Review Rd 12, 2014 - Bulldogs vs Lions

Took my gf to her second ever game. She has now seen 2 lions wins from 2 games. She must now go to every game
Well it's either her or ZOB.

Would welcome a comfortable win. At least for my heart's sake!

Positives...
# Bewick, Harwood and (to a lesser yet still exemplary extent) Golby each had their best games of the season. Didn't think Bewick had that in him but good on him. Ripper game. Harwood rebounded well and was also very good defensively.
# Defense as a whole. How settled did the back six look? Leppa's game plan as a whole really coming to affect.
# I'd say Lewy Taylor's best game for the club. Heart in mouth when he went off but thankfully came back on and had some important touches. He WOULD be the rising star in a better team. Gets to the right spots and will benefit when we win more of the ball.
# Who thought we'd be saying thank goodness for Stef Martin. Worked his way into the game and IMO took the points over Minson. Midfield set plays and clearances were clearly evident, thanks no less to Martin.
# Might be going on a limb here but I would say Dizzy's best game for the club also. Shut down Grant and had some nice contested moments too. Loving the '13 draft class.
# Beams' best game for the year. Adds the icing to our list. Great game and should finish the year strongly.
# Redden, Hanley, Clarke and Zorko also very good. Consistent performance across the board.
Negatives...
# We lacked leadership late. We could've lost. The Dogs leaders got their hands on the footy. Brown did some nice things but god knows we can't rely on him forever.
# The last quarter as a whole was pretty poor. Didn't make the right options and couldn't get the ball forward. Cannot wait for a four quarter effort.
# Was critical of Jed tonight. Think he has been one of our best this season, but tonight he was caught out defensively often - especially in the first quarter.

Okay, some semi-serious but mostly scotch-induced-euphoria footy talk.

Stefan Martin. Never knew he had it in him. Let's be honest, we haven't been all that positive about him on this board, but tonight he was great. Just great. Clearly the juice went out of his legs late but he kept fighting.

Rohan Bewick. Now, we've all been in unison about how he needs to get more involved. Tick. But also I reckon his teammates and Leppitsch can take a fair chunk of credit, because he was always in the right place and his teammates knew where he was and used him whenever they could. Perfectly found his role tonight. Now he needs to do it again and again.

Lewis Taylor. Honestly, I haven't waxed lyrical about this kid before because I thought he was going okay without excelling. But tonight we got a glimpse of the future. In fact more than a glimpse. A big bright shining beacon of the player he's going to be. Looked super-confident with the ball. Ran hard, ran smart, side-stepped pretty much the entire Western side at one point or another, used it well, got injured, then forced himself back on and had a couple of important touches late. What a star.

We just looked really confident. At least for three quarters until we ran out of legs but we can forgive them that. We took the game on, we were prepared to get tackled and we took risks. And that's why when we were on top in the second term we broke the game open. That's exactly what we needed to do.

Last week it was our leaders who stepped up and forced us over the line. Tonight it was a real team effort. Sure there were standout players but everyone contributed. Seriously, I can't think of a player who didn't have a significant impact tonight.

Oh yeah.

Lewis Taylor. Honestly, I haven't waxed lyrical about this kid before because I thought he was going okay without excelling. But tonight we got a glimpse of the future. In fact more than a glimpse. A big bright shining beacon of the player he's going to be. Looked super-confident with the ball. Ran hard, ran smart, side-stepped pretty much the entire Western side at one point or another, used it well, got injured, then forced himself back on and had a couple of important touches late. What a star.

Unbelievable effort .. he was limping badly after the siren, obviously in pain. Fantastic last quarter on one leg.

I must admit to being one who had my doubts that Martin had much to offer us this season. But he had his best game for the club and didn't let us down in our hour of ruckman need.

I agree that Golby looked better this week. He has something, not sure exactly what he can provide to the team, but there is something there. Harwood also was very solid.

I have said for the last several weeks but it is worth repeating - Clarke is starting to look very solid at the back now - not perfect but after 20-something games he just looks increasingly like a player we can rely on for another 150 games. And Gardiner might not be far behind him.

I hate this win supposedly because we won't get the first draft pick apparently or so I am told!

Yeah if Peter Wright goes on to be a star we'll look back on this night and...

Nope. We'll still be bloody stoked about it. Go Lions!

I have said for the last several weeks but it is worth repeating - Clarke is starting to look very solid at the back now - not perfect but after 20-something games he just looks increasingly like a player we can rely on for another 150 games. And Gardiner might not be far behind him.

Crameri's been a real good goalkicker for the Dogs this season. I think he might have had one (?) but for the most part he was well beaten. In an eight-point ball game Clarke made at least a nine-point difference.

331190-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

Dayne Beams set up the Lions' win with a blistering first half

Almost AFL.COM

Crameri's been a real good goalkicker for the Dogs this season. I think he might have had one (?) but for the most part he was well beaten. In an eight-point ball game Clarke made at least a nine-point difference.

Agree, Clarke outplayed his opponent this week again but didn't have the clangers like last week.

We have speed, we have speed! Our lack of outside speed has long been considered a weakness and to now have it seen as a strength is very heartening.

Review Rd 12, 2014 - Bulldogs vs Lions