Autopsy Round 22, 2019: Carlton v St.Kilda

Mate today was not a coaching failure We had too many passengers. Already on holiday. Not much Ratts can do when we miss easy goals, handpasses and kicks! Will take more than 5 games to fully erase the Richo effect!

But 100% agree on coach appointment, we should really explore all possibilities and not get sucked into the sentimental side of things.
I'm happy to concede about todays game and the coaching.

Oh well!
Not losing too much sleep over a meaningless game!
Nice to see the usual bashers over their favourite scapegoats are back!

The truth is they wanted it oh so much more. Considering where they are coming from
It's not that surprising! We had a stack of blokes play ordinary games and lost by 10 pts!
No need for us to sh!t the bed again and adopt the usual woe is us attitude!
The only really disappointing thing i witnessed was that this group has been allowed to
Develop some terrible habits for years now and those same bad traits will take
Some knocking out of them over the summer! As clearly whenever tested they resort
Back to type all too often! Goalkicking, decision making, ball use and just generally the basic
Things that good sides dare not do! Mental toughness is also not our friend! Yet!

Agree we need an injection of some class and outside run but we have found 4 or 5 rippers
Within our own ranks this season and do not subscribe to the view that we are permanently doomed
For years to come because we lack superstars.....They will come just through natural growth
And hopefully our big talking new recruitment dept can actually manage to bring one or two in!
But overall we have a solid, very young and even list, that just needs some overdue good luck
And a sprinkling of elite talent to come through!

Guys like Gresham, King and possibly Bytel will help enormously and we already have them
Just need to lift standards another level and put in place an improved development program
And she'll be right folks!
Far from the end of the world! Overall i'm feeling a lot more positive about our future than i was
This time last year! Important we don't lose our nerve or make rash list changes as we will be
Having a big turnover as is through natural attrition and our usual case of shite luck with retirements!

I know it seems difficult and pointless at times following this club, but now is not the time for more mutiny
We must keep the faith!

Pretty sure the club is aware of our list issues, as is Ratten.

You can't expect him.or anyone to flip the old game plan on its head and expect them to learn a new one in 6 weeks.

I was expecting a 10-12 win season BEFORE our horrible injury luck hit.
So 5 wins up on last year (so far) actually does not surprise me.
We have very seldom had our best team out there together.

So, channeling my inner Premium, a hopefully much better injury list, coupled with King and Bytel and whoever we add in the trade / draft period, I can see us making finals next season.

Instead of looking at it glass half empty, I think our “discoveries” of Marshall, Battle in the backline, Wilkie and Hind have also been great wins for us. And hopefully Hanners will be too, you can just see his class.

Did you spot your own hypocrisy?

Nope.
Unlike some I don't come onto a thread purely to bring it down.
Only time you have had anything 'positive' to say was after the Doggies game and that was just to pay out on the guy who had lost the job. Even then it was just a dig at a guy.

You only needle. And troll.

Our biggest issue today was our lack of run. Over the past few years, we have done well at the MCG with just waves of run off half back, a pretty empty forward line and constantly moving the ball. We would go wide until about half way then look into the corridor with plenty of players running through there, then find space with forwards actually moving.

Today we were fairly stagnant with our ball movement and instead of moving the ball down the wings with our run, it felt like all we did was handball to someone close who would then bang it on the foot to an option 50m away who wouldn't mark it and just turn it over. Plenty of times where the forwards were just standing their instead of leading into the available space.

Best players were Ross, Hind, Billings, Hannebery and Membrey despite missing a few sitters. I liked Acres first half too
Worst were Lonie, Newnes, Steven, Bruce (tried hard but towelled up), Acres second half.

Hunter's hands are special. He is an absolute star. This time next year he will be considered the best midfielder from his draft (Tim Kelly excluded since he is 5 years older).

Too many underdone/injured players playing right now. A fit Carlisle and Hannebery, add in Hill to the opposite wing to Billings, Max King as another target up forward and we will instantly be a better side. Hopefully keep Steven. It's not all doom and gloom.

