Autopsy Round 13, 2013 - Hawthorn v Eagles

I was a little underwhelmed to be honest. Offensively we were really sharp and unusually efficient which kept us in the game but other than for small blocks of the game we were defensively very lazy and gave them much too much room to do what they wanted. Really missed that manic chasing and tackling of Rioli AND Puopolo. First time we've conceded 100 since the Tom Hawkins match and if we had have played a decent defensive side who didn't allow us such easy scoring (i.e. other top 4 sides), then I think we lose this game.

As it is it is great to still be sitting on top and not play anywhere near our best footy. We have periods of games where we play it but it is spasmodic at the monent - perhaps deliberately....who knows.

As for the whole WCE free kick thing - my opinion after watching closely tonight is that the Duckers aren't the biggest issue. The concern is that the WCE ruckmen and backman practically have carte blanche to do as they please.

Buddy non-frees perhaps hit an all time low tonight considering how he was handled (yet they still manage to ping him or take them off him) and Glass must have actually tackled a player (usually Rough) all the way to ground 2 or 3 times while they were trying to mark without penalty. In fact I think I heard the rape charges against Milne have been dropped as they had the wrong man. Glass apparently is now facing charges.

Worse though is the luxuries afforded Cox and NN. They get frees themselves with such ease as to make Buddy cry yet all through the night I saw them man handle and throw Bails out of contests, nominate their competing ruckman who would engage ours at boundary throw ins and tie them up while the other came over the top and finally - Cox continually and deliberately jump straight into our rucks knees first at bounces without even any consideration of actually winning tap outs.

I think the focus needs to be less on not rewarding the Duckers and more on penalising the crap their rucks and backs are getting away with.

The funniest bit of the night was 15 minutes in to the first quarter and Ellis is getting a rub down and getting his wrist strapped 3 quarters before he came on.

When Buddy kicked that ball into him I thought he would actually break right there. Still expect him to miss the next 6-10 weeks as a result.

Dermott Brereton on SEN gave 3 votes Roughead, 2 votes Nic Nat and 1 vote Lake. To say Nic nat played well for just one quarter is unfair. Actually it was noticable when Cox went on the ruck, hawthorn improved as a side and the eagles suffered

A few nice taps and that slick goal but I barely noticed him otherwise. Bailey seemeed everywhere in comparison.

It's not as if you don't notice him, working behind the scenes quietly like a lampshade in the corner - perhaps.........

As opposed to a big white boy whose only ambition was to get as far away from the ball as possible but the ferker kept on following him.

Nic Nat is a sensation, but until he can impose himself on a game for a game, blokes like Max Bailey win games for us.

Tonight I think I witnessed one of the worst umpiring displays towards a player. We're used to seeing him being manhandled and held with no reward but tonight was another level all together. The number of times Buddy was held, fully wrapped up, had a hand held way before the ball even arrived and so on was ridiculous. People in the stands around me were baffled at first but by the end of the game they were just laughing at how ridiculous it was. Tonight was just so frustrating to watch in that area and I think Buddy did well not to get frustrated himself and do something silly.

The game itself was a strange old one, a very free flowing and open game which led to a high scoring game. I think there are some genuine concerns regarding our midfield. We are unable to win the clearances in recent weeks and it hurt us a lot tonight. The number of times they scored directly from a centre clearance was way too high and something we will need to address going into the latter part of the year. Was happy with Savage's game, thought he really stood up after a few weeks out and made a claim for a permanent spot. I think most people on here would be happy to have seen him be so aggressive and actually finding the pill, something that he simply wasn't able to do in the early part of the season.

Roughead is a gun, he really is a machine. The amount work he does on and off the ball is incredible and he looks so dangerous when we go forward in his direction. Lake was a rock once more, he's played 2 of his best games in the last 2 weeks and when the ball goes in that direction you are confident he will be able to bring the ball to ground. Stratton was very good again, having an awesome year and getting the job done week in week out. Gunston is another that has been really good this year. Started off slowly but has been very handy for us and is our best kick at goal.

All in all I'm reasonably happy with the game, thought the umpires gifting the Eagles 3 late goals was a bit of a joke but what can you do. Got the 4 points and stopped the Eagles whenever they challenged which is all we needed to do

Total overreaction to the Embley incident in here makes us look like a bunch of softcocks. Looked much worse than it was, no injury to Stratts, move on nothing to see here. Act of a frustrated man at the end of his career struggling to get a kick, felt sorry for him in the end, knew he had done wrong and went further in to his shell.

Mate of yours?

If they are fair dinkum it should be months - shitbag act of the highest regard.

