Nicholls is umpiring our game on Sunday. Many of you will remember him from the Geelong game last year.
What do people think of Porps as a sub?
Please no.. His just gettin his confidence and match fitness up let's not flirt with his form
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Nicholls is umpiring our game on Sunday. Many of you will remember him from the Geelong game last year.
Please no.. His just gettin his confidence and match fitness up let's not flirt with his form
Apparently Harper said on 5AA the Lynch and Symes are travelling emergencies. Doughty, VB and Sloaney have the flu.
Well that's annoying. But why Lynch? I woulda thought Knights as, if VB or Sloane don't pull up it's a mid for a mid. If Lynch has to come in would we be too tall?
No, I agree. I was asking more along the lines of would he ever make a good sub, hypothetically.(his current form not being taken into consideration). We saw last week he can have a massive impact over a short amount of time. Would he ever be considered as an impact player when defenders are getting tired, or is he too valuable to waste for 3 qtrs?
Oh get over yourself, who would he replace exactly? Unlucky yes, but so is Johnston and pretty much everyone playing SANFL atm, happens when you have no injuries for christ sakes!I'd be pretty unimpressed if I was Lynch.
Hopefully the poor bastard only signed a one year contract.
Lynch is a useful utility if a player of any type pulls out, and would slot straight in as sub given his success in this role. Otherwise I hope Douglas is sub and if he doesn't perform, gets dropped for Smith.Well that's annoying. But why Lynch? I woulda thought Knights as, if VB or Sloane don't pull up it's a mid for a mid. If Lynch has to come in would we be too tall?
Dunno about all u guys but I'm fired up as for this game. Could be that I'm pisd n fired up for Sydney's win (that 50 on reid was shockin - worse than the one against reilly last week). Really love the team we've got in for this week. Although I tipped knights to stay in and shaw to go out, prolly happier with it the other way around. Really really happy with Mckernan in, he was like another midfielder with the clearances he was getting last time he played. Also, not as speccy as Jenkins was in his first couple of games but his worst should be better than Jenkins was in the last couple, will hold a few of those grabs that Jenkins almost gets. Really good running side, happy martin stays in, played a cracker last week, happy shaw stays in, also very good, happy we are trying to change it up ie brent reilly playing normal half back and shaw learning role of third man up / chop out defender. Happy bernie in. Sloane and Danger quiet last week, one or both to come good this week to help thommo and prolly bernie will stretch the opposition as well. Loved Mackay's game last week, more of that.
Just we really need to WANT to have the ball in contest after contest, forget trying to get it away, keep it in, we might score slowly at first but after we grind them down the scoring will be free as. We need to go in with the attitude of "Hey Kangaroos, we'll show you how to play contested footy, just watch and learn"......
This is exactly right. Symes & Lynch are both 100% match fit and would be ready to play 100% game time if required, which is a distinct possibility given the way the flu is going through our team at present. Knights is still working his way back to full fitness, which is why he was named as sub last week. They can't risk having to play him for the whole game, so he gets to work on his fitness back in the SANFL instead.hopefully because it's unlikely any will miss, and we want to give Knights a full game in the SANFL rather than resting him to only miss out alltogether.
I agree.Symes spreads better than most in our lineup and im sure he would do a good job given the chance. Deserves a shot considering the season he is having. The word is he is very likely to play so all the best Brad have a ripper
lets hope he does prove himself in the sanfl even then i reckon sando wont recall him. sandos a muppet, he doesnt know how to use the sub effectively. did you see how geelong used christenson as the sub last night? he came on and single handedly got geelong back into the game even though they ended up losing. bundy was fresh back as well, important to remember. these little things are going to mean the difference between adelaide winning and afl premiership this year and until sando sorts this out adelaide won't win. sad but true.Harsh on knights but means he can go and actually prove himself in the SANFL
Not after his last weeks effort,Porps of old.Nicholls is umpiring our game on Sunday. Many of you will remember him from the Geelong game last year.
people have short memories regarding symes. he's a good sanfl player but cant cut it at AFL level.
Thats how i saw it to.Changes as expected, would have liked Knights to get a better run but when you've got as few injuries as we have it is just too tough to fit all those deserving into the team.
Lynch deserves a spot, but I did worry as soon as we picked him up where he was actually going to slot into our side. Whilst he's probably our best forward, structurally Walker plays more like a third tall and can't ruck, forcing us to rely a lot on Tippett to be a contested marking target. So unless we play McKernan/Jacobs, dragging him away from the forward line to ruck leaves us very light on in terms of marking targets. Thus Lynch struggles for a spot in our forward line and due to his lack of pace and the fact that neither Rutten or Talia are super quick, he was always going to struggle for a 3rd tall defensive spot.
I wouldn't mind actually giving him a shot on the wing, seems to have a great running capacity and work ethic, can really find the footy and due to his good skills could be quite damaging bring the ball forward. Would have made a pretty handy replacement for if Walker had left and wonder if part of the reason we chased him was d/t the uncertainty with Taylor. Similar, I think our chasing of Jenkins may have had a lot to do with uncertainty over Kurt. As it turns out we may not have needed either, leaving us with some pretty decent tall forward options playing SANFL footy.
Not a chance.On this topic.. Do people think Gunston would be playing for us ATM anyway?
Not so sure on this,clearly our routine has changed big time,no more floggings on the track when not needed.Sando has said Lynch is the perfect sub can play forward, back, wing and has for Glenelg this year. With the AFL probably bringing in 2 subs next year he could find himself as a specialist sub. Not sure if thats a good thing but should play more games. We wont have this short an injury list for long anyway.
Completely agree with this however as said before in this post we need to be smarter about our contested work. Instead of all of our players going in I would like perhaps 2 going in and the others wait for them to get it out, knowing we usually win these contests instead of the opposition getting cheap easy clearances. This is probably why our goals seem so difficult n the other teams looks quite easy. Perhaps Mackay should start focusing on the outside work again a bit more?
Wow...lets hope he does prove himself in the sanfl even then i reckon sando wont recall him. sandos a muppet, he doesnt know how to use the sub effectively. did you see how geelong used christenson as the sub last night? he came on and single handedly got geelong back into the game even though they ended up losing. bundy was fresh back as well, important to remember. these little things are going to mean the difference between adelaide winning and afl premiership this year and until sando sorts this out adelaide won't win. sad but true.
Agree with most except, Goodes was having an absolute shocker and was right to be subbed off in his own rightWow...
Christensen was so good that he was all out of puff when crunch time arrived with two minutes to go. Everitt for Goodes would have been considered a dismal failure had he not marked and goaled - it was clear Longmire thought he could 'rest' Goodes while five goals ahead and not feel any ill effects.
More often than not, the success of a sub on any given day comes down to luck rather than smart selection, given how difficult it is too get into a game when you've only got 20mins left.
I don't think Sando can be blamed for not picking the absolute perfect sub every week given our strong and healthy list, and a need to squeeze one player out to 22nd man.