Autopsy Round 10, 2021: Hawks get beat by Blues

We we're good in little patches, so not all doom and despair.

But still pretty frustrating stuff, second half was pretty garbage.

Big Ned has to stay in, very impressive debut and liked his effort.
I reckon BB would second this. I only caught the 2nd half but those two looked okay from what I saw. Ned is pretty good with his hands and pretty nimble for a tall man. Hopefully the club gives him a continuous run at it.

Really happy with Reeves’ game.

Worps had a huge third qtr and got us on top until the Kosi brain fade. Then spent the first half of the 4th getting cold on the bench. Another strange decision by our coaching department.

We play better the less Mitchell gets the ball. Whenever he’s getting a lot of it. It’s never a good sign for us.

Our defence held up well all things considered. And we looked dangerous when we got the ball forward. We just kept breaking down between the arcs which has become standard this year.

He tries hard, but he doesn’t impact games enough.
He’s on target to have a 25 goal season, as a high half forward.

Problem with the 22 today not many elite. Kicks
Forget elite kicks just competent kicks would be good. Also handballing is diabolical.

Elite
Gunston
Sicily

Good kicks are:
Scrimshaw
Hardwick
Bruest
Day
Jeka
O'Brien

Acceptable
Greaves
Hartigan
Morrison
Howe
McEvoy
Lewis
Kosi
Moore
Wingard
Impy
Shiels

Poor
O'meara
Mitchell
Worpel
Jiath
Frost
Phillips
Ceglar

Left off the ones i haven't seen much and those i forgot.

Plenty of effort, poor execution.

Not sure I’d be thrilled if I was a Carlton supporter. Yet another year in the Indefinite Rebuild, a team full of high draft picks, stars needing new contracts, paying 105% of TPP and they’re 4-6 and nowhere near finals.

Not saying we should by any means tank the rest of the season but if we can bring that effort with the remaining games even if we rack up losses whilst blooding more youngsters than I’ll take that as a win. While a win would’ve been great I feel we won the long game today. The hard thing will be keeping the morale while the losses keep piling up but I do feel we are on the right path.

Hi guys, pardon the intrusion, unlucky today, thought you were pretty good.
But that was one of the best games I've seen Frosty play, minus the couple regular sh*t kicks and that holding the ball he was brilliant. Extremely gutsy and didn't get beat. So jealous right now
Mate he's been playing like that for quite awhile in a backline under huge pressure - I love it when he gets his goat up - he'd be huge for you guys in finals with his "good guy" streak on full ball esp in games where who gives rats if you suspended but lift the cup...
Who gets his 40+ every week? Worpels a disposal isn’t much better.
25+ of those were from teammates handing it to him in a poor position with him just hacking it - he has to better then this as leader and brownlow medalist (not that I put much faith in that medal when Matthews, Dunstall, Buddy, Knights, Kel Moore etc never won it)

Well our handball game is slightly better than previous weeks, but I still think we look sharper with the sharp attacking kicks. Sometimes we just over use the ball by hand, as well as some going straight to our players feet so we need to get the mix right.

And can we chase the ball and defend instead of playing for frees please.

Game could have been different if Kosi didn't play on, but he's young and will hopefully learn.

Really liked Reeves.

Only saw the second half so can't really comment on the game as a whole; but you can just see almost the entire team is bereft of confidence

They are trying to play the right way and take on a risk-reward game style, but it just ain't happening at the moment. Desperately need a win or two to pump up the tires, cause they are flat as a tack

Reeves took a couple of strong marks that I saw and had a few nice touches. Always good to dlsee blokes make a debut, hopefully he can go on with it

I'd like us to persist with the young fellas; I mean if we are going to lose more often than not, these guys might learn some good lessons from it. At the same time, gotta be careful not to completely throw them to the wolves

Plenty of effort, poor execution.

Not sure I’d be thrilled if I was a Carlton supporter. Yet another year in the Indefinite Rebuild, a team full of high draft picks, stars needing new contracts, paying 105% of TPP and they’re 4-6 and nowhere near finals.
It's beautiful isn't it - this is almost as good as seeing a Hawk Coach and Captain raise the cup above their heads - almost.

