Richmond to take Cousins

Fair enuff cheers. Sampi may not be relevant and they did it by the book by the sounds...was just wondering whether a long term non footy related mental illness such as depression would be eligible for what Richmond is doing.

Sampi is yet another example of the biggest rort in football the LTI list.

Players who are out of form miracalously receive injuries and are then placed on the LTI list.

Strange about that !

Without reading through the entire thread, my gut feeling is quite simple.

Good on the Tiges for taking a risk. :thumbsu:

The club's been shithouse for 25 years and never looked like being anything decent, sometimes you've gotta take a few risks to get back up the top.
If it works - great! If it doesn't - stiff shit, at least they tried something different.
Good to see them take a good punt on something for once :thumbsu:

Stewie Dew in the grand final was a classic example.

I find it ironic that the guy (idiot) who has planted the idea into Wallace's thick cranium that Richmond select Cousins, is the very same person who was so against drugs he had the drug squad investigate the Hawthorn Football Club on the eve of the 1984 2nd Semi Final because a couple of players were seen sniffing a concoction of eucalyptus and smelling salts to clear their heads after heavy collisions. Sheedy always will be a moron in my book, I don't care who thinks otherwise, and Richmond should tread very carefully when considering his advice.

Possibly Sheedy should get out the sniffer dogs again.

The difference between Polak and a player who blows out their knee while surfing is that no-one can give a absolute diagnosis regarding Polak and say with any surety when he may be able to return. With the knee injury you can diagnose the injury, repair the injury and tell the player that he will be back in 8-12 months time and be fairly certain about it.

Please tell me the last player that had their career ended after being hit by a tram and you have your reason why Polak shouldn't be given special treatment.

Being injured on the field is something that happens on a weekly basis. Being hit by a tram is not something that happens every day to an AFL player.

McCartney should have been given the same treatment as Rama while he recovered, wouldn't have had an issue with that because it was an injury that occured away from football and was beyond his control. Rama was only given special treatment after the cancer returned, when first diagnosed he was retained on the Bombers list and was replaced by a rookie IIRC. Polak was retained on our list and has apparently suffered a setback in his recovery from the initial injury. Therefore the club has every right to ask the AFL for special consideration in his case.

If the AFL rejects the claim then its not like Richmond are going to simply kick him out. Polak will stay on the senior list and if the club has a viable replacement will be moved to the LTI for a year.

The problem with that though is we are then forced to replace a senior member of our list who is a 100+ game player with a kid fresh out of the U/18's. Why should the club be disadvantaged because of an accident that was not the result of playing a game of footy?

If Polak was to have suffered the same injury while playing a game then I would agree with those who say he should be placed on the LTI because the way I look at it, the LTI is for players who have an injury from football that will keep them out of the game for at least 8 weeks but there is a strong possibility that the player will return to playing football. In Polaks case that is unlikely to happen.

POLAK has an ABI and may never be able to work again.

Different to a person who injures their knee surfing.

The brain is the most important body organ of all.

I think Richmond need to come out and tell everyone the real reason for this.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=525143

It seems they may have already made a commitment to Gourdis to re-draft him, but there is interest from other clubs, so he won't be available at Richmond's first rookie draft selection. If Richmond use their current PSD selection to draft Cousins (the only way he will be availble to him), Gourdis will not be available in the rookie draft, so they are moving to create a second PSD pick, effectively giving them pick 1 in the rookie draft - is this fair now?

Everyone is missing the point. Rama had a disease, not an injury, that is the difference.

Why people are arguing about onfield, offield injuries is irrelevant.

If Rama had an injury, then people could say there is a case for other clubs to also want to get that concession, but he didn't. Why can't people see the difference? :confused:

How Kevin Sheedy saved Ben Cousins

As a rookie, Polak could still play senior football again next year as early as Round 11, with a new rule allowing clubs to elevate a rookie halfway through the season.

That would allow the Tigers not only to recruit Cousins, but also to give Polak the chance to take the field again for the Tigers in his own time.
The Tigers have ample salary cap room to pay Cousins. They had space to land a big fish such as Eagle Daniel Kerr in trade week, and if Polak is named a rookie, they will be able to pay him his contract outside the salary cap.
:thumbsdown:

I'm sure Caroline will bust the AFL's balls over Richmond exploiting Polak's condition to get a free kick in the salary cap.

And another rookie pick...

It's a disgrace if they get away with this after the allegations of paying Holland under the table.

A nice way for Richmond to make some mileage out of Polak's injury by bending the rules and getting the sympathy vote.

