Autopsy Round 20, 2023 vs Adelaide

It's not very often you can say that a team managed to do everything poorly in a game but that was this game.

Attack, defence, stoppage, transition, skill, effort ... The list goes on, all of it was at a very low level.

What struck me as particularly bad was our method around contest. Almost every time the crows got their hands on the ball in stoppage it was a handball to release a player outside. Out the front, clean exit, long kick inside 50. No pressure.

Comparatively, all of our stoppages were toe pokes, hack kicks or players getting caught. It looked like we were playing a wet weather game and them dry weather.
Spot on. Method around contest was an issue all night, both at stoppage, general play ground ball and in marking contests. Astonishingly bad. Even Butters and Rozee who were our best by some margin did no more than break even in there most of the night. Drew, Wines and JHF had some very slack and/or made-to-look-silly moments in the stoppage battles.

Just a post saying we got thumped by a team who havent beaten anyone above 17th in the last two months, who were missing a bunch of their good players

Viva la Port Adelaide

Really nothing has changed has it?

I fear for next year and beyond. No depth, Dixon, Lycett cooked, Marshall Finlayson offering little.

There was something on the line last night, Ken was asked pre game about other results going our way and we have a lot to gain, he sidetracked the question, does this guy ever embrace anything?

Lose to Geelong and the noise will grow again,I think we could actually lose the next 3.

A few weeks ago I heard Nathan Bassett say on radio "it would be pretty hard for us to fall out of the top 4"

I think before the GC or Carlton game.

At that moment it seemed clear the arrogance had fully set in.

And here we are !
Nathan Bassett should have been gone years ago. An absolute joke of a coach.

Our lack of meaningful depth in our squad is an issue too.
In the areas of small forward, tall defender and to a lesser extent ruck (we refused to play Hayes when we should have, but at least Visentini looks like he will fight), we are very thin. Our tall forward stocks are much of an unknown. We certainly don’t have a generational beacon up forward. Marshall has declared through his performances this year that last year might have been the outlier and at best he will be a nice player but not a match winner. Dixon is really on his last legs and won’t be part of a premiership team. Georgiades has talent but flaws aplenty. Lord will be a Casboult/McStay type role player rather than a star. Scully is so raw, he’s basically little more than than a seed at the moment.

In a similar way, I have concern that our midfield will be very vulnerable if one of Butters or Rozee gets injured for any length of time. Wines has gone past it at a ridiculously early age, because of injury and the one-dimensional nature of his play. Of those in the SANFL, Jackson is the only mid with potential to be an AFL player. Sinn is highly doubtful based on evidence to date. He’s certainly not looking like a complete player.

We don’t have early draft picks either to fix a couple of those issues.

Just a post saying we got thumped by a team who havent beaten anyone above 17th in the last two months, who were missing a bunch of their good players

Viva la Port Adelaide

‘It’s not the SANFL anymore’ although their midfield gave it a fantastic try.

I love my sport but I hated last night. Knew what i was going to get from Port in the early minutes of the game and England had 20 on the board in the first two overs. This ended with an 8 goal loss and 9 for 389.

I was getting frustrated and angry flicking between the 2 channels with Wife saying "well don't watch it then...." which makes me angrier.

When I see that rubbish from Port early on next time, I'm gonna turn it off. Not worth the anger and frustration.
One of the worst aspects is knowing after 5 minutes we are way off and nobody can or attempts to change it. Our on field leadership is completely non existent.

After this latest shambles I think we can put a line through these players:

Wines - looks like he just doesn't care

McEntee - offers nothing, can't kick over a jam tin

Boak - champion player but let's face it, he is done. Shades of carrying Cornes to his milestone.

Marshall - I have defended him in the past but if he hasn't got it by now, he never will.

Burton - deer in the headlights, plays like a 5 gamer at times.

On thin ice:

Finlayson - may have personal issues but a inanimate carbon rod would have had more impact last few games.

DBJ - after the novelty of the positional change, back to guy we know and love.

Duursma - tries and runs hard but is overall fumbly, has zero penetration in his kicks and sells team mates into

It’s definitely important to discuss head trauma and show concern but when crows supporters come on here pretending they give a shit about the welfare of our players it’s seriously infuriating because they are clearly being the insufferable arse hats they always seem to be after a showdown win.

It’s like how disgusted at the level of racism, abuse or violence that is witnessed at a showdown when it’s directed at them but you hear crickets the other way. They showed they don’t give a shit about racism with the Tex Walker incident. They are simply flogs coming on here to dance on our grave. Get absolutely ****ed.

Your doctor should no longer be allowed to be involved in the game. To allow allir to go back on the ground is a disgrace- winning meant more to him than the health and safety of the player. !!!
You don’t need to tell us. The majority of port fans recognise how much of a disgrace it was that we didn’t even assess Aliir. We have no issue recognising poor acts by the club.

Whereas your mob continues to celebrate and idolise a known racist who should be no where near the game.

It’s definitely important to discuss head trauma and show concern but when crows supporters come on here pretending they give a s**t about the welfare of our players it’s seriously infuriating because they are clearly being the insufferable arse hats they always seem to be after a showdown win.

It’s like how disgusted at the level of racism, abuse or violence that is witnessed at a showdown when it’s directed at them but you hear crickets the other way. They showed they don’t give a s**t about racism with the Tex Walker incident. They are simply flogs coming on here to dance on our grave. Get absolutely ****ed.

