Discussion Random Discussion

The pub band seems to almost dead in Australia these days, well at least compared to the seventies and eighties.
I use look forward to seeing what the next circuit band would be like. (Never as good as the last).
I saw cold chisel as a pub band in the seventies.

Russia was lucky to survive the first year of the war and did so only due to lend lease. Their industrial ability was a joke even if they did remarkably well in gearing up for full scale war in the end.
Make no mistake, without the united states on our side the second world war was going to be a defeat.

The movie "Enemy at the gates" gives a chilling picture of what it was like to be in the Russian army.

General Patton had an "outside the box" plan.
While he respected his German adversaries he detested the Russians.
He wanted to mobilise captured/surrendered German soldiers to drive the Russians back to Russia.
He considered that the German soldiers would a) not be opposed to the plan, b) would follow orders.
His idea was ridiculed but imagine if it had succeeded. ( Yes Purple this is what sliding doors really means ).

The russians getting half of Korea tended to stuff things up as well.

The pub band seems to almost dead in Australia these days, well at least compared to the seventies and eighties.
I use look forward to seeing what the next circuit band would be like. (Never as good as the last).

Billy Thorpe wrote a couple of autobiographical books set about his experiences in the 60's and early 70s
They are a great read, and if true some of the stuff is mind boggling.
The first one is pretty much a story "Sex Thugs and Rock n Roll" is mostly set in Sydney where he was around 18 and immediately part of the seedier side of Kings Cross. But plenty of small stories mixed among it . ( Nothing like paying cash for an Aston Martin , driving to Brisbane without a license, to do doughnuts on the old school lawn, crashing on the way home, and then getting it on with a farmers daughter after she tells him off for scaring her horse, which caused the crash ).

Russia was lucky to survive the first year of the war and did so only due to lend lease. Their industrial ability was a joke even if they did remarkably well in gearing up for full scale war in the end.
Make no mistake, without the united states on our side the second world war was going to be a defeat.
They certainly helped but it is a stretch to say the above.
A huge number of factors helped the Russians.
Huge steppes, overstretched supply lined, General Mud, then General Snow and lastly when both sides exhausted in early December, the Russians launch a winter counter offensive with 35 fresh Siberian div troops.
Also moving 2000 factories over the Urals and out of bombing range eventually led to the Russians overwhelming the Germans with matetials and manpower

Yeah the battle of Stalingrad was like 2 million people killed or wounded and the Germans marched in thinking they would take over in a matter of weeks, the Russians just surrounded them and froze and starved them into submission over 5 months. Brutal.

Japan and China are never going to get on well after the way the Japanese treated them in the lead up and the duration of WWII. The rape of Nanking was one of the most horrific war crimes ever committed.
The three battles of Karkov had about a million participants and hardly anyone knows about it.

The battle of Kursk after Stalingrad was the largest battle in history. More than 3000 tanks, 20k artillery pieces and over 2 million men.

The mind boggles.

Billy Thorpe wrote a couple of autobiographical books set about his experiences in the 60's and early 70s
They are a great read, and if true some of the stuff is mind boggling.
The first one is pretty much a story "Sex Thugs and Rock n Roll" is mostly set in Sydney where he was around 18 and immediately part of the seedier side of Kings Cross. But plenty of small stories mixed among it . ( Nothing like paying cash for an Aston Martin , driving to Brisbane without a license, to do doughnuts on the old school lawn, crashing on the way home, and then getting it on with a farmers daughter after she tells him off for scaring her horse, which caused the crash ).
J
Billy put on one of the best concerts I've ever seen and that was in Alice springs only about a year before he died. I didn't realise I k e so many of his songs.

J
Billy put on one of the best concerts I've ever seen and that was in Alice springs only about a year before he died. I didn't realise I k e so many of his songs.

To be honest lots of his songs were no masterpieces, but he was a great showman and performer.
Interestingly he couldn't play guitar to save his life when he started his career, he was a singer who had won a talent contest.

Haha, imagine if it turned out that we used to be in the same band!

I hear you though, we really tried to get somewhere and do it our way, but crowds never got bigger and I needed to move on. Unfortunately i left the group just after we finished making a CD with a couple of tracks I'd mostly done by myself, the rest of the band didn't do anything with it and despite them being tunes I'm really proud of, no one will ever hear them. A lot of work down the drain due to my poor timing.

Not a unique story, thousands of Aussie bands better and worse than ours never amount to shit. Not enough people in Australia to buy enough music to make money for the makers, even before MP3s. A couple of mates of mine have had more success than me, in fact one of my old band mates ended up being involved in a tune that was recently No. 1 in the charts here in France, which was weird. Not sure if he made much money out of it though, who knows.

Skunkhour got nationally successful for three reasons, they capitalised on early success by finding a sound that appealled to a huge section of Australia rather than a niche market and they worked hard and stayed at it.

Yeah two guys I played with got in to DJing and made some money from it playing Ibiza and snow resorts etc after giving up on the indy punk rock thing but they still have real jobs. One lives in Spain now though and people still remember him on Facebook. He wasn't exactly Fat Boy Slim from it still.

The three battles of Karkov had about a million participants and hardly anyone knows about it.

The battle of Kursk after Stalingrad was the largest battle in history. More than 3000 tanks, 20k artillery pieces and over 2 million men.

The mind boggles.

I remember reading a book years ago about the multiple Kharkov battles, it sounded horrific but the message you got from the book was the western idea of the victorious english speaking Allies winning the war was probably way off the mark. The Germans got knocked to their knees by the Ruskies.

So on a shitful note, my father in law died on Wednesday. The day before my mother in law had multiple massive strokes and she will not see out the weekend.

Life is a real shit sometimes. Wifes family in a bit of shock.

Sorry to hear Joff, condolences to yo and your family mate.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

So on a shitful note, my father in law died on Wednesday. The day before my mother in law had multiple massive strokes and she will not see out the weekend.

Sorry to hear that Joffa.
Thoughts go out to you and your wife.

Shit, that puts footy talk into perspective. Look after your missus.

Mate, I'm so sorry. Thinking of you and your family. Stay strong.

Shit mate. Sorry to hear and best wishes to your wife, self and family.

Bad news mate
Poor missus must be in a bit of
A state.

That's horrible news, JB. :(

More money in Pokies than bands.

Used to go to the Armadale, the Venue and places like that. Not any more. Even the old SS6 is all pokies.