Review Rd 10 Port vs Collingwood

Our forward line is so dysfunctional at the moment it is beyond ridiculous
One day we will get a real forward as our forwards coach and teach them how to function. Might take 20 years but one day it will happen.

That's what if feels like, but in modern footy, intercept defenders take lots of marks because of sh*t kicks coming inside 50 and they are in better position to mark the ball than the forwards they play on.

They move to the forward lines, they will the ones having to try and mark sh*t inside 50 kicks in the wrong position.

I'm glad we try to create space and isolate forwards then, on the big grounds like the G..... oh wait lets bomb it in..... Giorgiades can take a great mark on the lead, why can't he be isolated is beyond me, we seem to all huddle together... it is the most infuriating part for me.

Compare the pair

Boundary throw in early in the first
Ridiculously short
Grundy takes advantage and snaps a goal
Commentators erupt into joyous rapture

Boundary throw in late in the last
Ridiculously short
Dixon clever tap to Wines for a goal
Commentators slam the ump and effectively ask for a recall

I don't ever want to hear or see Darcy again....

One day we will get a real forward as our forwards coach and teach them how to function. Might take 20 years but one day it will happen.
The irony of using an ex defender to coach the forwards to defend better.

Except they are shithouse at doing any defending, they wont even try and spoil a defender who gets in front, or chase, or tackle.

Compare the pair

Boundary throw in early in the first
Ridiculously short
Grundy takes advantage and snaps a goal
Commentators erupt into joyous rapture

Boundary throw in late in the last
Ridiculously short
Dixon clever tap to Wines for a goal
Commentators slam the ump and effectively ask for a recall
Did they? Post game Dermie and Brad recognised Dixon.

it’s clear the commentators are instructed to perform to what is perceived the greater audience. What was interesting is the Crows game and the balanced commentating and not extenuating Melbourne.

Who does Weat Coast use? Poach him

Our forwardline has functioned very poorly at critical times many times this year. Individual brilliance has saved us on some of these critical times.
On paper a forward line of Dixon, Marshall, Georgiades and occasionally Ladhams as talls supported by freakishly skilled smalls in Gray, Rozee, Fantasia, Motlop, and Butters should be the best in the comp on talent. In reality, not so much.

Granted Butters is injured, but sheesh could you give Bassett a better set of toys to play with?

Starts have been poor interstate.

Is he kidding? They've been poor for a few years anywhere.

He's right about how flat we were though. I was ready to throw my remote at the TV in that first term watching DBJ and Houston jog around like they were at training. There was zero intensity or desire in our game early. Zero.

Not every game is going to be a razzle dazzle Harlem Globetrotters type of victory...

You reckon at least one could but?

All of our wins against bad teans are either 'only turned up for a few quarters, did what we have to' comfy 6 - 10goal wins, or absolute under 3 goal escapes from a disaster.

Good teams smash other sides in to the ground, it feels we haven't been there since the showdown last year, and before that, 2017.

There is 2 things that infuriate me to no end.

1. Kicking to the exact same ****ing spot every single god damn time from a kick out. How on earth do they think this is a good idea? We kick to a very large pack every single time. Teams instantly set up for it. I honestly can't remember the last time we did something different. We have players like Burton, Houston, Hartlett, Mckenzie etc. kicking out. They are all amazing kicks, why do we need to do this shit?

2. Our forwards grouping on top of each other and spoiling each other. Happens 10+ times every game. SPREAD, decoy leads, draw your opponents away from the contest. How hard is it? It's the most obvious shit but yet we continue to do it.

These 2 things alone have me losing complete and utter faith in this coaching group.

And our backlines is bloody impressive

We are really lucky to have such a great backline. Well manned well coached and disciplined.

I wasn't watching the same team you were yesterday. Sure Jonas was ok, Aliir and McKenzie good. Outside of that though, DBJ, HH, Burton and at times Houston and Bonner were horrendous yesterday.

