Preview Round 23: Richmond vs North @ Etihad - Friday 7:50pm, 04/09/2015

Last time we played they nearly got their whole score off our turnovers. That's the game they play, they rebound hard. Since then we have played slower, set up better to stop rebounds and turned it over less.
As long as we play controlled footy, and dont get sucked into their game (like we did against Port), we should be able to limit their scoring by a lot.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-05-09/roos-pounce-on-tiger-errors
This won't happen again. Seriously, what the hell happened that game. Those turnovers were ridiculous.

Last time we played them we played a different style and were in horrible from (lost to Geelong and Melbourne in previous weeks), the year before we were in horrible form (50 point loss to Essendon the week before). Been a long time since we came up against them in good form. So I wouldn't base much of our last few encounters with them.

If we play our style and are relentless and Tigerish we will win. I truly believe that.

If they drop a few to rest them we get the practice annihilating them, then do it for real at the G the following week. This could be a great warm up for the finals. I hope so. Almost easy game (as long as we treat it as full on 100%) where we know we have to play that tough controlled game. Then do it for real the next week. Sets us up for the rest of September.

I'm sensing a slight bias in the OP.
Care to make a judgement on this for us NUFC Tiger?

:p

Ha I wanted to keep it neutral and fair but I think I had to consider the audience. Tough crowd to please mate! :D

The correct answer would've been along the lines

"There is no logical connection between a perceived bias and my support of the Richmond FC. No one could logically carry the view that my affiliation with the RFC could create bias in my work of writing a preview for the Rich/nth game."

:D

I would like to think that after the royal pantsing they gave us back in Round 5 (?) .. that Dimma et al are very keen to right their mistakes and make a statement.: the desire to do doubling because a major smack down would also set the scene for a rematch EF the next week on the wider MCG.

I'll go as far as saying this: Beat North WELL this week, we will win any EF and a Semi. From there, its a moon shot.

If norf rest players the AFL need to come down on them hard with a financial penalty.
The outcome of this game can influence the final 8 and needs to be played to win.

Eighth tanking so they don't have to travel is absolute bullshit.
but it benefits us massively if they want to lose, we end up 5th playing them again in week 1 of finals..rather than going to Adelaide who are flying ATM

There are 3 players in their side that im concerned about.

1. Goldstein (reasons are obvious)
2. Higgins (has had a great year, the type of player who gives us issues)
3. Harvey (always tears us a new one)

Get Hunt to follow Harvey around everywhere (harvey has been playing HFF so it doesnt disrupt our backline much anyway). Get Floss to pay very close attention to Higgins, dont give him any space to operate. Goldstein is the only one who we will find it very hard to combat, Ivan just has to do his best to limit his effective hit outs, and our mids needs to do their best to read the ones he does get.

Goldstien is the key. You need to a jumper to play on him to at least quell his influence. Unfortunately that isn't Maric. The dogs used Roughhead to jump high into him so his influence isn't that great.

Yeah but our only option is Hampson. Griff would be the guy if he was healthy I reckon.

Third man up against Goldy is the key, Doggies did it last week and it did the job. He has to play of course

Genuinely want north at the G for the elim, its high time we put these campaigners to the sword. I am very, very confident

Goldstien is the key. You need to a jumper to play on him to at least quell his influence. Unfortunately that isn't Maric. The dogs used Roughhead to jump high into him so his influence isn't that great.
Dogs had the ruck wrestle with Goldstein, while a third man came over the top. They rotated a number of different players as third man up so that Norf didn't know who to block. Worked well for them, too.

The only thing I'm concerned about is if North rest players and bring in VFL players purely to try and hurt some of our guns to have them pull up sore for next week.
We'd play like we did against Gold Coast

I'm worried about their talls. Waite and Petrie especially. Waite always used to ream us at Carlton and Petrie kicked eight second half goals (I think?) pretty recently against us. He's just too tall for our backline. And that ugly inbred campaigner Brown will no doubt take a few contest grabs.

I am slightly concerned if the Roos rest players they will instruct their non-playing players to hit our playing players to make them sore for the following week. I would almost say this is 110% likely given Brad Scott is a campaigner!

In a reverse troll we should play Morris, Thomas, Arnot and Dea (last game doesn't matter if he gets reported for 100 games) just purely to hurt their players.