Autopsy Round 1, 2017: Ess v Haw, **Ess supporters read the OP** Ban Hammer will be wielded with impunity

Roughead - was so amazing to have him back. He's a star. Not going to comment on him as he hasn't played a H&A game for ages. But not a bad night from him.

Mitchell - Ball magnent, slick with the hands also, would have been good to see him kick some of those shots at goal. 37 disposals was terrific. Was one of our best.

Hartung - Did some good thing in patches, but the rest of the time he was meh, with some poor decision making & disposal efficiency. Got a lot to work on to replace Hilly.

Gibson - I'll becareful on the veteran, did alright as he again was playing on opponents above his weight.

McEvoy - I expected a better game from him in the ruck, but maybe him not being use to winning hitouts maybe new to him. 2 goals was nice.

Duryea - Was just shocking, brought his JLT form. Did some okay things at the end, but way too late.

Burgoyne - Wasn't as silky as normal, but still contributed well.

O'Meara - nervous & still little rusty. But he's going to be a beauty when the whips start cracking. Not a bad performance by him.

Frawley - Got smashed tonight, apart from his great chase on Colyer. Night to forget, needs help... Brand plz.

Birchall - He didn't really put a foot wrong & his foot as we know is lethal. Played well in my eyes.

Smith - One of our best also, provided run & carry, linked up well also. Took the game on. Well played.

Gunston - Quiet. Play him forward please.

Sicily - Couldn't clunk his marks, didn't have an impact on the game.

Breust - Was lively, played well & tried hard. Very creative.

Stratton - abit of a shocker for him also, did some nice things but mostly a shocker.

Schoenmakers - Just unsure of where Clarko wants him. Beautiful goal by him, but make it clearer.

Shiels - I scream he needs to lift in the midfield. His goal was a ripper, but I didn't notice him much at all.

Vickery - not a bad first outing, will only get better for the run as he gels.

Puopolo - We got what we get every week from Poppy. His hustle work is second to none.

Langford - Got alot of the footy but his kicking is still worrying.

Henderson - He looked like a player who's been at Hawks for ages, composure & decision making was great. Very good first outing.

Rioli - He just does what Rioli does, just a little bit down. But still was pretty good.

Overall - We looked slow & backline just got run over. Give the new guys & Roughy a month & we should be much better, but I'm still excited for when we finally click & get our line-up right with more clean & efficient disposal players & some leadership in Hodgey.

Kade Stewart should have played tonight.

Do you reckon that maybe all that skills shit that Sam Mitchell did all those years might have been harder than it looked? And maybe - just maybe - Luke hodge might have had more impact if he'd been on the bloody ground. Long way to go.

O'Meara will get better with more games under his belt and understand the game-plan. He and Mitchell will form a great 1-2 punch. It our midfield falls away badly after that and if our midfield is to get better though we really do need one of Lovell or O'Rourke to break into the best 22 and show signs of improvement.

Agree. Hopefully one of those guys or Stewart/Burton can make it

Maybe you should go into the rooms...apparently Jobe is a good guy..if fact a fantastic guy, no reason to judge him on the past. He is there signing autographs and taking selfies etc. Great guy. I am sure he would have time for another signature (just don't ask him to sign it as Dr Dank)
He is a drug cheat. That is what he is.

Positives:

Roughie's goal and everyone getting around him.

The $wans lost today.

Negatives:

Almost everything else.

Not going to get upset or throw babies with bathwater. This is obviously going to be a transition year. I'll want our combinations to get a hell of a lot better as the year progresses and I'll now be content with top 8. Top 4 is way, way too high an expectation based on that. I know it's early days, but I'm just being realistic.

Umm have you been hacked or something? This is the most un-Bumps like post I've ever read from you.

Even I get frustrated and have to let off steam sometimes. Was just the first thing that popped into my head :$ I am missing Sammy, one of my all time favourite players, badly :'(

Looking forward to this year. Haven't had a no expectations year since 2005 so I am loving it. Going to be a long hard slog down the bottom, but I can finally enjoy not worrying about winning.
I feel the same way, but then I remember how we don't have a first round pick this year to look forward to.

I'm thinking of the one they just replayed there, where Smithy roosted the ball from the back of the centre circle and it went through for a goal after Hurley failed to touch it.

The guy they pay to stand on the line and adjudicate these things was sure enough not to bother calling for a review, and should be sacked.

Strange how the reviewer has no power to call for a review and relies solely on the goal umpires opinion. Pretty pathetic, what harm would have come if they stopped play to take a look?? Unfortunately it wasn't conclusive and probably would have been umpires call but fully agree with your annoyance on this one.

How much did O'Meara cost us? Expect big things of him. He has a high opinion of himself, he better live up to it. How can he be cooked, did he not have a full pre-season? Would rather have passed on him and kept Sammy. Oh well we did get pick number 88...

We will improve no doubt but pretty galling to lose to the drug cheats. This post match is sickening.
Wow just wow, we have O'meara for 10 years. Sam would have been gone in two! O'meara coming back from long term injury and is still young and your bagging him already, just dont get it.

Solid first hit out. Great effort from Tommy and stoked to have Roughy back.

Thought JOM was good in part, and will only get better.

Henderson was solid. Langford fights and fights, but his disposal makes me close my eyes some times.

Some ordinary skills throughout the game and some really bad defending. How many goals did they kicks from crumbing over the back? 6? 7?

Happy that we got through without injury and that we were somehow in front at half time even though we had so much to improve on.

Not going to be too concerned at this stage, due to it being Round 1, but we should be better than what we were in a few contests tonight and I think the boys all know that.

One thing I did notice a few times is our forwards being held by the arm as they attempted to get to the drop of the ball. That's infuriating to watch when the umpires just ignore it.

On another note...

I don't really understand why Essendon fans were booing Vickery and yelling vitriol at him as he left the field. Did he do something?

Pretty odd that they'd take such offense to anyone booing their players, but then get to their feet and scream obscenities at Vickery when he off in huge numbers. It was very odd.

Edit: turns out they were livid because he got a legitimate free kick for being blocked from a marking contest. Nice.

I hope it's OK to comment..

I was watching Vickerys game tonight for obvious reasons. Looked like he was trying to do more 1%ers (which... believe me, is a good sign). He has some sort of talent, but an infuriating player to watch when he was playing for Richmond. I hope for your sake you can develop his ruckwork a bit more. He seems to be missing stamina, mobility and sometimes just general enthusiasm (he might have got that last one back at Hawthorn).

His kicking for goal wasn't great tonight, but he's usually a good kick and a good mark.

Hopefully for your sake he can be that inside 50 ruckman and, more likely, a decent forward.

What did everyone else think of his game?

I hope it's OK to comment..

I was watching Vickerys game tonight for obvious reasons. Looked like he was trying to do more 1%ers (which... believe me, is a good sign). He has some sort of talent, but an infuriating player to watch when he was playing for Richmond. I hope for your sake you can develop his ruckwork a bit more. He seems to be missing stamina, mobility and sometimes just general enthusiasm (he might have got that last one back at Hawthorn).

His kicking wasn't great, he's usually a good kick and a good mark.

Hopefully for your sake he can be that inside 50 ruckman and, more likely, a decent forward.

What did everyone else think of his game?

I thought he played well, but maybe it was just that his new team mates were so much worse...

Autopsy Round 1, 2017: Ess v Haw, **Ess supporters read the OP** Ban Hammer will be wielded with impunity