Richmond: house of cards?

Question to the Richmond fans?
Would you rather slip out of the 8?
Or get destroyed in an elimination final ala North last season?
id like us to play finals for lots of good reasons i would not have thought id have to go into. even if we are how to say it undeserving.

some of us have been saying we may not make it and we certainly are not a contender but in a mix with about 10 other teams all close to each other and all middling teams.

for me we will continue to struggle until we find depth and fix the massive problems we have with tall players in all areas.
i will say again most people had us finishing somewhere between 7th and 12th 13th. nothing has changedyou dont magically develop 6 or 7 players over night all things take time.

keep on saying it there are key boxes that all clubs have to tick to be a good finals side there are few exceptions we just dont tick enough boxes and the only thing that will enable us to rectify it is time and development.
for some of us this yr was never about finals but a bonus if we do get there.

and might i add that on a softness scale of graham norton to the wrestler...north are close to the graham norton side

which makes being out pressured/ tackled harder to swallow

Yeah during the second term when I remarked to a friend that we are the hot knife through Richmond's butter enroute to knocking in 8 unanswered goals I was referring to North's softness.

Still pretty worried about the Tiges when we come up against them at the 'G.

They're good. How good? We don't know yet. Jury is still, most definitely out.

Disgraceful performance. Next week is the biggest game of the year for us to start gaining back some respect.

North is a side that we don't match up well against. It's not the first time in recent years that we have lost to them following a patch of good form.

Hopefully this match was just one of those strange aberrations, but it is concerning that Collingwood and North have both played utterly dominant quarters of footy against us this year where our side has unravelled in about 20 mins.

Very flashy, quick players, but when things get down and dirty and become a heavy slog in the heat of finals footy, they will go missing. Today was just a taste of what is to come.

Seem them a few times this year and tend to agree.

I only really watch Bomber games and Tiger games(due to my best mate being a member) and I believe that Richmond are about the same position as Essendon were in two years ago!

The core of their list is young and they have some talented players coming through that will only improve the side in coming years!

Very few teams in the last 20 years have have jagged a flag(Hawks 2008, Adelaide 1997 and Essendon 1993) and Richmond wont do it this year!

Trick is to build slowly(Geelong, Collingwood,Sydney and Brisbane) and continually build depth and a game style that can stand up to finals footy. Im not yet convinced that Dimma is the man to take them to the next step, but having watched them quite a bit over the years I am convinced that they are starting to fill gaps on the field that have been in existance for longer than most Tiger supporters would like to think about!

Another talented, tough halfback(Hibberd type) to help Houli, and as plenty have mentioned another forward(Roughhead type) to help Jack and some half forwards (Bruest type) that run back to help defence before running forward into dangerous positions(god I miss Caracella) and you are in contention with 4 or 5 teams like every other year!

I was optimistic we were on the right track a few years ago with the quality we were starting to bring into the team and I see something very similar with Richmond. Unfortunately as the Bulldogs and Saints will tell you, good teams like they had through the mid 2000's unfortunately don't guarantee you a flag, so its game on just like for every other team that has potential!

Had an off game against a ruthless North. Repeat the game next week and I reckon they would have a close one. Credit to North however.

I have a feeling that they will demolish them for the last two years. Similar to how we demolished Melbourne fpr the last two years, although with the margin not as big of course. Watch out Gold Coast!

The OP was pretty fair, Richmond have failed all their 'big tests' against the better teams this year but conversely have done a good job of putting away the weaker teams until yesterday. They should make the finals in 7th or 8th spot I'd say. I still think there is some fairly big question marks over their list particularly in terms of their second key forward and second ruck options. If Vickery was to come on and become a Roughead then that would solve a lot of problems. Also their disposal in the back half is still pretty ordinary, which is why it hurt so much having Houli out.

If Maric was to go down I think it could ruin their entire season as things stand right now, they absolutely need to make it a priority to get backup for him. Even tiger supporters don't really seem to rate Vickery in the ruck.

