ROUND 1: Saints vs. Geelong @ MCG

Is anyone else in particular favour of Lynch being played? Or indifferent/opposed?

Yep I want him in and for at least 4 games in a row, lets see what he is really made of. We need to make at least two bold selections a week.

Again, what about Stanley on the wing? Any takers?

Did Raph not play against Sydney? He played against Essendon and the Cats.
Its a bit pathetic that people are already using this old excuse for him when its not even true.

He definantly didnt play against Sydney, just wasnt sure if he missed the Essendon game aswell. He seems to play his best football when he has a few games under his belt, so watch out Geelong :thumbsu:

wouldnt mind seeing a score line of

st kilda: 20. 11 131
geelong: 1.7 13

really though.. would love to see some fringe players stand up with the good players being a little down.. and coming away with the win

ie. mcqualter kicks 3 goals.. milne kicks 1 kinda situation

Doubles among a thick batch of players would be nice... Gamble, Mini, Lynch and Gilbert should all aim to be getting two each as a nice spread. Hopefully they put that oaf shit thug on Milne again, that batch of goals in the QF was magical.

only chance we have of winning is if that hack mqualter isnt in the side, whoever defends him is either related to him or has no idea, he is a liability in the side with no skill no pace and doesnt know how to attack evn though he plays forward. NO MORE DEFENSIVE FORWARDS WHO CANT ATTACK OR DEFEND!!!! GET MQUALTER OUT OF THE SIDE AND DELIST HIM AS SOON AS HIS CONTRACTS UP.
mqualter plays cats by 3
mqualter doesnt play saints by 37

only chance we have of winning is if that hack mqualter isnt in the side, whoever defends him is either related to him or has no idea, he is a liability in the side with no skill no pace and doesnt know how to attack evn though he plays forward. NO MORE DEFENSIVE FORWARDS WHO CANT ATTACK OR DEFEND!!!! GET MQUALTER OUT OF THE SIDE AND DELIST HIM AS SOON AS HIS CONTRACTS UP.
mqualter plays cats by 3
mqualter doesnt play saints by 37

you're full of it.
Mqualter is brilliant.

pretty sure he was best on when we beat them by 55 in the nab just now.

:thumbsu::thumbsu: and was probably one our best for entire preseason. I reckon he's back to his 09 form and will be integral part of our side come years end.

you're full of it.
Mqualter is brilliant.

He was crap in the Essendon game. Yeah lots of people were crap in the Essendon game, but the way I see it if they were good in GF1 I'll let them off for a NAB cup game. But the ones who were crap in GF1 need to prove somehting.

How do we improve on last year?

I still see the most likely players who can come in and do something as:
Stanley, Smith, and Ledger.

He was crap in the Essendon game. Yeah lots of people were crap in the Essendon game, but the way I see it if they were good in GF1 I'll let them off for a NAB cup game. But the ones who were crap in GF1 need to prove somehting.

How do we improve on last year?

I still see the most likely players who can come in and do something as:
Stanley, Smith, and Ledger.

:thumbsu:

Early season is time to try a couple of young blokes. I know 4 points is 4 points but I'd rather try Lynch. Brain farts or not it means he's getting a touch / experience.

:thumbsu:

Early season is time to try a couple of young blokes. I know 4 points is 4 points but I'd rather try Lynch. Brain farts or not it means he's getting a touch / experience.

I'd rather play the best 22 and win to be honest against a team like Geelong. Get our season off to a good start. Plus, what if he plays poorly against Geelong? Shatter his confidence again and send him back to the twos or keep him there and he becomes a liability?

I think we just play the 22 players who have the best chance of winning the game. Eventually, Lynch will force his way into that group. However, I don't think we hand out games to anybody purely because they're a kid. The kids have to earn it. In my opinion, that's how we'll get better.

you're full of it.
Mqualter is brilliant.

Let's not go overboard. He was pretty good in 2009 but was ordinary for most of last year and was lucky to keep his spot. He really needs to get back to his 2009 form or he will, or should, lose his spot to one of our younger mids/forwards.

I'd rather play the best 22 and win to be honest against a team like Geelong. Get our season off to a good start. Plus, what if he plays poorly against Geelong? Shatter his confidence again and send him back to the twos or keep him there and he becomes a liability?