The AFL will bend over and accept their request because they're too gutless to make the right decision and knock it on the head.

That would damage the AFL's image by portraying them as insensitive to Polak's condition.

Image is the only thing the AFL cares about.

Only Carlton cheats...

Everyone is missing the point. Rama had a disease, not an injury, that is the difference.

Why people are arguing about onfield, offield injuries is irrelevant.

If Rama had an injury, then people could say there is a case for other clubs to also want to get that concession, but he didn't. Why can't people see the difference? :confused:

I cant see any difference !

Ramanauskas and Polak have suffered non football injuries which could have killed them and particularly in Polak's case will have repercussions for life after footy.

Staggers me how some people can't see the difference between self inflicted and natural causes.

oh genius, can you explain where in the precedent previously established that this was outlined as a relevant and significant factor?

oh wait you can't, you made it up as a pointless attempt to progress your moronic, biased point of view.

silly me.

why don't you just say that anyone whose first 3 letters of their name is P-O-L is ineligible for such consideration. would make as much sense as your stupid ramblings.

Whats that got to do with the rules determining whether a player can be added as an ageing rookie?

Imustve missed the clause where it states "injuries must occur outside the workplace or within a 3mtr radius or perhaps at least car park"

Amazing the irrelevant cr@p people say....just to say something......:thumbsu:

funny, I was thinking the same thing. I was also thinking how its always the same 'type' of people too. :rolleyes:

Stewie Dew in the grand final was a classic example.

Yep, an example of a club taking the risk of a National Draft selection on a mature age player, which paid off.

Pretty sure Cousins nominated for the ND, and pretty sure Richmond had picks in it.

If Rama had an injury, then people could say there is a case for other clubs to also want to get that concession, but he didn't. Why can't people see the difference?

because it is not THE difference, it is A difference.

ascribing that as the significant and key difference is pure supposition or to be even more frank make believe.

after all, most of the moronic big footy population was against Rama's concession too.

The tigers are getting excited arent they???

reminds me of how i was.

Come on if ben was worth it then the pies, lions, saints and others wouldve put their hand up by now something is not right. Too much risk. Shaved head and waxed body after learning he'd have to give a hair test. He hasnt played and has bad hamstrings i dunno all the media will be on the clubs ass it could interupt playing group.... obviously the risk outweight it for the saints and the SAINTS would be the most suited team for ben as they are going for the flag in next 3 years. Richmond over the next 3 years need to continue to build a proper forward and backline. they seem to be getting midfield together but in 3 years ben wont be there and thats when the tigers will be flag contenders you would think so why get ben now?????

:confused:

I think what too many are doing on here is looking at the AFL board as some sort of machine, they are human beings, and whether you like it or not they aren't Robots, so they DO NOT have to abide by every single rule as it is stated, as the law of common sense can be used.

Anyone remember the infamous 'Siren Gate' in Tassie? This was a situation in which, if the AFL had of stuck to the rules, the points would have stood and that would have been that, instead the law of common sense was used and the points were awarded to Fremantle.

This is the Exact type of situation in which common sense is being used to show compassion for a player who has had a freak incident happen and cut him down in the prime of his career, this is the precedent, if there is another type of injury sustained in the future to another player the same common sense will be used, simple as that.

Anyone understand that, or are you drones?

A knee injury is unlikely to end a players career, being hit by a tram almost certainly has.
It is not any different. Come on now. If a player hurts his knee while surfing, then he should be able to receive the same conditions as Polak is receiving instead of just being moved to the long term injury list. If Polak's career is over, then there must be a full medical report supporting and confirming it, and I personally haven't seen any such report stating that he will never play again.

People seem to not realise that Adam Ramanauskas was an uncontracted player when Essendon requested to move him to the mature age rookie list after he was diagnosed with cancer for a second time. On the other hand, Graham Polak is contracted and safe at Richmond. He should be placed on the long-term injury list for season 2009 since his condition is undetermined, and hen he should be moved to the mature age rookie list at the end of next season if his diagnosis is still unclear then.
For the purpose of being fit to play AFL football they are actually both the same.

AFL primary/long term injury lists reflect the ability of a person to play AFL football.
The surfer guy & Polak are both incapable of playing AFL football in the foreseeable future.
Both should be placed on the long term injury list.

