Autopsy Round 14, 2023: Richmond v St.Kilda

Dougal needs some time at Sandy. He creates too many turnovers. He makes me nervous every time he gets the ball.
Gresham frustrates the sh1t out of me too. The amount of times he gets the ball and blasts it forward without looking is ridiculous. If he bothered looking, we'd be kicking more goals each week.
I liked Sharmans defensive work.
Give him a couple of full games FFS.
Brisbane will be a big challenge but the Saints are so Jeckyll and Hyde, I have zero idea what to expect.
They're both shit

If we had a genuine ruck i dont think he would get a game
Maybe chf?
It’s the mids more than Marshall but I’d love a genuine monster like Darcy. I think we could play Marshall as a fwd/rck with less fatigue he’d probably kick a few more. Seriously though if we weren’t playing him as our number 1 ruck I’d trade him and get some quality mids, can’t have that much cash etc tied up in rucks.

I reckon we look like Richmond before they came good. We need to chase our version of Dion Prestia, an elite mid who adds to the depth and quality and add a couple of ready made depth mids for when get hit by injury. That midfield is having to counteract rather than play on their own merit. Having a beaten up Steele going at 50% we look very exposed. Gags should have been building a midfield.
Clear as day when need a midfielder

Watch us blow our 1st pick on the spud that is TDK

I like it same senior core letting us down
Let’s find out what others can do
RTB. Saying Steele isn’t injured
Sandy have been garbage which along with injuries to guys who would be putting pressure on has made it too easy to just go with the same players.

Year of exploration
Is nothing more than a BS excuse for losing
Fragile mentally weak dumb group of footballers. Ended up laughing at Howard by the end, what a clown. Gresham hopeless will be good seeing him out the door at years end. Just shocking.

Sandy have been garbage which along with injuries to guys who would be putting pressure on has made it too easy to just go with the same players.

I watched bit of the Sandy games. We lack mids there as well. We need to have 2 or 3 ready made mids in reserve so that guys like Steele don't play through injury, this is the third season that is unravelling due to injury in the midfield.

Binning guys like Hanners and Dunny without replacing them has left massive holes in the list. Gags was shit at the structural stuff.

Clear as day when need a midfielder

Watch us blow our 1st pick on the spud that is TDK
Imo he’s going to be a good ordinary player and mids should be our number 1 priority. If we blow our 1st on anything else without bringing in a free agent like parish then we just aren’t serious.

Year of exploration
Actually not convinced that is an excuse.

If you heard Ross on SEN one morning last week he said that this team is basically playing to its ceiling. Therefore, he knows what he’s got, and doesn’t have the expectations we do as he knows what we are currently capable of and what it takes.

It’s what he and the list management team do with this knowledge for the future that is crucial. He doesn’t exactly have the chance to improve it this year.

Binning guys like Hanners and Dunny without replacing them has left massive holes in the list. Gags was s**t at the structural stuff.
Hanners and Dunny….come on Gringo?
One couldn’t get a game he was so done, and Dunstan would not have solved a thing.

I watched bit of the Sandy games. We lack mids there as well. We need to have 2 or 3 ready made mids in reserve so that guys like Steele don't play through injury, this is the third season that is unravelling due to injury in the midfield.

Binning guys like Hanners and Dunny without replacing them has left massive holes in the list. Gags was s**t at the structural stuff.
I’d offer a deal to a guy like Lyon from Brisbane, if he’s good enough he plays if not at least you get great back up for two years at a reasonable price. He‘s just one that springs to mind, surely there must be young mids not in favour who would improve our list.

Fragile mentally weak dumb group of footballers. Ended up laughing at Howard by the end, what a clown. Gresham hopeless will be good seeing him out the door at years end. Just shocking.

Actually think it's more a lack of list quality and especially the midfield. I think what this year has shown is that we have a massive issue in the midfield. I think on paper we look a side that sits between 5th and 15th still. We are in a big pack of sides that are all very even and we have been exposed for depth. We were okay when the injuries were outside the midfield but as soon as a mid goes down our season falls over like it does every year. Dumb list management is costing us still. It's only been 20 years I guess so we can't be impatient.

