all correspondence about COVID and had his ministers do a political blame job on the states for problems with the outbreaks and economy.

To me one is leadership, one is doing a Captain Blight and hiding under the bed when sh*t gets serious. We both have different ideas about what constitutes leadership.
Yep we do but like others you can see both Sides of the stories yet it always excuses for Dan and no excuses for scomo. Look in the mirror and say to yourself I have a bias. I make excuses for that bias whether they are positive or negative excuses. Of course scomo had to let the states run the agenda. Imagine what you would say if he tried to open or shut borders. Also you make excuses for dan not being top of everything but expect the leader of the country be on top of all the states. One state can’t even get it right. How would the leader of the country get local contract tracing right as an example.

Now to attack 2021 and get the first flag for a 10 peat.

No pressure Ratts.

Yes well done to the Victorian public. That I can agree on. Still not Covid normal yet so I will wait to get really excited.

I'm not sure true normal will come for a while yet. I'll just be glad to hit a pub or a restaurant and get up to the country again.

One case worker for a family makes sense but this whole family of spreading the test results seems like a bungle.

The DHHS has made this more complex then it really needed to be.

Its probably like pathology, you go and get tested, everything gets carefully labelled and thrown in, but they didn't have a system to group it together.

I'm not sure true normal will come for a while yet. I'll just be glad to hit a pub or a restaurant and get up to the country again.
Guys from work want to go for drinks on Chapel St on Friday and haven't told them this but I've put on a bit of weight in this lockdown and need to shed 4 kegs by Friday to fit into my pants otherwise I will have to pass 😅

might have to hit up Hanners or Crouch for their pre season weight loss ‘contacts’ mate

Covid normal will be sometime this year. Normal may never happen again. My local pub isn’t even opening because can only 10 in a space so you need to areas of 10 which means to many staff to justify opening. I’d say it will open when can have 40 but again it’s 4 spaces needed. Lots of partitions are going to be sold.

Me too. I've been walk jogging 6 kms a day but its not accounting for all the incidental exercise I've missed. I look like I could body double for Billy Brownless. I need to drop about 7 kegs I reckon.

I'm going for a 2 hour walk tomorrow and trying to get down to my pants fitting weight in time. Can't run because my back is stuffed so I don't have much faith I will get there. Might just starve myself.

Even in the face of extraordinary pressure from corrupt Murdoch and his Liberal media, Victorians still backing the premier to continue on. I knew it already but it just confirms how people more and more these days aren't blindly believing everything they are told and it's only a matter of time before this becomes the norm.

Social media is killing the mainstream, opinion spreads faster than ever and bypassing the propaganda has never been this easy if people choose to do so.

Even in the face of extraordinary pressure from corrupt Murdoch and his Liberal media, Victorians still backing the premier to continue on. I knew it already but it just confirms how people more and more these days aren't blindly believing everything they are told and it's only a matter of time before this becomes the norm.

Social media is killing the mainstream, opinion spreads faster than ever and bypassing the propaganda has never been this easy if people choose to do so.

I think at the end of the day people will back the person who has their well being front and centre over business interests. As much as people have got reasons to be pissed off with Andrews, I doubt anyone thinks that public health of the state wasn't his priority.

All the state politicians, well even the federal ones will have their real test when shit goes back to normal and their is no cash around. There will be a huge dead cat bounce as people blow money because they haven't been able to spend. Last lock down there was a huge recovery quickly. Yesterday there were job notices in the shop windows in Carlisle street.

There was already a recessed economy before this and plenty of empty shop fronts in most of Melburne's best retail streets. Businesses are moving on line and changing models. There will be a more businesses close but it will also mean different businesses open. Like war or anything else that hits hard, it sometimes ends up changing things for the better.

Unfortunately theres a lot of misinformation on social media too. That is the next great challenge.

Especially when the most famous tweeter of all time is one of the best at it. And most are way too scared to do anything about it.

