Trades Round 14 trades

Anyone know how to get TT and HH, whilst not destroying their team for next week?

Asking for a mate.

conan obrien disguise GIF by Team Coco
I can't see HH being left in defence for the rest of the season. He's being played as a tall utility. Time to stop chasing the white whale folks.

TT, as you've wisely observed, will only be ~$350k after his bye, by which time we'll have a better sense of his role with Simpkin and Greenwood back.

Tho I do suspect he'll continue to get lots of CBAs.

What’s everyone’s thoughts on bringing in Fyfe?
I prefer injury cover players to actually be playing when they're required, so I'm steering clear, personally.

I feel like the "what to do with Sicily" scenario boils down to the following:

If your focus is 'leagues' or you are low on trades - HOLD. Having Sicily return to your side and save you a trade late in the year will be super valuable come SC finals time.

If your focus is leagues and you are missing finals so need wins in the next month to make it - then he is a (considered) trade. You probably can't afford a $650K player not playing when you need wins.

If your focus is overall and you have trades to spare (lol) then it depends (on who you already have). If, like me, you don't have someone like Stewart (uber premo who has had their bye), then consider a trade as 4 weeks out (including the bye) is at least 200 points extra (Stewart 110 ave, rookie 60 average). If you have less than 18 in either of the bye weeks, the points gain leaps even higher (110 extra a week, instead of 50). 200 points (a very conservative estimate) at this stage of the season is the equivalent of upgrading to player with an average 20 points higher, which is worth a trade...except in this case it is a 'downgrade' so instead of costing cash (for the extra 20 points a week) you get cash back ($60K for Stewart, more for others).

(Of course, these thoughts were devised before the appeal was slated for Monday so in some scenarios in may be better to wait and see. I'm not expecting a changed outcome uncfortunately.)

I know I'm thinking ahead but my decision for next week changes my trade plans (currently have J.Cameron in but intend to change)...

I just have F6 left to upgrade....

and my main focus is overall.

Next week I will have less than 18 players...

Do I take Gulden (102 ave) or wait a week and get Butters (111 ave)?

It may seem obvious (that Butters is better) but with the donut included, I get Gulden 10 times (1020 points at current ave) and Butters just 9 (999 points).

alternatively, I can get D. Cameron (only 950 points at current ave) but he will provide ruck cover.

What would you do?

Pre teams dropping, I'm looking at Weddle -> Melican, Cincotta -> Jezza. Would leave me with this:

1686807174649.png

Next week would then be Ford -> Maric, Humpa -> Sinclair, finishing off my team. I really don't love bringing in a KPF and spending $170k on a rook at this time of year, but Melican should have at least half decent JS, and with Geelong getting some cattle back, I feel like Cameron ups his game on the run home.

Other option is Buller and Puke Ryan, but don't love what it does to my bench coverage (lose that Johnson swing), and it doesn't guarantee that I can get Sinclair next week.

Pre teams dropping, I'm looking at Weddle -> Melican, Cincotta -> Jezza. Would leave me with this:

View attachment 1713196

Next week would then be Ford -> Maric, Humpa -> Sinclair, finishing off my team. I really don't love bringing in a KPF and spending $170k on a rook at this time of year, but Melican should have at least half decent JS, and with Geelong getting some cattle back, I feel like Cameron ups his game on the run home.

Other option is Buller and Puke Ryan, but don't love what it does to my bench coverage (lose that Johnson swing), and it doesn't guarantee that I can get Sinclair next week.
I'm wondering about Jezza too..... Decisions decisions.

Copying you is usually a winning strategy 😂

View attachment 1713196

IMG_2407.gif

View attachment 1713196

You are good at this game so I read your opinions with extra attention.

and I had all but ruled out getting Jeremy Cameron in this week. Gun player obviously and really suits me for his price and the fact he has had his bye.

My concerns are a kpf (yo-yo scores and overall lower average generally), 5 sub tons in the last 6 games, a previous career best average of 93 (in 2019, at GWS) and last year's average of 91.

Want to like him (as I have no forwards next week) but struggling to see enough rationale that he will compete points wise with the other forward premo options (Macrae, Butters, etc).

and I had all but ruled out getting Jeremy Cameron in this week. Gun player obviously and really suits me for his price and the fact he has had his bye.

My concerns are a kpf (yo-yo scores and overall lower average generally), 5 sub tons in the last 6 games, a previous career best average of 93 (in 2019, at GWS) and last year's average of 91.

Want to like him (as I have no forwards next week) but struggling to see enough rationale that he will compete points wise with the other forward premo options (Macrae, Butters, etc).
My other concern with Cameron is his scores at GMHBA stadium, which are generally lower than bigger grounds like the MCG.

This year:
106, 87, 80.
91 ave. (7pts down on his average of 98)
Not disastrous by any stretch.

Last year:
85, 46, 114, 93, 117, 60, 85, 76
ave. 84.5 (6.5 down on his overall average of 91)

Cats have 6 games left at GMHBA.

His scores 110+ have come at:
2023: MCG, MCG, AO (against Hawks, Blues and Eagles)
2022: BA, GMHBA, MARV, GMHBA, Metricon (vs North x2, Suns, Dogs, Port)

Mostly beating up on poor sides.
1686810208522.png
8/11 against top 8 sides.

Conversely, he could absolutely turn it on and get Geelong into the top 6....

I'm wondering about Jezza too..... Decisions decisions.

Copying you is usually a winning strategy 😂

Haha, appreciate the endorsements friends!

