Review Round 21 = Hawthorn 105-73 Collingwood

A large part of our current situation sits on McCrae and Wright’s shoulders.
They have allowed the focus to drift.
… the Nick Daicos circus.
….persisting with players with only average form.
…. Not blooding enough players.
….getting tangled up in the emotion of wins
We are defeating ourselves.
Melbourne are ready to pounce.
We have evaporated most of our momentum at the wrong time. s**t’s gotta change quickly.
Refocus the players on the job at hand, make tough calls on selection? Go back to coaching from the box and emotionally detach yourself from the players?
Malthouse had to drop stars like Medhurst, Fraser and Davis to win a flag.
Lethal had to drop McKeown and BT.
Winning a flag takes effort from players; but, also toughness and responsibility from the coach.
We must be watching two very different Melbourne sides.
Fact is no side in the top 4 is playing any sort of decent footy.

We must be watching two very different Melbourne sides.
Fact is no side in the top 4 is playing any sort of decent footy.
Yeah, whilst the point buffer is there the gap in play between the top 4 and the next group isn't much, if anything over the last month. Weird leading into finals

18 to 3 for centre clearances.
Damming

Its that bad it almost defies belief. More worryingly, how do we fix it? From here on, the midfields we face are going to be better and better.

Something radical like playing McCreery and even Hill in regular bursts through the middle? Some break-away speed seems a necessity.

In the last quarter, Elliot lost a 1 v 1 pretty lamely. He sooked and didn’t even put in a second effort.
I figured, “if these pricks have given up, why am I bothering?”.
I said to my kid, “I can’t take this s**t any longer, let’s get out of here.”
That was 10 minutes into the last.
I haven’t done that in years and years…

I did the same as well.

I was Tempted to go at 3qtr Time but wanted to see how we Started in last qtr

Went into the midfield in the 3rd if I remember correctly. We lost the 3rd quarter. More time in the last. We lost the last quarter. He got 1 centre clearance while they were waltzing out of the square with impunity. As I said, didn't change the timbre of the game. I thought it was a good move and it's about time he started to get a few rotations but let's not pretend it changed the outcome.

When he was in there in the last quarter the waltzing stopped and he got his hands on it both for a clearance and a dead ball, hence he did in fact change the timbre of the game.
Hawks went from having their way with our nominal set up to losing and breaking even.
Problem was the game was all but over.

He also got involved in general play a few times, given the limited minutes I'd suggest his impact was noticeable.

What a Joke of a Team we are now

Playing the worst Footy in the AFL.

Midfield is a Joke.

Backline was Terrible and kicking to Forwards was Atrocious

Even our best Players and Nick Daicos and Darcy Moore where Terrible

We again can't win a Clearnce
At least you won't be tipping us again.

Seems that the players weren't switched on. The 2 game buffer might be in the players head. At least Fly seemed to be pointing at that.
He was definitely intimating there's been a mental switch off.
Talking about looking further into psychology of players in our scenario.

Which makes one wonder about those who are blaming heavy training loads if that is even a factor at all.

Pretty clear what they did to Daicos and typical dirty prick Mitchell ( and Hawthorn )

Also I’m trying avoid the media but there isn’t one media flog that hasn’t put their two cents in about our demise

It’s almost like they couldn’t wait to nail us !

It’s so bias and shocking it’s embarrassing

The Fox broadcast had Johno and Eddie beaming as if their own teams had won after the game.
They couldn't wipe the smiles off their faces.

I was talking to a mate about this last night because U was filthy with the way we played yesterday. I think alot of what's going on atm is mental if you think about it we aren't really playing for anything well finish top 4 were still 2 games clear on top so mentally we might have switched off. In saying that I think we have missed a truck by not blooding some of the kids during the season yes it's great to have minimal changes but it also attributes to your spot not really feeling threatened let's just hope it's a phase and in the next few weeks we can get ourselves up and out of this funk

it’s more than just mental, we have been behind how often at 3/4 time during the year? You are not clearly the best side if you are constantly behind.
you can’t play one qtr and expect to win.

In the last quarter, Elliot lost a 1 v 1 pretty lamely. He sooked and didn’t even put in a second effort.

that has been creeping in over the last month or so, players looking to umpires when they lose a contest, basically spooking it up. We have lost our edge, need to get it back quickly

Yeah we left early for the first time in a while.

Roughly just past the halfway mark of the last.

My theory is, when the players show they don't really care or wanna show up, not sure why I should. I paid money to be there, they didn't.

it’s more than just mental, we have been behind how often at 3/4 time during the year? You are not clearly the best side if you are constantly behind.
you can’t play one qtr and expect to win.
Not true -we have been in front at 3/4 time and won more times than when behind. Don’t confuse resilience and strategy.

Seems that the players weren't switched on. The 2 game buffer might be in the players head. At least Fly seemed to be pointing at that.
Our boys blew a golden opportunity to make it a 3 game buffer.
Fly is always talking about qualifying - well, the chance to do exactly that went begging. :(

Tripped up by Hawthorn yet again....
It was very poor effort all round.
Our forwards were poor, but a big part of that was our midfield not getting the ball in there.
Frampton in for Murphy, by the looks of it.
He can ruck a bit too, but McStay should not be rucking. Dan was serviceable at best.
Mindset reset is required this week and a statement made against Geelong, because a big part of the issue seems to be above the shoulders.
I noticed that Reef did some good things in the midfield in the VFL last week, but hard to see him coming in this week.

Media has been tearing Collingwood apart today, I must admit, I never felt comfortable being the media darlings for the last while, I know the team wouldn’t care about media but hopefully the piling on wakes them up a bit.

Putting aside just how badly we’re playing at the moment (it’s abysmal)… how on earth are the Hawks 16th? They’re a good side. Credit to them today, it’s not all about us.
Thanks. We've been incredibly inconsistent. There have been about 4-5 games we should/could have won if we'd not had a quarter or two total fadeout. Yesterday it all came together and we might have learned something from our one point loss to Richmond.

As for Collingwood, have loved watching you play this year (and last year too). I strongly suspect a loss like this, at this point in the year, could be a good thing. Best of luck for the finals.

Review Round 21 = Hawthorn 105-73 Collingwood