Autopsy Round 15 - North Melbourne d Geelong by 41 points

What annoys me about the Selwood tackle, is that Ling says it is not a good look for the game. So letting his arm go so he can
get the ball free to a team mate is?

It was in the tackle, he had an arm. Holding it meant the ball would not come out.

The comparison to a Judd, where Judd wasn't part of the tackle, came up to a defenseless player and pulled his arm into a
bad position is no way near this. Ling should have been more negative on the use of the comparison.

Selwood could not have seen that the ball was lost from underneath the Norf guy, and the Roo who pushed him did the same effective thing as a tag-team wrestler would do when tagged in, he exacerbated the forces in the tackle anyway.

Sorry Selwood knew exactly what he was doing, doesnt take any respect away from him however, just look at Sam Mitchell and was glad Blitz sat the North guy on his arse straight away, that came in on Selwood about time players back the captain.

Just looked at the chicken wing incident. It's nothing like Judd's incident. For one thing Judd didn't actually tackle the player, once another player had brought Adams to ground, Judd then grabbed Adam's arm and While Selwood's "chicken wing was a part of a tackle that was a single action. He grabbed them arm when he executed the tackle.

Yep, I really like Stokes, he has been a great player and person for the club. Has shown that everyone can make it with a great work ethic. Sadly
I think the time is nigh. Likewise a few others, I'm thinking Kelly may just hang up the boots as he has been more injured this year than most
it would be hard getting back up again. I would have thought he'd have taken a few jabs last night to get back out there.
Kelly finished the game. Both incidents were similar. It appears to be a tactic now of some players kneeing their opponent in the back of the leg to bring them down in a tackle. I can't recall how many times I've seen a players leg twist like that in a tackle but I think both of Kelly's and also Jimmy's were similar-looking incidents.

One thing that has annoyed me all season is that it seems whenever we do kick long to Hawkins, he is nearly always up against 3 or 4 opponents, which begs two questions:

- Where are our spare players?
- Why don't we do something less predictable and hit these targets up once in a while?

You post like someone trying to be honest, yet all Lingy is doing is saying exactly as it is. Better get used to it. Doesn't matter who is in the media from our team, you'll hate them if they tell the truth.
Too right. When Carey and King have a crack at North, I have to remind myself that they are employed to be honest, not make us supporters feel better.

Quite sure Swallow did a similar act but let go quickly once he knew, only problem for Selsy he hung on too long, and given our luck with MRP over last 3-4 years will be 1-2 week layoff, but thats ok the break this year will do him the world of good

One thing that has annoyed me all season is that it seems whenever we do kick long to Hawkins, he is nearly always up against 3 or 4 opponents, which begs two questions:

- Why don't we do something less predictable and hit these targets up once in a while?
I think that's why Hawkins has roamed up the ground a little further, winty. Maybe it's an attempt to shake the shackles of an opponent?

What a deflating performance
I know Scott claims the effort is there but missed tackles , umpire bickering and a zone you could drive a Kenworth thru says otherwise
Our midfield is ordinary and unless Caddy and Guthrie play blinders we don't get enough ball to threaten. The defense was very average last night - have Lonergan , Taylor and Rivers played collectively worse?

We look cooked this season so it's time to manage the veterans and get games into our future.
We still might lose but we will be building for the future . If we don't do it now next season will be even more painful

Another disappointing game obviously.

We were losing earlier in the year because we just weren't good enough; right now we are losing not only because we are not good enough, but also because we are playing lazy, selfish and dumb football. Far too many players out there last night were just unprepared to defend. Not sure whether it is all about effort because it also seems to be just poor football sense. The number of times some of our players got caught ball watching was embarrassing. But it was often senior guys getting caught out as much as the younger players, so it's hard to say why things are as bad as they are.

I hope the young players are learning and developing out there, and this is just the natural slump we need to go through in order to get better. What I do know is that it is a worry Bartel gets 41 after 10 weeks out or whatever. The inability of our mids to win enough ball is constantly a problem, and we won't get better until it is fixed - whether via trade or development.

Can we also stop giving away so many free kicks? Urgh.

Two other players worth mentioning:

Motlop: Love him but seems to play his best football in a good side. At this point, it wouldn't devastate me if we lost him.
Hawkins: Being wasted at the moment. I watched him closely last night and he is trying his guts out. Unfortunately the delivery from our midfield is atrocious and almost never favours him. Sad to watch.

Time for patience I suppose. It could be a long end to the season...

Fully agree with Caddy being an outside player, playing inside. He totally is. Could be a really damaging outside player.
We have 3 inside players on our list which we haven't played this year.
Injury and form have a bit do with that though.

