Autopsy Round 19, 2023: St.Kilda v North Melbourne

Bont is irrelevant tbh. Doesn't bother me. It's been the ******* continual pay cheque on potential. Absolutely shits me.

The guy holds himself like he's one of the comps best. But he's so *in vanilla. Like you'll never get anything of substance
There times up - Billings , Clark , Gresham could all be traded if they get offers for them.

That's what's saving Howard I reckon.

The others. Plenty of options there.
I know I probably sound like Dougals mum but what is the problem with him today?

He's played on one of the best forwards in the game today. Note, he's been given the best forward again, like every week.

Here's the run down of Larkeys goals:
1. Dougal slips
2. Battle turns it over in the centre
3. Wilkie high tackle free kick.

Larkey doesn't touch in the second half does he?

Most club supporters would praise a full back that has todays outcome, wouldn't they?

Billings annoys you most because you watch Bont week in week out be the best player in the comp.

Poor bloke has paid for the clubs mistake.
That...but perhaps more so is the fact that Billings - a guy whom has undoubted talent - has no interest in applying it to the game of Australian rules football. He is highly representative of the other flakes in the team that meander about the field like a flock of lost sheep...bleating and crying as they walk aimlessly to the precipice, because they have no ambition or inclination to lead us anywhere.

Such a junk comment.

I'm no Ross Lyon fan and never have been but any knee injury would definitely effect your running - some players are effected more than others - Membery has been a durable player over the years so he must be suffering.
Anyway Lyon can rub up players the wrong way - story has it Neale and Langdon left due to him and there was a list of others that didn't like his style , maybe the same here.
He could have a list of players he wants moved on if he thinks they can't produce what he wants - Membery could be one with Gresham and Clark.
Neale?

Same bloke who was interviewed on Friday night footy the other month singing RTBs praises?

Holding the ball was atrocious today. Both ways.
Steele got spun 720 degrees in the centre.
Think it was Higgins in the forward 50 run down and tackled and allowed to handball it away.
Umpires really struggled both ways but we got the rub of the green.

Players who got more of the ball than either Gresham or Clark.

Wood, Wilkie, Marshal, Webster, Owens, Jones , Battle, Phillipou.
Players who got more of the ball than Gresham.
Sharman, Caminiti, Higgins , Bytel, Billings.

Byrnes in before Gresham, Gresham has Zero impact. He had less impact than Peris against GC. What the hell is wrong with him?
Pulled a heartstring.

I know I probably sound like Dougals mum but what is the problem with him today?

He's played on one of the best forwards in the game today. Note, he's been given the best forward again, like every week.

Here's the run down of Larkeys goals:
1. Dougal slips
2. Battle turns in over in the centre
3. Wilkie high tackle free kick.

Larkey doesn't touch in the second half does he?

Most club supporters would praise a full back that has todays outcome, wouldn't they?
Howard does a good job on the talls and can take a mark , but he can do some crazy stuff that just builds more pressure on the back line.
And that is the difference of a good defender and a average one - Frost is another in that boat and keep the best talls in the game quiet then has a brain fade.
And in his defense being on the last line of defense a mistake turns into a goal quickly.
Wilkie is the ultimate defender when gets it you know it's in safe hands and I would class Webster the same.

Howard does a good job on the talls and can take a mark , but he can do some crazy stuff that just builds more pressure on the back line.
And that is the difference of a good defender and a average one - Frost is another in that boat and keep the best talls in the game quiet then has a brain fade.
And in his defense being on the last line of defense a mistake turns into a goal quickly.
Wilkie is the ultimate defender when gets it you know it's in safe hands and I would class Webster the same.
It's great to say "Wiklie is he ultimate defender" when some other stooge has to play on the best forward every week though, isn't it?
Dougal does some dumb stuff but he takes the best forward every week and never gets a bag kicked on him.

I'm not saying we should do an open top bus tour for him but could we possibly stop shitcanning the bloke who does one of our hardest jobs every week?

It's great to say "Wiklie is he ultimate defender" when some other stooge has to play on the best forward every week though, isn't it?
Dougal does some dumb stuff but he takes the best forward every week and never gets a bag kicked on him.

I'm not saying we should do an open top bus tour for him but could we possibly stop shitcanning the blokes who does one of our hardest jobs every week?
I only pointing out something , Lyon subbed him the other week for a reason.

Probably because it was pissing down rain and his tall Richmond opponent had gone off injured.
Why wouldn't you think "Why does Lyon select him to play on the best forward every week?"
Jeez... Lyon obviously reckons he's no good.

I'm a Gresh fan and think he gets an overly hard run on here must of the time but in his worst season at the club, that was his worst performance. No idea what's going on with him.

He's mentally out the door mate.

Like when you've handed in your two weeks and it just drags on and everyone's sitting there wondering what the bloody point is.

He knows he's leaving.

We know he's leaving.

If the AFL had some balls they'd let Gresh sign the contract now and he could go jog laps at Linton St for the last 6 weeks of the season.

