Discussion Random Discussion

So I was doing 50 x 50 tempo work last night (50 metres by 50 times with a 20 second rest time), when my left hammy tightened up @ about 35. Went to 45 until I did a continual halfpaced jog for another 10 laps.

Upshot is that my hammy tightened because of hip flexers and overworked muscles in the gluts.

SO, I go for a lower back and leg massage for 45 mins to loosen up said flexors and gluts.

F
M
D

Have never had so much pain inflicted on me for money..well since Mistress Tracey and...well thats another story.

Fair Dinkum, first time I have had a massage and needed a safe word instead of AOOWWWWWWW and 'stop it you fat chinese bag'

Suffice to say it has worked, my hammy is less tight but my hips and gluts feel like some kent has stuck needles in them.

The only people who say they are releaxed by massages are the special types with the extra's thrown in at the end.

Get a real one and there is nothing relaxing about it.

Is that the one that runs on the outside of your upper leg?

Remedial and sports are the worst when they dig in with their elbows.

Spicy Banana massages are very relaxing apparently...

My brother in law trained for a half marathon about 5 years ago now he's absolutely obsessed, he does 2 iron mans every years and various marathons around the world. He is close to 50 and the fittest he's ever been by a huge amount. He must spend so much money on them, he usually takes the family with him so they don't crack the shits and he's taken to flying business class to keep himself in good condition. My wife cracks the shits when I spend $200 going out with my mates for drinks.
I only do Melbourne halfs so only Run Melbourne and Melbourne Marathon half.

Two a year. Last year started training for the Melbourne half 13 weeks out.

First training run, strain the Achilles out gor 6 weeks, there go the race. Because I an an old kent, 58, I wont race unless completely fit and trained

So currently in a strict diet and training until July 30.
Neec to drop 7 kg's from 89 to 82 but most likely will run at about 84. Can never get to 82 unfortunately.

Anyhow after the massage both hamstrings are hurting

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

First training run, strain the Achilles out gor 6 weeks, there go the race. Because I an an old kent, 58, I wont race unless completely fit and trained

Neec to drop 7 kg's from 89 to 82 but most likely will run at about 84. Can never get to 82 unfortunately.

Were you always a runner joff or did you start later in life.

That's a pretty fair effort to be running half marathons at 58, I'm the same age and my knees are bone on bone.

Massage is very good for you when you get used to it whether you're a sportsman or just for relaxation.

Were you always a runner joff or did you start later in life.

That's a pretty fair effort to be running half marathons at 58, I'm the same age and my knees are bone on bone.

Massage is very good for you when you get used to it whether you're a sportsman or just for relaxation.
Ran as a young man. Sat on my arse and raised kids for 20 plus years.

Balooned out to 117 kilos and at 46 got some bad blood tests.

So have dropped nearly 30 kilos. Have had knee ops on both knees with torn ligaments before I started again at 49. Because of toning sessions and running my knees are ok now, I feel them.doing squats and lunges.

I love running but I have to always watch my weight because I cant run the distances on old legs.

Monday 10ks with friends
Tuesday cardio class
Wednesday 8-10 at lunchtime with a woman who runs ultras. Makes me run @ 5 minute k's.
Thurs. Day off, eat bad food day
Friday Day off
Saturday toning class plus 5 k run
Sunday morning. 10k run.

I try to keep to that most weeks. This week wont run until next werk, then probably only 20 next week until my hammys are better.

Will ramp up to about 50k a week about 6 weeks out from the race.

But with this old body, its always on the cards I will injure something.

Ran as a young man. Sat on my arse and raised kids for 20 plus years.

Balooned out to 117 kilos and at 46 got some bad blood tests.

So have dropped nearly 30 kilos. Have had knee ops on both knees with torn ligaments before I started again at 49. Because of toning sessions and running my knees are ok now, I feel them.doing squats and lunges.

I love running but I have to always watch my weight because I cant run the distances on old legs.

Monday 10ks with friends
Tuesday cardio class
Wednesday 8-10 at lunchtime with a woman who runs ultras. Makes me run @ 5 minute k's.
Thurs. Day off, eat bad food day
Friday Day off
Saturday toning class plus 5 k run
Sunday morning. 10k run.

I try to keep to that most weeks. This week wont run until next werk, then probably only 20 next week until my hammys are better.

Will ramp up to about 50k a week about 6 weeks out from the race.

But with this old body, its always on the cards I will injure something.

That’s awesome Joff. I’m starting again after too many years of being slovenly. Start with a fortnight of AL in a few weeks and just going to stick to the plan and see what happens. The goal is to lose the beer gut and get some more energy to chase the kids around.

Can recommend it enough mate.

I am hovver around pre diabetic which is about blood sugar level of 7. I need to get it to about 6 ish.

Just getting the weight off makes you feel psychologically better, let alone the physical benefits.

Also your ladyfriend will benefit with more 'robust' and possibly longer bouts of affection ;)

The NBN has dug up my nature strip for the third time.
All this year.
Is this a record?
Do I win something?

We still don't have it in Caulfield North, they seem to have dropped speeds so that when it comes in you are so desperate you'll pay anything for their inferior service.

Try them in Thailand. Very relaxing.

