Preview Richmond v Brisbane Round 20 (Sunday 31 July 3:20 @ MCG)

Come on Mighty Lions . Lighten up.

You know there are supporters like that everywhere. At every club.

I don't know how you propose to move people n and only have the ones you want.
You should heed your own words martinson

It's easy to make welcome people who are positive and encouraging at a club and not make other negative nelly's so welcoming.....easy.

You go to a junior game now and if anything is said that isn't encouraging, there are parents who are responsible to speak to them about their behavior. He/She is called a Ground Manager. Positive or Pointless is up on a board in every junior club all around Australia.

Maybe some but not all.
Its so much more enjoyable to support a team positively even if they lose every game like you did for 3 years. I look at the Saints board and they are so much more positive than our board.....Saints have won 1 premiership!!!
I also think people believe our team should win the flag every year when the fact is premierships are extremely hard to win even if you have a side worthy on their day...its just not that easy.
Lol. Have you spoken to any St. Kilda supporters lately. I happened to have dinner with two over the weekend. They're depressed and miserable (about what they've suffered as Saints supporters over the journey ) But they still support them.

What's enjoyable to some people is not how others find enjoyment.

You seem to react to what people say on a blog about our team and think that's somehow indicative and reflective of them as people.

No one thinks we should win a flag any year let alone any one . It's an anonymous footy blog. People say all sorts of crap. I'm surprised you think this board reflects anything except the random anonymous thoughts of relatively very few people.

You should heed your own words martinson

It's easy to make welcome people who are positive and encouraging at a club and not make other negative nelly's so welcoming.....easy.

You go to a junior game now and if anything is said that isn't encouraging, there are parents who are responsible to speak to them about their behavior. He/She is called a Ground Manager. Positive or Pointless is up on a board in every junior club all around Australia.
Thanks for the lecture.

Any AFL will take the money from anyone who pays up for membership. Or attend games. They can think and say what they like. It's professional sport. Where guys go out there and on many occasions physically intimidate others.

I don't know how you've moved from what's sometimes on this blog on an AFL club to Junior football but go ahead.

Lol. Have you spoken to any St. Kilda supporters lately. I happened to have dinner with two over the weekend. They're depressed and miserable (about what they've suffered as Saints supporters over the journey ) But they still support them.

What's enjoyable to some people is not how others find enjoyment.

You seem to react to what people say on a blog about our team and think that's somehow indicative and reflective of them as people.

No one thinks we should win a flag any year let alone any one . It's an anonymous footy blog. People say all sorts of crap. I'm surprised you think this board reflects anything except the random anonymous thoughts of relatively very few people.
LOL. I live with 3rd generation St Kilda supporters and have many friends/relatives who are the same. They get sad about poor performances but they dont get even close to the way some on here criticize & degrade our club. I also have many Lions supporters as friends /relatives who do the same.

I have an opinion on footy (specifically The Lions) and others have a different opinion....this is the forum to discuss the differences...if you think I am judging someone as a person because of a differing opinion, then that's yours to own not mine.

I enjoy a lot of the discussions had on this forum....I just get tired of the few who would whinge every opportunity they get for no apparent reason. Maybe this is their place to have a whinge and get their frustrations off their chest....if so, good for them.

Fwiiw I think most of the people on this little blog are encouraging and positive.

What's the point of discussions unless you can work out where you're falling down and who is or isn't performing.

People don't have to be happy with everything.

Those who are constantly negative I take with a grain of salt and try to humour them. They're entitled to their opinion. I don't see what the big deal is at all.

Mighty Lions I don't know what the laughing emoji is about.

There's hardly a day goes by where you don't have a crack at nameless negative nellies for whatever they might have said. How's that going ?

If a club has a glass jaw about criticism , justified or not , they've got a bigger issue than the criticism.

Don't bother responding if it gets under your skin so much

Just trying to be helpful.

I think for some, myself included it’s that we are so close but our deficiencies mean that we likely won’t go all the way. Hope can be a bastard sometimes I guess.
We're all hoping . That's all we were doing in 2001 as well. Who knows. We can only do the best with what we have and overall that's what we're doing.

