Game Day Round 4, 2021: Fremantle v Hawthorn, 11 April 2021, 4.40pm AEST @ Optus Stadium

would love a 9.30pm start here in Vic on either a Friday or Saturday night but doesn’t even need to be that late.

can’t believe the AFL still has games running at the same time.

Surely something like the below model would work better.

Thursday 7.pm-8.30pm 1 game
Friday 6.pm- 8.30 8.30-11.pm pm 2 games
Saturday 1.pm-3.30 3.30-6.pm 6-8.30pm 8.30-11.pm 4 games
Sunday 1.pm-3.30pm 3.30-6.pm 2 games
You might be ok with a 9:30pm start time but there’s be so many complaining on here if that happened.
It doesn’t matter what day or time our game is played, there’s always someone on here whinging about it.
Seriously, a 2:40 game & someone is whinging.
Imagine these posters back in the day when every game started at the same time on Saturday arvo

Funny Cegs played a ripper a couple of weeks back , is he a blame target, he does his job mostly.
We could have had Geelong but for an umpire, then what's the comment?
I made a comment before the season started that if Cegs was still looking at the oppo ruck in Rd 1 he should be playing Box Hill.
It’s a bs soft attempt at rucking IMO.
I’ll stick by it mate.

I really hope we're wearing the right boots for this weather. Feels like a long term issue for this club where we waste the first half of wet weather games slipping and sliding all over the joint while the opposition have got the stops in and don't lose their feet at crucial times.

It has to be a perception thing, from us as supporters, right?

I agree - I have the same feeling over the last few years that we've done exactly as you said... but surely no club is actually that incompetent?

Mate I told you yesterday. There is no chance of the cyclone hitting Perth.
That part I’ll get right, but as I said I am no weatherman & for that we are all lucky.
I did say it probably wouldn’t rain much before the game, well, it started early this morning & hasn’t stopped
Unfortunately my boys & I have tix for a couple of rows back right behind the goals :mad:
Looking at the radar, the rain should clear by game time and it should stay clear until after the game has finished. Fingers crossed.

It has to be a perception thing, from us as supporters, right?

I agree - I have the same feeling over the last few years that we've done exactly as you said... but surely no club is actually that incompetent?
I vaguely recall it being asked about in a post-game presser years ago and I believe Clarko's response was that the players are left to make the call on it based on their individual preference. Which is fine, but it's a bit weird that something like that is left to their preference but wearing long sleeved jumpers isn't.

Which is fine, but it's a bit weird that something like that is left to their preference but wearing long sleeved jumpers isn't.
Wearing long sleeves is left to the players, they just know that Clarkson thinks players in long sleeves are not right above the shoulders.

Given you are aware that BB can’t do more just about half of the ruck work, what’s your solution? TOB 50%?

I’m not a Ceglar fan boy by any means, but I see his importance structurally, and I don’t see a better solution unless Reeves is fast tracked, or TOB, who no one wants in the team and regularly puts up equally poor stats in the forward line, adds this string to his bow.
Changing the way big boy plays will be part of leaving out ceglar.

1. Lewis takes forward fifty hit outs leaving big boy to stay behind the play and cover less ground.
2. big boy is currently playing 80% game time. Give him a full rest on the bench will mean he can spend his time in the ruck instead of still working hard in the forward line. Even if he can only do it for 75% it will be way more than 50%.
3. Hartley, tob and Lewis to take buyouts around the ground when big boy is off

there are less stoppages than in 2019. Clearance players and ruckman are just not quite as valuable. Having targets up forward are more valuable and we can’t carry a witches hat even if it means we play tob (who is still top five for goals scored and number one amongst our kpf this season despite not playing last game).

Structurally he's been important for the team, but on an individual level, last week he was insipid. No influence on the contest whatsoever, particularly in the forward line where he is meant to take contested marks. The stats from last week back that up.

Looking even longer term, one of the main reasons McEvoy is back as ruck is because Ceglar as sole ruck failed to live up to the expectations placed on him. I'd say he has plenty to answer for.

If you're going to counter an argument saying my take is just flavour of the month, back it up with an argument instead of nonsense comebacks :)
You started he's out of form, so youre just going to ignore the first two games of the year? Which one of us is speaking nonsense.

Team Selection is very interesting, I wonder if they just said yeah TOB and Hartley are tall, but they are faster and more agile than any smalls we have so lets just go with them. Hartley can kick the footy too which may just be a territorial gain and over the heads of the defense.

Traditionally too we've been a poor wet weather team so it'll be interesting to see how we go. With our more attacking in general, run and carry style this year as long as no one stops the ball movement or goes around in circles, in theory we should be somewhat better in the wet.

Team Selection is very interesting, I wonder if they just said yeah TOB and Hartley are tall, but they are faster and more agile than any smalls we have so lets just go with them. Hartley can kick the footy too which may just be a territorial gain and over the heads of the defense.

Traditionally too we've been a poor wet weather team so it'll be interesting to see how we go. With our more attacking in general, run and carry style this year as long as no one stops the ball movement or goes around in circles, in theory we should be somewhat better in the wet.

I will be very interested, surely we don't play them all down back. Maybe he will move Impey or C.j to a Wing. Both were super effective last week down back thou.. I hear Hartley has been used off half back.

I will be on Worpel watch today. Conditions should suit him and I hope he just backs himself and takes the game on. He is at his best when playing arrogant I reckon. Would also love to see us be a bit creative if we are getting beaten in the middle and throw in a CJ or Impey or even Scirmshaw for something different. We rotate forwards through and I don’t think it would mess up the back six if we tried it with one of those guys every now and again.