Their midfield is pretty good but well and truly overrated by Richmond fans. Richmond fans will make you think that Cotchin, Deledio and Martin are all A+ players but the truth is that Cotchin had 1 year at that level and has fallen away big time this year, Deledio gets tagged out easily and has never been A+ and Martin plays extremely well in bursts but also has periods of games where he does very little and his disposal can be really poor at times. Their next crop of Ellis, Vlastuin and Conca all look very promising at this early stage but only time will tell if they deliver on their potential, but I've certainly seen a few threads where Richmond rate their overall midfield as the best or near best in the league already and it certainly hasn't delivered that level of performance so far.

as i said on the game day thread on the tigs board, we are over-rated / over performing / not quite there yet etc: what ever you want to call it, we are a 5th - 8th side this year, closer to 8th

we have benefitted from a favourable fixture, caught carlton, wce, adelaide at ripe times but conversely have had a close loss against freo.

what worries me is the losses are worse this year than last and it is no secret how to beat richmond
- stop deledio
- slowwww the game down with stoppage football

our mids will be very good, its the bookends that have and will always be a worry, rance, vickery, chaplin and riewoldt will not ever step up in a big game against strong opposition and win a game.

Did not see a lot of stoppage football. Agree with stopping Delideo though. Houli is certainly an important cog in your machine, you missed him today.

This is a very disappointing thread to have to make. I, like most football lovers, are waiting for Richmond to come good, finally. Every year the promise is there, and unlike most years, it looked like finally this might be the year the Tigers make an impact.

Virtually entrenched in the 8, even the Richmond faithful were starting to dream of the "F word". A good last month meant, finally, surely, the Tigers were coming and September dreaming.

But... is it as it seems? After a disastrous first half against another non-contender in North Mebourne, the question has to be asked: is this years Richmond building nothing more than a house of cards?

No wins against anyone of significance, very few results against anyone above them, certainly against other contenders. Beating up on weak teams and not beating good ones is not a recipe for success.

More question marks over Dimma's coaching. He's been thrashed today, like a number of other occasions this year. Is he the man to take the next step, or has he done his job developing and should he hand over to someone else to evolve from here?

Whilst for Richmond, admittedly, finals would be a great result, they look destined to me to be that team that get flogged in the first week for a quick exit.

Richmond 2013? Building a juggernaut or a house of cards?

Still think we will finish top 9* and play finals

* once asada do their magic

Richmond's record is merely a reflection of their draw and increasing efficiency at beating bad teams.

They are no closer to contention now than at anytime during their putrid last 30 years.

Cotchin is a gun even though he is inefficient this year.

But Riewoldt doesnt have enough tricks, Martin still cant run out games and is worse than he was as a rookie, and Deledio does nothing against good teams.

Logged on this morning to look for the obligatory "Put a line through Richmond" thread from LanceUppercut...
Thread has a different title but as it was started whilst the game was still going - demonstrates the impatience from the OP to get it underway. :cool:

Oh - & to pre-empt the questions that will follow...

Agree that Tigers are very prone to melt down when under proper pressure
No - have not proven ourselves as 'worthy' of top 8 though I reckon we will probably end up 8th... just
Yes - as a long suffering supporter of over 40 years... it still ****ing hurts heaps so if you wish, feel free to bask in my pain! :(

Our bad performances are like a flytrap for flogs. Even flogs who have been too ashamed to show their face for ~12 months appear from out of the turd they've been populating just to have a crack at us in Lance's threads. Makes me wonder how many posts Lance REALLY has on this site.

It's too funny. :thumbsu: :D

p.s. hi Macca18

Seriously, both teams are bit players who, despite enormous assistance from umpires, are b-grade outfits. They will fight out 8th and 9th whilst the key players prepare for finals. Why keep pretending otherwise?

If only somehow we could become 10 per cent better ...

Richmond's record is merely a reflection of their draw and increasing efficiency at beating bad teams.

They are no closer to contention now than at anytime during their putrid last 30 years.

Cotchin is a gun even though he is inefficient this year.

But Riewoldt doesnt have enough tricks, Martin still cant run out games and is worse than he was as a rookie, and Deledio does nothing against good teams.

You just went full potato.