Trades Round 4 Trades

hes on my never again list after last year.
burnt me bad.
View attachment 1095505
top 6 defenders.
Id go Houston. total POD
Yeah im trying to figure out whats changed for Hurn this year.

I'm not convinced on Houston yet. Not that he wont average 90+ because i think that's probably a given, but his average is a little deceiving with the inflation of the Essendon game.

View attachment 1095068

77k and 29 trades

Is it too late for Impey or Jiath?

Could do Phillips to Impey and Kosi to Chapman (assuming Kosi dropped). Or Phillips to Jiath via DPP.

Otherwise it is probably sit on trades for this week?
I reckon Phillips to CJ could be a goer. CJ is the poster child of CD right now and is scoring well with not too many possessions. I thought he played well on Monday but can see him playing much better and getting some BIG scores. Whereas Phillips cleaned up his disposal, had a fair few touches and still didn't score well. I brought CJ and Impey in for Neale and Gaff this week and even though Gaff didn't Gaff this week I'm a happy imp :)

View attachment 1095452

Would love some suggestions this week. I stuffed up big time not going Dow to Impey and i probably should have traded Neale although i was never really considering Ridley it would have been Oliver or Brayshaw. This week i have a few options to decide on and if you could come up with anything better i'd appreciate it.

First option: 9k bank
View attachment 1095462
Incoming premium defender would most likely be Short, Rich, Bowes or Hurn.
I don't mind these trades but it's a shame i can't afford Ridley. I feel like if i'm trading Clark it needs to be to someone im confident will stay in my team for the season. You could argue that it's 50/50 for every option i mentioned though. Short is probably the safest and i doubt Houli changes much but it's something to still consider. I don't mind Rich as a pod, why did he not score well against the swans? Bowes is a decent break out option, but he did start slow last week and he is probably the riskiest option. Hurn seems relatively safe. He's proven but what's different to last season?

The biggest issue doing these trades is that it leaves me having to field two out of Rowe, Brockman and Scott until i address my forward line.

Second option: 1.4k bank
View attachment 1095468
Once again Short could be a different premium in that price range. This is probably the only trade i can think of that allows me to get Ridley in this week. I don't exactly want to trade Neale but if he isn't 100% it might be the best option. This puts J Clark at D6, Berry M8 and i only have to field one of Brockman, Scott or Rowe, although that's only because I'd have to hold Dow at least for another week.

Third option: 12k bank
View attachment 1095473
This is probably the best trade structurally but i think i refuse to do it since i could have done the same trade last week with almost 150k in the bank.

Fourth option: 9k bank
View attachment 1095474
You could swap Impey for either one of those two coming in or even Chapman which would give me a fair chunk of change left over. I'm not too keen on this trade. Although it sures up my defence in a way (Jiath, Cumming and Clark D4,5,6) the idea of trading someone i had hoped would be a keeper for two that most likely won't be, seems incredibly dumb.
second option looks best mate. bring in those must have players asap

View attachment 1095068

77k and 29 trades

Is it too late for Impey or Jiath?

Could do Phillips to Impey and Kosi to Chapman (assuming Kosi dropped). Or Phillips to Jiath via DPP.

Otherwise it is probably sit on trades for this week?
I'd trade out Fyfe move Clark to the midfield and pick up CJ still expected to gain 60k this week breakeven at -42.

Hey lads. Just after some opinions.

Going early on Waterman for Rowe
Upgrading kosi to CJ.

Giving me a back 6 of Lloyd Laird Daniel Stewart aliir and CJ.

Bit early and in some ways too sideways.

Just wanting some opinions. After all, y'all the best for it.
I'm bringing in CJ. Not only will he make money as a stepping stone but he may even be a keeper d6. Looks really good. He made a few errors but still managed 120. I only didn't bring him in before price change because I brought in Tex

Cheers Tox,

I've currently got Highmore, Kosi and Sharp\fyfe, the latter no chance of playing this week. I guess it will depend on Highmore getting a gig this week, if named I might skip chappy but if not I think I might have to do the trade to avoid a donut.
I really don’t think you want to cut Rowe in this situation.

Hopefully Highmore comes back and makes some money but it might not be fit a while.

Kosi could easily be dropped after his game on the weekend.

No realistic prospect of making cash from Sharp or Fyfe.

That could easily be four rookies you make no money from, which is almost a guarantee you won’t have enough cash generation.

If I was you I’d probably downgrade my worst performing midpricer to get cash for rookie corrections and start turning failed rookies into rookies that are a strong chance of playing half a dozen games.

Chapman looks a very strong prospect with the injury to H.Young. Rowe is not scoring heaps but really only needs one game where he gets a few goals from here to kick start his money generation.

At this those none playing rookies off your books at all costs.

Edit: 🥷 by several other posters.

Damn it

$800 short from doing the following:

Clark > Cumming

Sharp > Chapman

Join us on the Jiath train. He's basically an Adam Saad who takes contested marks for fun but lacks the precision kicking. It was always a matter of will he keep his spot. Don't think he will get dropped now been of our best last few weeks

Preseason 123
Round 1. 70
2. 120
3. 120

Last edited by a moderator:

Thinking Young -> Chapman and De Goey -> Martin if everything goes to plan.