I was expecting a 10-12 game win season BEFORE our horrible injury luck hit.
So 5 wins up on last year (so far) actually does not surprise me.
We have very seldom had our best team out there together.

So, channeling my inner Premium, a hopefully much better injury list, coupled with King and Bytel and whoever we add in the trade / draft period, I can see us making finals next season.

Instead of looking at it glass half empty, I think our “discoveries” of Marshall, Battle in the backline, Wilkie and Hind have also been great wins for us. And hopefully Hanners will be too, you can just see his class.
I'm with you 100% sister!

I reckon these sort of losses are the hardest to stomach. Up at quarter time, half time and three quarter time and also with 5 mins to play. Then we get rolled. You feel like, FFS boys just get the job done.

The worst example was the '09 GF when we did it against the Cats.

Much smaller stakes today but it still sh.its me. Now all the experts will go on about the Blue's bright future when we just about handed it to them.

Our biggest issue today was our lack of run. Over the past few years, we have done well at the MCG with just waves of run off half back, a pretty empty forward line and constantly moving the ball. We would go wide until about half way then look into the corridor with plenty of players running through there, then find space with forwards actually moving.

Today we were fairly stagnant with our ball movement and instead of moving the ball down the wings with our run, it felt like all we did was handball to someone close who would then bang it on the foot to an option 50m away who wouldn't mark it and just turn it over. Plenty of times where the forwards were just standing their instead of leading into the available space.

Best players were Ross, Hind, Billings, Hannebery and Membrey despite missing a few sitters. I liked Acres first half too
Worst were Lonie, Newnes, Steven, Bruce (tried hard but towelled up), Acres second half.

Hunter's hands are special. He is an absolute star. This time next year he will be considered the best midfielder from his draft (Tim Kelly excluded since he is 5 years older).

Too many underdone/injured players playing right now. A fit Carlisle and Hannebery, add in Hill to the opposite wing to Billings, Max King as another target up forward and we will instantly be a better side. Hopefully keep Steven. It's not all doom and gloom.

Another tall forward was exactly what we could have done with today. Can’t wait to see King play.

no shock there. been managing what looks like a foot/ankle issue for weeks now which has prevented him from training fully some weeks.

Can back you on that one BrutThough....a couple of weeks back....I think before the Crows game.....he was standing on the sidelines for most of the session.....so much so that I thought he'd miss that week.

Was very surprised he played.

Oh well!
Not losing too much sleep over a meaningless game!
Nice to see the usual bashers over their favourite scapegoats are back!

The truth is they wanted it oh so much more. Considering where they are coming from
It's not that surprising! We had a stack of blokes play ordinary games and lost by 10 pts!
No need for us to sh!t the bed again and adopt the usual woe is us attitude!
The only really disappointing thing i witnessed was that this group has been allowed to
Develop some terrible habits for years now and those same bad traits will take
Some knocking out of them over the summer! As clearly whenever tested they resort
Back to type all too often! Goalkicking, decision making, ball use and just generally the basic
Things that good sides dare not do! Mental toughness is also not our friend! Yet!

Agree we need an injection of some class and outside run but we have found 4 or 5 rippers
Within our own ranks this season and do not subscribe to the view that we are permanently doomed
For years to come because we lack superstars.....They will come just through natural growth
And hopefully our big talking new recruitment dept can actually manage to bring one or two in!
But overall we have a solid, very young and even list, that just needs some overdue good luck
And a sprinkling of elite talent to come through!

Guys like Gresham, King and possibly Bytel will help enormously and we already have them
Just need to lift standards another level and put in place an improved development program
And she'll be right folks!
Far from the end of the world! Overall i'm feeling a lot more positive about our future than i was
This time last year! Important we don't lose our nerve or make rash list changes as we will be
Having a big turnover as is through natural attrition and our usual case of s**t luck with retirements!

