Autopsy Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*

The coach was sacked for a reason

Ok so if the coach was sacked for a reason was it purely he

A. Was shit
B. Couldn't get the best out of the team
C. He should have made finals last year

If it even remotely relates to C then the powers that be expected more out of this group.

They had an expectation of finals last year and thus it would be easy to assume that finals should be in our grasp this year. Especially with a more seasoned and 'successful' coach.

We've been told repeatedly that this change was going to set the bar for expected standards both on and off field.
All I've seen over the last 3 months is the same attitude held by the club and especially its senior players. Plenty of mulligans given.

What have we found out about the list that we didn't know last year?

What did we need Ross to show us that we didn't see? It's pretty obvious to me. We have a decent list but not great. We could maybe win a final but need more talent to push into the top four and really challenge.
I’ve found out they’re still a bunch of heartless ****wits

Ross has been a bit full of it I feel. Year of exploration. After our start he was all about making finals.

It's time to actually pull the trigger, as he should have done ages ago.

Owens and Windy need to play midfield every week. Windy looks significantly better there than down back today.

Sharman as a leading, marking forward.

Clark stays and plays midfield.

Get games into Pou and Hammer.

Ross was a successful coach when he wasn't all peaches and cream. Tired of the clown act.

I don't know why Robert Harvey is our forwards coach.

FMD Hill was a nightmare today.

Thought Clark was better than our other mids when he came on.

All in all we were a bunch of headless chooks. Appalling ball use and decision making. Howard is a Joke. Gresh is a shocking ball user who looks like he goes hard at it for a quarter.

We are a dumb, dumb football side that once again looks really poorly coached.

Rory atkins is a gronk

What a pathetic game.

This team is mentally rooted and will never do anything of note until we remove the shithouse midfield.

Drop Steele, Drop Hill and Drop Gresham.

Nothing has changed in 10 years. All the armchair know nothings in here have been calling for midfield pace forever but all wise footy club has head in sand.

I said Ross would provide us clarity on our list which is exactly what we needed and I had no expectations of finals this year. I Infact said he had a clean slate in my eyes.

He has developed 2 potential superstars in Nas and Owens with Pou looking likely.
He has ploughed games into Caminiti and the above and found a likely type in stocker.

He is doing everything I thought he would do with a list that had a lot of these “????”against each name

at best we have 6-8 players capable of standing up in the final minutes of a GF, the elephant in the room is how poor our list is, our early results the past couple of seasons have been off the back of good form patches of a few torch bearers but once their flame goes out or we have a few injuries our fragile list is fully exposed.

If Lyon was given the mandate to rebuild then it would give him more credibility if he came out and was honest and started telling us what his magic trick is for doing what no other coach has been able to do at our club and that is build a flag capable team. Have always felt he's a great coach but he's as useless as **** on a bull if he does't have a plan to attract the right players to our club.

He also has the unenviable record of failing at rebuilding a list at Freo and only had a winning percentage of 33% which ironically was exactly the same as Richo's.

Trade time can't come quick enough so we can get an insight into what his plans are.

Ross has been a bit full of it I feel. Year of exploration. After our start he was all about making finals.

Owens and Windy need to play midfield every week. Windy looks significantly better there than down back today.

Ross was a successful coach when he wasn't all peaches and cream. Tired of the clown act.

All in all we were a bunch of headless chooks. Appalling ball use and decision making. Howard is a Joke. Gresh is a shocking ball user who looks like he goes hard at it for a quarter.

Look at least he doesn't throw a key defender forward when all hope is lost. See, we are improving 😁

I expected to play finals
We missed by one game last year and apparently have a much better coach and coaching group this year

I don't see how people can't see that we would have had that expectation based on why we got rid of Ratten.
We were told we wanted to be relevant and make finals.
I'm going to be pissed if the same thing happens. Probably more so this time around.

Our midfield is putrid we need windhager, Clark, owens and bytel running thru there the rest of the year, the sooner we get rid of the hacks the better

I wouldn't count on Bytel getting another game for us, if Ross saw him as part of our future he would be getting games now.

lock Tristan xerri in for 70 hit outs 42 contested possessions 20 clearances and 6 goals 8 next week

North might bring back Cunnington next week, he used to kill us in the midfield and even as cooked as he is he will probably still run rings around us.

It would be a nice farewell game for him to go out on a high with a BOG performance against us.

Not sure we are in the same cycle. I think Lyon is a realist and if the side isn't good enough he'll make a call on it still. The last 2 coaches were playing to keep their jobs so tried nothing that would pay off in 4+ years. Lyon has the keys to the city and is allowed to make big calls. I think he'll lop the dead branches off at a minimum. There are lots of players that are never taking us forward.
Absolutely spot on! This where we are at, hopefully where we are going and where we need to get to!

