Autopsy Rd 3 v Essendon. Blues win by 15

gee whiz what a game, i could go on about the many positives of williamson being our simpson replacement, sps belonging on the big stage, team defense etc but lets me honest, the weather really made it an even game. We lack skills, weather like that its whatever team is first to the ball and hacks it forward, very little finesse skill required.

The difference was we WANTED it more, we were hard at the ball and player. so many times i saw an essendon player trailing a carlton player, or they would stop and wait for the bounce instead of attacking the ball and keeping it in front of them. Not sure on the tackle count, but to me it looked like we were all over them.

Mcdonald-tipinwoodie (however you spelt it) made it look like a dry day, lucky for us their kept him up forward and out of the way all day. Should of thrown him around the ball so they had someone who could pick it up!

I honestly thought this would of been kerridges day, unfortuntly he proved that hes just not upto it. Depth short term but thats all.

Daisy does alot of the unnoticed things extremely well, but he turns it over so much its painful. Had a number of possessions in space in the first half and turned it over every time. In those conditions uncontested possessions were a premium. Ive been backing him all season long, nothing has changed but i am looking forward to when some kids push him out of the side. Means we are getting better as a football club and have some good depth.

Mr White, i cant remember actually bagging him all game! played well, again conditions suited his no frills/no skill play style and he excelled!

Palmer not upto it, thought he was ok in a good team, but was exposed as a very ordinary footballer on the weekend. Not sure if injury hurt him, but looks nothing like he did at GWS. Back to his last year or 2 at Freo.

All in all, everyone gave 100%. Thats more than what the bombers did and thats why we won. More 22 committed efforts like that, and we get some wins on the board and continue to establish a culture that every club will envy.

I went down to my Dads farm and watched the game with him yesterday and we hit Laphroaig to make you proud

One thing my old man noticed was we really beat them up, not in the dirty sniping cowardly Dee's way but really hit them hard, tackled hard and let them know we were there. It's been a while since I've seen us play really tough.
How good was Picketts tackle in the goalsquare? Big hit from a little fella. Awesome.

On SM-N920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Honestly, I reckon you're watching the wrong guy. Check out #39.

These quotes are just plain wrong.
"The 1 percenters people talk about are non existant"
"Any possessions are simply link up play that any player could get"
"Any other player would do that as a starting point"

I was thinking the same thing. We obviously see it differently

ajb, I thought the same about Kerridge for a while, but last Saturday I went down to training and am starting to change my view.

Watching Kerridge kicking 1 on 1 away from the main group, he seriously had trouble making a 30m pass. Sometimes it would go to the left or the right, and miss by a fair margin. The guy he was kicking to was exhausted trying to get to his passes.

He was clearly frustrated and lacked confidence in his kicking - and this was at training where there was no opposition pressure!

I'm exactly the same as you GoBlues. Training really brought it out for me. Kerridge Palmer White & Thomas were the obvious ones in the long kicking drills especially when next to a Pickett or SPS. No penetration and missed targets. Difference is amazing. Made me realise that Murphy & Curnow are better field kicks than I gave them credit for and Weitering's ball use is elit

Honestly, I reckon you're watching the wrong guy. Check out #39.

These quotes are just plain wrong.
"The 1 percenters people talk about are non existant"
"Any possessions are simply link up play that any player could get"
"Any other player would do that as a starting point"

You mean that old, slow, broken down, shell of a man that was good at football about 5 years ago?

They could finish bottom 4, lose a few senior players to retirement, and go to the draft with two picks in the mid-late thirties (GWS second and their own third) as their best chance of finding some players...

Expecting them to make a massive play for Fyfe and Martin.

Apparently they are seriously into Steven May.

How they would get him is a mystery?

Whilst I agree that Kerridge and Palmer were average, in a game where 44 players were almost all bereft of skill, it would be tough getting dropped after that game. The proposed 'ins' can propably wait a week.

These guys deserve another game because it " was raining " and didn't give good account of themselves? Its interesting that our first gamer gave a good account of himself in the rain. Couple of the 3rd gamers gave a good account of themselves in the rain. Our 19 and 20 year olds were excellent in a game supposedly bereft of skill, yet you want to give these guys a break? The list of excuses to keep giving the spuds another game is getting longer and longer and more ridiculous by the week.

Palmer and Kerridge provided big bodies on a wet slippery surface in a physical game, the young guys would have got slaughtered. Don't get me wrong, I want to see Cunners and Fisher take their place (not Graham) but yesterday I wanted the win and they were the correct choice.

Spot on SS.
Polson, Cuningham and Fisher will get their chance, but we need to be careful and not play them before they're ready.

You mean that old, slow, broken down, shell of a man that was good at football about 5 years ago?

