Round 4 Coburg vs Casey ABC Telecast 1.10pm

Other than Cus and Cotchin who are just quality there wasn't much good news to report.

I do think Vickery will make it as a player he just needs to really work on his fitness base and put on a few kgs.

The melee was the highlight for me although the cameras didn't capture it all which was a little annoying.

Raines was awful and someone I have been a big fan of in Thursfield was beaten a fair few times. What has happened to him - is it an attitude thing because he looked like he was going to be a fixture down back for us.

I thought Edwards was very good today. His kick ins were beautiful. I mean he really got onto a few of them. And if anyone has a tape of the game, watch the start of the last quater, he was a major driving force.

Pettifer had a solid game no recall yet, but if he plays another one of them next week, bring him in for Morton (of course if Morton maintains his poor form!)

Edwards was decent and will be a decent player in the future but I can't believe they're still playing him out of position. Clearly not a backline player. Someone needs to tell them not every small and slightly quick player has to play in the backline to make it. Even Jade Rawlings said in the huddle at half time "You're backline player Edwards and you were up in the middle, that's not what were about". Talk about ruining a talent.

OK - my turn (from the telly)

1. Cuz - OK. Definition of cheap possessions. Ran around behind the ruckman a few times. But ran so much! That shows his fitness/gut-running abilities. Rarely wasted it. In ones next week.

2. Cotchin - wow. Best inside skills I've seen at the club since Broderick . potentially better. Excellent disposal - never wastes it. Needs to watch Cousins to learn how to pick up the easy possies as well as the hard ones.
Suspect he is stil not quite fit.

3. Raines. Very disappointing. No.
4. Pettifer - good. Ran, marked, kicked well. Considering his injury, was very promising. Not yet.
5. Simmonds. Did what you would expect a huge powerful 30-yo would do to junior rucksmen. But didn't dominate. And I know he got a lot of tapouts, but certainly didn't really use them. Give Graham/Patto more time.
6. Vickery. Loked a bit lost. Good build. Gat your hair cut, son.
7. Dean putt. rarely sighted - very skinny. Moved OK.
8. Hislop/thompson were ok. Depth players at this stage.
9. Thursfield. I disagree with most on Thursfield. I thought he was all class with what he did (admittedly, not much). Ready to come back when required.
10. King - No. I'm over it.
11. Schulz. Typical. First quarter - 'Gee this guy is good - can't stop him.' After Quarter time - the Invisible Man.
12. Edwards - Class above this level. Needs to find his spot and get into the ones. Beautiful kicking (one or two blues). Maybe half-back is his spot.
13. Dan Connors. Gee, you dont reckon this guy was a bit of a lair in the playground - I bet everyone (except the suck-ups) hated him at school. He would have spent his whole football career showing up his lesser opponents. Well, guess what? Where you play now, they're all as good as you. At this stage, I have no idea whether he is any good. And he's been in the system 2-3 years now (plus U18s). A real problem.

I thought we tried to play the 'quick play-on' style the firsts have been trying this season. The firsts haven't got the skills to do it - the twos had no hope. Huge number of handballs ot the player standing still, and surrounded.

I was at the game today and here are some of my observations.

1. Cuz was quite good. Ran well. Should come in next week. Just iced up after the game with some knocks.

2. Cotchin, this kid just oozes leadership. For an 18 yo old kid his body is like a mallee bull. His skills are nothing short of sensational. Can't wait to see him when he has a full pre season and is around 21 yo. Should be brought in soon.

3. Raines. Was utter crap today.
4. Pettifer was ok but not worth a promotion.
5. Simmonds. Not convinced he deserves a game in the seniors. His time is certainly up this year. For a bloke so well built he just doesn't do enough.
6. Vickery. Long long long way to go. Second half hardly sighted. Doesn't seem to be hard enough at the contests. Moves well though. Needs to be locked in the gym.
7. Dean putt. Another wasted pick.
8. Hislop/thompson were ok.
9. Thursfield. See Raines. A real worry.
10. I was next to the coburg dugout when the brawl started and let me tell you, Jake king is not the most gifted player but he has a real presence on the ground with his agression and never say die attitude. Started the blue and was in the thick of it. Cuz did not get too involved as the newspaper stated.
11. Schulz. Gee I dunno about this bloke. VFL is his niche. Just not big enough for FF.
12. Dan Connors. Tries to do the miraculous all the time. Needs to just settle down and play hard consistent footy. No promotion next week.

Disappointing second half but who really cares? Important that cuz and cotch got a run and came out ok.

That's it.
Putt was drafted at 4th round, number 51 in 2007 draft. Thought he was OK today, considering he's been in Coburg seconds. Needs more time at this level.

Agree with most other observations. Thursfield is not an impact player, so one of those guys who plays a solid role at whatever level he plays. Having said that he was disappointing today.

It was kind of an indicator as to what is wrong with our senior side at times, where a heap of guys are playing for the careers and the majority of them are playing me first football. Scorpions players are playing team first footy and have given us a bath.
What a classic example yesterday was of the team of champions v a champion team - excuse use of the term "champion" used only for the point of the exercise. Reminded me of the VFL final last year where Frankston took over in the second half. When the heat is turned up a strong team will respond in a disciplined manner. With the experience we had in that team it was an absolute blight on the leadership skills of every single one of them - perhaps barring Cotchin - that collectively as well as individually they didn't assert themselves and play with authority. Me thinks that as a coach Rawlings < Frawley

Gee what a surprise that Cuz and Cotchin played well.

Two Rolls Royces being wheeled out amongst a bunch of Datsun 180 Bs.