That reminds me, a few weeks ago I was at a dinner party and after a few too many drinks this friend of my wife's husband starts telling me the secret signal to get a "happy ending" during a massage. His wife went absolutely nuts and nearly got them a divorce. He's not going for massages anytime soon. I was pretty drunk obviously I can't remember what he said it was. It was funny to watch though, I'm usually the one saying stuff I shouldn't.

I think Thailand has come to most suburbs of Melbourne Plugs

True. The price is still Australian though. It amazing how you can be more relaxed when pay less. Now onto running. I’ve done 8 marathons and after every single one I had to have the next day off work. I loved running but mowing lawns now makes it impossible for me especially at my age. I would love to become a spartan but I can’t see me doing two more sadly

That reminds me, a few weeks ago I was at a dinner party and after a few too many drinks this friend of my wife's husband starts telling me the secret signal to get a "happy ending" during a massage. His wife went absolutely nuts and nearly got them a divorce. He's not going for massages anytime soon. I was pretty drunk obviously I can't remember what he said it was. It was funny to watch though, I'm usually the one saying stuff I shouldn't.

The secret signal is $50

True. The price is still Australian though. It amazing how you can be more relaxed when pay less. Now onto running. I’ve done 8 marathons and after every single one I had to have the next day off work. I loved running but mowing lawns now makes it impossible for me especially at my age. I would love to become a spartan but I can’t see me doing two more sadly

Thats tremendous plugs

Marathons are just too much for me. I reckon I could get the training in to do one, but it is just too far and really not on my bucket list.

Do love running and halfs though.

I train with a guy who wants us to run a 10 k between 45-50 minutes. Probably could do it, but my old lungs aren't what they used to be. Sub 5 kilometres take it out of me and I am puffing pretty hard after about 4, by ten i am a shot bird.

You usually know once they say take your undies off. :eek:

My rule is that if I want a massage, I go to a place with only curtains on the cubicles, the places with enclosed rooms seem to be the ones where extra's are optional.

You mates wife should be happy he is only getting a wristy, he could be banging the girl from accounts.

Thats tremendous plugs

Marathons are just too much for me. I reckon I could get the training in to do one, but it is just too far and really not on my bucket list.

Do love running and halfs though.

I train with a guy who wants us to run a 10 k between 45-50 minutes. Probably could do it, but my old lungs aren't what they used to be. Sub 5 kilometres take it out of me and I am puffing pretty hard after about 4, by ten i am a shot bird.

I always trained at 5 minute ks. But I was between 30 and 40 when I did that at the peak of training I would 80ks a week. I lived with mates and after a big Saturday I would go for a run around 4 on Sunday and say to my mates I will be back in 2 hours. They would look at me as if I was mad It’s amazing what you can do when you are fit. I can’t even drive 2 hours now. I do walk up to 20ks a day though but that doesn’t help your running one little bit

Get on a therapeutic dose of growth hormone and/or testosterone Pluggs. Srs

What sort of diet you on Joff? I'm currently cutting out ALOT of sugar and might lay off the beers for a bit (obviously not the spliff). Always love hearing peoples different strategies and eating patterns.

Sugar and bread. Everything else in moderation...

We still don't have it in Caulfield North, they seem to have dropped speeds so that when it comes in you are so desperate you'll pay anything for their inferior service.
Well Black Rock was cabled over Christmas but I got a letter advising me that I didn’t qualify.
(Which makes their thrice attempts to cable whatever, and in the process dig up my nature strip, somewhat ironic).
And happy that I don’t qualify.
I’ve got a 20m optic cable link to the old Telstra optic cable for pay tv.
Was getting 35Mbps download, now 57Mbps.
No NBN for me!!

I actually go to Weight Watchers. Not ashamed to say.

It is a high protein diet, but counting points works for me.
I need the incentive of being weighed once a week.

It is mainly geared for women but you do what works.

Cutting out sugar is a great thing to do.

If I drink, its Vodka and Soda. Soda Lime and Bitters no lemon etc.

Almost impossible to cut out sugar but the WW diet cuts out most sugar by proxy.

As an old kent, Im at real risk of disbetes II, but more and more younger people are getting it due to sugar.

Good luck.

P66 walking is just as good as running for old kents like us.

I just find walking spoils a good run

I actually go to Weight Watchers. Not ashamed to say.

It is a high protein diet, but counting points works for me.
I need the incentive of being weighed once a week.

It is mainly geared for women but you do what works.

Cutting out sugar is a great thing to do.

If I drink, its Vodka and Soda. Soda Lime and Bitters no lemon etc.

Almost impossible to cut out sugar but the WW diet cuts out most sugar by proxy.

As an old kent, Im at real risk of disbetes II, but more and more younger people are getting it due to sugar.

Good luck.

P66 walking is just as good as running for old kents like us.

I just find walking spoils a good run

Do you do any stretching (or yoga, Pilates) as an adjunct to your running?
It might help with your aches and pains, though I wonder how you’d find the time as you are seemingly perpetually moving.
Pilates twice weekly for me, been that way for 6 years now.

Do you do any stretching (or yoga, Pilates) as an adjunct to your running?
It might help with your aches and pains, though I wonder how you’d find the time as you are seemingly perpetually moving.
Pilates twice weekly for me, been that way for 6 years now.
Only stretch after running and at toning classes.
I have been very inflexible my whole life.

Basically its just age Sunny. The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.