Game Day Round 10, 2022: Adelaide v St.Kilda

College Football Homeloans GIF by Rocket Mortgage

Feel like Sam fisher. The problem is I have to umpire. Goodbye everyone. Nice knowing you.

If we are the side we want to be it’s a 4 to 6 goal win

Ben Long to put the fear of god through a few

Another game into NWM Windhager and Sharman

Pretty much every game is a “danger game” (ie we could lose), but while footy isn’t played on a piece of paper, the Adelaide team on paper isn’t up to snuff (as you would expect with apparently 15 who haven’t played 50 games yet!) and they look hugely vulnerable in the ruck, and in the air down back, so you’d certainly hope we’d win, and win fairly comfortably.

We have more genuine weapons than they do and much less areas of obvious weakness or vulnerability.

Hopefully the fact we’ve only won 1 of our last 3 games means we don’t get complacent, and think it’s just going to happen, because with all due respect to Adelaide, I think that’s the only thing that will see us lose this.

We need to start becoming really professional and showing up to play every week, no matter who we’re playing, and be getting better at putting together 4 quarter performances.

A lot depends on how we cover Steele's absence, and I'll be looking to see how Ross in particular goes. He's become one of our three starting onballers, to my surprise, with Crouch and Steel. Even more surprisingly, he plays off the back of the stoppage and is our offensive weapon. He's the one who gets the ball facing towards goal, and I reckon his CB clearances have been clearer than Crouch and Steele. Ross may now have to play a little more inside, but hopefully that can be avoided.

The one who will really need to step up now is Gresham. He can dominate clearances. Looking forward to also seeing Sincs in there. He helped change the momentum in the second half v Melbourne when he went in. And I think they'll look to slowly ratchet up Windy's time in the middle as the weeks roll by.

A lot depends on how we cover Steele's absence, and I'll be looking to see how Ross in particular goes. He's become one of our three starting onballers, to my surprise, with Crouch and Steel. Even more surprisingly, he plays off the back of the stoppage and is our offensive weapon. He's the one who gets the ball facing towards goal, and I reckon his CB clearances have been clearer than Crouch and Steele. Ross may now have to play a little more inside, but hopefully that can be avoided.

The one who will really need to step up now is Gresham. He can dominate clearances. Looking forward to also seeing Sincs in there. He helped change the momentum in the second half v Melbourne when he went in. And I think they'll look to slowly ratchet up Windy's time in the middle as the weeks roll by.
Crouch has actually had surprisingly low CBA’s in a lot of our games this year, as our preferred centre setup was Steele, Ross and Gresham (with Gresh then pushing forward, while Crouch moved up the ground to join the midfield brigade after the play had begun), so I dare say Crouch now takes Steele’s place of being in there for most centre bounces, and then having two quicker guys (Gresh/Ross/Jones/Sincs/Windy) in there with him.

And when he’s off the ground perhaps Clark takes that role from next week.

Looking forward to seeing who really steps up over this two months and becomes ‘the man’ in there, in Steele’s absence.

Got to get up around 2:30 am tomorrow to catch an early flight, so hopefully we are up by 10 goals at 1/2 time & I can get a couple of hours sleep in.

Nah! bugger it, I’ll have a nana nap this arvo & watch the whole game.

Saints by the length of the Flemington straight. 63pts

Crouch has actually had surprisingly low CBA’s in a lot of our games this year, as our preferred centre setup was Steele, Ross and Gresham (with Gresh then pushing forward, while Crouch moved up the ground to join the midfield brigade after the play had begun), so I dare say Crouch now takes Steele’s place of being in there for most centre bounces, and then having two quicker guys (Gresh/Ross/Jones/Sincs/Windy) in there with him.

And when he’s off the ground perhaps Clark takes that role from next week.

Looking forward to seeing who really steps up over this two months and becomes ‘the man’ in there, in Steele’s absence.
Excluding ruckman, he's third for CBAs behind Steele and Gresh. He was lower early in the season, but since r4 he's been in the top three for every game but one. Certainly started there for the first bounce of most quarters, at least when I notice! He was above his season average last week - it looks like he, Ross and Jones picked up the slack once Steele went down. I think the starting 3 will be Crouch, Ross and one of Sinclair or Zones (edit: forgot Gresh. Actually have no idea who the third one will be, but it will be Crouch and Ross).

Vote 1 Max King Screenshot_20220521-104752~2.jpg

On Pixel 4 XL using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah shitting the bed by giving up a 5 goal leed was pathetic , this will be no walk in the park

We gave them belief after last year. They won't get 5 goals down and roll over knowing that we have flaked before.

Forecast for the rest of Saturday​

Summary
sunny.png
Max 20Sunny.Chance of any rain: 0%
rain_0.gif

Adelaide area​

Sunny. Winds easterly 15 to 20 km/h becoming light in the late afternoon then becoming easterly 15 to 20 km/h in the late evening.