Preview Round 5, 2018: North Melbourne v Hawthorn, 22 April 2018, 3.20pm @ Etihad Stadium

Cousins deserves his chance, has been Box Hills best player so far. Need to reward form

You can't just 'reward form' if there's no opening in his position. He's not a small forward, can't play that role as he's too slow. He's a contested midfield accumulator and all the while our midfield is going as well as it is he's going to be playing seconds.

Worpel on the other hand is very quick, great tackler and loves a snag. He could play the Puopolo role better than Cousins.

You can't just 'reward form' if there's no opening in his position. He's not a small forward, can't play that role as he's too slow. He's a contested midfield accumulator and all the while our midfield is going as well as it is he's going to be playing seconds.

Worpel on the other hand is very quick, great tackler and loves a snag. He could play the Puopolo role better than Cousins.

I thought Cousins would play, but when you think about it, we know what he can do from his three games last year. He will get his chance again when the time comes. That said, I would like Worpel to get a chance to show what he has got, as, with Burger coming back next week, it will probably only be the one game unless he shows something exceptional, which I hope he does. The more difficult the players make it for the match committee, the better we must be travelling.

People have short memories. Last year when Langford was moved into the forward line he was just about our best player there.
The biggest problem he had was his set shot kicking for goal was so bad that it was easy to underestimate all of the hard work he have done.
I would be staggered if the club in Langford have not worked very hard on set shots over summer. And the club has had some success with this in the past. At one stage Roughy could not kick a goal until they completely rebuilt his goalkicking technique.

At no stage was Langers close to our best player.

Should be a last resort selection these days when the cupboard is bare. We're not going forward if he's a regular in the team.

It’s not just what he kicks that is the problem, it’s what it does to our structure.

If Brown takes 2x big marks early then our defence will panic & we’ll start sending 3-4 defenders at every high ball - that brings their small forwards into the game. Also, it gives their kids some clarity of thought as they no longer get indecisive as to where to kick it - from Half Back they’ll be able to stream forward with purpose as everyone in their jumper will know where it’s going.

We need 1x player to take Brown & maybe +1 to help in the air or cut off his lead (the Gibbo role). Playing Chip (without shoulders) on him is going to burn us.

Moot theoretical discussion anyway as he’ll not be playing.

The Gibbo role, so you mean Sicily? Stratton has been coming third man up plenty this season also, and that was the role Mirra played in the VFL.

Brand and Frawley have played one game together since the second half of last season, a loss to Richmond. I really can't see us playing both together unless perhaps against Adelaide.

Waite is a jet when his body is right. However, Stratton or Mirra are a good matchup for him I would think.

Whilst I don’t think Langford is up to it, he could play poppy’s role given his ferocious attack on the footy and pressure acts. Before being shot down, I feel this is the only position he is good for at this stage (nowhere else). Furthermore, I acknowledge he cannot kick...lol

KOLOKOTRONIS
You answered your own comment KOLO. He does everything Poppy does, except reliably kick clutch goals and use opposition backmen as a stepping ladder. In fact, he can't reliably kick any goals. That's a great side of Poppy's game. Chases, hunts, hassles, tackles and pressures like a defensive fiend and then takes hangers Capper would have been proud of and kicks big time goals from almost anywhere.

Yeah, what wonders he did with David Hale, taking a first round draft pick who had played 129 games and making something from him.

It was good recruitment by Hawthorn, the other one as well, but let's not pretend he plucked these blokes from our seconds and turned them into match winners.
He was dropped to your seconds I am sure. A couple of times. He played about 10 games in his last season at Norf. So we took someone you guys thought was useless and used his existing skills, and developed some of his weaknesses, to turn him into a vital cog in our success. I say that's working wonders with someone that was playing seconds for the majority of the previous season.

Please not Langford. Keep him at VFL a little longer to get some form and fitness.

Cousins deserves a game, but not for a Poppy/Cyril role. That's note his game.

Let send Langers out as a premiership player.... At Box Hill.

Whilst i agree with ur assessment, if we are looking at suitable types theb langford b4 worpel

Out of interest, what was your issue with Phil Krakouer?

Love that you could pick one name out of the lot you thought miss-characterized.:tearsofjoy:
Phil was undoubtedly the less nutty of the two, but never liked their flying the flag for eachother on the field for perceived or realized slights. Often seemed like they were more interested in extra curriculars and watching each other than playing the game itself and being connected to their teammates.
Having said that, they played in a tough 'un-evolved' time for our society where they took a lot of verbal abuse from both inside the fence and out, and no doubt it would have been excruciating at times to maintain focus.
I loved many of our indigenous players of the 80's - Rioli, Winmar and Long I could enjoy despite their unsavory allegiances, but while the talent was undeniable I found bros Jim and Phil entirely unlikeable.

