• Andrew McQualter

Votes: 87 37.8%
  • Adem Yze

Votes: 146 63.5%

THIS. why the hell does colour or anything matter when choosing a coach ffs. These woke losers claiming it's racist because there's not enough diversity.
News flash, choosing a coloured or minority for the sake of it over plain "white" ppl is racist.

You choose the person that's best for the job and that's it.

I get what you’re saying, but automatically assuming someone is more qualified just because they aren’t minority (which happens far more than people just being selected because they are minority) is also racist.

Wtf do so many people want figjam? He was gifted the youngest premiership team in history and turned a potential dynasty into a dog turd. The stench of their own racism scandal only vanished cos Krakour and Davis were given a paycheck for no show jobs.

He shafted Treloar then told him all his teammates wanted him gone, when they all loved him. He achieved bugger all with the exact same list McRae has already turned into a juggernaut. Plus his team was bloody horrible to watch. I'd rather the best untried coach surrounded by experience and quality assistants and pour money into development, fitness and skills. Meehan might as well jump on seek now.

campaigners like me have been lured in by him being one of the only ones to provide decent analysis of the actual footy in front of us in the media, and his calm demeanour in there compared to most of the other dramatic dbags is refreshing (some will say he's boring but I like it)

as far as coaching you're probably right though!

Sounds like job might be his if he impresses

maybe but we're not really gonna say anything else other than that classic PR speak right there at the moment. we're already unsettled with Dimmer leaving and Gale probably leaving, we don't need to also say the interim coach has no chance at being selected as well

Ralphy called Leppa today a tactical wizard on the herald sun podcast. That's what we need. Dimma, Peggy and Gale completely changed the culture of the club. The players are all best mates. Now we need the gameplan.
You need the head coach to be able to lead 45 players , his asst can bring the tactics . Mark neeld was a tactical genius

campaigners like me have been lured in by him being one of the only ones to provide decent analysis of the actual footy in front of us in the media, and his calm demeanour in there compared to most of the other dramatic dbags is refreshing (some will say he's boring but I like it)

as far as coaching you're probably right though!
Ruled himself out so not worth wasting breath on , I. Certainly thought he’d be worth a chat to at least keep the other candidates honest , a GF appearance 3 PF tells me he can coach , forget it though

he'll apply for sure despite what he's saying atm

I wouldn’t quite go as simple as wins and losses because ultimately yes the coach has an input but the coach is definitely not the only factor in terms of if a team wins a game of footy or not

It’s more important if we can see improvements and how the players respond to him being in charge and also how he can manage his assistants to get the best out of them imo
I agree with that , I’m quite looking forward to how we go , I gotta be honest , I wasn’t going this week was pretty cut up after last weeks loss and with no changes likely had a gut full . All aboard mini

I get what you’re saying, but automatically assuming someone is more qualified just because they aren’t minority (which happens far more than people just being selected because they are minority) is also racist.
But noone is saying or denying the minority a chance to be selected (if there even is a candidate) , none of these things should even be said. People are mentioning the "boring" white people , because the reality is the people actually wanting to and going for these jobs are mostly your middle aged white men. Every industry has different demographics, you can't get a perfect spread.

What should be said is the best person should be picked regardless of what they are.

This "pick the minority" nonsense reeks of just choosing that person just for the sake of it and is PC gone wrong. Both extremes are just as bad and is just plain stupid.

Would greatly prefer we look external and don't hire a favourite son such as Grigg or Newman. It never works out.
I don't mind them going for the job & interviewing that would give them experience in itself but there is no wayRichmond pick them as the next coach especially Grigg who is only a few years out of the game, Newman has a little more experience but still very young.

I don't mind them going for the job & interviewing that would give them experience in itself but there is way Richmond pick them as the next coach especially Grigg who is only a few years out of the game, Newman has a little more experience but still very young.
Dimma was appointed at 36yo newy is 41

he is not! :eek:
why, if Newy is 41 then i must be....

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa:(
um yeah, Newy. like.
I dont have any probs with past affiliates from club.
Being able to wrangle effectively instruct TEAM of assistants and.. err actual Team doesnt have to come from ex player either.
Explaining plan, role etc pretty important.
I have played* at U11 (Res) so i know what its like at an elite org.
(*reserve orange peeler)

You need the head coach to be able to lead 45 players , his asst can bring the tactics . Mark neeld was a tactical genius
Seems like Leppa gets that now, compared to his in charge at the lions. He'd have learnt so much from the 7 years under Macrae and Dimma who are the two best in the business in that regard. The richmond boys loved Leppa as do the pies.

why's he called Mini
He is a smaller version of his older brother

The guy has leadership all over him was captain through under 18s and in state squads

Played with him in under 14s coach quality back then a leader of men

Mathew Knights maybe .....didn't get a fair go at the filth with Lloyd and Hird back stabbing him.....he's been around other clubs ....sort of out of left field I know 🤷‍♂️
As much as I like Knights. I would want someone that has had a successful career with premierships

Any chance of combining all these Hardwick quits/future coach threads into one mods?

Great comparrison by Mitch Cleary on the Tradies podcast today comparing Pies of 2022 to us in 2024 and even the rest of this year.

Core pies were Pendlebury, Howe, Sidebottom, Crisp, Cameron, Elliot, Cox, Mihocek, Moore, De Goey, Maynard, Adams all 26+ at that stage.
For us it'll be - Dusty, Grimes, Prestia, Lynch, Vlastuin, Nank, Short, Hopper, Graham, Rioli, Taranto, Bolton, Balta, Baker.
The question is whether the younger guys like Ryan, Cumberland, Clarke, Ralphsmith, Rioli Jnr, Sonsie, Gibcus etc. can step up like Daicos, Lipinski, Quaynor, MccCerry, Ginnivan, Noble, Johnson etc did.

Maybe I'm bias but I look at the core players we have and I reckon ours are better, or at least should be better. We're playing beneath ourselves, Pies are playing above. That's difference is gameplan and buy-in from the players. The more I think about it, the more it's easy to see we needed a new voice in charge. We can continue to contend with this list if we get the right coach/coaches in and with some smart list management like pies did with Fly and Leppa along with Tom Mitchell, Oleg Markov, Bobby Hill, Billy Frampton. Not stars but role players that do their job. Himmelberg would be a good start IMO.
Our defence is fairly youthful with plenty of life left which is a very good base to build on and our midfield too is well equipped. I’m pretty comfortable with our list as it stands , our coaching job will be a coveted one don’t you worry about that