To be clear, I'm not in love with the idea of bringing in Jezza, it's more situational. Weddle needs to go this week for me to have 18, and to keep pace with the leaders, I want to upgrade Cincotta (who would need to go next week, anyway). With so few trades left due to a wealth of injuries and suspensions, I need to be careful with my bench cover, so that's why I'm leaning towards Melican and opening up the possibility of Johnson covering three lines – I can't really afford to take a swing on an unsighted 102k rook with no DPP (Buller).

Whoever I bring in as an upgrade needs to be playing next week, so it's really out of Cameron and...well that's the problem, not much else.

With Geelong fighting for a top-four spot, I reckon he can go around ~95 on the way home. His stats are up across the board this year with the way he's moving up the ground, so I think he definitely can maintain a higher average than we've seen previously. If it comes with a combination of 50s and 150s, I'm just going to have to ride that wave I think.

Obviously, it's a big step down from a Butters type; however, he's not a realistic target for me unfortunately.

TL;DR: don't pick Cameron because I am, but if your individual situation calls for it, you could do worse.

To be clear, I'm not in love with the idea of bringing in Jezza, it's more situational. Weddle needs to go this week for me to have 18, and to keep pace with the leaders, I want to upgrade Cincotta (who would need to go next week, anyway). With so few trades left due to a wealth of injuries and suspensions, I need to be careful with my bench cover, so that's why I'm leaning towards Melican and opening up the possibility of Johnson covering three lines – I can't really afford to take a swing on an unsighted 102k rook with no DPP (Buller).

Whoever I bring in as an upgrade needs to be playing next week, so it's really out of Cameron and...well that's the problem, not much else.

With Geelong fighting for a top-four spot, I reckon he can go around ~95 on the way home. His stats are up across the board this year with the way he's moving up the ground, so I think he definitely can maintain a higher average than we've seen previously. If it comes with a combination of 50s and 150s, I'm just going to have to ride that wave I think.

Obviously, it's a big step down from a Butters type; however, he's not a realistic target for me unfortunately.

TL;DR: don't pick Cameron because I am, but if your individual situation calls for it, you could do worse.
Count Me In Rick And Morty GIF

1686810360737.png
11 trades, 15k in the bank and 1 boost.

Team as it stands (ignoring the bye)

1 DEF upgrade, 1 MID, 2 FWD required. Fair way behind some of the teams floating around here and makes sense why I am sitting ~12k.

17 this week prior to trades. Next week 18 pre trades, but only Dunkley and Smitch/JVR down forward.

I had been looking at Sinclair all week, but it might be better to get a FWD premo in this week, however:
Gulden - Wait till he drops $
DCameron - BYE
JCameron - post above
Macrae - Bye next week
Butters - Bye next week

Current plan
JVR - Buller/Maric
Weddle - Sinclair

Next week
Wilmot, Ford, Briggs all options to trade out.

Briggs will be a straight swap to DCameron

Any other ideas?

What am I missing here? How is a non-DPP player covering 3 lines?

Scenarios:
  • A mid misses, Johnson obviously covers
  • A forward misses, I swing Taranto into the forward line via Roberts DPP, Johnson comes on to field
  • A ruck misses, Cameron swings into rucks, Taranto swings forward, Johnson comes on field

View attachment 1713235
11 trades, 15k in the bank and 1 boost.

Team as it stands (ignoring the bye)

1 DEF upgrade, 1 MID, 2 FWD required. Fair way behind some of the teams floating around here and makes sense why I am sitting ~12k.

17 this week prior to trades. Next week 18 pre trades, but only Dunkley and Smitch/JVR down forward.

I had been looking at Sinclair all week, but it might be better to get a FWD premo in this week, however:
Gulden - Wait till he drops $
DCameron - BYE
JCameron - post above
Macrae - Bye next week
Butters - Bye next week

Current plan
JVR - Buller/Maric
Weddle - Sinclair

Next week
Wilmot, Ford, Briggs all options to trade out.

Any other ideas?
I think Sinclair makes the most sense if your only other options that are playing the next two weeks are Jez and Gulden with a high BE.

Sinclair's pretty rock solid (hence why I'm set on grabbing him next week).

Can't imagine Buller has great JS when they have McLean, McDonald, Amartey and Buddy. If you can field 18 this week and need to pick one, I'd go Maric personally

I think Sinclair makes the most sense if your only other options that are playing the next two weeks are Jez and Gulden with a high BE.

Sinclair's pretty rock solid (hence why I'm set on grabbing him next week).

Can't imagine Buller has great JS when they have McLean, McDonald, Amartey and Buddy. If you can field 18 this week and need to pick one, I'd go Maric personally
Assuming everyone is picked this week that has been playing, Weddle & JVR to Maric and Sinclair will give me the bare 18.

I could complete my mids this week with a Warner/NAnderson. Feel like Sinclair is safer play, particularly with a few mids like LDU, Mills and Walsh to target post byes.

Buller would give me 19 but realistically, his score is probably not going to count and as you said they have a fair few to come back in.

Who goes first - Smitch (44 BE) or JVR (19 BE)?

I will hold Wilmot over Weddle purely due to him playing this week

Assuming everyone is picked this week that has been playing, Weddle & JVR to Maric and Sinclair will give me the bare 18.

Buller would give me 19 but realistically, his score is probably not going to count and as you said they have a fair few to come back in.

Who goes first - Smitch (44 BE) or JVR (19 BE)?

I will hold Wilmot over Weddle purely due to him playing this week
I’m hoping to keep JVR and Seamus to try and help the round 15 fwd line. I haven’t worked out how I’m swinging Seamus forward yet though.

I think I have to trade 2 of Weddle, JVR and Smitch.

All my other possible rookies to cull are playing this week, or a lot more cash to generate. I need warm bodies this week.

Weddle out makes most sense since he is DEF which I will have heaps of cover next week.

Then its JVR or Smith. Both sit forwrad for me atm

Trades Round 14 trades