Game Day Round 2, 2023 - Brisbane Lions vs. Melbourne

On another note, and I'm sure it's been bought up, has Harris' decline coincided with Cameron trying to elbow his head into the first row?
Pretty sure Harris became All Australian twice after the Cameron hit. I think his decline started with the decision not to bulk up to the extent I thought he would after the 2020 season, and then was exacerbated by his knee injury against Adelaide mid-2021.

lol seriously Dev’s value is at best a late third round pick.
Why do young players trade value plummet so quickly? Dev at the very least can be a solid role player, he is almost 22. Outside of a few guys in his draft he isn't any worse than those guys. Is mostly a known quantity. I think the draft, for the most part involves a large element of luck. I'm sure there is 10 other teams that wished they had used their first pick for Cripps, we used ours on James Aish. Aliir Aliir was taken at pick 44 by Sydney that same year, completely overlooked by the WA teams. I just don't understand why the value of a young player drops so much.

I mentioned elsewhere, the FoxFooty podcast discussed our coaching situation, and to paraphrase, one of the co-hosts said they were talking to someone (didn’t say who) at the grand final last year about Brisbane’s coaching situation, and this person said that we can’t get any highly credentialed senior assistant coaches up to Brisbane and that Fagan has to do too much.

My main comment is that at the majority of training sessions I’ve been to, Fagan is rarely involved in the actual training, and spends most of his time walking laps, often away from the group, and looks deep in thought (sometimes he looks like the weight of the world is on his shoulders, and that was before the Hawks racism bombshell).
If that is the case, and you'd think it would be the same for GWS maybe (not so much Gold Coast b/c seems like lots of Vics are happy to live there) and it is known in footy circles to be the case, then the afl should give us and GWS (if its the case) more in our soft cap to attract better assistants. I think i read somewhere on here that most of the assistance that were with Leppa at BRisbane are still here. No wonder its all on Fages. From my memory, only Stone, Cam Bruce and Morris this year are new additions and with the first two, not much seems to have changed. If we fail this year, I hope we have the brass you know whats to clean out the entire coaches and hopefully a new person can bring in a whole team.

Would love to see Berry lining up on Olliver from the first bounce
It’s an interesting watch, worked so well last time but doesn’t mean it will automatically work again.
We are a little short on wingers in this game so unless we are prepared to push Clugga out onto his wing then we may start the game with Bez on the wing and have Dunkley run with Oliver?

It’s an interesting watch, worked so well last time but doesn’t mean it will automatically work again.
We are a little short on wingers in this game so unless we are prepared to push Clugga out onto his wing then we may start the game with Bez on the wing and have Dunkley run with Oliver?
Against the demons mids, I would consider chucking Clugg on the wing. I'm not sure that we can have Neale, Clugg and Ashcroft as two of the mids next to Dunks against the Demons and not get bullied, especially with their dominant ruck. Clugg on the win against Langdon might also make Langdon have to be more responsible for his man than usual.

I'm not sure if bringing in an extra tall as well as an extra ruck was the right call but I do like that the coaches have identified a potential issue and tried to change the team balance to counter that. Like everyone else I am a bit worried about our run though. Playing Melbourne this early in the season after what I would consider a huge change to their setup was always going to mean we had to take a risk in selection.

On another note, and I'm sure it's been bought up, has Harris' decline coincided with Cameron trying to elbow his head into the first row?

He was great in 2019 and 20, after the elbow.

It has more clearly coincided with the stand rule and teams being able to move the ball more quickly - does not suit him when is strength is dominating slow, high balls via intercept marks and spoils. He isn't as quick as the other great key defenders (and may have been carrying injuries) so isn't able to impact the game as much without the slow, bogged down game style we were seeing 2-3 years ago.

I think all this negative talk about Dev is a touch unwarranted. The kid has only played 26 games, some as a sub and most out of position. He has shown good signs when he has got a chance to play his preferred role. Give him some consistency, if that means in the Vfl so be it.

I've had an absolute gutful of this Jack of all trades development of young players. We draft half-backs and midfielders and then want them to play wing or half fwd. No wonder we're struggling for wingers. Then Clugg develops into am AA squad winger with an outside mid sort of role and now push him inside. Bailey another now asked to play hf, wing, midfield. Rayner a fwd/mid, that last year after a long term injury started to show some real growth, bustling thru the midfield and taking the game v St Kilda by the scruff of the neck. Instead of letting him continue to gain consistency, confidence and really kick on, let's now turn him into a hb. Then when we do get injuries in a position and a young lad gets a chance to step up he's not ready because he's been moved around all over the place, asked to be a jack of all trades instead of a master of one. It's driving me nuts.

