Autopsy Round 24, 2023: Brisbane v St.Kilda

Brisbane should have put us away earlier, but in the last 10 mins Membrey and Owens missed set shots, Hayes marked and played-on inside 50 and was tackled, and Higgins marked on 50 and was crunched late into the turf (no 50m penalty).

We actually had our chances. Brisbane will be very relieved to get away with that. They’re not unbeatable up there if you deny them control of the ball.

After half time Lyon sorted the team out. We controlled the ball, patiently hit short targets, and frustrated them. We should win our first final whoever and wherever we play.

King will make a huge difference.

Good signs from the young guys, but no leadership when required sadly. Steele and Clark on the bench late in the game is not a good sign- the experienced midfielders should be on the ground. I expect Hayes will have had his one game this season, and really, Clark could make way for Billings. Bring in Campbell- we just lack a bit of strength deep in the midfield.

He looked good up the ground because he was one of the few that wasn't struggling with the pace of the Lion's mids. He steps around players and breaks lines. We need a replacement for him when he goes. We look very stodgy against the better and faster midfields.
I have faith we'll be a lot more dynamic when Mitch and Pou are in there more next year

Touch and go as to when he plays next. Is it still 14 days. It was delayed concussion. No issue IMO. Cameron in more trouble, looked like he roundhouse punched one of our players pretending to punch the ball.
Nothing to see here…please 🙄

I think we need to unburden Steele from the captaincy and just allow him to get back to his best footy. Absolute warrior and leader when he’s fit and firing regardless. Wilkie should be made skipper for 2024 onwards.

We’ve been pantsed in games like that before, but showed some ticker to keep up the fight right the way through. Boy did we miss Max up front.

I’ll go to bloody Sydney if we have to in a fortnight, let’s go Sainters!!

I thought he was average at best a couple of really poor decisions

Lyon uses his run so much better. Heaps of overlap run to provide options to the player with the ball. We seemed to go long at every opportunity and ignore plenty of it but he provides it.

NAS your favourite player
Mowman your favourite poster

We are both silk
Nas is more a McLaren, you're more a Fred Flinstone type set-up.

They both move, I guess.

I think we need to unburden Steele from the captaincy and just allow him to get back to his best footy. Absolute warrior and leader when he’s fit and firing regardless. Wilkie should be made skipper for 2024 onwards.

We’ve been pantsed in games like that before, but showed some ticker to keep up the fight right the way through. Boy did we miss Max up front.

I’ll go to bloody Sydney if we have to in a fortnight, let’s go Sainters!!
Reckon I will be going to Sydney too

Just need to check with my boss but he is a ripping bloke

Touch and go as to when he plays next. Is it still 14 days. It was delayed concussion. No issue IMO. Cameron in more trouble, looked like he roundhouse punched one of our players pretending to punch the ball.
I missed this..? When did it happen?

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nas might be my favourite player of the last 10 years.

The silk. My god the silk.

Not just silk though because that underrates how much he wins his own ball in tight. He's a very very good player. Probably the best impact of any young player since our golden generation. At this rate he'll be our best player by his mid 20s. For impact per possession they don't come much better.

F—-king Sydney

We have earned and deserved a home final
I'm not too fussed, I reckon Melbourne will win it comfortably. Sydney don't even deserve to be in the eight let alone get a home final

Overall a lot to like - pushed the second best team in the Comp to 12 points at their fortress.

I thought we would fold in the second half and lose by 40 - I was wrong. Thought we also didn’t get a great run from the umpires. Having said that if Brisbane had kicked straight early the game would have been over.

We are a disciplined and better side under Lyon - excellent coaching really from quarter time when he encouraged the team to be daring. Great stuff from NAS as he tried desperately to create. Fantastic from such a young player. Thought Windy, Owens and Pou all showed plenty.

However as we all know our glaring weakness is our midfield (as does RTB).

Smashed in clearances - when it really mattered at the start of Q4 we must have lost about 9 clearances in a row.

Desperately need some quality and line breakers in there. Jones would have been handy today even though his disposal is iffy.

When our mids start getting tagged then we will get somewhere. Think the rest is starting to fall into place - with a few smart trades/drafting and another pre season or 2 under RTB I think we can be a real formidable team.

Brisbane - if I was a supporter I would be worried - a team right in the premiership window for 3 years but I don’t think they will get there - especially as the big dance is at the G.

Autopsy Round 24, 2023: Brisbane v St.Kilda