We've seriously got some big concerns when it comes to the small defender position. DBJ has been poor this year, he legitimately looked like he CBF yesterday, and HH should be dropped. Jones was ok, but he appeared to be playing on Sidebottom most of the game who threatened to tear us apart. Premiership teams need to be far more disciplined and strong in defence and right now our defence is not performing anywhere near Premiership contending level.

Who does Weat Coast use? Poach him
Sumich was their forwards coach for many years I reckon a decade with his mate Worsfold. A KPF as a forwards coach, who would have thought that?

Jaymie Graham was their forwards coach in 2018 flag side. Graham only played about 40 games for WCE because of injuries, but was a KPD/ruckman who played a bit in the forward lines and won 2 or 3 flags playing for South Freo.

On paper a forward line of Dixon, Marshall, Georgiades and occasionally Ladhams as talls supported by freakishly skilled smalls in Gray, Rozee, Fantasia, Motlop, and Butters should be the best in the comp on talent. In reality, not so much.

Granted Butters is injured, but sheesh could you give Bassett a better set of toys to play with?
I'd take the WCE forwardline, Kennedy, Darling, Allen, occasionally Nick Nat, Ryan, Cripps (200+ goals), Petruccelle, Sheed rests up there as does Yeo when he is fit.

Luke Webster
Looked it up, Jaymie Graham was coach between 2017 and 2020 and has moved to the backlines coach this year. Webster was WCE WAFL side coach before he got the gig this year. He started at WCE in 2015 as a development coach. He played 33 games for Freo and I remember him as half back flanker type.

Marshall and Georgiadies are pretty unproven yet, and Dixon is solid but no superstar. Compare to WC with Kennedy and Darling, Richmond with Lynch and Riewoldt, or Geelong with Hawkins and Cameron and our talls aren't anywhere near that league.

You reckon at least one could but?

All of our wins against bad teans are either 'only turned up for a few quarters, did what we have to' comfy 6 - 10goal wins, or absolute under 3 goal escapes from a disaster.

Good teams smash other sides in to the ground, it feels we haven't been there since the showdown last year, and before that, 2017.

Just because you want it to happen doesn't mean the opposition are going to roll over.
Collingwood were fired up from the first bounce yesterday and it was apparent with Grundy's goal celebration that they'd come to play.
There's zero evidence that any side would have beat them by 10 goals. It hasn't happened all year.

I don't ever want to hear or see Darcy again....

I'm still laughing about him trying to raise controversy over the "new" away guernsey we were wearing and the lack of teal on it...

"Hey people were asking me about it"

Yes. They're asking you about it because you're supposed to be someone who would know the ****ing answer because that's your ****ing job you absolute ****ing imbecile. You're supposed to answer their question not just ask it again on the air.

In my opinion the smart forwards are the ones that kick a lot of goals. the ones that get less than ten disposals, drop easy marks and have little impact are not so good.

You think port plays one key forward?

Georgiades (who plays deep and rarely leaves 50) - 16 goals

Dixon (our senior star kf who we target the most going forward) - 15 goals

Marshall (plays as a chf leading up the ground) 10 goals

we’ve got a good spread of kfs doing the job this year, it’s one of the main reasons we’re where we are on the ladder.

We’ve also got one of if not the biggest spread of goalkickers in the Afl with

Fantasia 17
Gray 13
Motlop 9

Here is a comparison of some of the leagues 3rd key forwards. Its too long a list to get all the leagues 3rd key forwards here but ive clearly gone through all the numbers and this group is quite reflective of the league.

Marshall - 10 gls - 11d - 2.4i50 - 0.5r50 - eff dis 7.3 - con poss 5.3 - int poss 1.5 - grnd ball gets 2.4 - GA 1 - SI 4.8 - T 1.3 - PA 8.5 - spoils 1.8 - marks 4.8 - cont marks 1.6 - m gained 194

Fogarty - 8g - 7.7d - 1.9 i50 -0r50 - eff d 6.1 - con p 4.1 - int poss 1 - grnd ball 2.6 - GA 0.1 - SI 3.4 - t 1.1 - pa 4.9 - sp 0.7 - m 2.1 - cm 0.4 - m gained 146