I really struggle to see it. I have gone to the last 2 games deliberately with an open mind on Daisy. Effort can't be questioned but HE CAN'T KEEP UP. It's obvious. People in the crowd were commenting on it all day. Most comments were it was sad to watch. Maybe people are just looking for positives in hope? On TV I admit he looks okay. Major issue for me is he can't tackle or defend. That part has gone.

I am not a fan of Casboult or White either but they played their roles on Saturday. IMO Daisy is a liability and I get no thrill in saying it. I hope he and Carlton come to an agreement and he can retire gracefully

Apparently they are seriously into Steven May.

How they would get him is a mystery?

Their only option will be to trade best 22 player/s. The same that Geelong will have to do to get GAJ back to them. Trade best 22 player/s. Neither havedraft picks at this point.

I really struggle to see it. I have gone to the last 2 games deliberately with an open mind on Daisy. Effort can't be questioned but HE CAN'T KEEP UP. It's obvious. People in the crowd were commenting on it all day. Most comments were it was sad to watch. Maybe people are just looking for positives in hope? On TV I admit he looks okay. Major issue for me is he can't tackle or defend. That part has gone.

I am not a fan of Casboult or White either but they played their roles on Saturday. IMO Daisy is a liability and I get no thrill in saying it. I hope he and Carlton come to an agreement and he can retire gracefully

I agree mate. I think Kerridge is in the same boat TBH.

Love this pic .......

SamoApr9Hero.jpg

ajb, I thought the same about Kerridge for a while, but last Saturday I went down to training and am starting to change my view.

Watching Kerridge kicking 1 on 1 away from the main group, he seriously had trouble making a 30m pass. Sometimes it would go to the left or the right, and miss by a fair margin. The guy he was kicking to was exhausted trying to get to his passes.

He was clearly frustrated and lacked confidence in his kicking - and this was at training where there was no opposition pressure!
thats fair enough.

Though he seems popular. He was mobbed when he kicked that last goal and it seemed more than just the state of the match.

Hard fought slog in conditions like that, it really stands out which players lack or have a bit extra skill as ball handling, marking, kicking and handballing are all tested to the max. Tackling and structures were excellent. Kicking for goal wasn't great. Played a smart brand of footy and were hard at it. It really encouraged guys who are a bit standoffish to really go in hard and have a crack which was great.

Murphy - Been BOG in 3 out of 3 Games. Was outstanding.

Gibbs - Best game so far, was excellent, tackled really well, really liked his game.

Kreuzer - He's in career best form and fitness and playing like it. Conditions really suited him, followed up his ruck work and provided a physical presence. Tackled and applied pressure and won some ball. Rucked well.

Curnow - Worked really hard, was physical and handled the footy well. Was excellent.

Docherty - Nearly BOG, intercepted and attacked the ball well. Skills stood up in tough conditions.

Cripps - still not at his best but he's building and his game was solid.

Petrevski-Seton - Very good game, came out of his shell a bit more at the contests and was excellent. Far more involved. Just love how he goes about it and applies pressure.

Simpson - Did his usual thing, positioned well and competed well.

Plowman - Having an excellent season and was really good intercepting the ball. Was physical and demonstrated some attacking run.

Silvagni - Moments of brilliance and good hands at times. Getting better. Liked his defensive efforts.

White - Intercepted well and was tough at the contests. Solid game. Been solid all year.

Thomas - Another acceptable game, his kicking is letting him down badly. Had a crack which was important.

Rowe - Best game so far. Been defensively good all year but this match he went for his marks and took a few. Ball handling is always a worry but he did a good job.

Williamson - outstanding debut. Looks to have great skills and pace and competes well.

Marchbank - Quieter game but he was strong in the air and defended well.

Weitering - Considering he was off for a long time he did really well. Took some difficult marks and won lot of crucial contests. Will be hard to stop when he builds his tank and his frame. Missed a sitter and he'll get better with that but he's got great hands and just uses his body well.

Casboult - Didn't touch it a lot but he performed his role well and competed in the air and took a few marks. He was physical and made a point of crunching anyone who got in his way this week which I liked.

Pickett - gets to the right spots but has a bit of work to do. A bit more composure with those high balls and a bit extra run in his game wouldn't hurt.

Wright - Was quiet but looked dangerous.

Palmer - Had his moments but wasn't clean and didn't do a great deal.

Kerridge - like Palmer, wasn't overly clean and didn't do a great deal.

Macreadie - did fairly well again. When he had to do something he did it and did it pretty well. Going to be a good player as his frame develops.

Can't fault the effort. Forward pressure, pressure around the ball all day and some well adjusted and smart football.

Autopsy Rd 3 v Essendon. Blues win by 15