Autopsy Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*

The modern game is built around systems, and right now, our midfield is void of any kind of system of play defensively and offensively. Not sure what Lenny is contributing, but it is broken.

Getting Lenny and Harves back as assistant coaches was a great feel good story with two legends returning to the club but I'm not sure they were the right choices as assistant coaches.

The problem with hiring club legends as coaches is that it's hard to sack them if they aren't up to it and replacing them with better assistant coaches.

I know Ross wanted to get McQualter as an assistant coach but he knocked us back, he would have been a great get but I doubt we will get him now.

There is a pretty good chance McQualter will be appointed full time as the senior coach at Richmond now given how well they are playing under him.

A few thoughts on the game. I thought the issue was more execution than anything. Our inability to make the most of simple goal-scoring scenarios is really killing us. Our entries into the forward line are so predictable and poor. Sharman was actually doing a good job finding some separation from his man but we couldn't get it to him. Our skills and decision making are terrible.

Hill has had a good season but it just felt like he was trying to do too much today and make so much happen. His turnovers were absolutely soul-destroying. We need to get back to being a systems-based team, we seem like a pack of individuals at the moment all just doing their own thing.

I thought Crouch was really bad today. I may have a terrible read on that but his skills and execution inside just seemed average as to me and if he's the one holding out Bytel then maybe it is time to drop him and have a look at what Jack can do.

When you look at our forward line quite frankly it looks shit on paper, so maybe it's no surprise that we are such an horrendous offensive side but more than anything it just seems like the good vibes of earlier in the year are gone. Mason Wood for example looked like one of the best marks in the comp, now he's constantly spilling them. Butler can't seem to get into games.

It's interesting that Ross mentioned Flanders in his press conference. Makes me think we must be looking at him as I imagine he usually wouldn't know him from a bar of soap.

We need to find a way to play some better footy over the next two months. I've given up on finals now they're long gone and too many sides are playing better than us, but we at least need to see something in a footy sense that can give us some hope that we can find a way to kick scores going forward. Right now we are putrid to watch, and many fans will be switching off and definitely not going to the games. It's such a bummer not to play finals but more than anything we need to find out why we go to shit every single season.

If Sharman is considered part of the future then I'd say we are stuffed. Average footballer, GC gave him way too much latitude.
Aren't you the same bloke who told us last week to trade King? So who is going to play Key Forward for us?

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Ross wants more youth.

They are perfectly Happy letting go some of the core. Some who would cause people on here to self combust.

The other issue is the list has a horrible build in terms of personnel. Lack of rucks and KPP + genuine mids
So does that mean we go backwards again next year ?

Name em. I need some erotica tonight.
What for?

I name them and people go down a rabbit hole of negative thinking and going on about rebuilds etc.

In short.

Ross wants to get younger. Wants more Size and athleticism. Wants players that are longer kicks.

The core is going to be built around King Nas Higgins Windy Pou etc

The likes of Sinclair and Steele are expected to be apart of it. But they are no longer the designated group the list will be built around. Which is what Ratten and Gallagher were selling to the board.

There is a longer term vision here.

Ross absolutely loves this club. If he finishes his second stint and we don’t make a granny - he won’t give a ****, as long as it’s ready to go for one of his assistants to takeover and have a king and substantial crack at it

Bottom 4 by who David King ?

We sacked a coach because we missed finals and he wasn’t getting the best out of our list

If we miss finals Basset and board should step down
Best out of our list? I dont think our list is up to much-was the game today-so many fumbles missed handballs -handballs at feet -kicking ordinary and our foward craft non -existant the times they kicked it high and slow into the fwd 50 seriously mind numbing-our midfied pedestrian at best-people talk about speed-but it is also about decision making-one grab play and natural footy smarts -I reckon Dougal is on thin ice he was horrible-Gresh has lost at least a yard of pace. best game for us by Windhager -Wangeen Milera easily our cleanest player-Peris tried hard and has speed to burn-and Sharman needs persevering with, can lead can Mark and can kick straight for goal-Also Witts a very good ruckman-quite freeing for me really as i thought we were much better than we actually are-not expecting from here on in-Ross alluded to that fact

We had more talent out there than we showed today, we had a similar team playing better football earlier in the season but we have dropped off again.

Fitness, strength and durability seem to be constant issues for us in recent years, even more of an issue for us than talent.

Why do we keep dropping off as the season goes on and why do we keep losing so many players to injury compared to other teams?

You can understand it with some of our younger players but our older experienced players keep dropping off and getting injured too.

Other teams players look much stronger and more durable than our players while some of our players look like they haven't even set foot inside a gym.

It's not just physical strength either, it's mental strength too, we are both physically weak as well as mentally weak and it shows at this time of year.
X2

it's a compounding problem.

Too many injuries, means by midyear we have no-one to come in so an injured player can be rested, hello Jack Steele, which means they suffer more from a lack durability hello Seb Ross, which means more pressure on the kids who can't be given a rest to catch form in the VFL, hello Pou. Guys that are already running on fumes haven't got it in them to push harder.