I despise their club and everything about it. It makes me sick that our players have let them smash us twice this year.

Bit of an overreaction going on in here...
We were way off the pace from the start, beaten by a side trying for the last hope of September action and, like Collingwood, had a lot taken out of us last week. (Which makes losing that game even worse now knowing we should have won it).

Many down with few winners.
Dixon got into the game in the second half, and Evans was really good. JHF got better as the game went on, and Rozee was class.
We got smashed in the air and we couldn't mark anything ourselves. Our forwards were terrible. Worse game I've seen Finlayson play for us.
Marshall non-existent.

Not the end of the world. We were up for a long time. The competition tells you that can't last forever.
Next week will be tough but Geelong have some key outs.

And, if Aliir was so badly concussed, why was his post-knock game so much better than before the hit?
So many pretend doctors on social media tonight.
Rioli and hopefully Lycett back next week (+ maybe some others).
Geelong has two major injuries; Tom Hawkins and the versatile Mark Blicavs as subbed out.

Be interesting to get frank the tanks view on the game. Seemingly one of the few players to turn up to the game - moreso our prep vs geelong who play a lot more marquee games at the mcg. Was probably running around asking wtf is this where my teammates gone and one of our veterans like wines walking past being like “welcome to port adelaide you haven’t been hinkelyballed yet”

If you want to have a proper conversation about it show your face and come on here with your real account not some burner that you use to throw barbs.

Until then, my comment stands….go EAD.
Clearly a burner account, and he obviously interrupted his pillow biting activities to post on another club's site. :rolleyes:

I love my sport but I hated last night. Knew what i was going to get from Port in the early minutes of the game and England had 20 on the board in the first two overs. This ended with an 8 goal loss and 9 for 389.

I was getting frustrated and angry flicking between the 2 channels with Wife saying "well don't watch it then...." which makes me angrier.

When I see that rubbish from Port early on next time, I'm gonna turn it off. Not worth the anger and frustration.
Going across sports, I reckon there's some fair parallels between the Matilda's this world cup and Port post the bye too.

Going in with high expectations based on the games coming into it, first game up play pretty poorly with terrible "bomb it into the forwards blindly" but still manage a win to paper over the cracks, then get utterly shown up by a lesser team when all they had to do was put in a half decent showing to seal up top 2. Now it's do-or-die, with an injured player rushed back in in a last ditch attempt to save the campaign.

At least in soccer they're ruthless and the coach will probably go because of it. Not sign him up for 10 years.

Will say well done Frankie Hollywood Evan's. Showed skills and composure on a night where only a couple of our very best shone.

Also well done on your second debut Dante Visentini, competed hard all night and made a few earn their kicks. A lot to like.

Butters and Rozee you are jets.
Why did they keep Frank-the-Tank on the bench?
We all could see he was hot and he we recruited because he had a so called, X factor.

And yet, of all our player; he had the least time on the ground.

After this latest shambles I think we can put a line through these players:

Wines - looks like he just doesn't care

McEntee - offers nothing, can't kick over a jam tin

Boak - champion player but let's face it, he is done. Shades of carrying Cornes to his milestone.

Marshall - I have defended him in the past but if he hasn't got it by now, he never will.

Burton - deer in the headlights, plays like a 5 gamer at times.

On thin ice:

Finlayson - may have personal issues but a inanimate carbon rod would have had more impact last few games.

DBJ - after the novelty of the positional change, back to guy we know and love.

Duursma - tries and runs hard but is overall fumbly, has zero penetration in his kicks and sells team mates into
Boak was the one for me.. been dropped and then has the opportunity to come on and really offers nothing, no leadership, I remember one of his first touches was a kick for goal that missed the lot by some distance.

hes done, showed me last night that he can’t be picked. It’s passed him and much quicker than we all expected. Can’t play him ahead of narkle And he must be retired at the end of the year

I have concern that our midfield will be very vulnerable if one of Butters or Rozee gets injured for any length of time

Yep because 'our' system under the same man for 10+ yrs is built on effort, not smarts. We jeered and sneered at their midfield

before the game yet they pulled our pants down... looking at you Josh. They flipped it around a la Bulldogs while we chased bodies all night.

After another :rolleyes: manic effort last week v Collingwood it was only a matter of time before the dam broke and we were handed our arse.

Their link up, play on style gave us no time to take heat out of the game. How often were we waiting for an option down field only

to either bomb it long or turn it over... looking at you coaching panel. They on the other hand were off and racing working within

an organised disciplined 'system'.

Ever wondered why Ken soooo often says after our 'wins'... "I thought it was a really strong/powerful performance"... it's all he's got.

Then as if to ingratiate himself to the faithful he'll add "it was real Port Adelaide football". Yesterday and I include the SANFL match

we were out coached out played and out smarted. There was one BIG upside to the debacle yesterday... Hinkley is gone... finito.

Is Carr the answer?... hmmmmm. It was his midfield yesterday arvo AND last night.

If you want to have a proper conversation about it show your face and come on here with your real account not some burner that you use to throw barbs.

Until then, my comment stands….go EAD.

So don't want to address it then... you know I'm right, not throwing barbs, simply sharing an opinion on an incident that you can't deny was so so so wrong on every level for player health and safety.

Autopsy Round 20, 2023 vs Adelaide