Mcstay - 8g - 9.3d - 2.3i50 - 0r50 - eff d 7.2 - con p 4.2 - int poss 0.7 - grnd ball 2 - ga 0.3 - si 4.2 - t 3.5 - pa 10.3 - sp 1 - m 4.5 - cm 1.5 - m gained 130

Silvagni - 3g - 9.2d - 1.6i50 - 0.2r50 - eff d 7 - cp 3.2 - ip 0 - grnd ball 1.8 - ga 0.6 - si 4.8 - t 1.8 - pa 9.4 - spls 0.8 - m 2.8 - cm 0.4 - m gained 163

H.Jones - 13 g - 7.5d - 1.5i50 - 0r50 - eff d 5.9 - cp 3 - ip 0.4 - grnd ball 1.4 - ga 0.3 - si 3.9 - t 1.5 - pa 8.7 - spls 0.6 - m 3.6 - cm 0.9 - m gained 132

Obrien - 7g - 8.4d - 1.4i50 - 0.6r50 - eff d 6.5 - cp 4 - iposs 1.5 - grnd ball gets 1.9 - GA 0.6 - SI 2.9 - T 1.3 - pa 7.6 - sp 2 - m 3.4 - cm 1.4 - m gained 148

Look at those ****ing numbers. makes a mockery of his detractors. Mcstay is a seasoned competitor and statistically one of the best if not the best 3rd kfs in the league and Marshall has him beat in almost every bloody stat. (you could argue whether mcstay or hip wood is the true 3rd kf as its always a blurred line but either way these are the higher bars in the comp and Marshall stands up well against them)

his goal assists is way higher than most of his competition. the real laugh is the contested marks. for a guy blasted for not supposedly being a kf or a marking kf he takes way more than his peers. in fact his 13 contested marks for the year has him 19th in the league for pure key forwards in an 18 team league that expects teams to have multiple kfs. And were are talking about a 22 yr old kf, who's missed much of the start of his career to twin tragedies and yet to hit his straps.

I did the Melbourne day trip yesterday, and as I sat there in the 1st half I couldn't help but wonder why I bother with football sometimes (or rather, why I bother making the effort to travel interstate when we so routinely have found ways to bottle games like that), very thankful that it ended the right way, but we absolutely got away with one.

We did not turn up at all and a better side would've put us away, but like others have said, sometimes you just have to win ugly, bank the points and move on. We have a lot to work on, but if we can keep grinding out wins while we have all those first choice players out and keep in touch with the top 4 then that's the main thing.

I thought Charlie was excellent in the latter parts of the game, especially that smother that lead to the Houston goal, sitting near the point post you could see all the boys get to him and it felt like that sparked us (not sure how it looked on TV, haven't watched the replay yet, but at the ground it was how it felt to me).

Our crowd, both Victorian based and travelling, was excellent. The noise and the vibe behind the Punt Road end goals were amazing. Plenty of people wearing the Prison Bars as well, I wore my lace up and got no comments at all from their fans, though, I suppose to receive a comment I'd have to have encountered one of their fans, which was pretty difficult considering the horrible turnout. Pretty disappointing for a 'big 4' club to barely get 23,000 to a home game on a perfect Sunday afternoon. We get ridiculed for 30,000 people these days, but the Victorian clubs routinely struggle to break 25,000 and there's no story.

Anyway, bank the points and move on.

I'm still laughing about him trying to raise controversy over the "new" away guernsey we were wearing and the lack of teal on it...

"Hey people were asking me about it"

Yes. They're asking you about it because you're supposed to be someone who would know the ******* answer because that's your ******* job you absolute ******* imbecile. You're supposed to answer their question not just ask it again on the air.

As if that commentary wasn't a directive from his mate Ed.

The fact that he hates the lack of teal so much on our away kit makes me like it even more.

You think port plays one key forward?

Georgiades (who plays deep and rarely leaves 50) - 16 goals

Dixon (our senior star kf who we target the most going forward) - 15 goals

Marshall (plays as a chf leading up the ground) 10 goals

we’ve got a good spread of kfs doing the job this year, it’s one of the main reasons we’re where we are on the ladder.

