Review Round 20, 2016 - Brisbane Lions vs Adelaide Crows

Who were your five best players against the Crows?

So a 135 point loss in the reserves somehow was pipped by a 138 point loss by the Seniors. Although to the credit of the Seniors, they managed to avoid (by 1 point) equaling the Brisbane Lions biggest losing margin of all time.

In all seriousness, it was just as bad as everyone thought it would be. It was a car crash that we knew was coming, but that couldn't be avoided, yet most of us still watched it take place.

How much further do we have to sink before we reach the bottom. That is really what I can't comprehend, because every time we think we have hit a new low things just get worse. There was really barely any positives to come out of last night - perhaps only Rhys Mathieson could hold his head up high after that game.

Without knowing the full inside information on injuries, from my perspective most of the blame for the last couple of weeks has to go to Leppa and the coaching staff. We were a team coming off our first win in 3 months, yet we made radical changes to the team leading into the Port game. Some might argue they were forced out due to injuries, but I tend to think they were niggles to the likes of Martin, Bewick and Gardiner that could have been played through if we were genuine about wanting to put in our best effort.

Obviously one of the upsides has been Archie given his chance and in all likelihood winning another year on our list. But that is a heavy price to pay for virtually killing any spark of form from the rest of the team.

Regardless of all of that, where do we go from here. The old quip of deckchairs on the Titanic springs to mind, but I would make at least 5 changes to the side that plays Carlton at home next week.

• OUT Nick Robertson - probably his worst game with 3 touches and no tackles despite playing 3/4 of the game. Didn't seem to be given a settled role, but was nevertheless super disappointing. IN Jansen - we need someone to help win the contested ball and tackle and therefore Jansen is worth another go.
  • OUT Schache - again that is about the worst game he has played for us. Really shouldn't have been brought back into the side on form. Obviously he is not even yet 19 and has heaps of potential, but there are a number of crucial things he needs to work on. IN Close - I was disappointed he was dropped after one game despite showing a few reasonable sparks.
  • OUT Smith, IN Martin. The planned experiment was always going to hurt our structures and our self-belief. Good on Archie for showing some potential, but enough is enough if we want to be half competitive again.
  • OUT Hammelman, IN Cutler. I have no idea why we have gone so tall and slow in defence in the last couple of weeks given our opponents. I also can't really explain the continued selection of Hammelman. He has shown some potential and it is not his fault, but Cutler to me should clearly be in the side and back in defence.
  • OUT Dawson, IN Bewick. Dawson has been pretty poor the last couple of weeks - we need someone to help on the wing / across half forward.
I also thought about bringing in someone like Paine who continues to give his best in the reserves, but ultimately I don't see a spot for him (a rapidly deteriorating Merrett is still ahead of him). I also thought about chopping Lewy Taylor and Lester, but again I couldn't see who would come in for them (although Clayton does deserve a game at some stage, possibly in place of Lester).

Sunday morning footy show talked about Adelaide, didn't even mention Brisbane. The too hard/ what can you say discussion.

Hey guys, I was on a plane last night and missed the game.

How'd we go?

Yh05ZpY.jpg

Zorko said:
Hi Carter, Dayne Zorko here,

It really is the ultimate punishment for a player to enter the empty sheds after a big loss, and that's what we did yesterday against the Crows.

Two weeks after the highs of the Essendon win we were left with the deathly silence of a loss. No one wants to be in the losing room and we've been there this season.

We broke into our groups and we were honest with each other in terms of what we can improve on and where we went wrong.

We know how frustrated our fans are, and all we can do is keep working until we improve.

You've heard it before but it goes without saying that, with a list as young as ours, it will take time to develop and it will require the older players - like myself - to step up and help them along the way.

With just three rounds left, if there was ever a reason to be a supporter it would be to come along and watch our young boys play.

To see Eric Hipwood, Archie Smith, Harris Andrews and Rhys Mathieson attack the footy, work hard and fight it out was really encouraging.

While a lot of our football has been hard for fans to watch this season, those guys provide a lot of excitement and a glimmer of hope for the Lions fans who remain believers.

See you at the Gabba.

Dayne.

Was a close game mate. The boys gave their all but away against Adelaide was always going to be tough.

In the end the Crows had just enough class to edge us out to the tune of 138 points.

I think we're all sick of those last quarter fadeouts.

Taylor's only involvement every week this year.

Step 1: receive handball, turn and start turning back toward defensive 50...

Step 2: once the full wide turning circle is complete, look forward...nothing on....look sideways, hospital handball options available, ("I want that 500k") kicks 30 metres backwards

Step 3: Run hard and fast wider than where you received the ball in the first play

Step 4: Mark the ball against the boundary, no free options...bugger

Step 5: Kick along the boundary to a contest..

Seriously though, the opposition must love when he's got the ball, they have an extra 5 seconds or so to set up defensively.

read on a thread on the main board, we had an average of 66 games per player experience tonight and the demons had an average of 68 and beat the 3 time reigning premiers.

sort of puts our plight in perspective.

So if each of tonight's players gets 2 more games under their belts - we are a winning team.

Archie was promising again but man he really needs to improve his marking. Max Gawn really showed how important it is to be able to take those big marks.

Early days. Gawn has really only come on as one of the best rucks in the comp this season. He turns 25 this year. Archie turned 21 in July. Hopefully another pre-season will reap great rewards for Archie now that he knows what it takes to play at the highest level.

I think we can probably say that a 21 year old ruckman still on a rookie list stepping up to be one of our best in his first two games, he is probably doing ok even if he drops a few marks. I think the club made the right decision about giving him a go despite his rawness because we needed to know if he is worth more time.

Looks like he is.

I think we can probably say that a 21 year old ruckman still on a rookie list stepping up to be one of our best in his first two games, he is probably doing ok even if he drops a few marks. I think the club made the right decision about giving him a go despite his rawness because we needed to know if he is worth more time.

Looks like he is.

Yeah I really like Archie. Has had two great games for a 21yr old project ruckman. Some just need to temper their expectations a bit IMO.

Nah keep resting Martin it's healthy for the club not putting out your best team, getting obliterated week in week out.

Geez fantasy footy players love making absolute asshats of themselves on opposition boards a lot

If you had watched Martin's input to the team this year, you would understand just how stupid you sound. In a 23 goal thumping, Stef Martin is not the saviour to bring it under 20 goals, let alone 15.

A few points:

• Looks like Andrews was fed up with losing yesterday and just went in and gave it his all, didn't look too slow anymore, took his marks and tackled ferociusly. Up to the coaching staff (oh god) to get him revved up like that every game.
  • We continually get the ball and bang it on our boot without even looking at the options which makes it look like we are kicking straight to the opposition, Carlton did this last year with MM but their new coach has got them looking at options.
  • Hipwood has lost confidence in his kicking technique over the last few weeks. Not as reliable anymore, still gonna be a gun IF he can sort his technique out.

I blame ben hudson for our poor set shots.

Has this weird touchy-feel routine with the key forwards before they practice their kicks at training sessions. So weird.

Review Round 20, 2016 - Brisbane Lions vs Adelaide Crows