Love that you could pick one name out of the lot you thought miss-characterized.:tearsofjoy:
Phil was undoubtedly the less nutty of the two, but never liked their flying the flag for eachother on the field for perceived or realized slights. Often seemed like they were more interested in extra curriculars and watching each other than playing the game itself and being connected to their teammates.
Having said that, they played in a tough 'un-evolved' time for our society where they took a lot of verbal abuse from both inside the fence and out, and no doubt it would have been excruciating at times to maintain focus.
I loved many of our indigenous players of the 80's - Rioli, Winmar and Long I could enjoy despite their unsavory allegiances, but while the talent was undeniable I found bros Jim and Phil entirely unlikeable.

The amount of racism they copped on and off field was utterly horrific.

I'm on your board so I will just leave my opinions there. Thanks for the reply.

He was dropped to your seconds I am sure. A couple of times. He played about 10 games in his last season at Norf. So we took someone you guys thought was useless and used his existing skills, and developed some of his weaknesses, to turn him into a vital cog in our success. I say that's working wonders with someone that was playing seconds for the majority of the previous season.

We didn't think he was useless. We spent a season trying to figure out a way to make it work having three high quality rucks in Hale, McIntosh and Goldy.

That Goldy became AA after Hale and McIntosh left says we made the right call.

There was no ill will towards Hale leaving North.

Everyone knew he was a very very good player with a great deal of footy ahead of him who had found himself in a position where he wasn't able to make the most of his ability.

It was good recruiting by Hawthorn and he came into what was already a top notch team and played his role to perfection.

Lots of other players and clubs have done similar. North's 90s team had guys who were similar.

At no stage was Langers close to our best player.

Should be a last resort selection these days when the cupboard is bare. We're not going forward if he's a regular in the team.
The Hawks rated him pretty highly last year:
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/2017-09-08/season-review-will-langford

Clarkson said last year something along the lines of "if he's fit he plays" re Langford.

Certainly one of his favourites, and let's hope he spent a heap of summer working on his kicking.

The Hawks rated him pretty highly last year:
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/2017-09-08/season-review-will-langford

Clarkson said last year something along the lines of "if he's fit he plays" re Langford.

Certainly one of his favourites, and let's hope he spent a heap of summer working on his kicking.

Obviously one of his favs, hence his undeserved game the other week.

I stand by what I said though, we grow as a team by moving past players like Langers. If he's still best 22, we aren't top 4.

As for his kicking, he's always butchered it. Should have worked on it every pre-season. I just think we have to accept that for the most part his disposal is rubbish.

Obviously one of his favs, hence his undeserved game the other week.

I stand by what I said though, we grow as a team by moving past players like Langers. If he's still best 22, we aren't top 4.

As for his kicking, he's always butchered it. Should have worked on it every pre-season. I just think we have to accept that for the most part his disposal is rubbish.
Oh I don't know about that have another look at his running goal in the 2014 GF, it was bullet like.

I suppose you are the one to ask then, do you know if they ever found Brendan Krummel's body? I heard he's still buried at Waverley Park.

Haha. I can safely say Brendon is alive and well.
Was having a few nerve settlers before the 2013 Grand Final at Southbank and he was doing the same.
He was over visiting from Perth to go to the game.

I went up to him said" You're Brendon Krummel"

Answer "Yes mate"

Me "Can I ask you a question?"

Brendon " Yes I was knocked into next week and don't really remember it."

Me " Oh so you get asked a bit then!"

Happened right in front of me. My old reserved seats at Waverley being in Bay 52 about 7 rows back from the boundary.
Sickening sound live.

Very nice guy.

INT from: Conor Glass, Ryan Burton, Daniel Howe, James Cousins, Will Langford, James Worpel, Kaiden Brand, Mitch Lewis

A long list of young players all keen for a game and with a big future. Some played more than others, but all keen and energetic and have something to offer. Combined with the new/young players in the named 18, its really great for the club.

I love it!

Oh I don't know about that have another look at his running goal in the 2014 GF, it was bullet like.

The handball receive from Hodgey? Great goal...like his others that day.... still reckon it had more Kernahan tumble than bullet like qualities :) But it went straight so that was the main thing.

Anyway, I did say "for the most part rubbish".... he does do the occassional kick that leaves you shaking your head such is the unexpected quality or effectiveness of it lol.