Preview Rnd 2 - Carlton v Western Bulldogs - Thursday 24th March 7.20PM @ Marvel Stadium - Team Post #1028

Game day:

I bet you there won't be.

You're advocating for clubs to withhold the information from the league because you personally don't believe in the process that has been implemented.

Not only is that laughable, it's dangerous. It won't happen.

That's fine, but it doesn't make it accurate.
Because over the history of the AFL this sort of thing does happen and has happened consistently both on minor and major levels. Learning from history, it repeats itself. I'm not advocating to do it, I am suggesting that if it's not mandatory then why should you when others most certainly won't. It has been determined that it is indeed mandatory.

How is it dangerous?

Gee Baily Smith missing and Bontempelli potentially carrying an ankle injury is huge for us. It evens up losing Cerra and Walsh potentially being underdone.
Would have loved to have seen both clubs at full strength, could have potentially been the battle of the two strongest midfields.

Good luck to Fogarty, would not have been my choice but perhaps I am jumping the gun with Motlop. In saying that I have no issues with selecting him as I really do like the way he plays the game, fast, hard at it with plenty of effort. The finishing is the only issue I have here but we know what we are going to get which is effort.

I am hoping that our talls get going and hit some form. This could really be the game where they break the shackles and tear it apart. We know what Weitering, McKay and Curnow are capable of, if they deliver then we win IMO.

My tip
An even battle that ebbs and flows in the midfield. A strong defensive effort from our team as a whole. Walsh BOG, has a ripper receiving from Cripps, Kennedy and Hewett. Weitering and McGovern to have big games with intercepts. McKay, DeKoning and Curnow to kick 10 between them. Carlton by 2 goals.

I'm wary of a wounded Bont tonight. They'll probably play him forward a lot imo and he just has an uncanny ability to impact when down there, often making something out of nothing, drawing a free here and there etc. Not sure we've got a good match-up for him either.

Keep Naughton and Bont reasonably in check and we're halfway there imo.
Can't wait to see hints of intel Hansen will have brought

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk

We’ll destroy them tonight. Our forward line will be too big for their backline. Expect Harry in particular to have a night out.

Weitering will do a number on Naughton, and McGovern will take a dozen intercept marks.

Our mids are the best in the business right now. Cerra being out hurts, but Walsh and Co will demolish the Dogs’ mids, and Cripps will finally settle the Cripps/Bont debate.

Carlton by plenty.
Big call. Mids kicking needs to improve by a bit for McKay to get his chances. Less humidity and no wind will help.

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk

Michael Voss has only been at our club for only a few months but I can say already that he is the most universally loved head coach we’ve had since David Parkin Teague by the supporters. It says a lot about the man’s character.
EFA. Need to win at least 2 in a row, I reckon.

Vossy on Footy Classified.

Interesting to hear that he'll be hooked up with vision and stats from home, but he'll leave all the coaching to Hansen and the team in the box.
He actually said he'd talk to Aaron Greeves - Coaching Performance Manager during the game.

Not exactly sure what Greeves does, I suppose a help to the coaches and their development. I've seen vision of him at the games talking to coaches, quite a burly looking lad.

Is Greeves the massive angry looking redhead with the manicured beard that looks half character of Mortal combat half something out of avengers that was chatting to Voss on the boundary at the end of last week's game?

Not exactly sure what Greeves does, I suppose a help to the coaches and their development. I've seen vision of him at the games talking to coaches, quite a burly looking lad.

Is Greeves the massive angry looking redhead with the manicured beard that looks half character of Mortal combat half something out of avengers that was chatting to Voss on the boundary at the end of last week's game?

GreavesPhoto.jpg

Think that may have been Aph......

I am hoping that our talls get going and hit some form. This could really be the game where they break the shackles and tear it apart. We know what Weitering, McKay and Curnow are capable of, if they deliver then we win IMO.
McKay and Curnow were pants last week. Tonight is a fantastic opportunity to get it right and have more of an impact. Both those guys have ripped into the Dogs before, and it remains an area were we can really worry them.

Dream scenario is that tonight we win well and the big forwards look good/play a big part.

Maybe not the most LIKELY scenario - the Dogs are proper quality and we're just (maybe) getting there.

This will be a ripper game.
Can't wait to see Walsh tear it up, with our new game plan and much improved midfield.
OMG, the jubilation on this board if we win !!!!:D
Beating Richmond- Dream Part 1 :)
Beating Bulldogs - Dream part 2 :D
Then the Hawks - Rip them a new one :rainbow:
Am also looking forward to seeing our new setup potentially upset the Dogs
Let me get this tho.....am looking again at out weakest points to make sure of this
LOB again on a wing...he had some scary moment last week on that wing.....I just hope he can get some purpose tonight we need 20 possessions out of him at least with some effective tackles..same for Setterfield........this is a big call again especially on LOB who is still early in his stint and somewhat vunerable to exposure

Am happy with Fog in
Walsh in is wonderful....

We should do well...however we might see desperate Dogs come out tonight and really work the 22....i think it will take a 4 quarter effort very much so again no matter what the early bias to play might be