Victorians have done a great job imo and have been well lead although obviously not perfectly by Dan Andrews.

imo most people recognise that and I think as things develop more will come to understand that we’re now standing on an island in pretty good shape looking out at a world in chaos. Cotcha journalism where reporters attempt to make the news not just report it has reached ridiculous levels as has political point scoring during a crisis of this magnitude.

None of this is about downplaying the impact on the population here it’s just giving some perspective to our situation. That is cold comfort for those who have lost loved ones, businesses, jobs etc but despite that it still needs to be said.

Where we go from here is still to be determined but I’m very thankful that I live in Australia right now.

1603747741794.jpeg
Say hello if you see me hobbling down the street, I feel like I bear some resemblance to the picture above.

Covid normal will be sometime this year. Normal may never happen again. My local pub isn’t even opening because can only 10 in a space so you need to areas of 10 which means to many staff to justify opening. I’d say it will open when can have 40 but again it’s 4 spaces needed. Lots of partitions are going to be sold.

They have rules that even if they open multiple rooms, the staff per room need to be different, they have stuff like single kitchens for all rooms, and all staff need to go in there to deliver food.
Then you get customers like Dan Andrews who would love to go to the pub for a beer. He'd sit and nurse his two beers for an hour and a half while the pub is paying staff.
So yeah lots of big pubs staying closed for now. Maybe some of the privately owned ones will open.

Unfortunately theres a lot of misinformation on social media too. That is the next great challenge.

Especially when the most famous tweeter of all time is one of the best at it. And most are way too scared to do anything about it.

Sad thing is that a lot of people think the stuff on social media is more likely to be real than other stuff.
Murdoch news is incredibly more accurate than the stuff that people think is real.

My kids will come in "ohhh this happened today its terrible."
I look at them and say "you got that off facebook didn't you "?

Its really feeding the conspiracy theorists, and flat earthers, and creationists and all that sort of thing.

Peta Credlin looked utterly defeated at yesterdays presser.

She knows that news corpse lost the war and that its back to being a whacko on sky for her.

Peta Credlin looked utterly defeated at yesterdays presser.

She knows that news corpse lost the war and that its back to being a whacko on sky for her.
Lost what war. Do you actually think they thought Andrews would go? Not a hope. Headlines are for sales and sponsors. Can’t stand credlin but she certainly didn’t look defeated. It’s amazing what some see And hear. Watch all the labor people agree with you. Unfortunately that doesn’t mean you are right as it doesn’t mean I’m right either. It’s like saints supporters think everyone is against us in certain games or everyone just gives the tigers everything then you hear unbiased media and neither side gets a run after the game

I'm going for a 2 hour walk tomorrow and trying to get down to my pants fitting weight in time. Can't run because my back is stuffed so I don't have much faith I will get there. Might just starve myself.

I might go to Coles and buy a few Salad bowls for my lunches next few days. Its getting warm enough now.

Think you will find the best weight loss is a quarter chicken and chips with a wing please and 3 dim sims thank you and then the real weight loss secret a can of no sugar coke.

Yes, I'll tell my sister in law that burying both of her parents due to covid is just emotional rubbish. My friends that are still having ongoing health problems fter covid that they are being emotive.

You are so ignorant and self entitled. If you ever get covid, please make sure that you tell the health workers it is all emotive rubbish. By the way as they incubate you, if you get really sick, they will put a tube in every hole in your body.

You think this is a parlour game, peoples lives are being shattered by the deaths and ongoing health issues. Economies can be rebuit. My sister in law will never see her parents again.

But hey emotive :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

What are your qualifications re epidemiology by the way? Let me guess. Like mine, SFA. So why should I listen to someone with no knowledge compare to someone who has studied the subject for decades? because you want to see your mates? FMD

Joff was remiss in not responding to your post about your better half , on behalf of myself & family
please extend our thanks to her and her work colleagues for the work they have done.

Definitely hopefully the experience we have learned from this is listen to the science .