Based on the last 3 months I'm not sure that wasn't the case. Look I could be wrong but our senior players are doing exactly the same as last year.
Ratts is gone.
But has Ross gotten more out of more experienced players?
Agree 💯

But that is what the club said we are better then what Ratts was getting out of them

Seriously underwhelming leadership group that lack mental toughness

I expected to play finals
We missed by one game last year and apparently have a much better coach and coaching group this year
I share your frustration but really believe the training standards and coaching group has improved. The problem (other than an ordinary list and a bad run with injuries) is that the opposition are continually improving - I really believe if we had stayed with Ratts the results this year would have been far worse.

Agree 💯

But that is what the club said we are better then what Ratts was getting out of them

Seriously underwhelming leadership group that lack mental toughness

Steele looks a shadow of himself. Is it purely the injuries being carried?

Did the supposed comment about Captains to him not go the way it was hoped?

Whatever it is I hope it can be turned around.

All this talk about cutting deep into the list at the end of the year. Who are we actually cutting? Which players who played today are out of contract?

Maybe we have overperformed??
So you think players are going to come to club if we keep missing finals?
No I don’t. But what has that got to do with how we are going?

We are what we are. People thinking we should be playing and possibly winning finals with our injury riddled list are delusional. And we still might.

How many teenagers played today?

I agree to some degree but even effort takes experience. Guys in their first 50 games aren't going to take you far with evenness of effort. We were playing competitive with plenty of older guys available. Discipline and team first stuff isn't a bad thing and Buckley's over reliance on defence has given the Pies the best of both worlds. Flint hard in defence and freedom from a new attacking coach to take risks and bite off risker moves.

I think we are still moving forward with Lyon but don't need him to be the next premiership coach. Just guide the processes and procedures that the next guy gets the keys to.
The issue is a negative coach like him who can’t teach ball movement and therefore won’t develop these players properly.

People misunderstand ball movement: it is the first line of defence now to move it the right way, it’s not just an offensive concept. And a major component of it is hitting targets by foot and hand under pressure, something that needs to be continually coached and simulated (as in you literally build every training drill around it and be obsessed with it. Our coaches have an obsession with tackling and physicality and it shows).

Old-school coaches like Ross and defence are like conservative politicians when you ask them about crime. Ross would say “more tackling, pressure, more defensive workrate” as the answer to defense, ask conservative politicians about crime and they’d say “build more jails”. Both philosophies outdated.

You defend now through attack.

Blokes like Mitchell have the right way of developing young players in a modern environment.

Keeping the likes of Ross Lyon around young players in this day and age is asking for trouble as even their defensive philosophies are completely out of step and, if you drill those methods into young players, it will do more harm than good.

If we think our list looks in bad shape now, just wait a few years Saints fans. Under Ross, we’ll keep going backward while teams coached properly for modern footy will go forwards, scoring points and entertaining people while they do it. 20,000 people at Docklands? That’ll feel like glory days. No one will turn up to the drudgery Lyon teams are going to continue to churn out in this day and age.

Bassatt has had a shocker here sadly. Classic “job for the boys” appointment like a few brave souls like George mentioned at the time (I wasn’t one of them). Bassat got talked into the appointment on a boat by influential old boys having a cognac and cigar who have no idea about modern sport like Lindsey Fox. To Lindsey Fox and Eddie McGuire, Ross is an elite coach because they grew up playing footy when it was an unsophisticated mess tactically, unlike today.

This club just keeps ****ing up and it will get worse on the field now for a few years.

I don't recall Ross ever talking about us making finals even when we got off to that great start to the season and we were sitting on top of the ladder.

I think he has always been realistic about where we are at but that being said I am still disappointed with how badly we have dropped off since then.

I agree with a lot of the other stuff you have said though especially Robert Harvey being our forwards coach, we clearly need to make a change there.

Like I have said before appointing Robert Harvey as our forwards coach makes about as much sense as appointing Nick Riewoldt as our midfield coach.

Steele looks a shadow of himself. Is it purely the injuries being carried?

Did the supposed comment about Captains to him not go the way it was hoped?

Whatever it is I hope it can be turned around.

All this talk about cutting deep into the list at the end of the year. Who are we actually cutting? Which players who played today are out of contract?
IMO Steele sooked it up last year when it all went pear shape

All well good to cut deep but who are we replacing them with ?

so next years excuse will be we cut deep and the players are getting use to playing with each other, year of learning to play together

Autopsy Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*