If everything doesn't.....who do people rate as a better option down back - Parks or Burgess?
I like the Chapman/Martin plan.

Not too keen on going early on Parks or Burgess.

Chapman has played well and due injury at Freo the role is there.

View attachment 1095452

Would love some suggestions this week. I stuffed up big time not going Dow to Impey and i probably should have traded Neale although i was never really considering Ridley it would have been Oliver or Brayshaw. This week i have a few options to decide on and if you could come up with anything better i'd appreciate it.

First option: 9k bank
View attachment 1095462
Incoming premium defender would most likely be Short, Rich, Bowes or Hurn.
I don't mind these trades but it's a shame i can't afford Ridley. I feel like if i'm trading Clark it needs to be to someone im confident will stay in my team for the season. You could argue that it's 50/50 for every option i mentioned though. Short is probably the safest and i doubt Houli changes much but it's something to still consider. I don't mind Rich as a pod, why did he not score well against the swans? Bowes is a decent break out option, but he did start slow last week and he is probably the riskiest option. Hurn seems relatively safe. He's proven but what's different to last season?

The biggest issue doing these trades is that it leaves me having to field two out of Rowe, Brockman and Scott until i address my forward line.

Second option: 1.4k bank
View attachment 1095468
Once again Short could be a different premium in that price range. This is probably the only trade i can think of that allows me to get Ridley in this week. I don't exactly want to trade Neale but if he isn't 100% it might be the best option. This puts J Clark at D6, Berry M8 and i only have to field one of Brockman, Scott or Rowe, although that's only because I'd have to hold Dow at least for another week.

Third option: 12k bank
View attachment 1095473
This is probably the best trade structurally but i think i refuse to do it since i could have done the same trade last week with almost 150k in the bank.

Fourth option: 9k bank
View attachment 1095474
You could swap Impey for either one of those two coming in or even Chapman which would give me a fair chunk of change left over. I'm not too keen on this trade. Although it sures up my defence in a way (Jiath, Cumming and Clark D4,5,6) the idea of trading someone i had hoped would be a keeper for two that most likely won't be, seems incredibly dumb.
I reckon your primos are not the problem, your rookies and cash generation are where you attention should be.

You’ve got:
- Dow
- Bruhn
- Brockman
- Kosi
- Sharp
- plus you started a donut in Macrae

You might not make any cash from any of them between now and when you want to start upgrading.

Get some non performing assists off your books. Chapman is probably close to a must for you this week I’d say.

Hunter Clark can be corrected later when you already have rookies making money for you. Not a priority for now.

Provided Bruhn plays (which I anticipate he will, given the injuries to the Giants) I reckon I'll hold over my Kosi > Chapman trade until after Saturday night when I see how Baby John goes. I should have the $$$ after downgrading a non-playing rookie > Waterman to upgrade Kosi > Baby John.

If he hits out anything less than 100, reckon I'll just stick with Chappy.

I like the Chapman/Martin plan.

Not too keen on going early on Parks or Burgess.

Chapman has played well and due injury at Freo the role is there.
Yeah I don't really want to go early, just worried I might have to in order to avoid a donut!

I reckon your primos are not the problem, your rookies and cash generation are where you attention should be.

You’ve got:
- Dow
- Bruhn
- Brockman
- Kosi
- Sharp

You might not make any cash from any of them between now and when you want to start upgrading.

Get some non performing assists off your books. Chapman is probably close to a must for you this week I’d say.

Hunter Clark can be corrected later when you already have rookies making money for you. Not a priority for now.
I agree to an extent. Most teams would have those players listed above, excluding Macrae. Dow will be traded this week most likely. Outside of not starting the more expensive guys like Ziebell and Impey (I traded Ziebell in after R1) i think i nailed my rookies. Didn't have to trade in any of the Swans players etc. Bruhn will play games this year, just wont score well. Sharp is still handy with his dpp too. Don't really see the need to trade Kozi yet when he can just stay D8 (assuming highmore comes back soon) and id say Brockman is fine for F7/8 swing, but i do need to try get at least one of the fwd rookies off field within the next week or two. Looking at my current side, Waterman most likely comes in next week freeing up some coin, then i can gradually build to my first upgrade which will be in the fwd line.

I'm leaning towards Clark and Dow to Hurn and Chapman.

So tempted campaigners.

Sharp > Chapman

Jelly > Ridley via Laird

View attachment 1095558

RIDLEY =

I rate Ridley, but I dunno if I'd be sacrificing Kelly for him at this stage. With Coniglio out he'll likely spend more time at the stoppages, and will have some dominant patches still. GWS being rubbish isn't helping though.

Chapman is a must buy this week given the paucity of quality rookie defenders.

You’ve got:
- Dow
- Bruhn
- Brockman
- Kosi
- Sharp

Sound advice

I agree to an extent. Most teams would have those players listed above, excluding Macrae.
I have Sharp. Don’t have, and never have had, any of the others in that list.