Hanrahan around the stoppages is one always on the move and has some tricks. His lateral movement is a as good as anyone at the club. It would be so hard being a small forward at the Hawks right now and I think he has something to work with.
We just need to move the ball a lot quicker than we do to give our small forwards a chance.

bit surprised about what ppl are saying about titch. it wasnt his best game but i thought he was quite good

2nd most contested poss, most clearances and most I50s in the game suggests he was doing more than running around the backline and getting cheap sideways possessions as the narrative seems to be at the minute

his kick:handball ratio was 1:1 too which is extremely unusual and positive for him

i thought he was terrible last week and responded really well. i guess people are more fixated on the disposal? or the metres gained? idk i didnt watch the game that closely but most of the sideways/backwards stuff i saw was to guys like CJ, Scrim, Impey and Chad, which is a good thing. couple times he made some bad decisions but our whole flipping side did. no idea why the bloke that got 44 touches (at 77%) is getting singled out.

phillips was way worse

EDIT: that said i thought worpel was our best mid

The good was the debut of Reeves, showed he really belongs. Stays for the rest of the year.
Midfield- Worps and Omeara good in the middle. Morrison was pretty good as well. Mitchells disposals do nothing, except nearly kill team mates.
Backline was pretty solid.
Forwards- Breust was ok and so was Kosi, except for the brain fart of playing on. The rest of the forwards have no impact. When are our forwards going to lead at a ball carrier. Time and time again they just back lead. So frustrating.

yeap I said that weeks ago about the forwards not leading and the lack of pressure they are putting on the opposition but got told by some flog on here is didn’t know what I was talking about!!!!!!

the game is set up now for more goals being kicked all a backman has to do it touch a forward these day and they get a free kick so why the hell won’t our forwards play in front as you said lead at the ball carrier but they try and body their opponents but end up giving up front possie I just don’t get it - lead hard, arms stretched and demand the bloody football- its not rocket science

Not saying we should by any means tank the rest of the season but if we can bring that effort with the remaining games even if we rack up losses whilst blooding more youngsters than I’ll take that as a win. While a win would’ve been great I feel we won the long game today. The hard thing will be keeping the morale while the losses keep piling up but I do feel we are on the right path.
Yeah if jeka, reeves, Brockman and Morris can get lots of games i would be happy. Bonus points if we see DGB and Day again.

Few players 4-6 year players need ti to make ir break.

I think Lewis, kosi and jeka will net us at least 1 star forward and hopefully a sidekick too.

Yeah, funny one. Got done (again) and didn't even hit our score average (I think), but I'm pretty OK with today. I think that's the best we've looked for a few weeks.

Our current list is not one that can do a lot of finessery. We need every selected player to be giving 10 tenths for as long as they are physically able. I feel like we did that today.

Have to keep picking Reeves now. Which makes Big Boy the TO'B style utility tall. Not ideal, but let's try it for a while and see what we learn.

Yeah there are problems, but at least today is a base players can learn from.

Be some sore boys in the ice bath right now though. Hard game.

Now want to see some more hands being raised tomorrow at Box Hill (channel 7, 12:00).

bit surprised about what ppl are saying about titch. it wasnt his best game but i thought he was quite good

2nd most contested poss, most clearances and most I50s in the game suggests he was doing more than running around the backline and getting cheap sideways possessions as the narrative seems to be at the minute

his kick:handball ratio was 1:1 too which is extremely unusual and positive for him

i thought he was terrible last week and responded really well. i guess people are more fixated on the disposal? or the metres gained? idk i didnt watch the game that closely but most of the sideways/backwards stuff i saw was to guys like CJ, Scrim, Impey and Chad, which is a good thing. couple times he made some bad decisions but our whole f*n side did. no idea why the bloke that got 44 touches (at 77%) is getting singled out.

phillips was way worse
Not only were many of his disposals not damaging many hurt us.

Handball that lands a meter short if Scrimshaw another at his feet. Others behind the players so the have to stop and double back or too high so opposition closes in.

Floating high kicks that are impossible to mark and got O'meara injured.

i thought he was terrible last week and responded really well. i guess people are more fixated on the disposal? or the metres gained? idk i didnt watch the game that closely but most of the sideways/backwards stuff i saw was to guys like CJ, Scrim, Impey and Chad, which is a good thing. couple times he made some bad decisions but our whole f*n side did. no idea why the bloke that got 44 touches (at 77%) is getting singled out.

phillips was way worse
3 score involvements and 10 turnovers. His kicking was not good at all. No look 30 metre floaters. Had no composure with ball in hand. It was throw it on the boot or handball to a teammate in a worse position.

Picked up a few clearances which was good but his around the ground work was pretty bad. A lot of cheapies in there as well. Just a poor game by him. Disposal efficiency doesn’t tell the story.

Just looked at the Time on Ground stats
Ollie 66% I get that. he doesn't have the tank
Moore 72% I thought he was an endurance machine
Breust 73 % game time for our most dangerous forward.
No wonder we don't kick goals

How any Carlton fan can be happy with that I will never know

Was at the game, and they weren’t, if you just heard the fan commentary, you would think they were complaining about our team. Good times with the banter though.

We are really, REALLY struggling with defending on a turnover, every team seems to get a huge amount of time without pressure. And we seem to act like we are under pressure even when there has been ample time to slow it down a fraction and take a proper kick or pass.

A better effort this week though. Amazing day in the sun and all round a good crowd of fans from two teams complaining together haha!

Autopsy Round 10, 2021: Hawks get beat by Blues