Last year we had a fairly easy run home with only one team WCE well placed @ round 19 being in 7th place
However WCE were crap towards the end of last year not winning another game for the year and missing the 8
We even got beaten by Hawthorn (this round) who were 17th at the time. We won the other 3

In my opinion the easier run home in 2021 plus injuries did not help our finals chances

This year: 3rd on the ladder, 13 wins, 125.47%, next games Richmond (10th now), Carlton (7th), St Kilda (9th), Melbourne (2nd).
Last year: 5th on the ladder, 12 wins, 127.27%, next games Hawthorn (17th in 2021), Fremantle (11th), Collingwood (16th), West Coast Eagles (7th).

To win a premiership you need to hit good form prior to the finals starting
If we are to win at least 2 final games this year we need to hit very good form this week or the next
Lets hope it starts this week.

Hopefully Rich is the only player unavailable from last weeks game. Coleman to return if 100% to fill the defense spot

I feel all the pressure is on Richmond but Lions need to get the job done at the G

Lions by 18+

I'm pretty optimistic about our chances in this game.

I don't see why we won't smoke Richmond. Their performances over the past month have been less than awe-inspiring, to say the least. If we're fair dinkum (which I believe we are), we beat them.

Simple as that

Perhaps our resident psych (Haso ) would like to explain Battered Lions Supporter Syndrome to you ... some of them even have Extreme Complex BLSS (having been supporters of Fitzroy or the Bears as well) ... if you focus on the negatives then at least you have something to hang on to / be right about - kind of like the folks who bet $10 on the opposition ... if we lose at least they win the bet and if we win then yay and it only cost them $10 :)
I have a more simple explanation for negative posting which involves the great Rutherglen muscat, i.e. many (all?) posts are done by posters who have had tea, accompanied by a wine or two and had the finishing touches by those Rutherglen beauties. Easy to get depressed with alcohol on board.

The lady of my life has put the muscat away as we are flying to Dallas tomorrow and she wants me to be on the ball.

I will still complain about.......

Go Lions

I have a more simple explanation for negative posting which involves the great Rutherglen muscat, i.e. many (all?) posts are done by posters who have had tea, accompanied by a wine or two and had the finishing touches by those Rutherglen beauties. Easy to get depressed with alcohol on board.

The lady of my life has put the muscat away as we are flying to Dallas tomorrow and she wants me to be on the ball.

I will still complain about.......

Go Lions
Phil flying into Dallas with your wife has proven problematic for high profile people such as yourself in the past.

Keep your Lions beanie on at all times.

Impossible - Fagan has done a reset and will be probing the doubters wrong. 😉

For all of us fans demanding changes, our mad man Coach Fages has been resolute backing his core group in. Credit to him. Hope the team realizes how much scrutiny this brings and how much insane pressure Fagan must be feeling overall.

Fagan deserves some return for keeping his faith all season with this group, hope the team brings it altogether and delivers for him in finals. I'll happily admit I was wrong all along and will be cheering from the rooftops if we manage to do it, fingers crossed for the Coach.

So pretty much what we already thought on the injury front
richmond.jpg

PLAYER
Mate Colina H&S Protocols Test
Tom Lynch Hamstring Test
Dustin Martin Hamstring 3-4 weeks
Jack Ross Knee Test
Samson Ryan Concussion 1 week
Updated: July 26, 2022

Early prognosis​

There's been a few list changes at Tigerland, with Kane Lambert retiring and Matt Parker returning to Western Australia. Lynch is highly likely to return this week, while Ryan suffered a delayed concussion after his VFL match. Josh Gibcus (shoulder) wasn't declared fit in time for Friday night's draw with Fremantle, but had recovered sufficiently by Saturday afternoon to play VFL. – Sarah

brisbane.jpg

PLAYERINJURYESTIMATED RETURN
Tom BerryShoulderSeason
Keidean ColemanHamstringTest
Carter MichaelShoulderSeason
Daniel RichConcussionTBC
Updated: July 26, 2022

Early prognosis​

Coleman just needs to get through main training on Thursday to be available against Richmond. Michael and Berry both suffered injuries in the VFL at the weekend and had surgery on Tuesday. Michael Whiting

Maybe some but not all.
Its so much more enjoyable to support a team positively even if they lose every game like you did for 3 years. I look at the Saints board and they are so much more positive than our board.....Saints have won 1 premiership!!!
I also think people believe our team should win the flag every year when the fact is premierships are extremely hard to win even if you have a side worthy on their day...its just not that easy.
I don’t know where else you read, but I have no idea how you get that impression here.