The fact that Polak's injury may be more severe and may affect his life after football is, as harsh as it may sound, irrelevant to his place on an AFL list.
You are right, and I agree. It's not about being harsh, but fair. I fully support the idea of Graham Polak being placed on a mature age rookie list, but not at this late stage. The fair solution for all clubs, Richmond included, is to have him on the long-term injury list until the end of next season, and then to put him on a mature age rookie list at that time for season 2010, depending on his diagnosis.

Richmond over the next 3 years need to continue to build a proper forward and backline. they seem to be getting midfield together but in 3 years ben wont be there and thats when the tigers will be flag contenders you would think so why get ben now?
Richmond finished 9th in 2008, 1 spot from a finals berth if it wasn't for a lack of experience we would've won 2 more games(Bulldogs/Saints), that would've put us into the finals, next year the plan is to push into the 8, consolidate a spot and be challenging into the finals, Cousins adds a wealth of finals knowledge and experience to the team, not only that he adds a TON of ability.

Richmond's core midfield as it stands consists of Tuck(26yo), Foley(23yo), Deledio(21yo), Cotchin(19yo), Johnson(31yo), then follows a bunch of 18-22yo's who are yet to fully break into the side and play consistently week in week out, in 3 years they will be ready to do that, thus offering chances now and in the future.

I have a hypothetical question - Daniel Gilmore of Fremantle missed over half the season this year after a brain injury (following a knock to the head, he suffered from migraines, dizziness and memory loss) left him unable to train or play. Can he now be moved to the rookie list too?
He should not get the same treatement because his injury is a result of playing the game where everyone knows there is a risk of suffering an injury.

How Kevin Sheedy saved Ben Cousins

:thumbsdown:

I'm sure Caroline will bust the AFL's balls over Richmond exploiting Polak's condition to get a free kick in the salary cap.

And another rookie pick...

It's a disgrace if they get away with this after the allegations of paying Holland under the table.

A nice way for Richmond to make some mileage out of Polak's injury by bending the rules and getting the sympathy vote.

The AFL will bend over and accept their request because they're too gutless to make the right decision and knock it on the head.

That would damage the AFL's image by portraying them as insensitive to Polak's condition.

Image is the only thing the AFL cares about.

Only Carlton cheats...
You're just upset that Carlton didn't think of doing the same thing with Judd, imagine the salary cap space the Blues would have then. :p

It is not any different. Come on now. If a player hurts his knee while surfing, then he should be able to receive the same conditions as Polak is receiving instead of just being moved to the long term injury list. If Polak's career is over, then there must be a full medical report supporting and confirming it, and I personally haven't seen any such report stating that he will never play again.
Being hurt by choosing to do something dangerous that increases the likelihood of being hurt is totally different to being hurt when doing something that everyone does that doesn't normally increase the risk of injury.

The player that blows out a knee while surfing, chose to go surfing despite knowing there is a chance of getting hurt, Polak did not choose to get hit by the tram.

I think Richmond need to come out and tell everyone the real reason for this.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=525143

It seems they may have already made a commitment to Gourdis to re-draft him, but there is interest from other clubs, so he won't be available at Richmond's first rookie draft selection. If Richmond use their current PSD selection to draft Cousins (the only way he will be availble to him), Gourdis will not be available in the rookie draft, so they are moving to create a second PSD pick, effectively giving them pick 1 in the rookie draft - is this fair now?

Perhaps some of the lemmings that keep blurting out a rehashh of the same thing over and over would do well to read that again.

Hopefully all you sooks can shut up now.

News this morning is that Richmond will select Cousins with pick 6 no matter what happens with Polak.

So much for all your 'tampering the draft' theories. :rolleyes:

Hopefully all you sooks can shut up now.

News this morning is that Richmond will select Cousins with pick 6 no matter what happens with Polak.

So much for all your 'tampering the draft' theories. :rolleyes:

What news and where is it ?

Is this an actual release from the club or just more radio junk or media rumour pretending to be fact ?

The tigers are getting excited arent they???

reminds me of how i was.

Come on if ben was worth it then the pies, lions, saints and others wouldve put their hand up by now something is not right. Too much risk. Shaved head and waxed body after learning he'd have to give a hair test. He hasnt played and has bad hamstrings i dunno all the media will be on the clubs ass it could interupt playing group.... obviously the risk outweight it for the saints and the SAINTS would be the most suited team for ben as they are going for the flag in next 3 years. Richmond over the next 3 years need to continue to build a proper forward and backline. they seem to be getting midfield together but in 3 years ben wont be there and thats when the tigers will be flag contenders you would think so why get ben now?????

:confused:

lol @ the saints going for the flag. richmond will win one before st kilda