Review Round 16, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Western Bulldogs

Who were your five best players against the Western Bulldogs?

I mentioned last week about our predictable back line ball movement with Rich in the team. This week we got to have a look at the team without him and what a difference.
I fear he may be the new Birchall when he returns from injury. I love loyalty but not at the expense of the team performance. He has lost his edge. We can’t beat top 8 teams with a slow game style. It does our forwards no favors. We need fast entry to leading forwards to mark or create chances for the smalls.
I would like to see Louhman, Prior, Madden and Fort get a run next week. Rest McStay and Zorko.
Who louhman? I’m guessing you mean Lohmann.

Funny that a guy who was all Australian last years already being retired by some.

It's a rough tough game and sometimes umpires will cop contact. Hipwood was pushing away a defender that was trying to block his path.......He got shoved and he cannoned into the ump.

Play on!
Umpire shouldn’t have been near them. What next? Umpires getting in the middle of packs? Flying for speckies? Puss off out of the way (affects Kiwi accent).

Big shoutout to Answerth as well. I’ve been critical of him but he put his body on the line multiple times last night and was generally excellent.
yes he did. During the week some posters were calling for him, payne, Andrews etc to be dropped. The team responded how I thought they would, and Kiddy, Berry and Prior were very good. Dogs did however have a couple of big outs.

Prior also adds a bit of fire, always getting into oppo, but his play backs it up. Reckon he is auditioning for the Robbo role, I just like him. Tough, strong over head, big boot, works hard, no fear. We need his type.
agree, i thought Prior's game against Hawthorne was really good and I know a few other posters also believed that. Agree with the traits you have mentioned about his game. Hope he stays in the team

Would love to see Pryor and Tunstill own those wings, so that Berry can play inside more. Ah Chee looked solid rotating on the wing and defence, a handy player when he is on. Think his decision making has been solid of recent.

I don't see Matho (Career 8 CP, 3 CL) as the answer to Lyons (Round 16 9 CP, 6 CL). I think the answer is Berry or that he finds some form.

Excited to see Rich back with Coleman used more. We've looked predictable out of defence against top teams so adding another go-to option should be nice. Answerth solid too, strong runner and he used it to his advantage.

I'm feeling positive but will keep the lid on until we win at the MCG.

Love Matho but he just doesn't cut it at AFL level, at least not here. One of the lower teams he might get a go like Keays did

We also need to settle on Payne, Adams and Andrews for our defensive talls. Payne definitely helps Andrews play with more freedom to zone off. He has other good attributes like good field kick, pace etc. Some of the kicks Payne took last night lowering his eyes, no disrespect but I don't think Gardiner could do those.
Gardiner should be competing with Answerth for the small defender spot going forward. They both bring the same qualities and have similar limitations.
A post from a BF poster when the team to play the Dogs was released last Wednesday evening;

Fagan seems to think that the best place for Lester is as an emergency. Well this is an EMERGENCY - Andrew’s is out of form, Adams is a disaster with the ball in hand, Payne panics and Answerth butchers it by foot. Our defence leaks goals at the best of times, but we just got done by ten goals. Ringing any bells Chris? Think it might be worth making some changes in defence? What do you think Fages? More mulligans perhaps? Think it might get better by magic? Time to wake up

So who shall we drop? Payne after his last two performances against strong opposition (both GF teams from last year), Andrews, Adams or perhaps Answerth (arguably had his best game), so we can find a spot for Lester. We have to attempt to find a spot for Gardiner well before Lester.

And our emergency (med sub) Prior had a really good game.

Didn’t slip to 34 on the night, was a pretty big bolter to 34 and caught us off guard if I remember correctly.

It was a weird moment because no one was expected to bid on him (he missed his draft year in 2018 then played the whole year for our NEAFL team, with no games for the allies at all in 2019), but also if you watched even a tiny bit of NEAFL you could see he had more than enough talent to be an AFL player.

Might be my current favourite player.

A post from a BF poster when the team to play the Dogs was released last Wednesday evening;

Fagan seems to think that the best place for Lester is as an emergency. Well this is an EMERGENCY - Andrew’s is out of form, Adams is a disaster with the ball in hand, Payne panics and Answerth butchers it by foot. Our defence leaks goals at the best of times, but we just got done by ten goals. Ringing any bells Chris? Think it might be worth making some changes in defence? What do you think Fages? More mulligans perhaps? Think it might get better by magic? Time to wake up

So who shall we drop? Payne after his last two performances against strong opposition (both GF teams from last year), Andrews, Adams or perhaps Answerth (arguably had his best game), so we can find a spot for Lester. We have to attempt to find a spot for Gardiner well before Lester.

