Autopsy Rd 8 Blues deserving but no reward again

Who played well in Round 8?

Noticed that and my thought was exactly yours, that's what we need. Someone with mongrel

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Thought the same...made some mistakes but did some impressive stuff.

Looks to have a bit of mongrel and some much needed arrogance that we lack.

After today’s performance I think that draft class of H,CC,DC,JW and JSOS are all hits.Dc and Jsos finally arrived today and what I mean by that is they SHOULD now deliver consistent effort.
jsos has played well in every game since his return

If the reason why this is happening is because they think his running numbers aren't high enough yet and they just want his ball use and contested ability in the team today, that's OK.

If it's because they genuinely believe he's a defender, they should never have made the trade.

I also fail to see how I'm getting down on the young bloke by saying I want him played at the stoppages... that's a huge responsibility.
Developing him the old school way. Play small backman and get experience. Build the body and tank and then go into the midfield. Brett ratten like I reckon.

Shattered but I'm calling it now - Blues will play finals next year.

This team is growing enormously and has so much upside. To outplay last year's grand finalist and one of the 2 standout teams of this year so far is huge, regardless of the result. All the result showed was that Collingwood give more polish.
Efa

After today’s performance I think that draft class of H,CC,DC,JW and JSOS are all hits.Dc and Jsos finally arrived today and what I mean by that is they SHOULD now deliver consistent effort.

Crucial point. These 22 year olds have now essentially arrived and we need to continue demanding consistency and excellence from them.

I thought Plowman was very damn good considering the role he was asked to play, one out in the GS with either DeGoey or Stephenson.

They exploit him because they know he’s weak. Watching at the game from centre wing and seeing the movement, you can tell the instructions were to target Plowmans opponent as regularly as possible. Not just today either. Unfortunately he’s just a plodder of a player.

In comparison I thought for a non defender, Casboult did plenty of good and Marchbank lifted immensely. Even Stocker - second gamer and really took it up to either of Brown, Phillips or Elliott whomever he rotated through. Thomas you can see is trying to fill the Simpson role as much as he can. If Jones was fit next week I’d take Plowman out for him and keep the rest.

No you're a tosser mate,

Did we play one on one last quarter? tick - fail
Did we slow down the play last quarter? cross - fail

What did we do? Pushed players behind the ball one on one. What we should have done - spread, slow down the play for at least two minutes. But we went one on one as far as I saw. Against Collingwood with their quality.... we lost it in the coaches box prove it otherwise you can't.
We did slow down our play wit about 15 to go ..which was a small part of our downfall..

No doubt this post will come across as totally bizarre and completely unacceptable to some, but tbh (and ironically with a nod to Billy Bragg’s appropriately titled “Waiting for the Great Leap Forward”) there are some posters’ blacklists that I want to be on.

Imo, today’s performance and (even the) result mean that our season is well and truly back on track, as we’ve succeeded in confirming that last week was an aberration. Of course, it is heartbreaking to lose, given how hard we had fought to put ourselves in a winning position, and we need to ruthlessly review what went wrong in the closing stages of the game. However, what took place is not in the least bit surprising - regardless of the effort we bring, we simply need to mature, and we need to learn how to win, while unlearning how to lose. Apparently, we also need to learn to pay the umpires not to swallow their whistles, where one team is concerned that is, but that’s another story altogether ...

Anyway, look at the second post in this thread, and the second post in the game day thread, and imo you can clearly see in that table the key to understanding today’s performance and result - that is, the Pies list demographic (age profile and games experience) is one that, when combined with sufficient quality, wins games of AFL footy in general, and close games in particular. By contrast, our current list demographic, more often than not, will fall short, especially when the heat is on against a high quality and seasoned opponent in a close contest. However, as long as we continue to develop and learn, time is unquestionably on our side, and over the next couple of years I am convinced that the tide will definitely turn in our win-loss ratio. Imo, the number one psychological trait that we all need to embrace, therefore, is patience ... and while we are practicing that trait, we need to support our players and back them in to take us to where we want to go.

Btw, if some posters’ overly negative and kneejerk reactions after a loss like this are due to betting losses, then I have two words for you - “cash out” ... trust me, those words will be your best friend for many months to come, and there is definitely money to be made in “this thar rebuild”.

Developing him the old school way. Play small backman and get experience. Build the body and tank and then go into the midfield. Brett ratten like I reckon.

Parkin. That was his go. Many a champion started at back pocket.

Give it a rest. Your posts lack analysis or constructive criticism and really have gone over the line as far as a repetitive negative agenda.

Cease and desist letter has been sent.

You clearly don’t read if that’s your basis I’ve given plenty of detailed reasons elsewhere. Reactionary off a single post because It doesn’t agree with your view and then using moderator standover intimidation it seems. That’s how it is here? Poor.

I'm really happy for Jack, it must be so hard be a son of a great player. Credit to him, he has put on some muscle and built his stamina and it's paying off.
Yeah I think if sos is sticking his nose into selection etc he should keep out of it and back the MCs calls. Jsos is getting picked on merit not because of who he is and will get better imo ...we all know he has the smarts and the skills so just needs to keep improving his physical attributes and running etc

They exploit him because they know he’s weak. Watching at the game from centre wing and seeing the movement, you can tell the instructions were to target Plowmans opponent as regularly as possible. Not just today either. Unfortunately he’s just a plodder of a player.

In comparison I thought for a non defender, Casboult did plenty of good and Marchbank lifted immensely. Even Stocker - second gamer and really took it up to either of Brown, Phillips or Elliott whomever he rotated through. Thomas you can see is trying to fill the Simpson role as much as he can. If Jones was fit next week I’d take Plowman out for him and keep the rest.

That's cool. We can agree to disagree.

We did slow down our play wit about 15 to go ..which was a small part of our downfall..

Not what I saw Dadda. I saw a team trying to run and gun. One point I saw Cunners in the middle of the ground with players around him and instead sharing with his team mates was looking upfield but no one was there. If he is instructed to share the ball amongst his mates with a relase handball and relief kick could have slowed down at least a minute and this is only one example of many.

Autopsy Rd 8 Blues deserving but no reward again