Up the lions will be supporting from Kingaroy. Good luck To those travelling to the game with the sold out suncorp trains and buses will be horrible.
Yes could be an issue for some.
Since the covid year i now drive to The Gabba in the afternoon and find a park.
My daughter picks me up at Everton Park and we drive to Ashgrove and catch the 61 bus.
The bus terminates from that stop, so usually never that many waiting to board.
Tonight there will be more waiting than usual with the Broncos game on.

That bus going in is great but coming home is horrible.
We had to walk to Mater Hospital as it is diverted to bypass the Gabba stop after the game.

So this from Fages' press conference yesterday grabbed my attention, and I quote:

"People talk about defence... I talk about 'we didn't win the ball, and we had to defend too much'. So in the end if you have to defend too much it'll break down. Any team will. So, for me the solution isn't what we were doing defensively, it was more about 'get your hands on the ball, boys'."

Does anyone else think this completely flies in the face of all the talk since the end of last season, about how we had to work on our defensive running and transition? I mean, what are we supposed to be?

We PLAY in a manner which lines up with what Fages said there yesterday - always have. In principle I don't have a problem with this; basically every premiership winning team bar Richmond has been great at winning stoppages.

But then what's all this talk about "oh we're going to get better at our team defence" and "we're gonna come back fitter and ready to cover more ground defensively"? I don't even have a problem with lining these statements up with Fages' comment from yesterday, EXCEPT for the noticeable fact that Port Adelaide physically smashed us man for man, talls and smalls alike, last Saturday. The way we have been physically conditioned matches the off- and pre-season talk, but to me it absolutely flies 100% in the face of Fages' comment yesterday.

So what are we? A contested ball behemoth? Or are we supposed to be transforming into this manic, chaotic setup who swarms the opposition's forward line, opening up space in front of us and smashing teams on the counter with our ball use? Or are we trying to be both at once? Is it even possible to be both at once?

By the way, if you think I'm absolutely full of it, I imagine there's a few more of us here going to the game tonight than the couple of us who went last Saturday. At any stage during the game: centre bounce, around the ground stoppage, in play, wherever, pick out ANY one on one contest and hand on heart work out which of the two blokes looks more physically imposing. Happy to be demonstrated to be wrong on this but I reckon you'll have a hard time finding any contest where our bloke looks bigger and stronger than his direct opponent.

My personal view, for what very little it's worth, is that we absolutely should be playing in a manner which lines up with Fages' comment yesterday. But then why on earth are we so slight of physique? I could cop it back in the 2020 Prelim when Geelong taught us a lesson, but now we have the 3rd oldest list in the comp. It doesn't fly any more.

Hard to defend when you get so badly beaten to the ball and have a ten year disposal low. Defending wasn't our biggest issue, it was the hunger to win the footy.

Apparent temperature of 31 at 5pm. Love this heat. That could help us quite a bit.
Wishful thinking on the temperature
Day game last week about 27C
Tonight around 24C expected.

The home ground is an advantage but Melbourne play well there anyhow
Hoping for a Lions win and we are still a good chance.

Go Lions! Hoping they put in a much improved and committed performance. First to the ball and defend hard when not in possession.

Chl9 news saying late injury to prem player....I guess it is May
Well it ain't one of ours...

Edit: sorry, forgot we got Gunston from the Hawthorn retirement assembly line.

Yes could be an issue for some.
Since the covid year i now drive to The Gabba in the afternoon and find a park.
My daughter picks me up at Everton Park and we drive to Ashgrove and catch the 61 bus.
The bus terminates from that stop, so usually never that many waiting to board.
Tonight there will be more waiting than usual with the Broncos game on.

That bus going in is great but coming home is horrible.
We had to walk to Mater Hospital as it is diverted to bypass the Gabba stop after the game.
When I am sticking an implant in some one's jaw I do a check list, that lists everything in order we are going to do for the placement, all instruments that will be used at each time, and has diversions covering possible complications that are possible.

When I go to the footy here I walk to the grounds.

Drove the 370Z to Adelaide last week and the journey was lots of fun. The match was terrible (second half).

Section 5 I thought Brissie was still a country town?

It should be easy to get to a game?

Go Lions