Fages - The Sleepy Wizard

It was a weird moment because no one was expected to bid on him (he missed his draft year in 2018 then played the whole year for our NEAFL team, with no games for the allies at all in 2019), but also if you watched even a tiny bit of NEAFL you could see he had more than enough talent to be an AFL player.

He is such a great player. Turns up all over the ground and delivers the ball with precision.

All aboard the Coleman train toot toot!

Umpire shouldn’t have been near them. What next? Umpires getting in the middle of packs? Flying for speckies? Puss off out of the way (affects Kiwi accent).
Don't like Hippys chances of ever getting a free for the next couple of years.....unless this particular ump is not popular amongst his peers.

The whole thing is a beat up non event.

As if a cleanskin like Hipwood or anyone really would shove a player into an umpire.

Cue the Benny Gill music . Just something for the media to talk about for a couple of days.

Besides everyone knows Christian is just a dumb toadie.
Agree 100%.
I also believe if there was 2-3 games on instead of just the 1, there would have been much more news around for these fine young commentators & journo's to talk about. Instead, just the 1 game so lets beat up this story to make ourselves relevant.

Why do we have to drop anyone? The thing is, plenty on here scream about making changes but if players like Payne keep playing good footy like has has the last 2 days, you don't just bring in Gardner/Lester because they are fit to play. It's now Paynies spot and its his now unless his performances fade away. Good on him for grabbing his opportunity when it came.

Lester’s a weird hill to die on as well. Great clubman but comfortably sits outside our best 22 and should only play if we have injuries.

Really hope the AFL aren't ignoring their own rules and guidelines in deference to a media witchhunt.

View attachment 1437232
If the rule book states that he could receive a fixed financial sanction then whether he has been sent to the tribunal or not, I can’t see how he can get anything other than a fixed financial sanction.
Until such times as they change the rule book.

This isn't meant to blow my own bag because I'm not hot on picking players but I said to my mate after I'd seen him play the first time that this guy was going to be a star. He was weaving through traffic as if it wasn't there. IIRC he started to get some attention a few games prior to the draft . I reckon we were trying to keep it quiet and were hoping there wouldn't be a bid on him but were ready to pounce if there was.

Yeah, in his 2019 season he took a huge step and you could see AFL level talent written all over him. We were very lucky there were enough ?? To let him slip to 34.

This isn't meant to blow my own bag because I'm not hot on picking players but I said to my mate after I'd seen him play the first time that this guy was going to be a star. He was weaving through traffic as if it wasn't there. IIRC he started to get some attention a few games prior to the draft . I reckon we were trying to keep it quiet and were hoping there wouldn't be a bid on him but were ready to pounce if there was.

I think that there is a skill in managing the academy to get a good fix on the real skill level of players but not overexposing them too much in their draft year unnecessarily. I know someone who worked closely with the Swans Academy for a while and it was very much their strategy - make the other clubs do their own hard work to follow the Swans’ academy players, don’t gift the knowledge to them. The exceptions were the few genuine top level draft candidates which were too hard to hide away.

I think we had Kiddy ticked off as a potential draftee and then used his last year before the draft to shuffle him around the field a bit. I recall him playing forward a bit and perhaps on a wing.

I think that there is a skill in managing the academy to get a good fix on the real skill level of players but not overexposing them too much in their draft year unnecessarily. I know someone who worked closely with the Swans Academy for a while and it was very much their strategy - make the other clubs do their own hard work to follow the Swans’ academy players, don’t gift the knowledge to them. The exceptions were the few genuine top level draft candidates which were too hard to hide away.

I think we had Kiddy ticked off as a potential draftee and then used his last year before the draft to shuffle him around the field a bit. I recall him playing forward a bit and perhaps on a wing.
Someone like Shadaeu Brain this year, who the club like but don’t have access to as academy because he moved out of the zone for a while.
Be nice to hide him away so he doesn’t get noticed too much as we will only have late picks to use on him. After matching bids for Ashcroft and Fletcher.

Are you thinking what I'm thinking? Boycott games until Fagan is forced to pick Lester?

Review Round 16, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Western Bulldogs