You’ve been pretty critical of Charlie and Joe in the past (and probably others that I can’t remember).

Maybe you can provide us a list of who we’re allowed to be critical of, and who is a sacred cow.

For all of us fans demanding changes, our mad man Coach Fages has been resolute backing his core group in. Credit to him. Hope the team realizes how much scrutiny this brings and how much insane pressure Fagan must be feeling overall.

Fagan deserves some return for keeping his faith all season with this group, hope the team brings it altogether and delivers for him in finals. I'll happily admit I was wrong all along and will be cheering from the rooftops if we manage to do it, fingers crossed for the Coach.

If we don't achieve success in finals, it still doesn't mean he was wrong.

We've got quite a lot of coaching experts on our board. I guess its easy to know it all & point fingers from the safety of an online forum.

If we don't achieve success in finals, it still doesn't mean he was wrong.

We've got quite a lot of coaching experts on our board. I guess its easy to know it all & point fingers from the safety of an online forum.

A Tall forward returning from ACL would not have got a run like Eric has with our team. No need of coaching expertise to point out this one. Fagan believes in his system and a core group of players so regardless of fluctuating form he's backing them in. I wish him well and hope it all clicks closer to finals as he's hoping. All of us want to see Lions in a Grand final and this group of players is capable of it.

Again, the so called coaching experts that you're pointing out are all wanting the team to be made better so we have a good chance to go deep in finals. I'll welcome that sort of discussion than just blindly support my team. No one's thrashing the players or coach for that matter, it's all been pretty level headed overall.

A Tall forward returning from ACL would not have got a run like Eric has with our team. No need of coaching expertise to point out this one. Fagan believes in his system and a core group of players so regardless of fluctuating form he's backing them in. I wish him well and hope it all clicks closer to finals as he's hoping. All of us want to see Lions in a Grand final and this group of players is capable of it.

Again, the so called coaching experts that you're pointing out are all wanting the team to be made better so we have a good chance to go deep in finals. I'll welcome that sort of discussion than just blindly support my team. No one's thrashing the players or coach for that matter, it's all been pretty level headed overall.
Really???
In some games (not all) Eric has been the best tall in the forward line. No coaching expertise to point that out either. Regardless of how Fagan percieves his system should work, (which none of us on BF has a clue about...including me) he wants to win games more than anyone on BF I assure you.
Contrary to your comment about players coming back from an ACL injury, it's common for key players to be thrown straight back in the deep end to best assist them to get back into where they left off. The assessment of Eric so far from the coaching group has been that he is tracking on target of what they expected him. It's quite funny that some expect a lot more of him relative to what the others have produced in some games yet I dont hear as much negativity about them. The proof of Eric's development after his ACL is coming. That should excite you to have your fingers ready at the keyboard I am sure.

I defend our forward group each week with facts to back it up with....... We have scored more than 100 points more than any other team in the comp...thats gotta give them some kudos. Regardless of who kicks the goals each game, our mix of talls & smalls are extremely potent despite the crappy way the ball comes in to the forward fifty often. We have not lost a game this year because our forward line have dropped the ball. Our defenders have had several bad days out and our midfield continue to have serious issues that concern me and have cost us dearly at times.

I don't think anyone "blindly" supports the team as you alude to. As Briztoone pointed out, there were times I was critical of Joey & Charlie's defensive efforts early in the year & said so more than once. In saying that, I didn't want them relegated to the 2's like some suggest for players, I just wanted a better effort defensively which we have now. (not because of me to clarify) Thats playing the ball & not the man wherever possible. lol.

All of us want to see Lions in a Grand final and this group of players is capable of it. If you read the game day/review board each week, not all of us think they are capable. On our day, with our best 22 & a little bit of luck, we can beat anyone in the mix. For me, that is exciting.