Injuries that are understandable, are joint injuries, impact injuries. Injuries that are unacceptable, soft tissue, stress fractures, guys coming back from operations that have them it's unforgivable.

End result get rid of the fitness guy, unfortunately we won't see any improvement until next season if we get the next fitness guy wrong we won't improve.

I think we're paying the price for misreading the list in 2019, by mid 2019 everyone was sure that Richo was the problem and thus Ratts coached the last three games and said that anyone that couldn't run and kick wouldn't get a game, someone at the top in the club obviously thought we were close all we needed to do was add some pixie dust and......... We drafted, Byrnes and Connolly and picked up Ryan Abbott as a delisted free. We traded for Hill, Howard, Rider, Jones and Butler. We then doubled own in 2020 with Crouch and Higgins, grabbed Frawley and McKernan on frees, drafted Allison and Highmore, Mason Wood as a preseason supplemental, midseason, max Heath and Cooper Sharman. With 20/20 hindsight they were wrong, we weren't that good. Nor were the players we brought in the answer, the best was Rider and he was crocked, Wood the next best then Higgens, hardly a record to be proud of.

Ok we rolled the dice we took a chance, we got it wrong.

So now we need a reset.

We absolutely need a better fitness regime.

We need a better midfield.

I suspect we are another two years away from being a finals team, at very best if (and it's a bloody big IF) we get the drafts and trading right. SOS and Gubby better earn their pay packets.

One thing for sure we have 3 to 4 months off at the end of the year every player, regardless of injury or age can work on their skills in that time.

What for?

I name them and people go down a rabbit hole of negative thinking and going on about rebuilds etc.

In short.

Ross wants to get younger. Wants more Size and athleticism. Wants players that are longer kicks.

The likes of Sinclair and Steele are expected to be apart of it. But they are no longer the designated group the list will be built around. Which is what Ratten and Gallagher were selling to the board.

Ross absolutely loves this club. If he finishes his second stint and we don’t make a granny - he won’t give a *, as long as it’s ready to go for one of his assistants to takeover and have a king and substantial crack at it
RL is there because of big money, don't get sucked in by the hype

If Sharman is considered part of the future then I'd say we are stuffed. Average footballer, GC gave him way too much latitude.
Not scared to double down ( treble down) I’ll give you that 🤣

Ross has been a bit full of it I feel. Year of exploration. After our start he was all about making finals.

It's time to actually pull the trigger, as he should have done ages ago.

Owens and Windy need to play midfield every week. Windy looks significantly better there than down back today.

Sharman as a leading, marking forward.

Clark stays and plays midfield.

Get games into Pou and Hammer.

Ross was a successful coach when he wasn't all peaches and cream. Tired of the clown act.

I don't know why Robert Harvey is our forwards coach.

FMD Hill was a nightmare today.

Thought Clark was better than our other mids when he came on.

All in all we were a bunch of headless chooks. Appalling ball use and decision making. Howard is a Joke. Gresh is a shocking ball user who looks like he goes hard at it for a quarter.

We are a dumb, dumb football side that once again looks really poorly coached.
well said

What for?

In short.

Ross absolutely loves this club. If he finishes his second stint and we don’t make a granny - he won’t give a *, as long as it’s ready to go for one of his assistants to takeover and have a king and substantial crack at it
Well that's Gresham gone.

If we cut the core and bring youth I would have us going backwards
I think we have been carried by kids.

Let down by the likes of Howard Gresham and our midfield.

Got hardly any onfield value out of Membrey and King.

I have us with a lot of upside.

I think Harvs and Lenny have given us nothing as midfield and forward coaches- we have gone backwards. Lyon should make a big call and move them on. Sad that our captain is almost invisible, and our best player in Sinclair is falling away and is playing like a millionaire. Not sure if bringing Hayes in will solve anything- he is not a midfielder. Our midfield look like country footy players trotting along while the Suns midfield just blew them off the ground with pace. If we though Lyon's strength was a defensive coach, then that has been shot out of the water- one of the worse defensive efforts I have seen for quite a few years.
Our FWD craft is non-existant

What for?

In short.

Good post mate

Always one clown with the laughing emoji

hell no, I was watching the train wreck from the comfort of my safe room.
Good. Stay there because you are talking crap. If you were sat near me inside forward 50 and you watched our players movement and you had an opinion I'd listen and respect it. From a 2 dimensional wing camera angle you have absolutely no idea on off the ball movement. You can't no matter how you justify yourself.

I yelled out for Hammer to move and lead when we were going down the grandstand end in q2 and q4. Sharman was always on the move.

One of the upsides of being so crap on ball today was that I held my vision on both our F50 and D50 play than I would usually. I've got a very firm opinion on who played well and who didn't.

As I said clickbait trolling or worse, you like proving that you have no idea.

Autopsy Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*