Roos pull 'sick' video off the Net

Now, how's about we all calm down and treat each other with a bit of respect? Or lock the thread before it gets (more) out of control?

Very sage advice there Kimbo. Calm down people or this thread will be closed!

Hard to believe you fishsticks don't get it. It's what the video says about the player's attitude toward fish and chip paper and, in the case of the second video, hot dogs. Not to mention their health value. Throwing the chicken in a pan and then frying it? Only Wayne Carey supporters would see this as anything but sick inducing.

Hmmmm - pity you can't read the replies. Thank you for your intelligent contribution to the debate. Your insulting and filthy language towards people you don't even know reflects more on you than us.
I don't think anyone is suggesting the video is not offensive or is trying to justify the video. But the media reaction is over the top and grossly exagerated. The club has handled the situation well and the players will be appropriately counselled. What else do you want?

Footy players are footy players. Not excusing the behaviour but the culture needs to be changed. Could have been any club. Unfortunately for you guys, it was North that was caught out this time- hopefully it simmers down and the guilty party/s receive appropriate punishment.

Also another good reason why footy players should be careful with facebook etc.

JB will be a sitting target tonight on the Footy Show too. Will cop heaps I'm sure.

No doubt, but as a consumate media professional, and as a host of the show, should have the media-nous to basically re-iterate what Eugene said, apologise, and move on.

I feel sorry for Pratty.

He's on SEN this arvo.

I feel sorrier for JB given what he'll no doubt face tonight.

And I did enjoy the reference to "further education".

Sounds like the new Centre at Arden St might have a very Chinese flavour!

Although the video itself is in poor taste I don't think it in anyway was meant to degrade women at all. I think the player in question just thought it would be a bit of fun to steal Little Boris and film an "adventure". I think you will find that the thought process didn't go much further than that.

You see worse things on YouTube every day. Only for the fact that they were stupid enough to film the clubroom has this become an issue. If the club hadn't have been captured on film the video would still be sitting on YouTube getting the minimal hits it was already receiving.

Blown up huge by a media looking to sink the boot in because we are all bored of hearing about Bock.

I wonder who the desk of the club official was?

I have to say I have my suspicions and if it turns out they were involved, then a good excuse to give them the arse.

Though it is a beat up: there are no 'sex acts' taking place. There's two puppets effectively.

When I read the standfirst, I thought there was actual real life sex between humans filmed in the clubrooms.
Fundraising idea from Eugene prehaps?
Sell the DVD's for 30 bucks each and know that your personal time gives money to the roos

What did he say?
Kennett actually vaguely went in to bat for individualism and the need for young athletes to have the ability to be just that, individuals. Felt we as a society were trying to create angelic robots and it wasn't very a realistic attitude. My interpretation of the bit I listened to. I have a tendency to automatically blank Jeff out as soon as he starts talking.

Just announced in a newsflash:
Now a newspaper is threatening to publish names coz Euge would'nt name names.

Another press conference scheduled for this arvo now.

Youthful idiocy is now an attempt at comedic art? Being able to use a video camera to capture one's own stupidity is art? I think you're trying hard to elevate the nobility of the video well beyond its true status as insensitivity and lowbrow humour captured on digital image. But hey, if you think posting it on Facebook makes it pop art, knock yourself out.

Look, I get the intent was not malicious, but it displays as much forethought as your post Zondor. To suggest otherwise, is as always your right.
Hey, I gave my previous post a lot of "forethought". Lowbrow Humour = Art.

Look, some may see it as "Youthful idocy" however IMO it is fair to say that it was meant as a bit of a laugh and thus an attempt at "comedic art".

Oh FFS, really? Is naming and shaming going to accomplish anything? I say Euge stands his ground on this one. Any newspaper who names names is just going to look stupid and juvenile in doing so.

Kennett actually vaguely went in to bat for individualism and the need for young athletes to have the ability to be just that, individuals. Felt we as a society were trying to create angelic robots and it wasn't very a realistic attitude. My interpretation of the bit I listened to. I have a tendency to automatically blank Jeff out as soon as he starts talking.

Quiet news days obviously, when a rubber chicken and a dead chicken are the hot topic.
Seriously.

What did he say?

Kennett took the angle of society pretending to be some thing it's not and that individualism should be promoted. He made the point that the video may not have been in good taste, but that the picture being painted was of youth gone stray is not quite right.

He actually set back the announcer somewhat not expecting that reply.
(I think we'll here more of his view)
He may even be asked onto The Footy Show for balance if they are smart enough to invite him.
Thank goodness this man doesn't just tow the line of being another moral watchdog.

A bit of fun with a camera is not tantamount to actually doing something.
I mean, it seams Bock is getting off lighter than these individuals.
Crazy

jb,s going to cop it to night sams eyes would have lite up when he heard the story

If Newman knows what is good for him he should keep his mouth shut on this one.
He has offended women far too many times to go putting his nose in someone else's business.

Quiet news days obviously, when a rubber chicken and a dead chicken are the hot topic.
Seriously.

True.

It's a sad day when dead chicken abuse is getting more exposure than a guy who whacks his girl around.

'The sky is falling, the sky is falling."

Oh FFS, really? Is naming and shaming going to accomplish anything? I say Euge stands his ground on this one. Any newspaper who names names is just going to look stupid and juvenile in doing so.
And will the names be published with the precursor "It is believed"?

True.

It's a sad day when dead chicken abuse is getting more exposure than a guy who whacks his girl around.

'The sky is falling, the sky is falling."

To quote Henny Penny is most apt Gk :thumbsu:

Pratty won't be on SEN now, just announced. He was going to be on between 1pm and 2pm. Heath O'Laughlin called to say "He won't be able to make it now as all players have been called to a meeting!"