I think we just play the 22 players who have the best chance of winning the game. Eventually, Lynch will force his way into that group. However, I don't think we hand out games to anybody purely because they're a kid. The kids have to earn it. In my opinion, that's how we'll get better.

I agree, we're still in a premiership window so we can't just blood kids for the sake of it like you do when you rebuild. For any of our kids to get a game they still need to be worthy of a spot and at least equal to the player they're replacing.

The likes of Armitage, Steven, Geary, Stanley, Ledger, Smith, Cripps, Lynch, Heyne, Winmar and Archer should all be chances of pushing into our best 22 at some stage this year depending on how our other fringe players are performing. Armitage, Steven, Geary, Stanley and Ledger are probably close to being in our best 22 now.

He was crap in the Essendon game. Yeah lots of people were crap in the Essendon game, but the way I see it if they were good in GF1 I'll let them off for a NAB cup game. But the ones who were crap in GF1 need to prove something.

BIG CALL:
i personally thought dal was and has been shit against the bummers for some time and would consider resting him in round 3.
i'm his biggest fan but with him having had been from bendigo there is something there that we don't fully appreciate.
i think that his stats against essendon have been very flattering.
we would have nothing to lose by freshening him up in week three and the week four bye.

big call to drop someone like dal but i would do it.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...l-practice-match/story-e6frf9jf-1226024580893

Hutchison said the Saints would field a strong side against the Cats this week, with Michael Gardiner (knee) and Adam Schneider (suspended) missing.

Justin Koschitzke (ankle) will be given a chance to prove his fitness this week, but his lack of game time means he is unlikely.

"He (Koschitzke) certainly trained well during the week and he will have sessions on Monday and Wednesday," Hutchison said. "He may be a couple of weeks off condition-wise."

Schneider is believed to be carrying a calf injury, but cannot play until Round 3.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...l-practice-match/story-e6frf9jf-1226024580893

Hutchison said the Saints would field a strong side against the Cats this week, with Michael Gardiner (knee) and Adam Schneider (suspended) missing.

Justin Koschitzke (ankle) will be given a chance to prove his fitness this week, but his lack of game time means he is unlikely.

"He (Koschitzke) certainly trained well during the week and he will have sessions on Monday and Wednesday," Hutchison said. "He may be a couple of weeks off condition-wise."

Schneider is believed to be carrying a calf injury, but cannot play until Round 3.

will let you know monday arvo how kosi goes at training squizzo :thumbsu:

BIG CALL:
i personally thought dal was and has been shit against the bummers for some time and would consider resting him in round 3.
i'm his biggest fan but with him having had been from bendigo there is something there that we don't fully appreciate.
i think that his stats against essendon have been very flattering.
we would have nothing to lose by freshening him up in week three and the week four bye.

big call to drop someone like dal but i would do it.

Don't know if I go along with the consiracy theory, but I agree that Essendon are a side where we could experiment with some pace.
Winmar, Ledger, Steven, Stanley and Cripps would all seem to offer the pace we need to deal with Essendon.

Don't know if I go along with the consiracy theory, but I agree that Essendon are a side where we could experiment with some pace.
Winmar, Ledger, Steven, Stanley and Cripps would all seem to offer the pace we need to deal with Essendon.

not conspiracy just inflated appreciation from dal i reckon.
has played a lot of games against essendon and been ordinary in most of them.
just doesn't find it against them unfortunately.

Whether he struggles against Essendon or not SF25 it is hardly beneficial for Dal to have a 2 week break between games at that stage of the season. The whole team generally strugges when we play them.

it's not dals fault that the umpires are thinking
theres dal the smooth mover from moorabbin
and hes gone there - holding!
gone again - high tackle!
gone!
gone again!
is goddard your mate dal? he's gone too!

as a coaching staff they have not played the extra man back from the start.
play the extra man back and see how you go for three quarters.
sub dal at 3/4 time and try to chop them up the other way.
thats what the rule is there for.
all they need to do is compete with the extra man in defense for three quarters and use dal as the sub.

if the umpiring is poor it will show up as glaring inaccuracy from the officials because you had the extra man back from the very start.