I know it seems difficult and pointless at times following this club, but now is not the time for more mutiny
We must keep the faith!
Great Post MM

Much smaller stakes today but it still sh.its me. Now all the experts will go on about the Blue's bright future when we just about handed it to them.

That’s what I liked about Ratts’ presser.
Richo would have said we weren’t good enough today.
Ratts basically said straight out that we handed it to them. No beating about the bush. Pretty sure he didn’t hold back with the players either.

We were looking for trouble today - Steven was cooked from his outing last week , Newnes once again showed this should be his last season for us , Brown was just one big guy to much down back and seeing he can only play one position his days are numbered , Dunstan might have a contract now but can we still off load him - we need something different in the middle.

Replace those 4 with Webster , Gresham , B.Hill , King and Carlton will not beat us.

Can back you on that one BrutThough....a couple of weeks back....I think before the Crows game.....he was standing on the sidelines for most of the session.....so much so that I thought he'd miss that week.

Was very surprised he played.
He also didn't train the week against the dogs. did a bit of a fitness/agility test then sat out the rest of training.
Done well because you can't tell during games he is managing anything.

no shock there. been managing what looks like a foot/ankle issue for weeks now which has prevented him from training fully some weeks.

At this point in a season there will always be some sore people and some drinks, pills and jabs use pregame to "get through" since a lot of sports science is based around pain management where you can get up for 2 and a bit hours of effort, then recoup refresh and rebuild for next time. It's structural related issues that tend to bring the straight resets as then only time heals instead of just strapping or just jabbing to reduce inflammation.

I was only hoping to be proved wrong though. If you air your dirty thoughts you hope they don't come through. I think the last three years have actually been above average though. Hunter is very good and looks like he's going to be a top 5 player at the club. Marshall again looks like injury is the only thing that could stop him being elite and Gresham despite a poorish year looks as good as we could hope. Libba looks like he's done as much in one year as several years previous. Wilkie, Paton, Parker, Battle etc are all going to be good players.

I don't want to dance on Trouts grave but he wasn't getting great results for where we finished and the players we sold off to get him picks.

Solace in the fact that we are not Carlton and by and large understand where we were, are and can get to whilst they frit about sniffing their own excrement smelling flowers regardless of reality.

We're not any further way from things than we were when contending for flags, but when we are "down" we overreach and ultimately limit ourselves, previously by and large since we simply had not very much in identification and development, so once you were in, well, good luck. We're still "young" in this sense, but jury is out if we have the right people with the right resources to succeed.

But this year, obvious transition year, both off field and on field so was always going to be hard to get up and stay up on top of normal AFL pressures.

Sure this game was lost, we still spanked them in clearance work, still had enough shots on to win, still forced errors and still "tried" and came close to winning that match despite all the inherent visual difference in intent. And we're srill only 2 games out of 8th despite all these "issues".

So it's not all baby with bathwater.

Nope.
Unlike some I don't come onto a thread purely to bring it down.
Only time you have had anything 'positive' to say was after the Doggies game and that was just to pay out on the guy who had lost the job. Even then it was just a dig at a guy.

You only needle. And troll.
Appears you don't read enough.

Ratts basically said straight out that we handed it to them. No beating about the bush. Pretty sure he didn’t hold back with the players either.

Seemed to indicate in the presser that some players may have been surprised by his comments in the post match meeting.

If he didn’t say “that’s as badly as we’ve used the footy” is he even a coach?

Appears you don't read enough.

Come on man. You know how it works, you need to sprinkle sugar before you start rubbing lemon juice in everyones cuts. Just pretend to concede a few points and then say your bit and you are no different to any other poster. I think you enjoy the feeling of being shouted down. I enjoy controversial as much as anyone but you aren't even doing that well. I reckon you'd be a half decent poster if you chilled out.

WOW, That was a good presser well done Ratts

Autopsy Round 22, 2019: Carlton v St.Kilda