Waste of a week in my books.:thumbsdown:

I'm suprised Cousins knew where Coburg was.

9. Thursfield. I disagree with most on Thursfield. I thought he was all class with what he did (admittedly, not much). Ready to come back when required.
he will not get back into the team untill a spot opens up, as said he doesnt win alot of the ball, so he might just have to wait untill someone is out of form or injured.

Cotchins brain and hands are too quick for this level of footy, however his lack of pre-season will see him struggle finishing senior games out this year.

Reminds me of a 2010 version of the Flea with his handball vision but has an innate ability to swoop low into packs, pick up ball and with a low centre of gravity, accelerate out and dispose. Very different to Lids who sometimes uses his pace as an afterthought.

Cotchin was Very Good yesterday he was fighting for contested possies and put in some good 2nd and 3rd efforts. Cousins played Good, I expect Cousins and Cotchin to be in next week if not give Cousins 1 more week at Coburg. Simmonds played pretty good, The thing i liked about Simmonds game was his Contested marks in the 2nd half of the match he stepped up a level and played some good football.

Edwards should up for next week, I liked Hislops game he played pretty good game in the end.

I don't think Pettifer deserves to be back into the Richmond side, We have some good kids coming up. Rather give Hislop and Edwards a go in the side before Pettifer.

I thought Putt moved pretty well for a big man. Thursfield and Raines didn't play too well.
Thompson also played a pretty good game.

But i think Cotchin was the best player in my opinion.

Anyone got the stats for Cotchin??

I know everyone would have looked out for this kid but gee he stands out everytime he's near the ball.

One negative though is that he never really penetrated with his kicks always looking for the short 15m pass.

Edwards wasone of the best i thought. He is really clever in congestion, he has quick has and usually gives it to advantage. One thing about him at AFL that was suspect was his kicking. Today he showed that he is a reliable kick. If he can kick like that at AFL level then he is going to be a real good player for us over the next 10 years.

I'll say again for you in bold, so you might listen.

It's standard practice for every team who has no player at risk of not coming up. That is most times no team keeps a player back.

Get it?

Richo is off the ground and down in the rooms already. You said what? Even Doc Larkins said with that injury he doubts he would play and he was in doubt all week. Clearly doesn't look 100% and should of just given him a week or two to rest, give another kid a chance and not risk any more damage to him. But carry on....

Anyone watch the two's?
How did Post and Gouridis play?
Gilligan, we need another small crumber next year. I like Nahas but good sides have two small dangerous forwards

Richo is off the ground and down in the rooms already. You said what? Even Doc Larkins said with that injury he doubts he would play and he was in doubt all week. Clearly doesn't look 100% and should of just given him a week or two to rest, give another kid a chance and not risk any more damage to him. But carry on....

So what? That happened after the game started. He was galloping earlier in the game so he started the game right to play.

Or have you forgotten that injuries happen during games??

But nice job changing your post from "why don't we have a spare player up there" to "why did Richo play at all." Excellent work with the dodge and weave to suit yourself.

So what? That happened after the game started. He was galloping earlier in the game so he started the game right to play.

Or have you forgotten that injuries happen during games??

But nice job changing your post from "why don't we have a spare player up there" to "why did Richo play at all." Excellent work with the dodge and weave to suit yourself.

It's alright PHX, I understand you don't want to admit you were wrong. He was in doubt all week, was basically on one leg at the start of the match, couldn't chase, tackle and could hardly move freely at all. They had no backup and thought they would try their luck with a unfit player and look what happened. Effectively playing 21 vs 22 till he damaged it further.

Wayne Campbell and Tony Free both confirmed tonight at the Sydney tigers aftermatch function that it was a mistake to play him - "a gamble that didnt pay off".

Campbell said he had tendonitis of the hamstring (not a tear!) and wouldnt be playing for the next two to three weeks...

Got that from PRE, it's hilarious isn't it.

So what? He was cleared to play and he got further injured during the game. Having a spare man sitting in the stands at the SCG would have meant nothing unless you think the super-sub applies past the NAB Cup. :confused:

As usual, you and your opinions are irrelevant and misguided.

So what? He was cleared to play and he got further injured during the game. Having a spare man sitting in the stands at the SCG would have meant nothing unless you think the super-sub applies past the NAB Cup. :confused:

As usual, you and your opinions are irrelevant and misguided.

You're arguing that it's standard practice to play all 3 emergencies in the VFL when all 22 players are fit to play yet Richo was far from it. The fact he was cleared to play simply puts another cross against the incompetent medical staff. We are a rabble from the ground up.

As a backman I thought Thursfield wasn't too bad, he didn't get heaps of the ball but he beat his man and took a couple of great contested marks... pretty serviceable for me.

Rains & Edwards were disappointing.

You're arguing that it's standard practice to play all 3 emergencies in the VFL when all 22 players are fit to play yet Richo was far from it. The fact he was cleared to play simply puts another cross against the incompetent medical staff. We are a rabble from the ground up.

I stand by that it's standard practice that if the 22 are cleared to play, that no emergency will be held back from playing VFL. And all 22 were declared fit to play. Therefore we had no need to bring a player up.

If you blame anyone, blame the medical staff for declaring Richo fit to play instead of telling him to sit the week out, but they didn't and all having an emergency up there would be good for would be to sit in the stands and watch a "fit" Richo get injured.

Instead the emergency got 4 quarters at Coburg and is hopefully knocking on the door for next week.

I can see what you are getting at, but it's misdirected at the topic of why there wasn't an emergency up there, as Richo would have played anyway.

Round 4 Coburg vs Casey ABC Telecast 1.10pm