I don't think we should be calling for weeks. We've had our fair share of rough nuts. Some people just do stupid shit in the heat of the moment. Doesn't mean they're dogs.

Still playing well below capacity
Still winning

The focus is on hitting our straps just before finals, pacing ourselves
The plan so far is on track

While its frustrating to be getting smashed in some areas of the ground during games ( and will cause us to drop games from now until late in the year ), I have no doubt our improvement will be slow and steady.
So far so good!

Probably just not a new age pussy crying out loud about an act that just happened. Stratts wasn't hurt, all good. You sound like Carlton last week.

Do I? Now be a smart young fella and quote one post where I even mentioned Embley. Go on. Please.

Less about me being a new age pussy Carlton supporter and more about you being a humourless, comprehension lacking halfwit. Next time I'll make sure I use the sarcasm emoticon for advantage of the internet warrior.

^^^^^^^^^^^
people, far to much abuse amongst hawthorn supporters in this forum...we won, we are on top of the ladder 11-1...be happy and don't get sidetracked abusing each other, reserve the abuse for bummer supporters

Generally I agree. I only ever respond to what's given. I never abuse Hawk posters even when I disagree with them. Someone starts name calling though, especially when they don't even understand my post, then they will get told.

^^^^^
fair enough i'm not criticising you personally and understand if someone has a go at you its natural to react. But in general there has been a bit of angst between fellow hawks in this topic for some reason. Lets all take a deep breath get back on track and be happy

and btw please add your support to me petition buddyfairdeal@outlook.com (see that topic for further details), obviously priority 1 is he stays, if the worst happens we want fair compensation considering the circumstances (expansion club has no free agents and given much higher salary cap + potential outside money which in effect is an AFL rigged scenario)

Something else I noticed. The last two weeks the oppo has been focused on not letting us exit out the back fifty with unmarked players. Hardly any switching etc as a result and making it harder for us to exit cleanly. There were a lot of long kicks along the boundary coming out the back line.

Name GoalsBehinds
Josh Kennedy 39 14
Jarryd Roughead 36 12 (75%)
Lindsay Thomas 35 16
Travis Cloke 34 30
Jack Riewoldt 34 14
Jeromy Cameron 33 11
Lance Franklin 33 25
Nick Riewoldt 30 13
Tom Hawkins 29 7
Stewart Crameri 27 11

Big Rough 36 goals for the year at an average of 3 goals per game and second in the race for the Coleman Medal. The last time he averaged 3 goals a match was back in 08. His accuracy this year has been supurb. He and Gunston just can't miss at this stage. :)

chill mate you got an AA ruckmen in your side, wish we had him instead of natanui

Bet you wish you had 4 points or a chance at finals. The way you guys are going you stand no chance. Season on the line, host of stars back in and the worlds most acrobatic and accomplished footballer and you still can't conjure a win. Weak as p*ss Eagles. Thats was the game you should have won and you were not good enough. Might be soul crushing for your team I think.

Last night once again supported my life long claim that it doesn't matter how many hit outs you have, it doesn't matter how many clearances you have, and all these other non-sensical stats, all that really matters is if yoiu have enough opportunities in front of goal, and you make them count, you will win the game.

The importance of accurate kicking for goal for some reason is neglected in our game, and yet it remains the single most important factor. It has decided premierships.

Let the opposition do whatever they like, come up with new tactics etc but the fact is two weeks in a row we have come up against opposition who have technically got their seasons on the line in a relevant way (not saying either won't make the 8 but both teams now are 2 games behind 7th) lost the KPI's and still won. That shows to me that if we put together a performance that the majority on here are demanding weekly god help the opposition.

Before the season if anyone said to me you will be playing good footy for small parts of games but get outplayed for the rest but you'll be 11-1 I'd have taken it. It's what happens in September that matters for us. If we don't win it this year then start complaining about losing centre clearances and that our ruckmen are no good(I don't agree).

Strap yourselves in and enjoy the fact that losing doesn't seem to be an option for this team

Something else I noticed. The last two weeks the oppo has been focused on not letting us exit out the back fifty with unmarked players. Hardly any switching etc as a result and making it harder for us to exit cleanly. There were a lot of long kicks along the boundary coming out the back line.

Thats a good thing, we are forced to try new ways well before the real stuff starts and we are still winning while not being able to play "our footy". Shows we are very flexible which is something people have potted Clarko and the team about for years. I hope most of those fools are eating their words. We have won about 4 games this year that we would have lost in the last 2 years and we have done it by adapting our play to suit how the opposition are handling us.

Autopsy Round 13, 2013 - Hawthorn v Eagles