We’ve also got one of if not the biggest spread of goalkickers in the Afl with

Fantasia 17
Gray 13
Motlop 9

Here is a comparison of some of the leagues 3rd key forwards. Its too long a list to get all the leagues 3rd key forwards here but ive clearly gone through all the numbers and this group is quite reflective of the league.

Marshall - 10 gls - 11d - 2.4i50 - 0.5r50 - eff dis 7.3 - con poss 5.3 - int poss 1.5 - grnd ball gets 2.4 - GA 1 - SI 4.8 - T 1.3 - PA 8.5 - spoils 1.8 - marks 4.8 - cont marks 1.6 - m gained 194

Fogarty - 8g - 7.7d - 1.9 i50 -0r50 - eff d 6.1 - con p 4.1 - int poss 1 - grnd ball 2.6 - GA 0.1 - SI 3.4 - t 1.1 - pa 4.9 - sp 0.7 - m 2.1 - cm 0.4 - m gained 146

Mcstay - 8g - 9.3d - 2.3i50 - 0r50 - eff d 7.2 - con p 4.2 - int poss 0.7 - grnd ball 2 - ga 0.3 - si 4.2 - t 3.5 - pa 10.3 - sp 1 - m 4.5 - cm 1.5 - m gained 130

Silvagni - 3g - 9.2d - 1.6i50 - 0.2r50 - eff d 7 - cp 3.2 - ip 0 - grnd ball 1.8 - ga 0.6 - si 4.8 - t 1.8 - pa 9.4 - spls 0.8 - m 2.8 - cm 0.4 - m gained 163

H.Jones - 13 g - 7.5d - 1.5i50 - 0r50 - eff d 5.9 - cp 3 - ip 0.4 - grnd ball 1.4 - ga 0.3 - si 3.9 - t 1.5 - pa 8.7 - spls 0.6 - m 3.6 - cm 0.9 - m gained 132

Obrien - 7g - 8.4d - 1.4i50 - 0.6r50 - eff d 6.5 - cp 4 - iposs 1.5 - grnd ball gets 1.9 - GA 0.6 - SI 2.9 - T 1.3 - pa 7.6 - sp 2 - m 3.4 - cm 1.4 - m gained 148

Look at those ******* numbers. makes a mockery of his detractors. Mcstay is a seasoned competitor and statistically one of the best if not the best 3rd kfs in the league and Marshall has him beat in almost every bloody stat. (you could argue whether mcstay or hip wood is the true 3rd kf as its always a blurred line but either way these are the higher bars in the comp and Marshall stands up well against them)

his goal assists is way higher than most of his competition. the real laugh is the contested marks. for a guy blasted for not supposedly being a kf or a marking kf he takes way more than his peers. in fact his 13 contested marks for the year has him 19th in the league for pure key forwards in an 18 team league that expects teams to have multiple kfs. And were are talking about a 22 yr old kf, who's missed much of the start of his career to twin tragedies and yet to hit his straps.
Other players being bad is not a good argument for Marshall being good, so I don't know why you bother putting these posts together.

We went 5-3 then 7-3 in 2018 but finished up with a 0-4 in August to miss finals. That is our best result in what I call the wet 8/9/10 as I always leave all home and away games played in August + first week of September in its own category.

If we want to win the flag, we have to go 4-0 or 3-1 in August and only lose to the Doggies at Docklands. Even in 2014 when we were flying we went 5-4 in winter and had two close loses by less than a goal. Premiership sides usually go undefeated in August or occasionally drop the last game as their mind is on September.

A 6-2 + 6-4 + 3-1 season gets us to a 15-7 and probably 4th spot. 16-6 pretty much guarantees us a top 4 spot.

Are you certain a 16 game season will guarantee top 4? Usually it would no question but this year I'm not so certain given it appears on the surface to be a 5 team race into those 4 spots. I could be completely wrong on this though given Melbourne play the Dogs and Brisbane the next two games, and if they drop both of those then suddenly the ladder will look a lot different once again.

Review Rd 10 Port vs Collingwood