Unofficial Preview Round 1, 2024: Bombers v Hawks, MCG 1:10pm Sat 16th March

Saw this today …. thought it was a pretty good effort. Liking our versatility and reckon Mitch has got a lot to play with on the magnet board.

Predicted rd 1 teams - Ben Cotton and Ben Waterworth from Fox Sports

B:
Jarman Impey, James Blanck, Blake Hardwick

HB: James Sicily, Josh Weddle, Karl Amon

C: Changkuoth Jiath, Conor Nash, Josh Ward

HF: Dylan Moore, Mabior Chol, Jack Gunston

F: Luke Breust, Mitch Lewis, Jack Ginnivan

FOLL: Ned Reeves, Jai Newcombe, James Worpel

I/C: Cam Mackenzie, Jack Scrimshaw, Finn Maginness, Connor McDonald, Nick Watson (sub)

One of the best I/C benches we have had in a long time!
I don't think this is a good effort at all. Weddle isn't a KPP, Hardwick isn't playing back (based on track watchers) and Watson won't be a sub. What it does say is that we have depth and they are trying to shoehorn in players without watching training. And TBH, it would take about half an hour to read the training reports here to get a sense of what Mitchell is trying to do.

I’ve been to a few training sessions over summer and provided some reports so I’m not solely relying on what these guys from fox footy have thrown up …… but was generally happy with the collective group they put up. Versatility seemed to be a big focus over summer and yes Dimma looked great down forward at times 👍.

Re the Wiz having a good chat with one of the trainers the club are rapted with what he brings to the table and his progress since arriving but his selection for round 1 was probably dependant on how he handles the practice matches. If you’d seen my training reports out of all the players was probably the most impressed with the Wiz as we have a ripper on our hands. However got the feeling that the club want/need to look after him for the long term and not throw him into the wolves. Having said that I reckon he is as slippery as they come …… his evasiveness/agility/turbo gear changes and the way he reads the play so early has him in good stead to handle playing round 1 👍

Hoping to get there this Thr to see how they go 🤞

Re the Wiz having a good chat with one of the trainers the club are rapted with what he brings to the table and his progress since arriving but his selection for round 1 was probably dependant on how he handles the practice matches….. However got the feeling that the club want/need to look after him for the long term and not throw him into the wolves.
This Up Here GIF by Chord Overstreet

If HH can kick some goals at BH whilst playing on the ball well, I think he might take a midfielders spot who isn't kicking goals.

We need goal kicking mids.

I think this depends where he’s kicking them from. I think we need more mids who kick goals from the midfield. Not mids who rest forward and kick goals.

I think that makes sense…!?

I've always believed that a teams strength and depth can be attributed to who they have on the bench. Most sides have a good starting 18 but the players on the bench can be the separator. Especially now, with 5 on there.

I think this depends where he’s kicking them from. I think we need more mods who kick goals from the midfield. Not mods who rest forward and kick goals.

I think that makes sense…!?
Strapping Young Lad how's your set shot routine?

I’ve been to a few training sessions over summer and provided some reports so I’m not solely relying on what these guys from fox footy have thrown up …… but was generally happy with the collective group they put up. Versatility seemed to be a big focus over summer and yes Dimma looked great down forward at times 👍.

Re the Wiz having a good chat with one of the trainers the club are rapted with what he brings to the table and his progress since arriving but his selection for round 1 was probably dependant on how he handles the practice matches. If you’d seen my training reports out of all the players was probably the most impressed with the Wiz as we have a ripper on our hands. However got the feeling that the club want/need to look after him for the long term and not throw him into the wolves. Having said that I reckon he is as slippery as they come …… his evasiveness/agility/turbo gear changes and the way he reads the play so early has him in good stead to handle playing round 1 👍

Hoping to get there this Thr to see how they go 🤞
I wasn't having a go at you. Just the Fox Footy team. As I said before depth is becoming a good problem to have.

I think the Wizard is either in or out, but not a sub.

But he could make a good back pocket. All he has to do is lockdown someone and when he gets it hand off to runners or the good kickers.
I reckon Frost does that better than Finn.

Finn is unique in his ability to shut down the league's best midfielders. IMO he's gotta be used up the ground.

For all the frost talk, I’m reminded that in 2008 we won a flag with croad and giham

Croad was frost ball before there was frost and giham was a psd bargain
Croad and Frost should not be mentioned in the same sentence. Ever.

There's a world of difference between them.

I reckon Frost does that better than Finn.

Finn is unique in his ability to shut down the league's best midfielders. IMO he's gotta be used up the ground.
Totally agree with this. It's a different kettle of fish shutting someone down in the backline than in the midfield. Finn is a master playing that run with role where he wears his oppo player like a glove using his ridiculous endurance to just not let them get the ball whilst not getting a lot of the ball himself. Have to be accountable in the backline and until he proves he can go get the ball himself he'll remain a one dimensional tagger in the midfield albeit the best in the league atm.

Finn hardly ever went to centre square bounce ball ups. Started in defence

So compared to Rd1 player line ups to last year:

Scrimshaw > Frost
Chol > Meek
Weddle > Bramble
Gunston > Greene
Watson > Wingard (Inj)
Lewis > Kosi

Someone > Day (Inj) Probably Ginni?

That's an improvement on skill for every above player plus natural growth over 12 months from others. Hoping for a much better showing.

Finn to Parish? Had 37 possies last year.

So compared to Rd1 player line ups to last year:

Scrimshaw > Frost
Chol > Meek
Weddle > Bramble
Gunston > Greene
Watson > Wingard (Inj)
Lewis > Kosi

Someone > Day (Inj) Probably Ginni?

That's an improvement on skill for every above player plus natural growth over 12 months from others. Hoping for a much better showing.

Finn to Parish? Had 37 possies last year.

Finn will hopefully cool merrett and martin. their chief playmakers.