Preview Rnd 11 - Carlton v Sydney Sunday May 30th 3.20PM @ SCG

It's a question of the extended bench: Pittonet isn't on it, TDK is. If Casboult were to come in, it would be at the expense of TDK.

Don't underestimate Amartey. Swans have been grooming him for years as a forward/ruck, but he came into the league as a raw ruck with an enormous leap and high level ruck craft. If he had a touch more acceleration off the mark and a bolder playing style he probably would have been playing for the Swans more the last couple of years.

He'll demand a tall defender when forward, and he'll be a headache around the ground. Not sure he'll even concede that much at the centre bounce when he rotates in. Very talented player, just a touch short for a modern ruck.

I wanted us to draft him amongst several other names like Patmore, Kyron Hayden, Tom Murphy, Mihocek and Tony Olango, and instead we wound up with Schumacher, Garlett, O'Shea and Shaw. We also traded pick 28 for Kennedy. People were still defending the Kennedy trade until about two monthis into this season...

I remain shocked at what we did in the 2018 off-season... in retrospect you can see why some sought to reign SOS in a bit.

Man ....I forgot all about Schumacher - what ever happened to him I wonder ??

Has our reserves curtain raiser at scg been cancelled?
Yes, all VFL games are called off this weekend. Even the NSW and Queensland based club games.
Annoying as means guys like Kemp, Carroll, O'Brien etc. got not footy to develop in this weekend
Durdin was injured anyway, so makes no difference for him.

Can't imagine Sydney are happy about losing the reserves game - maybe the clubs can organise a practice match like the ones from last year?
That is an interesting thought. I wonder whether Swans and Carlton are allowed to play their own fun games outside in Moore Park on weekend?

Off the cuff Martin in for someone and Parks in for Plow.

but it will be all about midfield V midfield at the G which is pretty much a corridor ground. Whoever kicks better between the arcs and into forward 50 - will win.

I think genuine consideration is being given to the form of Gibbons and Fogarty - which is why Honey and Newnes are up there as options.

Not as concerned about Buddy as I am for Papley - who plays a very high HFF role for Sydney and is damaging between the arcs as well as in defensive 50.

Anybody in Sydney interested in a single ticket to the game? Top location on the wing. Row 1 of the Bill O'Reilly stand. Would hate to see it go to waste. I really don't know my way around here, but I assume someone can send me a PM? if so, I should be able to reply with a copy of the ticket (I hope). Bear with me - old fogey here, entering uncharted waters.

PS: I can share the ticket through Ticketek via SMS or email, so no worries there.

Anybody in Sydney interested in a single ticket to the game? Top location on the wing. Row 1 of the Bill O'Reilly stand. Would hate to see it go to waste. I really don't know my way around here, but I assume someone can send me a PM? if so, I should be able to reply with a copy of the ticket (I hope). Bear with me - old fogey here, entering uncharted waters.

Fair winds, sailor!

The forum comments feel a little subdued ahead of Sundays game.
I think this could be our coming to Jesus moment.
After Teague put a bit of heat on the players (better late than never), the players responded well.
If we can back up from where we left off in the last quarter, with a solid win against the swans.
The team will take away real self belief.
I think there is enough talent in our team, if we can keep our turnovers to a minimum and connect when we transition.
I am equal leader in the tipping and I am picking us to win. Go Blues

Great to see Martin back in the side. Hope he is good to go.

Tough to say what the bench will be, but expecting Parks, Murphy, TDK, Martin.

One of Gibbons or Honey the sub, with Newnes to miss.

Surely no way we can select both TDK and Levi.
Honey could be a good sub. With his repeat sprints and explosiveness he seems the type who could take the top off a team late in the game.

Could being the key word, perhaps he won't have the nous to do it consistently. Probably a boom or bust proposition, he could kick 2 goals bursting away from the contest or run around like a headless chook trying too hard.

The forum comments feel a little subdued ahead of Sundays game.
I think this could be our coming to Jesus moment.
After Teague put a bit of heat on the players (better late than never), the players responded well.
If we can back up from where we left off in the last quarter, with a solid win against the swans.
The team will take away real self belief.
I think there is enough talent in our team, if we can keep our turnovers to a minimum and connect when we transition.
I am equal leader in the tipping and I am picking us to win. Go Blues

The lid will be off and I'll be getting a Teague tattoo if we win

I'm good with Honey being the sub again. He got to play in the VFL as it was a day later so still deserves that chance at game time.

Although having 3 AFL games against your name and only playing in 1 of them would be tough to endure.

Great to see Martin back in the side. Hope he is good to go.

Tough to say what the bench will be, but expecting Parks, Murphy, TDK, Martin.

One of Gibbons or Honey the sub, with Newnes to miss.

Surely no way we can select both TDK and Levi.

If TDK is fit and comes out of the team for Levi it will be a sure sign the MC has completely lost the plot. As we all know, Levi has been a true warrior for the club - but cannot be rushed back in to the side. The debate between Levi & Pitto is an interesting one, as when TDK is ready for #1 ruck duties I do think Levi (when fit) is a far better forward/ruck than Pitto.

NSW Supporter Group Function ...

Function details:

• Sunday 30 May | 12:30pm.
  • The Captain Hotel Paddington | 162 Flinders St, Paddington NSW 2021.
  • 10 minute walk to the SCG for the first bounce at 3:20pm.
  • FREE entry for Carlton 2021 members and a gold coin donation for non-members (all members will need to present their 2021 member card).
  • Family friendly function – all Bluebaggers welcome.
  • Finger food, door prizes and a raffle throughout the afternoon.
  • Formalities will conclude at 2:30pm.

Need to register attendance:-