Hanners and Dunny….come on Gringo?
One couldn’t get a game he was so done, and Dunstan would not have solved a thing.

We needed to plan to replace them, no keep them. No midfield depth has cost us finals last year as well. Dunstan would have been able to replace a mid last year when we lost Steele and Gresham we lost games and the season went. No other side has such a small amount of midfield back up. We have Bytel as or only midfield depth option in reserve. To have not seen that coming is damning. Gags was a **** up.

Actually think it's more a lack of list quality and especially the midfield. I think what this year has shown is that we have a massive issue in the midfield. I think on paper we look a side that sits between 5th and 15th still. We are in a big pack of sides that are all very even and we have been exposed for depth. We were okay when the injuries were outside the midfiebut as soon as a mid goes down our season falls over like it does every year. Dumb list management is costing us still. It's only been 20 years I guess so we can't be impatient.
This year hasn't shown anything, we've known our midfield is hopeless for years. Year of exploration my arse.

Actually think it's more a lack of list quality and especially the midfield. I think what this year has shown is that we have a massive issue in the midfield. I think on paper we look a side that sits between 5th and 15th still. We are in a big pack of sides that are all very even and we have been exposed for depth. We were okay when the injuries were outside the midfield but as soon as a mid goes down our season falls over like it does every year. Dumb list management is costing us still. It's only been 20 years I guess so we can't be impatient.
Get this off-season wrong and with Tassie coming in it could be 10 more years down the drain. I’m as nervous about this trade period as I’ve been in ages, I’m not a massive fan of sos or Allen.

We’re still suffering from a decade of bad decision making. Thankfully it looks like we’ve finally got a set of youngsters who look a class above, but until their ready to take over as leaders we’re still going to be seeing these frustrating inconsistent performances and reliance on guys who just don’t quite cut it.

Having Steele so obviously injured really doesn’t help in the midfield department either.

This year hasn't shown anything, we've known our midfield is hopeless for years. Year of exploration my arse.
Well it is for Ross, and 2/3 coaches who haven’t been at the club for those years.
What did you expect him to do walking into the club after trade / draft weeks? They’ve had no say in the list build.

As I said previously, it’s what they do from here on in that counts. They’ve probably extracted as much as they can from what we’ve got so far. Were you expecting 5 on the ladder at this stage of the season? I doubt any one of us was.

Year of working out who isn't up to it sounds more brutal but I think that's closer to the money. We weren't sure if it was coach or list and it's looking more like the list right now. I actually don't think we are that far off if the kids all go up a level. Owens and King are better than anything that we drafting since about 2001. Phillipou looks a gun too. Just need to keep adding the right pieces and we could easily do a Richmond and jump up. Lyon will be instilling the right way to develop into them at least.

Year of exploration

The thing is it’s a bit hard to call it that when the same 22 is brought out every week. Think the papers have already been stamped it’s just a matter of getting the best out of what we’ve got for the year.

Year of working out who isn't up to it sounds more brutal but I think that's closer to the money. We weren't sure if it was coach or list and it's looking more like the list right now. I actually don't think we are that far off if the kids all go up a level. Owens and King are better than anything that we drafting since about 2001. Phillipou looks a gun too. Just need to keep adding the right pieces and we could easily do a Richmond and jump up. Lyon will be instilling the right way to develop into them at least.
You don't think we didn't know who was up to it last year? Every time we lose it's the same group of players responsible.

Get this off-season wrong and with Tassie coming in it could be 10 more years down the drain. I’m as nervous about this trade period as I’ve been in ages, I’m not a massive fan of sos or Allen.

Sos and Gubby are going to make or break us.

You don't think we didn't know who was up to it last year? Every time we lose it's the same group of players responsible.

I don't think that's true. Howard has gone backwards and so has Gresham, both were pretty good last year. So was Seb Ross.

Autopsy Round 14, 2023: Richmond v St.Kilda