Caddy doesn't have the skills or decision making to be an outside player.

He is an average inside player who has some useful attributes (overhead marking, strength and ability to break through some tackles)

Certainly agree re Taylor. Can't understand how you get that reading out of Scott's press conference. He seemed quite honest and quite realistic about how we are going. e.g. not very well!

Yeah, fair that. Posted before seeing the presser, but was based off all the previous ones. Apologies :)

Glad that CS can finally acknowledge our poor footy rather than suggest our talent is already a given.

Been saying similar for a few games now, but Tom doesn't help himself by wanting to stay and wrestle with his opponent instead of lead.

Now is that a by product of having players playing in the hole in front of him or has he done like Cloke has and brought into the belief that he can out muscle any opponent?

I'm not sure but as you say if it is because of a loose man playing infront of him we must start playing through the free man for as it sits what we are doing is wasting our forward entries and allowing teams to rebound on us freely

Geelong has had a terrific run - but the premiership window is now nailed shut for the next 4-5 years minimum

Geelong really only have one option - the same option it had in the late 90s early 2000s a Total Rebuild - no more free agents - just keep going to the draft and recruit youth

The problem with Geelong at the moment - is by and large its got alot of ordinary players - the ones who have got any talent are way past their prime

A few examples - Caddy is an ordinary player - i think he is playing rugby league at times - Thurlow is average - got beaten countless times by his young N Melb opponent - Walker is a battler - Simpson - the list is endless - Geelong at the moment is littered with ordinary players

At the end of the year - they have to cull the veterans who they think have had it - get rid of the half crippled broken down ones who have clogged the list for the past 3-4 years

Im not complaining because the club delivered with the flags - but the next 4-5 years are going to be very bleak - i would say unless they draft well then a Wooden Spoon - the 1st one since 58 will be coming our way

What annoys me about the Selwood tackle, is that Ling says it is not a good look for the game. So letting his arm go so he can
get the ball free to a team mate is?

It was in the tackle, he had an arm. Holding it meant the ball would not come out.

The comparison to a Judd, where Judd wasn't part of the tackle, came up to a defenseless player and pulled his arm into a
bad position is no way near this. Ling should have been more negative on the use of the comparison.
And the whole incident and likelihood of injury to the Norf player was greatly exacerbated by the other Norf play who came in and shove Selwood which then had the effect of amplifying the torque effect of Selwood's arm lock.

Just looked at the chicken wing incident. It's nothing like Judd's incident. For one thing Judd didn't actually tackle the player, once another player had brought Adams to ground, Judd then grabbed Adam's arm and While Selwood's "chicken wing was a part of a tackle that was a single action. He grabbed them arm when he executed the tackle.

If they want something more comparable to the Judd chicken wing then the MRP should look at Swallow's (?) chicken wing effort on Walker.

Yeah, fair that. Posted before seeing the presser, but was based off all the previous ones. Apologies :)

Glad that CS can finally acknowledge our poor footy rather than suggest our talent is already a given.
No worries and as you say, about time-the 'our best is good enough' was never a good line. He, along with us, is on a steep learning curve!
He is having to evolve from a brash, successful footballer, to a considered coach of a struggling team. Not an easy journey. Let's hope he is up to it.

I'm not sure but as you say if it is because of a loose man playing infront of him we must start playing through the free man for as it sits what we are doing is wasting our forward entries and allowing teams to rebound on us freely

I watched this fairly closely last night. Hawk does get in the lead but he is rewarded probably 25% of the time. We either don't kick it to him or just fail to execute.

As for the loose man, the problem is we can't play through our free man because he is positioned in our defensive 50. Usually this works for us but last night it was a disaster. I agree generally though, our delivery into the forward 50 right now looks to be without a strategy.

When the Norf player ran up and pushed Joel off, I actually thought it was a pretty dumb move. He pushed Joel in the direction that would've created the most pain for his team mate. That action could've caused an arm to be broken, not how Joel was holding him.

You can add Ricciardo's shit F1 season due to the piece of shite Renault engine as well. Very depressing sports results :/

Funny how it coincides with Newey no longer at each race as well….:(

Go Catters

watching Johnson run up behind Walker and demand the football be hand passed off so he can snap the goal himself typifies our clubs frame of mind. Too many blokes playing for themselves.
He cursed at Walker when he chose to back himself in as well.

Don't like watching that kind of shit. Especially when it's Johnson cursing a teammate for not giving him the ball. He often goes for the impossible before trying to do the unselfish thing and square it up first.

Autopsy Round 15 - North Melbourne d Geelong by 41 points