Just a few quick questions.

1) I've got a 16 game (non reserved seat) Youth membership. How would I be able to sit with two non-members? Could they buy tickets at the ground which would allow us to sit together? I could reserve tickets if need be but could I just rock up?

2) When do Little Red start?

Well here it is, thank god! Round 1. It has been a pretty hard off season being a Saints supporter, member and/or anyone with anything to do with the club. Lets get off to a good start this friday night and get the first of many wins in the year of the Saint.

My team...

B. James Gwilt - Zac Dawson - Jason Blake
HB. Steven Baker - Sam Fisher - Raph Clarke
C. Leigh Montagna - Lenny Hayes - Jason Gram
HF. Nick Dal Santo - Nick Riewoldt - Sam Gilbert
F. Stephen Milne - Ryan Gamble - Andrew McQualter
R. Ben McEvoy - Brendon Goddard - Clinton Jones
INT. Sean Dempster - Farren Ray - David Armitage - Jamie Cripps

EMG. Justin Koschitzke - Alistair Smith - Rhys Stanley

Im actually really confidant coming into Round 1 against the Cats. We have a solid recent history against them and the word is that they may have a few big names missing through injury which always helps the cause. Cameron Ling, Paul Chapman and James Posiadly are hard names to replace if they don't come up. And of course Gary Ablett is gone from past cat sides that we have faced. This should allow tagger Clinton Jones the chance to take on another of their midfield stars and hopefully shut them out of the contest.

However, I feel we have the bigger loss in Adam Schneider. Geelong usually have trouble with the smaller forwards and ours have given them trouble in a few of our latest clashes. I don't think Jack Steven will play this week since he didn't line up for Sandringham on the weekend which is a shame aswell. So alot of responsibility comes down to Stephen Milne. We will need smaller to mid sized forwards Andrew McQualter and Ryan Gamble to produce some goals if we are any chance of beating Geelong. You know what you will get from the big work horse Nick Riewoldt and hopefully he will have Harry Taylor puffing only minutes in.

I've thrown a fair few midfielders in the team. With the sub rule and us missing Schneider and most likely Steven, it will give them a chance to kick a couple goals when forward. Nick Dal Santo and Leigh Montagna have rested up forward before and kicked goals. Dal Santo should get some more space if Ling is missing. Chances are in the midfield it will be Lenny Hayes going head to head with either Joel Selwood or Jimmy Bartel again which works in our favour in my opinion. Brendon Goddard if in the right head space will be hard to stop. We can throw him down forward also and use him as a full forward for longer stints if we are controlling the game. Decent support in the midfield rotations can include Farren Ray and David Armitage.

Luckily Zac Dawson came up ok in his VFL practice game. He will be thrown straight in you would think. With Posiadly out possibly, it will be interesting to see what Ross Lyon does with a few bigger guys down back in Dawson, James Gwilt and Jason Blake. I imagine Blake will be used as a 2nd ruckmen with Ben McEvoy, but he has been played on Cam Mooney before to good effect. It will also be interesting to see how Steven Baker goes against rival Steve Johnson. There won't be any punches this time thats for sure. I would have the proven Sean Dempster in the side who could go with him also and maybe even Jones if Stevie J entered the midfield mix.

All summer, Lyon has been talking up the hard training of Jamie Cripps and how he is going to be giving these young kids a go, so here is the chance to put the money where the mouth is. I expect one young kid will be named whether its Cripps or Alistair Smith, who have both looked really promising this pre-season.

I have named Justin Koschitzke on the emergency list, simply because I think the club will try everything they can to get him up for round 1 but will fall short last minute. Simply due to not being ready and lack of match conditioning. He will be replaced by an emergency. If he can manage to get up, Kosi is in straight away and a starter for full forward. I also have Rhys Stanley on the emergencies. Whilst we are in desperate need of another back up ruck and some goal kicking options, my gut feel is that he just hasn't done enough yet to get into the side, going by a few responses from Saints officals and the fact he just started training with the main group again last week.

To sum up that tl:dr... pretty confident and reckon we will get up by around 3 goals.

ROUND 1: Saints vs. Geelong @ MCG