Such a junk comment.
Why. What's he done of note or significance for the team in the decade he has been with us? He certainly isn't a leader, or indeed that good. He's not alone, but indicative of a malaise and problem with playing personnel within the club. If you can prove me wrong, have at it, but personally I've seen more than enough to justify my position.

The AFL executive’s must be scratching their heads tonight afer that game and then looking at the ladder.

Has there ever been a worse team sitting in 6th at this stage of the season?

It’s soooo St Kilda and I love it.
If you look at it glass half empty though would you rather have a decent team down on its luck sitting at 14th amd getting a great draft pick or a Shit team sitting 6th and getting nothing ~ THATS us...

Can’t question his courage but just not athletic - lacks speed in an already slow midfield and not a great user by foot (notwithstanding he supposedly can kick with either foot). At 24 can’t see a lot of upside as a mid.
Get some more games into him, seems like a potential Pendles/Dal type.

Why. What's he done of note or significance for the team in the decade he has been with us? He certainly isn't a leader, or indeed that good. He's not alone, but indicative of a malaise and problem with playing personnel within the club. If you can prove me wrong, have at it, but personally I've seen more than enough to justify my position.
"a guy whom has undoubted talent - has no interest in applying it to the game of Australian rules football"
How could you possibly say he has no interest in doing his best? It's top level football and everyones talent level tops out somewhere no matter how well they want to do.

Also, using "whom" on a football forum. Unacceptable.

Get some more games into him, seems like a potential Pendles/Dal type.

Admittedly he has had some bad injuries - but in his 6th season, 80+ games and 3 coaches I think - what you see is what you get with that sample size.

Genuinely didn’t expect anything less than a massively improved performance, before then tumbling to Hawthorn and the rest. Can’t see another win. Hawks mids will torch us again and they’ll come in confident and ready to win. We’ll be lucky not to get spanked in all other matches. Pick 6 is my guess. Fabulous by the kids. Good to see some good performances at Sandy too.
If hawks didnt let that game slip yeh fair enough , but they might be feelimg a bit broken after that.

I will a
"a guy whom has undoubted talent - has no interest in applying it to the game of Australian rules football"
How could you possibly say he has no interest in doing his best? It's top level football and everyones talent level tops out somewhere no matter how well they want to do.

Also, using "whom" on a football forum. Unacceptable.
I will apologise for using "whom." (Time and place...I understand)

The rest stands.
As I say, he is not alone, when it comes to our senior core and leadership, we are rudderless. As for Billings alone, I've always believed he picks his moments and is mentally frail...and hasn't capitalised on his "potential."
I think he should do the right thing, tap out, and let more deserving players divvy up his paycheck.

Admittedly he has had some bad injuries - but in his 6th season, 80+ games and 3 coaches I think - what you see is what you get with that sample size.

This, same reason I spruiked selling Coff for a 1st rnd dp so we might have had one more in the Pou draft this season, instead we shopped Hunter, something has to give if we want to progress with those two as they just aren't around enough to matter.

Hunter gets on the park, shows that he can be a mid, but either lack spatial and someone cracks his face or lacks effort in getting to contest and contesting. Coff gets on the park and you have an interceptor that can deliver under pressure but if he's not ill, he's soft tissue after an ACL after soft tissue, and people bitch that Jones never got on the park with his own instead then bitch that he's a different mid that tries to burst to our same same nonsense.

Hotton is largely a Jones upgrade type, Bytel was intended to be an inside originally, so since spatial can be trained Hunter gets shopped, whereas I was selling Coff for that 1st rnd DP, paying some monies likely cause having Pou, Windy, Owens with King and Keeler in future, gimmie that 2nd mid thanks to go with and I'll find a Highmore update later, Sharman and Battle swing that way in interim. Someone would buy Coff for that and there's nucleus for growth in maybe 2025 was my view.

Instead, here we are, stuck with teases.

Yikes that was a rough win to take! but we take it.

Spoke to a few of the boys post-game. Crouchy especially knows that isn't good enough.

Chat with Mason Wood: https://youtu.be/Jni2S_uvh-g
Chat with Rowan Marshall: https://youtu.be/20AnFwECLnc
Chat with Brad Crouch: https://youtu.be/D3KSEa_snCo

Well that was mostly a very hard watch. The last quarter was entertaining at least.

I've said it before, but I think we just have some very low footy iq players.

To me it looks like Ross is trying to get us playing a mode of fast handballs through the corridor, but we just can't pull it off. Hopefully we just need to get used to it and will look good in time. Tonight it looked awful, but we have to learn how to play a brand of footy that stacks up and it will also highlight those that are not up to it.

Ross did some good moves in this game I noticed at the ground. in the 4th Marshall runcked centre bounce with Owens in the midfield and then ran forward and Owens did ruck around the ground for a period, there must have been another forward run in the midfield as well. Also Billings at one stage playing half forward, ran up to the back of stoppage on the wing and we got it outside the back to him for a clean setup kick.

All the same, not sure why he kept playing Sharman on the wing for large parts of the game when we were getting belted in our forward line.

Young guys looking very exciting, good to see Steele back in form and probably Mases best game in awhile too

Autopsy Round 19, 2023: St.Kilda v North Melbourne