Round 12 - Adelaide v Hawthorn (AAMI Stadium)

Stupid play by Adelaide in those last minutes, had 4 minutes to go man on man but just let Hawthorn chip it around.

Good contest, both teams didn't play anywhere near their best IMO but it was tough and close all night, first win vs Adelaide in Adel. in 14 years, good job.

That's crap, that crab rioli infringed in the goalsquare and Luke Podge scored a fluke goal, when it should have been a free kick ot the Crows, the cheating Tassie Dawks didn't deserve to win that game ..

Made up for the one in the pocket where stevens clearly ripped Lewis down with a couple of mins to go.

And fluke goal? He stopped, was prepaired to take a hit, and drilled it.
Perhaps a fluke to a Carlton supporter, not used to seeing stuff like that obiously:rolleyes:

That's crap, that crab rioli infringed in the goalsquare and Luke Podge scored a fluke goal, when it should have been a free kick ot the Crows, the cheating Tassie Dawks didn't deserve to win that game ..

Everybody wanted the Hawks to lose, and they still get up.:D:D

People who think hawks are one man team are w***ers.
Hodge ripped us a new one just like he did last years final. Buddy just kicks goals, hodge is the guy who gets it there. Buddy cant kick em so hodge does all the getting and kicking goals. CHAMPION.

I hate agreeong with you, but you are spot on. the umps love the dawks. just watch Buddy get off his charge. :rolleyes:

Yes, the Umps love us - that's why the free-kick count went in their way and Stevens wasn't pinged for holding Lewis in the last quarter.

Keep trying, fellas. :D

In all seriousness though, kudos to Adelaide. You guys are a fantastic team and will definitely be deeply involved in the action in September.

I didn't watch the whole game (listened to most, and watched the last 15mins or so), but I'd feel ripped off if I was an Adelaide supporter, whoever marked the ball on the 50m line was going to play on and kick towards goal to extend lead, but was dragged down after the mark by Hawks player. It should've been 50m, instead a min later it's up the Hawks end with Hodge to put the Hawks in front.

I'm sure they may have been a few dodgy ones earlier when I wasn't watching, but it's the wrong calls at the end that always sting the most.

Oh, and Buddy shouldn't get suspended for his incident in my opinion, I reckon the fact that whoever he hit was being tackled to ground at same time would help (so his target's head moved into his line... although it probably would've been worse if it hadn't gone that way). Perhaps a reprimand with early plea at worst.

Seriously though, the Stevens/Lewis hold was a bit iffy, but there are plenty of times where umps have been sucked into 'players diving or scragging' ...

I reckon the Rioli reckless attack on the crows player in the foward line was extremely reckless, and although probably not intentional, it should have been a free kick ... Then the ball spills out and Hodge kicks the winning goal ...

Just hate seeing a team lose a game cause of circumstances like that ...

I didn't watch the whole game (listened to most, and watched the last 15mins or so), but I'd feel ripped off if I was an Adelaide supporter, whoever marked the ball on the 50m line was going to play on and kick towards goal to extend lead, but was dragged down after the mark by Hawks player. It should've been 50m, instead a min later it's up the Hawks end with Hodge to put the Hawks in front.

It was a close run thing, but ultimately it was in the contest. Fair call

Jordan Lewis was pulled down by Stevens in the hawks forward line and it was called play on. Swings and roundabouts.

I'm sure they may have been a few dodgy ones earlier when I wasn't watching, but it's the wrong calls at the end that always sting the most.

My word there was. Without wanting to start an argument, I think the Crows had the better of the umpiring.

Oh, and Buddy shouldn't get suspended for his incident in my opinion, I reckon the fact that whoever he hit was being tackled to ground at same time would help (so his target's head moved into his line... although it probably would've been worse if it hadn't gone that way). Perhaps a reprimand with early plea at worst.

The factor in his favour is that Doughty was being pulled down by Osborne as it happened. He'll go, but it will be at the low end. 1 week, 2 tops.

Seriously though, the Stevens/Lewis hold was a bit iffy, but there are plenty of times where umps have been sucked into 'players diving or scragging' ...

Stevens had both arms around Lewis and dragged him to ground. Clear cut.

I reckon the Rioli reckless attack on the crows player in the foward line was extremely reckless, and although probably not intentional, it should have been a free kick ... Then the ball spills out and Hodge kicks the winning goal ...

Just hate seeing a team lose a game cause of circumstances like that ...

This is plain silly. To suggest the result is the fault of the umpires is wishful thinking. Hawks fans listening to 5AA are telling me that even those guys reckon the Crows got the rub of the umpiring.

The free kick count was 19 to 12 in favour of the Crows. They kicked 2 goals from 50m penalties and one from a free kick in a low scoring match. Around the ground the umpires clearly favoured the Crows as they always do at AAMI. To suggest otherwise is ludicrous.

anyone who says adelaide got ripped off by the umpires is just plain wrong and someone needs to tell doughty that on a football field your supposed to stay on your feet not let the wind blow you over he is a joke at least four times tonight he played for a free and even once the ump told him to stop throwing his head back just plain soft

Love it when people refer to the free kick count.

Franklin won't get suspended. They were saying points and maybe a week. Any more and I think the AFL is just going nuts. They were saying more than 100 points rules him out of the Brownlow, true?

Hawks will not win the flag on their last few performances (apart from Essendon). Starting to show signs of immaturity and a coach being out coached. Ok sure they won, but they shouldn't have.

Yeah right tool.

Outcoached and immaturity hey.:rolleyes: Let's see. Playing poorly for weeks (against Essendon too) with key players out injured and suspended and others getting injured during the course of the game and yet what do we do? Manage to beat a top side interstate at a ground we haven't beaten them at for 14 years.

Get a footy brain mate. We are still winning despite a quarter of a side of quality players unavailable and a lot of those guys who are playing are off the boil. Shows me we are showing massive signs of MATURITY.

Great signs Hawthorn.

Yeah right tool.

Outcoached and immaturity hey.:rolleyes: Let's see. Playing poorly for weeks (against Essendon too) with key players out injured and suspended and others getting injured during the course of the game and yet what do we do? Manage to beat a top side interstate at a ground we haven't beaten them at for 14 years.

Get a footy brain mate. We are still winning despite a quarter of a side of quality players unavailable and a lot of those guys who are playing are off the boil. Shows me we are showing massive signs of MATURITY.

Great signs Hawthorn.

so we are a top side? i thought that all you victorians thought that we didnt deserve to be in the top 4 because we had a "soft draw"... if that is the case then clearly you dont deserve to go all the way because you only beat us by 4 points (and we played 1 man down for practically the whole game with bassett injured)

Round 12 - Adelaide v Hawthorn (AAMI Stadium)